Culpeper County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Culpeper County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Culpeper
Organized: May 17, 1749
Parent County(s): Orange
Variant Spellings: Culpepper
Neighboring Counties
Fauquier  • Madison  • Orange  • Rappahannock  • Spotsylvania  • Stafford
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaCulpeperCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Culpeper County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Culpeper County is located in the Northern portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named after Thomas Culpeper, second baron Culpeper of Thoresway, a governor of Virginia 1677–1683[1].

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Culpeper County, Virginia Courthouse.JPG

Culpeper County Courthouse
135 West Cameron Street
Culpeper, VA 22701
Phone: 540-727-3417
Culpeper County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has birth records 1864-1896, 1912-1917, death records 1864-1896, marriage records from 1781, land and probate records from 1749, and court records from 1831. Town Clerks have burial records.[2]

Culpeper County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1864 1781 1864 1831 1749 1749 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • Culpeper was the site of several battles during the American Civil War, and many courthouse papers were damaged or pillaged. Missing records include minute books for 1749-1762, 1765-1797, 1812-1813, and 1817.[4]
  • Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890

Visit the Library of Virginia's website to determine exactly what records have been lost and their Lost Records Localities Database to find additional resources.
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Towns
Unincorporated communities


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

2nd Lord Colepeper.JPG

The county was named after Thomas Colepeper, 2nd Baron Colepeper (1635-1689), Colonial Governor of Virginia from 1677 to 1683. The family name was also spelled "Culpeper."[8]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

  • 1607-2007 Virginia, Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
  • Copy of Some Family Bible Records Found in Culpepper County, Culpepper, Virginia. By Daughters of the American Revolution. Culpeper Minute Men Chapter (Culpepper, Virginia). MSS., 1945-1946, available at FHL. Family Bibles of: Daingerfield, Farish, Ellis B. Long, David Wright Kelly, R.T. Kelly, Richard Payne, Rust, Tutt, George Williams, and Wood.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Culpeper County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 22,105
1800 18,100 −18.1%
1810 18,967 4.8%
1820 20,944 10.4%
1830 24,027 14.7%
1840 11,393 −52.6%
1850 12,282 7.8%
1860 12,063 −1.8%
1870 12,227 1.4%
1880 13,408 9.7%
1890 13,233 −1.3%
1900 14,123 6.7%
1910 13,472 −4.6%
1920 13,292 −1.3%
1930 13,306 0.1%
1940 13,365 0.4%
1950 13,242 −0.9%
1960 15,088 13.9%
1970 18,218 20.7%
1980 22,620 24.2%
1990 27,791 22.9%
2000 34,262 23.3%
2010 46,689 36.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

  • Early Churches of Culpeper County, Virginia: Colonial and Ante-bellum Congregations. 1987. By Arthur Dicken Thomas, Angus McDonald Green and Culpeper Historical Society. Culpeper, Virginia: Culpeper Historical Society. Available at FHL.

Scheel's map of Culpeper County, Virginia identifies the locations of early churches and meetinghouses circa 1776. The Family History Library has a copy: FHL Map 975.5392 E7s.

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Battle Run (1773). Meeting minutes and membership lists (1827-1852) have been filmed: FHL Film 30928.
  2. Bethel (1803)
  3. Crooked Run (1772).[9] The DAR prepared a history: FHL Film 849494 Item 9[10]. A history was also published in Culpeper Connections, Vol. 5, No. 1 (Aug. 2005)
  4. Culpeper (1771). Also known as The north water of Rapidanne.[11]
  5. F.T. (1778)
  6. Fiery Run (1771)
  7. Goose Creek (1799)
  8. Gourdvine (1791)
  9. Hedgeman's River (1791)
  10. Jeffersonton (1773). A history has been published: Culpeper Connections, Vol. 5, No. 1 (Aug. 2005).
  11. Mill Creek (1772)
  12. Mountponey aka Mount Poney (1774). A history was published in 1973: Virginia Baptist Register.
  13. Thompson's Gap (1787)
  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.
    Culpeper County fell mainly within the bounds of the Culpeper Association. Hedgeman's River belonged to the Ketocton Association.
  • Finnell, Woolsey. Reverend Daniel Brown of Culpepper County, Virginia and Allied Families, Webster, Finnell, McCain, Pemberton. [Tuscaloosa?] Ala.: W. Finnell, 1954. Available at FHL. [Baptist preacher.]

