Cumberland County, Maine Genealogy
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
Guide to Cumberland County, Maine ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Cumberland County was named for Prince William, Duke of Cumberland. The county is located in the southwestern area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Cumberland County Courthouse
142 Federal Street
Portland, Me 04101
Phone: 207-871-8384
Cumberland County Website
County Clerk has death, probate and land records from 1760. City or Town Clerks have birth, marriage, death and burial records. [3]
Cumberland County, Maine Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1892 | 1892 | 1760 | 1760 | 1760 | 1760 | 1790 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this census area:[8]
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Ghost towns | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Biographical review: this volume contains biographical sketches of leading citizens of Cumberland County, Maine by Biographical Review Publishing Company, 1896, Boston, Massachusetts. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, and Ancestry.com ($)
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Occupations
- 1837 - 1965 Maine & Massachusetts Case Files of Deceased and Deserted Seamen 1837-1965 at FamilySearch - How to Use This Collection
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- 1620-2014 Maine, Tombstone Inscriptions, Surname Index, 1620-2014 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1676-1918 Maine, Veterans Cemetery Records, 1676-1918 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index/images
- 1718-2014 Maine, U.S., Tombstone Inscriptions, Surname Index, 1718-2014 at Ancestry - index ($)
- 1780-1990 Maine, U.S., Faylene Hutton Cemetery Collection, 1780-1990 at Ancestry - index and images ($)
- ca. 1780-1999 Maine, J. Gary Nichols Cemetery Collection, ca. 1780-1999 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- Westbrook Historical Society: City of Westbrook Cemeteries
- Maine Catholic Cemetery Committee's Online Databases: There are 65 catholic cemeteries in this diocese and they are slowly being put online.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1790 | 25,530 | — |
| 1800 | 38,208 | 49.7% |
| 1810 | 42,831 | 12.1% |
| 1820 | 49,445 | 15.4% |
| 1830 | 60,102 | 21.6% |
| 1840 | 68,658 | 14.2% |
| 1850 | 79,538 | 15.8% |
| 1860 | 75,591 | −5.0% |
| 1870 | 82,021 | 8.5% |
| 1880 | 86,359 | 5.3% |
| 1890 | 90,949 | 5.3% |
| 1900 | 100,689 | 10.7% |
| 1910 | 112,014 | 11.2% |
| 1920 | 124,376 | 11.0% |
| 1930 | 134,645 | 8.3% |
| 1940 | 146,000 | 8.4% |
| 1950 | 169,201 | 15.9% |
| 1960 | 182,751 | 8.0% |
| 1970 | 192,528 | 5.3% |
| 1980 | 215,789 | 12.1% |
| 1990 | 243,135 | 12.7% |
| 2000 | 265,612 | 9.2% |
| 2010 | 281,674 | 6.0% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
- 1790 1790 United States Federal Census at Ancestry ($)
- 1800 1800 United States Federal Census at Ancestry ($)
- 1810 1810 United States Federal Census at Ancestry ($)
- 1820 1820 United States Federal Census at Ancestry ($)
- 1830 1830 United States Federal Census at Ancestry ($)
- 1840 1840 United States Federal Census at Ancestry ($)
- 1850 1850 United States Federal Census at Ancestry ($)
- 1850-1880 Selected Federal Census Non-Population Schedules, 1850-1880 at Ancestry ($)
- 1860 1860 United States Federal Census at Ancestry ($)
- 1870 1870 United States Federal Census at Ancestry ($)
- 1880 1880 United States Federal Census at Ancestry ($)
- 1890 1890 Veterans Schedules at Ancestry ($)
- 1900 1900 United States Federal Census at Ancestry ($)
- 1905 Transcription - only Scarboro
- 1910 1910 United States Federal Census at Ancestry ($)
- 1920 1920 United States Federal Census at Ancestry ($)
- 1930 1930 United States Federal Census at Ancestry ($)
- 1940 1940 United States Federal Census at Ancestry ($)
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Maine denominations, view the Maine Church Records wiki page.
- 1800-1947 U.S., Evangelical Lutheran Church in America, Swedish American Church Records, 1800-1947 at Ancestry ($)
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Online Court Indexes and Records
- 1718-1957 Maine, State Archive Collections, 1718-1957 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents. See Maine Land and Property for databases, early land grants to individuals, and more information.
Online Land Indexes and Records
- 1718-1957 Maine, State Archive Collections, 1718-1957 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1718-1825 Records of the Falmouth Proprietors - 1861 manuscript transcription of the original three books by Augustus Franklin Gerrish
- 1760-1902 Land records, 1760-1902 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1760-1904 Index to land records, 1760-1904 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1798-1956 Maine, Cumberland County, Supreme Judicial Court records, 1798-1956 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1835-1838 Maine Revolutionary War Bounty Land Applications, 1835-1838 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index/images
- 1850-1916 Homestead exemption, vol. 1, 1850-1916 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Cumberland County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information, see Maine Local Histories.
