Cumberland County, New Jersey Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Cumberland County, New Jersey ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Bridgeton
Organized: 19 Jan 1748
Parent County(s): Salem
Neighboring Counties
Atlantic  • Cape May  • Gloucester  • Salem
See County Maps
Courthouse
New Jersey, Cumberland County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Nj-cumberland.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
NJGenWeb.gif This page adopted by:
NJGenWeb and its coordinators
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Cumberland County is located in the Southwest region of the state. It was created in 1748. Bridgeton is the county seat. The county was named for

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Cumberland County Courthouse
60 West Broad Street
Bridgeton, NJ 08302
Phone: 856-451-8000
Cumberland County Website


The County Clerk has land records from 1800’s and immigration records 1840-1989.
County Surrogate has probate records.
Dissolution Office has divorce records. [1]

Cumberland County, New Jersey Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1848 1777 1848 1840 1766 1747 1830
*Statewide registration for births and deaths started 1 May 1848. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]

Cities
Boroughs
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

  • 1763, boundary clarified with Salem County
  • 1822, Cape May County boundary clarified and water boundary defined
  • 1844, part of Maurice River twp. to Cape May County's Upper twp. and returned in 1845
  • 1846, water boundary further clarified
  • 1867, Pittsgrove twp. from Salem County and returned in 1868
  • 1878, part of Maurice twp. to Cape May County's Upper twp.
  • 1891, part of Maurice River twp. to Cape May County's Dennis twp.
  • 1892, part of Landis twp. to Gloucester County's Franklin twp. and returned in 1897.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Cumberland County, New Jersey online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See New Jersey Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing census records online, see: New Jersey Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 8,248
1800 9,529 15.5%
1810 12,670 33.0%
1820 12,668 −0.0%
1830 14,093 11.2%
1840 14,374 2.0%
1850 17,189 19.6%
1860 22,605 31.5%
1870 34,665 53.4%
1880 37,687 8.7%
1890 45,438 20.6%
1900 51,193 12.7%
1910 55,153 7.7%
1920 61,348 11.2%
1930 69,895 13.9%
1940 73,184 4.7%
1950 88,597 21.1%
1960 106,850 20.6%
1970 121,374 13.6%
1980 132,866 9.5%
1990 138,053 3.9%
2000 146,438 6.1%
2010 156,898 7.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about denominations, view the New Jersey Church Records wiki page.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a specific location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New Jersey Land and Property for information about New Jersey Proprietary land records. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Your relatives may be included in biographies, in church, school and government history, or in military events and lists. For more information, see New Jersey History and scroll to Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Gloucester CountyAtlantic CountyCape May CountySalem CountyNJ CUMBERLAND.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Per the Library of Congress, Cumberland Co. has had at least 67 newspapers, and this list does not include papers which covered areas now in Cumberland Co., but formerly in other counties (such as Salem Co.). The LOC has a great deal of these papers prior to 1923, in varying degrees of completeness.

List of Cumberland Co. Newspapers at the Library of Congress

GenealogyBank, a paid subscription service, has:

  • The West Jersey Pioneer (later renamed to The Bridgeton Pioneer), through 1922, fully searchable.
  • The Bridgeton Evening News, through 1922, fully searchable.

Newspapers.com, a paid subscription service, has:

  • The Millville Daily (known before 1961 as The Millville Daily Republican) from 1923 through its final publishing date of 1988, fully searchable. The newspaper dates back to the Civil War, but all archives before 1923 have been lost.
  • The Vineland Daily Journal (originally The Evening Journal and The Vineland Times, which combined to form The Vineland Times-Journal, later to become The Vineland Daily Journal), fully searchable.

Both GenealogyBank and Newspapers.com have papers from the surrounding areas which frequently covered events in Cumberland Co.; notably, the Camden and Philadelphia newspapers, and occasionally Wilmington, DE.

The Atlantic City Press, a paid subscription service, which has frequently covered (and continues to cover) Cumberland Co. events, has archives of:

  • Press of Atlantic City (1895-current)
  • Atlantic City Weekly (2004-current)
  • Sunday Gazette (1911-1971)
  • Atlantic City Gazette-Review (1906-1925)

The South Jersey Times, a paid subscription, is a newspaper currently covering Southern New Jersey. It acquired and subsumed a number of newspapers, including The Bridgeton Evening News (later named The Cumberland News).

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas and may have earlier records. In 1852, most of those records were transferred to the Cumberland County Probate Court. For more complete information and for online and other resources, see New Jersey Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

New Jersey tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page New Jersey Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the New Jersey Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. Original marriage records are usually held at the county Bureau of Vital Statistics.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

The Bridgeton Free Public Library
150 East Commerce Street
Bridgeton, NJ 08302
Telephone: 856-451-2620
Email: bpl@bridgetonlibrary.org
Website

The Millville Public Library
210 Buck Street
Millville, NJ 08332
Telephone: 856-825-7087
Website

The Vineland Public Library
1058 East Landis Avenue
Vineland, NJ 08360
Telephone: 856-794-4244
Email: reference@vinelandlibrary.org
Website

The Warren and Reba Lummis Genealogical & Historical Research Library
981 Ye Greate Street
Greenwich, NJ 08323
Telephone: 856-455-8580
Email: cchistsoc@verizon.net
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

The Alan Ewing Carman Museum of Prehistory in Cumberland County
1461 Bridgeton Road
Greenwich, NJ 08323
Telephone: 856-455-8141
Email: cchistsoc@verizon.net
Website

The Gibbon House
Greenwich, NJ 08323
Telephone: 856-455-8580
Email: cchistsoc@verizon.net
Website

Societies[edit | edit source]

Cumberland County Historical Society
960 Ye Greate Street
P.O. Box 16
Greenwich, NJ 08323
Telephone: 856-455-4055
Email: cchistsoc@verizon.net
Website

Lawrence Township Historical Society
177 North Main Street
Cedarville, NJ 08311
Telephone: 609-381-0992
Email:LawrenceTownshipHistory@gmail.com
Facebook

Mauricetown Historical Society
1229 Front Street
P.O. Box 1
Mauricetown, New Jersey 08329
Telephone: 856-785-0457
Email: history@mauricetownhistoricalsociety.org
Website

Maurice River Township Heritage Society
P.O. Box 195
Leesburg, NJ 08327
Telephone: 856-421-3539
Email: mrtheritagesociety@yahoo.com
Website

Millville Historical Society
200 East Main Street
Millville, NJ 08332
Telephone: 856-293-1078
Email: mlvhistsoc@comcast.net
Website

Vineland Historical and Antiquarian Society
108 South Seventh Street
Post Office Box 35
Vineland, NJ 08362
Telephone: 856-691-1111
Email: VinelandHistory@gmail.com
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cumberland County, New Jersey page 464, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cumberland County, New Jersey . Page 464-465 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 460.
  3. Newberry
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002).At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Cumberland County, New Jersey," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cumberland_County, New Jersey#Communities accessed 8 March 2020.