Church of England
Gotoarrow.png See also Bromfield Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also St. Mark's Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also St. Thomas Parish

  • A History of St. Mark's Parish : Culpeper County, Virginia, with Notes of Old Churches and Old Families, and Illustrations of the Manners and Customs of the Olden Time. 1877. By Philip Slaughter. Baltimore, MD : Innes & Co. Printers. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library

Lutheran
Hebron Church was the first German church in Virginia.[12]

  • "Hebron" Baptismal Register of the German Lutheran Church in Culpeper/Madison Counties, Virginia 1750 to 1849: Transcribed, Translated and Indexed from the Church Records with a Commentary on the Relationships of the Sponsors to the Parents. 2004. By John Blankenbaker. Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania : J. Blankenbaker. Available at FHL.
  • 1742-1775 Gray, Gertrude E. Virginia Northern Neck Land Grants, 1742-1775. Vol. II. Baltimore, MD, USA: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1997. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).

Quaker
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

  • Southland Monthly Meeting, near Stevensburg, Va. (1772-1805) aka Mount Pony[13]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

  • Abstracts from the County Court Minute Book of Culpeper County, Virginia, 1763-1764. 1930. By A.M. Prichard. Dayton, Virginia : Joseph K. Ruebush Co. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library

Chancery Court
The county's chancery causes from 1829 to 1913 — 164,000 images in all — are now available to view online at the Library of Virginia web site, one of 36 counties with chancery court records on-line as part of the Virginia Memory Collection.

  • Culpeper County, Virginia, Will Books B and C, Court Suits, Loose Papers, Inscriptions. 1965. By Dorothy Ford Wulfeck. Naugatuck, CT : D.F. Wulfeck. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library. Reviewed in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 10, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1966):35-36. Review available at FHL; online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).

District Court of Fredericksburg

The District Court of Fredericksburg and later the Superior Court of Chancery had jurisdiction over certain Culpeper County court cases. An index has been compiled:

  • Indexes of Court Records in the Clerk's Office, Fredericksburg, Virginia, 1782-1904. Original records, Fredericksburg City Courthouse, Fredericksburg, Va., microfilmed reproduction available at FHL. [Indexes the following records: District Court law book v. 8, 1782-1792; District Court law books 1790-1793, v. A-F 1789-1811; Superior Court of Law law order books v. G-H 1812-1831; Superior Court of Chancery chancery order books 1814-1831; Hustings Court orders v. A-O 1782-1871; Circuit Superior Court of Law and Chancery law order books v. A-E 1831-1875; Circuit Superior Court of Law and Chancery chancery order books v. A-D 1831-1872; Circuit Court chancery order books v. A2, B-C 1875-1904; Fredericksburg District Court (1789-1808) had jurisdiction over the following counties: Spotsylvania (including Fredericksburg), Caroline, King George, Stafford, Orange, and Culpeper; Superior Court of Chancery (1802-1831) had jurisdiction over the following localities: city of Fredericksburg and the counties of Caroline, Culpeper, Fauquier, Fairfax, Lancaster, Northumberland, Madison, King George, Orange, Prince William, Richmond, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Essex, and Westmoreland.]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Virginia are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.
    During the War of 1812, American officials reported finding a total of 6 British aliens, many of whom had families, living in Culpeper County.[14]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans
In 1790, Culpeper County had one of the largest enslaved populations in the state (8226 slaves).[15]

  • Culpeper County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1802, 1803-1823. By Paul Heinegg. Free African Americans.
  • Family Lore and Effects of Slavery on the Black Psyche: Rosa Grammar's Choice. By Ruth Randall. National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 97, No. 2 (June 2009):85-96. FHL 973 B2ng v. 97
  • 1865-1872 Virginia, Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1865-1872 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
  • Some Pre-1871 Vital Statistics on Colored Persons of Culpeper County, Virginia. 1978. By Robert A. Hodge. Fredericksburg, Virginia : R.A. Hodge. FHL Collection
  • Search the Library of Virginia's Virginia Untold collection for digitized images of African Americans of Culpeper County.