- History of Cumberland Co., Maine. 1880. By W.W. Clayton. Philadelphia, Pennsylvania : Everts & Peck. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat).
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Click a neighboring county
for more resources
for more resources
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- 1676-1918 Maine, Veterans Cemetery Records, 1676-1918 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index/images
- 1718-1957 Maine, State Archive Collections, 1718-1957 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
Revolutionary War
- 1835-1838 Maine Revolutionary War Bounty Land Applications, 1835-1838 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index/images
Civil War
- 1862-1865 Maine, Civil War Enlistment Papers, 1862-1865 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
Regiments. Civil War service men in Cumberland County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in this county:
- - 1st Regiment, Maine Cavalry
- - 1st Regiment, Maine Infantry, Companies A, B, C, D, E and I.
- - 1st Regiment, Maine Volunteer Infantry, Companies A, B, C, D, E and I.
- - 5th Regiment, Maine Infantry, Companies D, F, G and H.
World War I
- 1914-1950 Maine, State Archives, World War I (WWI) Grave Cards, 1914-1950 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1917-19k19 Maine, World War I Draft Registration Index, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1718-1957 Maine, State Archive Collections, 1718-1957 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1918-1991 Maine, United States Naturalization Records, 1918-1991 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index/images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1800s-1999 Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry ($)
- 1947-1951 Portland Press Herald (Portland, Maine) at Ancestry.com ($)
- Maine Newspaper Project at DigitalMaine Repository
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1584-1999 Maine Wills and Probate Records 1584-1999 at Ancestry.com — ($)
- 1850-1899 Index of probate files, 1850-1899 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1908-2006 Maine, Cumberland County, probate records, 1908-2006 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1908-1916 Probate docket books, 1908-1916 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1908-1923 Probate index, 1908-1923 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch — How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Maine tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. For databases and more information, see Maine Taxation
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
In Maine, vital records are kept by town clerks or selectmen. Although some towns have existed since the 1650s, most vital records date from about 1700. The vital statistics are often arranged by family. For more information, see the Wiki page for the town and the Wiki page, Maine Vital Records.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1670-1921 Maine Vital Records, 1670-1921 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1715-1922 Maine, Birth Records, 1715-1922 at Ancestry ($)
- 1739-1900 Maine Births and Christenings, 1739-1900 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1589-1966 Maine, United States Marriages at at Findmypast — index, ($) — index $
- 1670-1921 Maine Vital Records, 1670-1921 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1670-1921 Maine, Marriage Index, 1670-1921, at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1713-1922 Maine, Marriage Records, 1713-1922, at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1760 to 1886 Index to Cumberland County records from 1760 to 1886, inclusive at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1771-1907 Maine Marriages, 1771-1907 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index
- 1786-1886 Marriage records, v. A-D, 1786-1886 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1786-1790 Marriage records, vol. A, pp. 1-33, 1786-1790 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1829-1866 Maine, Cumberland County, Justice of the Peace Court records, 1829-1866 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1892-1966; 1977-1996 Maine, Marriage Index, 1892-1966, 1977-1996 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1892-1996 Maine, Marriage Index, 1892-1996, at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1892-1966 Maine Marriages, 1892 - 1966 at MyHeritage - index ($)
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1670-1921 Maine Vital Records, 1670-1921 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index/images
- 1761-1922 Maine, Death Records, 1761-1922, at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1841-1910 Maine Deaths and Burials, 1841-1910 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index
- 1960-1996 Maine Death Index, 1960-1996 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index
- 1960-1997 Maine, Death Index, 1960-1997, at Ancestry.com ($)
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Scarborough Public Library - an affiliate library
- Springvale Public Library - an affiliate library
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Cumberland Historical Society
Website
Maine Genealogy
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- The Cumberland County MEGenWeb Project, an member of The MEGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Cumberland County
- Westbrook Historical Society Collections
- Cumberland County Genealogy (Maine Genealogy)
- Cumberland County, Maine History and Genealogy (Genealogy Trails)
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Newberry
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Cumberland County, Maine" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cumberland_County,_Maine."
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cumberland County, Maine page 304, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cumberland County, Maine. Page 304-305 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 275.
- ↑ Portland, ME City Hall Fire, Jan 1908 http://www.gendisasters.com/maine/5858/portland-me-city-hall-fire-jan-1908
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Massachusetts.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Cumberland_County, Maine," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cumberland_County,_Maine, accessed 27 February 2019.
