Cumberland County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Cumberland County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Cumberland
Organized: 20 May 1749[1]
Parent County(s): Goochland
Neighboring Counties
Amelia  • Buckingham  • Fluvanna  • Goochland  • Powhatan  • Prince Edward
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaCumberlandCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Cumberland County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Cumberland County is located in the central portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named for William Augustus, Duke of Cumberland, second son of King George II of Great Britain.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Cumberland County Courthouse
1 Courthouse Circle
Cumberland, VA 23040-0008
Phone: 804-492-4442
Cumberland County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1749, birth and death records 1853-1870.[3]

Cumberland County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1749 1853 1749 1749 1749 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

  • Lost census: 1790, 1800, 1890

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Towns
Unincorporated communities


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Cumberland County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 8,153
1800 9,839 20.7%
1810 9,992 1.6%
1820 11,023 10.3%
1830 11,690 6.1%
1840 10,399 −11.0%
1850 9,751 −6.2%
1860 9,961 2.2%
1870 8,142 −18.3%
1880 10,540 29.5%
1890 9,482 −10.0%
1900 8,996 −5.1%
1910 9,195 2.2%
1920 9,111 −0.9%
1930 7,535 −17.3%
1940 7,505 −0.4%
1950 7,252 −3.4%
1960 6,360 −12.3%
1970 6,179 −2.8%
1980 7,881 27.5%
1990 7,825 −0.7%
2000 9,017 15.2%
2010 10,052 11.5%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1782 Enumeration

1784 Enumeration

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist

  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.

Church of England
Gotoarrow.png See also King William Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Littleton Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also St. James Southam Parish Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Cumberland County is available online.[7]

Quaker
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

  • Fine Creek Monthly Meeting (1756-1775)[8]

Presbyterian

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records
Indexed images of Cumberland County, Virginia Chancery Records 1750-1912 are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. These records, often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.[9]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

  • Items from Southern Records. By Milnor Ljungstedt. The American Genealogist, Vol. 15 (1938):95-104. Online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). Showing Family and Trade Connections with Northern Colonies and the Home Countries. Cumberland Co., VA surname: Thompson
  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Virginia are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.

During the War of 1812, American officials reported finding a total of 3 British aliens, some of whom had families, living in Cartersville and Cumberland County.[10]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname
More than 150 genealogies have been published about Cumberland County families. *See Cumberland County, Virginia Compiled Genealogies for a list of 150+ Published books and articles, or jump to the surname using the alphabet bar.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for multiple Families

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • The Story of Cumberland County, Virginia. 1942. By Garland Evans Hopkins. Winchester, VA : Garland Evans Hopkins. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Fluvanna CountyGoochland CountyPowhatan CountyAmelia CountyPrince Edward CountyBuckingham CountyVA CUMBERLAND.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

  • Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790. By Robert Y. Clay. The Virginia Genealogist. Vol. 20, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1976):199-208; Vol. 21, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1977):167-171. Online at: FHL, American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). These records often identify migrants who left the county and their intended destinations. Cumberland County's 1788 Delinquent List appears on 20:34; 1789 Delinquent List appears on 21:168.

Military Records[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War

  • Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. By William F. Boogher. 2007. Baltimore : Genealogical Pub. Co. Online at: Internet Archive; At various libraries (WorldCat). Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch (French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War) with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For Cumberland County, see p. 70.
  • 1651-1776 Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2c; digital book at Ancestry ($). Identifies some County militia officers and soldiers; see place name index.
  • Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. By Lloyd DeWitt Bockstruck. 1988. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2bL. Online at: Ancestry ($).

Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshals of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive, Ancestry ($). 1967 reprint: FHL Collection. See Virginia, Eastern District, Cumberland County on page 130.
  • Proceedings of the Committees of Safety of Cumberland and Isle of Wight Counties, Virginia, 1775-1776. 1919. By H.R. McIlwaine. Richmond, VA : D. Bottom, Superintendent of Public Printing. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Ancestry ($)
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.
  • Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War: McAllister's Data. c1913. By J. T. McAllister. Hot Springs, Virginia : McAllister Pub. Co. Online at: Hathitrust, Internet Archive; At various libraries (WorldCat).

