Dale County, Alabama Genealogy
Guide to Dale County, Alabama ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named in honor of General Samuel Dale.[2]The County is located in the southeast area of the state.[3]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Dale County Courthouse
100 E Court Square
Ozark, AL 36360
Phone: 334-774-5003
Dale County Website
Probate Judge has marriage and probate records from 1884 and land records;
Clerk Circuit Court has court records and divorce records from 1885
County Health Department has birth records[4]
Dale County, Alabama Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1919 | 1884 | 1820 | 1885 | 1884 | 1884 | 1816 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
Dale County had destructive courthouse fires in 1869, and 1884. See Research in Alabama: A Genealogical Guide page 27 for suggested alternative sources to overcome this loss.[6] For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in Dale County:
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]
| Cities | ||
|
||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
|
||
| Census-designated places | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Dale County Bible Records at USGenWeb Archives Project
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Biographies of many notable residents of Dale County were published in Memorial Record of Alabama (1893). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library. Begins on page 802.
- Dale County Biographies at The USGenWeb Archives Project
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1830 | 2,031 | — |
| 1840 | 7,397 | 264.2% |
| 1850 | 6,382 | −13.7% |
| 1860 | 12,197 | 91.1% |
| 1870 | 11,325 | −7.1% |
| 1880 | 12,677 | 11.9% |
| 1890 | 17,225 | 35.9% |
| 1900 | 21,189 | 23.0% |
| 1910 | 21,608 | 2.0% |
| 1920 | 22,711 | 5.1% |
| 1930 | 23,175 | 2.0% |
| 1940 | 22,685 | −2.1% |
| 1950 | 20,828 | −8.2% |
| 1960 | 31,066 | 49.2% |
| 1970 | 52,995 | 70.6% |
| 1980 | 47,821 | −9.8% |
| 1990 | 49,633 | 3.8% |
| 2000 | 49,129 | −1.0% |
| 2010 | 50,251 | 2.3% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
State Census
- 1855 Alabama State Census, 1855 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1866 Alabama State Census, 1866 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1907, 1921, 1927 Alabama, Census of Confederate Veterans, 1907, 1921, 1927 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.
- 1831-1994 Alabama, Church Records, 1831-1994 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Methodist
- Wells, Glenn L. History of the First United Methodist Church of Ozark, Alabama. Ozark, Ala.: The Church?, 1973. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1921-1946 Divorce Decrees, 1921-1946(*); Circuit Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
- 1865-1872 Alabama, Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1865-1872 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Divine Memorial Mortuary in Ozark
- Fuqua Bankston Funeral Home in Ozark
- Holman Funeral Home and Cremations in Ozark
- Newman Mortuary in Ozark
- Searcy Funeral Home and Crematory in Daleville
- Serenity-Trawick's Funeral Home in Ozark
- Trawick's Ozark Funeral Home in Ozark
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Dale County see:
- Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Dale County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2007. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes surname index. FHL Book 976.133 E7bg.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Dale County. The histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.
- Hayes, Eustus Howard. Miscellaneous Records, Dale County, Alabama. n.d.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Maps of Alabama (1799-1980)
- Family Maps of Dale County (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
- Alabama Maps and Blueprints Collection at Alabama Department of Archives and History – maps can be browsed by location or subject
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Multiple Wars
- ca.1918-ca.1962 Alabama, Military Discharge Records, ca.1918 - ca.1962 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil War
- 1861-1865 Alabama Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index, images at partner site
- 1861-1865 Alabama Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index, images at partner site
- 1861-1865 Civil War Service Database at Alabama Department of Archives and History - index
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1871-1880 Alabama, Southern Claims Commission Approved Claims, 1871-1880 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1880-1930 Alabama, Confederate Pension Applications, ca. 1880-1930's at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1907, 1921, 1927 Alabama, Census of Confederate Veterans, 1907, 1921, 1927 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- Alabama Civil War and Reconstruction Newspapers at Alabama Department of Archives and History
Regiments. Men in Dale County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Dale County:
- - 1st Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company A and F
- - 15th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E (Beauregards)
- - 15th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F (Brundidge Guards)
- - 15th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H (Glenville Guards)
- - 33rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B, G and I
- - 59th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E
World War I
- 1917-1919 Alabama, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1917-1918 Alabama World War I Service Records at Alabama Department of Archives and History - alpha index by name and images
- 1917-1918 Alabama World War I Gold Star Files at Alabama Department of Archives and History - alpha index by name and images
World War II
- 1940-1945 - Alabama, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1940-1966 Alabama Active Military Service Reports at Alabama Department of Archives and History - alpha index by name and images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- Alabama Civil War and Reconstruction Newspapers at Alabama Department of Archives and History
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
A collection of obituaries and death notices from various funeral homes in the Dale County area has been put together by GenealogyBuffs.com.