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for multiple Families

  • Harper of Virginia. 1919. Genealogy : A Monthly Magazine of American Ancestry. Hackensack, NJ : William M. Clemens Publisher. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library
  • Holtzclaw, B.C. Ancestry and Descendants of the Nassau-Siegen Immigrants to Virginia, 1714-1750. Germanna Record No. 5. Harrisonburg, Va.: The Memorial Foundation of the Germanna Colonies in Virginia, 1964. Includes Back, Brumback, Coons, Crim, Fishback, Haeger, Hanback, Hitt, Holtzclaw, Kemper, Martin, Miller, Nay, Rector, Spilman, Utterback, Wayman, Weaver, Young, Whitescarver, and Huffman (2) families.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Grants and Patents

  • Virginia Land Office Patents and Grants/Northern Neck Grants and Surveys – Images for land patents issued prior to 1779, Land Office grants issued by the Virginia Land Office after 1779, Northern Neck grants from 1692-1862, and recorded Northern Neck surveys (1786-1874) are available online at the Library of Virginia.
  • 1742-1775 Gray, Gertrude E. Virginia Northern Neck Land Grants, 1742-1775. Vol. II. Baltimore, MD, USA: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1997. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Virginia Northern Neck Land Grants, 1775-1800. Vol. III. c1987. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co. Available at FHL, online at: Ancestry ($).

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • A History of St. Mark's Parish: Culpeper County, Virginia, with Notes of Old Churches and Old Families, and Illustrations of the Manners and Customs of the Olden Time. 1877. By Philip Slaughter. Baltimore, MD : Innes & Co., Printers. Available at FHL. Digital versions available at Ancestry ($); and World Vital Records ($).
  • An 18th Century Perspective, Culpeper County. 1976. By Mary Stevens Jones. Culpeper, Virginia: Culpeper Historical Society. Available at FHL.
  • Culpeper and Orange County, Va., Families. By George W. Glass. n.p. : n.p. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
  • Genealogical and Historical Notes on Culpeper County, Virginia. Embracing a Revised and Enlarged Edition of Dr. Philip Slaughter's History of St. Mark's Parish. 1900. By Raleigh Travers Green. Culpeper, VA : Regional Publishing Company. Digital versions at Archive.org;($); Google Books (full-view); and World Vital Records ($). 1964 reprint available at FHL; 1958 reprint reviewed in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 3, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1959):137-138. Reprint available at FHL; online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • Historical Collections of Virginia : Containing a Collection of the Most Interesting Facts, Tradition, Biographical Sketches, Anecdotes, etc. relating to its History and Antiquities, Together with Geographical and Statistical Description, to which is Appended an Historical and Descriptive Sketch of the District of Columbia. 1845. By Henry Howe. Charleston, South Carolina : Babcock & Co. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
  • Virginia Indexes at EveryNameIndex.com — Select the county.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Fredericksburg (Independent City)Stafford CountySpotsylvania CountyOrange CountyMadison CountyRappahannock CountyFauquier CountyVA CULPEPER.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources
  • Culpeper, a Virginia County's History Through 1920. 1982. By Eugene M. Scheel. Culpeper, VA : Culpeper Historical Society. Available at FHL. Features include "old roads, mills, stores, plantations, churches, ruins, cemeteries, battles, historic sites, early stream names and boundaries."[16]]
  • Online interactive map with historical quad outlines and topography: OnlineGIS.
  • FamilySearch Places: Cities and Towns in this couinty - How to Use FS Places

Migration[edit | edit source]

  • Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790. By Robert Y. Clay. The Virginia Genealogist. Vol. 20, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1976):29-34. Online at: FHL, American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. Culpeper County's 1788-1789 Delinquent Lists appear on p. 29-31.

Military Records[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War

  • 1651-1776 Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2c; digital book at Ancestry ($). Identifies some County militia officers and soldiers; see place name index.
  • Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. By William F. Boogher. 2007. Baltimore : Genealogical Pub. Co. Online at: Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat). Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch (French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War) with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For Culpeper County, see pp. 70, 74, 108.
  • Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. By Lloyd DeWitt Bockstruck. 1988. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2bL. Identifies some Culpeper County militia officers, soldier enlistments, and veterans; see place name index.

Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Washington : Blair and Rives. Online at: Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat).

See Virginia, Eastern District, Culpeper County on page 129.