Regiments. Service men in Cumberland County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Cumberland County supplied soldiers for the:

- 7th Virginia Regiment
- 10th Virginia Regiment

War of 1812
Cumberland County men served in the 17th Regiment.[11]

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... 1883. Washington, D.C : Government Printing Office. Online at: Internet Archive, Ancestry ($). See Vol. 5, Virginia, Cumberland County, p. 69.
  • Roster of War of 1812, Southside, Virginia. By James L. Douthat. 2007. Signal Mountain, Tenn : Mountain Press. Free online surname index at Mountain Press; At various libraries (WorldCat).

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men in Cumberland County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 3rd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company G (Cumberland Light Dragoons).[12]
- 18th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company E (Black Eagle Rifles) and Company F (Farmville Guard).[13]
- 21st Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company D (Cumberland Greys).[14]
- 44th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company G (Randolph Guard).[15]

Records and histories are available, including:

Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battles were fought in Cumberland County.

Maps of Civil War battles in Virginia: 1861 and 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • 1759 Cumberland County, Virginia Tithable Lists for 1759. 2007. By Patti Sue McCrary. Westminster, Maryland : Heritage Books. Available at FHL.
  • 1764-1792 Personal Property Tax Lists of Buckingham County Virginia, Vol. 1, 1764-1792. 2017. By Randy F. McNew Crouse. FHL book 975.5623 R4c.At various libraries (WorldCat). In 1778, a small triangular area of Buckingham county bordering the James River was given to Cumberland county. Buckingham residents living there then, and following the division of the county, became residents of Cumberland county. In addition, owing to the proximity of the two counties, many families that lived in Buckingham also owned property and/or had relatives in Cumberland and vice-versa, or they were former residents of the other. This book is a transcription of all extant tithe and personal property tax lists (over 12,000 records) for Buckingham County, Virginia from its formation in 1761 through 1792. Includes 1764, 1773-4, 1782-1792.
  • 1782-1816 Cumberland County Personal Property Tax Lists 1782-1816 (images). Online at: Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1782-1815 Tax Digests available at Virginia Pioneers ($)
  • 1782-1816 Cumberland County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1816. By Paul Heinegg. Online at: Free African Americans
  • 1783 Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783. Online at: Revolutionary War Service.
  • 1787 The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. c1987. By Netti Schreiner-Yantis and Florene Speakman Love. Springfield, Virginia : Genealogical Books in Print. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL. The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Cumberland County is included in Vol. 1.
  • 1788-1789 Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790. By Robert Y. Clay. The Virginia Genealogist. Vol. 20, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1976):199-208; Vol. 21, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1977):167-171. Available at FHL; online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). These records often identify migrants who left the county and their intended destinations. Cumberland County's 1788 Delinquent List appears on 20:34; 1789 Delinquent List appears on 21:168.
  • 1791, 1800 Indexed images of the 1791 and 1800 Personal Property Tax Lists of Cumberland County, Virginia Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1800 Cumberland County, Virginia, 1800 Tax List. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 17, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1973):197-200; Vol. 17, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1973):249-252. Available at FHL; online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • 1804 Cumberland County Poll List 1804, excerpted from Cumberland County Records. 1983. By W.S. Morton. William and Mary College Quarterly, 2nd Series, Vol. 22 (1942):61-64. Available at FHL; reprinted in Virginia Tax Records. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc. which is also available at FHL; digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • 1815 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 1997-2000. By Roger D. Ward. Athens, Georgia : Iberian Pub. Co. 6 vols. Available at FHL. The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Cumberland County is included in Vol. 1.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Cumberland County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Cumberland County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Cumberland County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Cumberland County. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 8, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1964):122-124. Available at FHL; online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cumberland_County,_Virginia
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cumberland County, Virginia. Page 712 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Newberry
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Culpeper_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Culpeper_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 10 January 2020.
  7. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  8. Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  9. "Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index Availability," Library of Virginia (accessed 26 January 2010).
  10. Kenneth Scott, British Aliens in the United States During the War of 1812 (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1979), 320-333. FHL Book 973 W4s; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  11. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 73. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  12. Thomas P. Nanzig, 3rd Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 61.
  13. James I. Robertson, 18th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1984). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 12.
  14. Susan A. Riggs, 21st Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1991). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 72.
  15. Kevin C. Ruffner, 44th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 39.
  16. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 16 August, 2012)
  17. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 17 August, 2012)