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Voting Registration
- 1834-1981 Alabama Voter Registration and Poll Tax Cards, 1834-1981 at FamilySearch - How to use this collection, index and images
Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History. Dale County has one book.
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1753-1999 Alabama Wills and Probate Records 1753-1999 at Ancestry ($)
- 1809-1985 Alabama Probate Records, 1809-1985(*) at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images
- 1830-1976 Alabama Estate Files, 1830-1976(*) at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index & images
- 1885-1930 Minutes, 1885-1930(*); Probate Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1885-1942 Administrators Records, 1885-1922; Inventory Records, 1891-1918; Wills, 1904-1942; Orders and Decrees, 1885-1897; Settlement Records, 1886-1923(*); Probate Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.
- 1865-1866 U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Dale County is in District 1.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online $.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1881-1930 Alabama, Births and Christenings, 1881-1930 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1881-1930 Alabama, County Birth Registers, 1881-1930 at FamilySearch — index, and some images - How to Use this Collection; index and some images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1733-2013 Alabama, United States Marriages at Findmypast $
- 1800-1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800-1969 at Ancestry $
- 1884-1900 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920" at Ancestry $ This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
- 1809-1920 Alabama Marriages, 1809-1920 (Selected Counties) at Ancestry $
- 1809-1950 Alabama, County Marriages, 1809-1950 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and some images
- 1816-1957 Alabama Marriages, 1816-1957 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1818-1936 Alabama County Marriages, 1818-1936 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1884-1901, 1933, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry $. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
- To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry $. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1881-1952 Alabama, Deaths and Burials, 1881-1952 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1881-1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry $.
- 1908-1959 Index to Deaths recorded by the state of Alabama at Ancestry $.
- 1908-1974 Alabama, Deaths, 1908-1974 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Dale County. For state-wide library facilities, see Alabama Archives and Libraries.
Dale Ozark-Dale Public Library
416 James Street
OZARK, AL 36360
Phone: 334-774-5480
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Southeast Alabama Genealogical Society
P. O. Box 246
Dothan, AL
36302-0246
Publication: Wiregrass Roots
Dale County Genealogical & Historical Society
416 James Street
Ozark, AL
36360
Websites[edit | edit source]
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- USGenWeb Archives Project ~ contains record transcriptions from Bibles, obituaries, court records and more.
- Dale County ALGenWeb ~ record transcriptions and information pertinent to the county.
- Dale County, Alabama Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Dale County Genealogy (Alabama Genealogy) - Dale County genealogy resources by city and record type
- Dale County Genealogical & Historical Society
- United States Resources: Alabama
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Genealogy Trails History Group, “Dale County, Alabama Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ala/dale/ 06/02/2017.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Dale, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dale_County,_Alabama 06/02/2017.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Marilyn Davis Barefield, Researching in Alabama: a Genealogical Guide (Birmingham, Alabama : Birmingham Public Library, 1998), 27. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Book 976.1 D27b 1998.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Dale County, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dale_County,_Alabama, accessed 10 October 2018.