  • A List of Classes in Culpeper County for January 1781 for Recruiting the States Quota of Troops to Serve in the Continental Army. 1936.By Jeannette Godby. n.p. : n.p. FHL Collection
  • A List of Classes in Culpeper County for January 1781, for Recruiting This Year's Quota of Troops to Serve in the Continental Army. 1971. By Tennie Selby Burk. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
  • List of Militia Classes and Index for Culpeper County, Virginia, for 1781. Richmond, Virginia : Library of Virginia. FHL Collection
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.
  • The Culpeper Classes. 1999. By John Blankenbaker. Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania : J. Blankenbaker. FHL Collection. In 1780 and 1781 the Virginia Legislature passed an act requiring the counties to supply a specific number of men for the Continental Army. These men would be divided into classes or divisions within the militia, each under an officer. Culpeper County had 106 classes with a total of 3,000 men. This is a unique source for Culpeper County that does not survive for other Virginia counties.[17]
  • Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War: McAllister's Data. By J. T. McAllister. c1913. Hot Springs, Virginia : McAllister Pub. Co. Online at: Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • Your Affectionate Cousin: The Rosses of Culpeper County, Virginia, and San Jacinto County, Texas. 1994. By Edward Ross. Houston, TX: Thornhouse Press. FHL Collection. This is the story of the descendants of Daniel Ross -- a veteran on the British side of the American Revolution -- through two of his sons, William (in Virginia) and Wesley (in Texas).

Regiments. Service men in Culpeper County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Culpeper County supplied soldiers for the:

- 3rd Virginia Regiment
- 8th Virginia Regiment
- 10th Virginia Regiment

Dunmore

  • Augusta, Bedford, Botetourt, Culpeper and Fincastle Payrolls and Public Service Claims, 1775: Also Known as Dunmore's War: Enlarged and Photocopied. Fort Wayne, Indiana: Allen County Public Library, 2004. Available at FHL.

War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... 1883. Washington, D.C : Government Printing Office. Online at: Internet Archive, Google Books. See Vol. 5, Virginia, Culpeper County, p. 68.

Regiments. Culpeper County men served in the 5th and 34th Regiments.[18]

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men in Culpeper County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 1st Regiment, Virginia Light Artillery (Pendleton's) (Confederate). Company C (Newtown Artillery)
- 4th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate)
- 7th Battalion, Virginia Infantry, Local Defense (1st Nitre Battalion) (Confederate). Company C (Hazelwood Volunteers) and Company E (Hazelwood Volunteers).[19]
- 11th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate).[20]
- 13th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company B (The Culpeper Minute Men) and Company E (The Culpeper Riflemen).[21]

Civil War Battles
The following Civil War battles were fought in Culpeper County.

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all advertisements for runaway slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia. The book An Index for Bell and Howell Microfilm Miscellaneous Titles and Dates, Culpeper, Va. Fredericksburg, Virginia: R.A. Hodge, 198-? is available on microfiche at through the FHL. The book indexes the Culpeper Observer, the Culpeper Times, the Piedmont Advance, and the Culpeper Enterprise from June 24, 1859 through September 21, 1899, and The Exponent, the Culpeper Times, and the Culpeper Exponent from June 9, 1882 through February 8, 1889.]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Miscellaneous Records[edit | edit source]

1607-2007 Virginia, Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images

Private Papers[edit | edit source]

Collection of Papers from Culpeper Co., VA: Dealing with the Payne, Tull, Stewart, Ficklin and Related Families, 1848-1859. Available at FHL.

