Davie County, North Carolina Genealogy
Guide to Davie County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Davie County is located in the central portion of North Carolina and was named for William R. Davie, Governor from 1798-1799 and founder of the University of North Carolina.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Davie County Courthouse
140 S Main Street
Mocksville, NC 27028
Phone: 336-751-2513
Davie County Website
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death, burial and land records.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1834, probate records from 1837.[3]
Davie County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1913 | 1851 | 1913 | 1834 | 1792 | 1837 | 1784 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Townships | ||
|
|
|
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Davie was formed in 1836 from Rowan. It was named in honor of William Richardson Davie, a distinguished Revolutionary soldier, a member of the Federal Convention of 1787, governor of North Carolina, special envoy extraordinary and minister plenipotentiary to France, and one of the founders of the University of North Carolina. It is in the central section of the State and is bounded by Davidson, Rowan, Iredell, Yadkin, and Forsyth counties. The present area is 264 square miles. In 1837 the court was ordered to be held at Mocksville. Mocksville, incorporated in 1839, is the county seat.
..., beginning at the junction of the North and South Yadkin rivers; thence up the South Yadkin river, to the Iredell county line; and all that part of the present county of Rowan, lying and being north of said river, shall hereafter constitute a separate and distinct county, to be called and known by the name of Davie, in honor of the revolutionary patriot, William R. Davie; ....
In 1925 an act to make certain and define the boundary line between Davie and Forsyth was passed.
That the Yadkin River be and the same is hereby made, fixed and designated as the true and correct boundary line between the counties of Davie and Forsyth.
above quoted from The Formation of the North Carolina Counties 1663-1943, by David Leroy Corbitt; published by NC Department of Cultural Resources; pages 88-89.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Bible Records at North Carolina Digital Archives - index and images
- Bible Records at Davie County Public Library History Room
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Books and Maps for Davie County[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- North Carolina, Historical Records Survey, Cemetery Inscription Card Index at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images Also at: Ancestry ($)
- Davie County Cemetery Lists
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1840 | 7,574 | — |
| 1850 | 7,866 | 3.9% |
| 1860 | 8,494 | 8.0% |
| 1870 | 9,620 | 13.3% |
| 1880 | 11,096 | 15.3% |
| 1890 | 11,621 | 4.7% |
| 1900 | 12,115 | 4.3% |
| 1910 | 13,394 | 10.6% |
| 1920 | 13,578 | 1.4% |
| 1930 | 14,386 | 6.0% |
| 1940 | 14,909 | 3.6% |
| 1950 | 15,420 | 3.4% |
| 1960 | 16,728 | 8.5% |
| 1970 | 18,855 | 12.7% |
| 1980 | 24,599 | 30.5% |
| 1990 | 27,859 | 13.3% |
| 2000 | 34,835 | 25.0% |
| 2010 | 41,240 | 18.4% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
1790, 1800, 1810, 1820, 1830 view Rowan County census
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Churches
- 1700-1970 - North Carolina, Church Records, 1700-1970 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1790-1916 - Church Records of Rowan, Davie, Iredell and Stanly counties, North Carolina. Record of Baptist, Lutheran & Methodists. Originals at Rowan Public Library. FHL US/CAN Film 313,885.
- Churches in Davie County, North Carolina
- Davie County Churches & Cemeteries
Baptist
- Dutchman's Creek. Established by 1773.[7]
- Bear Creek
- 1792-1860 - Bear Creek Baptist Church Minutes (1792-1860) online.
- 1859-1963 - Bear Creek Baptist Church (Mocksville, N.C.) records. Available at Z. Smith Reynolds Library Special Collections and Archives. Wake Forest University.
- Eaton's. Minute book (1772-1924) available online. See also this online collection.