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

Loose Papers

  • Culpeper County, Virginia, Will Books B and C, Court Suits, Loose Papers, Inscriptions. 1965. By Dorothy Ford Wulfeck. Naugatuck, CT : D.F. Wulfeck. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library. Reviewed in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 10, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1966):35-36. Review available at FHL; online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • 1782-1791 Tax Digests Virginia Pioneers ($)
  • 1782-1802 Culpeper County Personal Property Tax Lists 1782-1802 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1782-1823 Culpeper County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1802, 1803-1823. By Paul Heinegg. Online at:Free African Americans.
  • 1783 Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783. Online at: Revolutionary War Service.
  • 1783 Property Tax List of Culpeper County, Virginia: And Names of Slaves, 1783. 1936. By Mary Boldridge Norris. Raleigh, NC : n.p. Online at: Ancestry ($); [ https://www.familysearch.org/library/books/records/item/468259-property-tax-list-of-culpeper-county-virginia-and-names-of-slaves-1783?offset=1 FamilySearch Digital Library].
  • 1783 Virginia Tax Payers, 1782-87, Other Than Those Published by the United States Census Bureau. 1940. By Augusta B. Fothergill and John Mark Naugle. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, FHL 975.5 R4f 1978. 1783 personal property tax list of Culpeper County.
  • 1787 The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16; Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle; Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. By Netti Schreiner-Yantis and Florene Speakman Love. c1987. Springfield, Virginia : Genealogical Books in Print. At various libraries (WorldCat). Culpeper County is included in Vol. 1.
  • 1788-1789 Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790. By Robert Y. Clay. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 19, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1975):190-194. FHL 975.5 B2vg; CD available at: New England Ancestors ($). These records often identify migrants who left the county and their intended destinations. Culpeper County's 1788-1789 Delinquent Lists appear on p. 29-31.
  • 1791 Indexed images of the 1791 Personal Property Tax List of Culpeper County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1800 Culpeper County, Virginia, 1800 Tax List. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 16, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1972):185-190; Vol. 16, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1972):277-280; Vol. 17, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1973):29-32; Vol. 17, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1973):93-100. Available at FHL; online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • 1801 Images of the 1801 Personal Property Tax List of Culpeper County, Virginia Binns Genealogy.
  • 1815 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). By Roger D. Ward. c1997. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co. FHL 975 E4w. At various libraries (WorldCat). Culpeper County is included in Vol. 4.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Culpeper County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Culpeper County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Culpeper Minute Men Chapter SAR 11201 Springfield Fredericksburg, Virginia22408 540-710-6764Website

  • Culpeper Town and County Library; Main & Mason Streets; Culpeper, Virginia 22701

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Culpeper County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

Compiled genealogies are a good place to start research for this area, see Culpeper County, Virginia Genealogy. If you are researching families who lived in Culpeper County, Virginia between the 1760s and 1790s, the Sparacios' books are a great time saver. They comprehensively index several publications covering that period:

  • Surname Index of Antient Press Publications. 1993. By Ruth Trickey Sparacio, and Sam Sparacio. 14+ vols. McLean, VA : R.S. Sparacio, Antient Press. FHL Collection 975.5 P22s v. 1-2; publisher's website: Antient Press.

A website with many online resources: Culpeper County, Virginia US GenWeb Project

  • A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Culpeper County. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 8, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1964):63-66. Available at FHL; online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).

References[edit | edit source]

  1. https://www.encyclopediavirginia.org/Culpeper_Thomas_second_baron_Culpeper_of_Thoresway_1635-1689#its2
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Lost Records Localities: Counties and Cities with Missing Records, 5, in Library of Virginia (accessed 4 April 2014).
  5. VA Historical Boundary Changes- list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Culpeper_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Culpeper_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 10 January 2020.
  8. Wikipedia Contributors, "Culpeper County, Virginia," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Culpeper_County,_Virginia, accessed 13 January 2012.
  9. Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 229-230, 386-387. Digital version at Google Books.
  10. Daughters of the American Revolution. Culpeper Minute Men Chapter (Culpepper, Virginia), History of Crooked Run Baptist Church, Culpeper County, Virginia: Names and Dates from Garnett Cemetery, the Corbin-Major Cemetery, Wrenn Inscription, MSS., 1950. Copy: FHL Film 849494 Item 9.
  11. Morgan Edwards, Materials Towards a History of the Baptists in the Provinces of Maryland Virginia North Carolina South Carolina Georgia (1772), 91. Digitized by SCDL Collections - free.
  12. John Frederick Dorman, "Review of Hebron Church Register, 1750-1825, Madison, Virginia," in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 26, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1982):137. Online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 26 (1982)
  13. Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  14. Kenneth Scott, British Aliens in the United States During the War of 1812 (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1979), 320-333. FHL Book 973 W4s; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  15. Ninth Census of the United States: Statistics of Population, Tables I to VIII Inclusive (Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1872), 70. Digital version at Internet Archive; FHL Book 973 X2pcu.
  16. "Historic Prince William Sponsors New Historic Map by Eugene Scheel," The Newsletter of the Prince William County Genealogical Society, Vol. 10, No. 2 (Aug. 1991):10.
  17. FamilySearch Catalog, www.familysearch.org.
  18. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 71. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  19. David F. Riggs, 7th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1982). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 3.
  20. Robert T. Bell, 11th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 20.
  21. David F. Riggs, 13th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 49.
  22. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State.
  23. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State.
  24. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State
  25. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State.
  26. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State.
  27. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State.