- Dutchman's Creek. Established by 1773.[8] Records (1772-1787) online.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- Guardian Accounts, Davie County, 1846 through 1859
- Apprentice Bonds, Davie County, 1829 through 1859
- Davie County Court Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- DigitalNC: North Carolina Heritage-Davie County
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
- 1862-1870 North Carolina, Freedmen's Bureau Assistant Commissioner Records, 1862-1870 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1863-1872 North Carolina, Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1863-1872 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Davie Funeral Service, Inc. in Mocksville
- Eaton Funeral Service in Mocksville
- Hayworth-Miller Funeral Homes in Advance
- Lambert Funeral Home & Cremation Service in Mocksville
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
- Register of Deeds online records search
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Maps for Davie County from the UNC Digital Map Collection
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- Davie County Military (USGenWeb Archives)
- The War Memorial on the Square pays tribute to those who died in Civil War, World War I, Vietnam War, World War II, Korean War, and the Beirut bombing. It was dedicated November 7, 1987. Davie County Veterans' Memorial
Revolutionary War
- 1778-1833 Delamar Transcripts of Revolutionary War Petitions at North Carolina Genealogical Society - index ($)
- 1779-1782 North Carolina Revolutionary Pay Vouchers 1779-1782 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil War
- 1861-1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1861-1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1885-1953 North Carolina, Confederate Soldiers and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1953 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1885 and 1901 1885 and 1901 Confederate Pension Applications at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
Regiments. Men in Davie County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Davie County:
- - 4th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- - 13th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry formerly the 3rd Volunteers., Company F
- - 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Detailed Men, Company B
- - 4th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company G
- - 4th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company A
- - 5th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (63rd Regiment Volunteers), Company H
Spanish-American War
World War I
- 1914-1918 World War I Papers at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1917-1918 North Carolina, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- Davie County in World War One
World War II
- 1939-1945 World Ward II Papers at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1940-1948 North Carolina, Discharge and Statement of Service Records, 1940-1948 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- North Carolina Newspapers at DigitalNC
- Davie Record, 1899-1
- Mocksville Herald, January 4, 1912 - December 26, 1912
- Mocksville Enterprise, January 5, 1922 - March 27, 1924
- Davie County Enterprise-Record, 1922 - present
- Cooleemee: Erwin Chatter Nov 1944 - March 1954; Cooleemee Journal July 1, 1965 - June 27, 1971
These newspapers can be searched on microfilm at the Davie County Public Library History Room.
Davie Record and Mocksville Enterprise can be searched online. Click on "Newspaper Files".
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Voter Registration
- 1868-1898 - North Carolina, Voter Registration Records, 1868-1898 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1660-1790 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1660-1790 at Ancestry $
- 1663-1789 Secretary of State Wills at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1663-1978 Wills and Estate Papers (Davie County), 1663-1978(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1663-1979 North Carolina Estate Files, 1663-1979 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1665-1998 North Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1665-1998 at Ancestry $
- 1720-1960 Will Books A to F and 1 to 8 (1720-1960) at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; images only (by County)
- 1735-1970 North Carolina Probate Records 1735-1970 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only (by County)
- 1760-1800 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1760-1800 at Ancestry $
- 1837-1967 Probate Records, 1837-1967(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1837-1967 Record of Wills, 1837-1967(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1837-1967 Will Books 1 to 5 (1837-1967) at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; images only (by County)
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
- 1800-2000 - North Carolina, Department of Archives and History, Index to Vital Records, 1800-2000 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- Davie County Register of Deeds has copies of birth & death certificates starting from 1913; there are copies of marriage records from 1836.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1800-2000 North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1866-1964 North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1913-1922 North Carolina, Center for Health Statistics, Vital Records Unit, County Birth Records, 1913-1922 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1741-2004 North Carolina, United States Marriages at Findmypast
- 1741-2004 North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry $
- 1759-1979 North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; Index
- 1762-1979 North Carolina, County Marriages, 1762-1979 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1763-1868 North Carolina, Civil Marriages, 1763-1868 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1851-1935 Davie County Marriage Index 1851-1935 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch.[9]
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1898-1994 North Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1898-1994 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1906-1930 North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection;index and images Also at: MyHeritage ($)
- 1908-2004 North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry $
- 1909-1975 North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry $
- 1931-1994 North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1926-1975 North Carolina, County Divorce Records, 1926-1975 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1958-2004 North Carolina Divorce Index 1958-2004 at Ancestry $
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Davie County. For state-wide archival repositories, see North Carolina Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Davie County. For state-wide library facilities, see North Carolina Archives and Libraries.
- Davie County Public Library
371 North Main Street
Mocksville, NC 27028
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Davie County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see North Carolina Societies.
- Cooleemee Historical Association
131 Church Street
Cooleemee, NC 27014
(336) 284-6040
Email: blinky1@yadtel.net
Website
- Davie County Historical and Genealogical Society
Davie County Public Library
371 N. Main St.
Mocksville, NC 27028
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Davie County NCGenWeb for Davie County
- Davie County Historical and Genealogical Society.
- Davie County government Web site
- Davie County USGenWeb Archives
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
- Piedmont Trails
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/Davie
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Davie County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Davie County, North Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Davie_County,_North_Carolina, accessed 12 February 2020.
- ↑ George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:476. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- ↑ George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:476. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.
