Crawford County, Indiana Genealogy
Guide to Crawford County, Indiana ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Crawford County was named for William H. Crawford, who was U.S. Treasury Secretary in 1818. Others say it was named for Col. William Crawford, who fought in the French and Indian War and Revolutionary War, and who was burned and scalped by Indians in 1782 in what in now Wyandot County, Ohio.[1] The county is located in the south-central area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Crawford County Courthouse
316 S Court
English, IN 47118-0375
Phone: 812-338-2565
County Website
Crawford County Health Department
306 Oak Hill Circle
English, IN, 47118
Health Officer: Devi Pierce, MD
Phone Number: 812-338-2302
Fax: 812-338-2301
Email: dshelton@crawfordcountyin.com
Health Department
County Clerk has marriage records from 1818, divorce, probate and court records from 1860.
County Health Department has birth and death records.
County Recorder has land records.[3]
Health Department has birth records and death records.
Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.
Crawford County, Indiana Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1882 | 1818 | 1882 | 1860 | 1818 | 1860 | 1807 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Townships | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Crawford County census records online, see: Indiana Census.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1820 | 2,583 | — |
| 1830 | 3,238 | 25.4% |
| 1840 | 5,282 | 63.1% |
| 1850 | 6,524 | 23.5% |
| 1860 | 8,226 | 26.1% |
| 1870 | 9,851 | 19.8% |
| 1880 | 12,356 | 25.4% |
| 1890 | 13,941 | 12.8% |
| 1900 | 13,476 | −3.3% |
| 1910 | 12,057 | −10.5% |
| 1920 | 11,201 | −7.1% |
| 1930 | 10,160 | −9.3% |
| 1940 | 10,171 | 0.1% |
| 1950 | 9,289 | −8.7% |
| 1960 | 8,379 | −9.8% |
| 1970 | 8,033 | −4.1% |
| 1980 | 9,820 | 22.2% |
| 1990 | 9,914 | 1.0% |
| 2000 | 10,743 | 8.4% |
| 2010 | 10,713 | −0.3% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
- Census Records (1820, 1830, 1840) at RootsWeb
- Early Residents of Crawford County (1820) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
- Index to Mortality Schedule (1860), at [http://www.indgensoc.org/membersonly/county/index.php Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
- Index to Defective, Dependent & Delinquent Census (1880) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.
For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
- Directory of Businesses in Leavenworth, Crawford County, Indiana (1868) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
African American
- 28th US Colored Troops, Addition Recruits for Colored Troops
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.
After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the Crawford County courthouse, where records are currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Crawford County. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information. For more information about local histories, see Indiana Local Histories.
- Biographical and Historical Souvenir for the Counties of Clark, Crawford, Harrison, Floyd, Jefferson, Jennings, Scott and Washington, Indiana. 1969, 1972. Compiled and published by John M. Gresham & Company. 1969, 1972. Evansville, Indiana: Unigraphic. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library - (1972), Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat). Reprint. Originally published: Chicago [Illinois]: Chicago Printing Company, 1889.
- A History of Crawford County, Indiana. 1926. By Hazen Hays Pleasant. Greenfield, Indiana: W. Mitchell Print. Co. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat).
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Old Antique Atlases & Maps of Indiana
- Crawford County, Indiana: Maps and Gazetteers - Linkpendium
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War
Civil War service men from Crawford County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Crawford County.
- 1st Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company E
- 6th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company F
- 13th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company H
- 13th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company I
- 17th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company C
- 23rd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company H
- 38th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies E, and K
- 49th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies F, and H (A-K see "Civil War Military Records" below)
- 51st Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company B
- 52nd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company D
- 59th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company F
- 66th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company G
- 81st Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies A, and H
- 99th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company E
- 144th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company D
- 28th US Colored Troops, Addition Recruits for Colored Troops
- Civil War Military Records - INGenWeb
- Military Persons (Who served from Crawford Co., IN or are buried in the county.) INGenWeb
Civil War Books:
- "Civil War" Chapter 14 in Pleasant, Hazen Hayes. 1926. A history of Crawford County, Indiana. (Greenfield, Ind: Wm. Mitchell Printing Co.), (page 229-306, Regiment, Companies, Names, history of Knight of Golden Circle), FamilySearch Digital Book; 977.228 H2p FHL US/CAN BookFHL Collection; Ancestry; Other Libraries
World War I
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- Naturalization Record Series (for this county) at Indiana Digital Archives. Search by names.
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Indiana newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
For more Indiana newspaper information see the wiki page Indiana Newspapers.
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
- Selected Extracts from Newspapers in English (1900) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
- Hoosier State Chronicles
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the Crawford County courthouse. For more information, see Indiana Probate Records.
- 1798-1999 Indiana Wills and Probate Records 1798-1999 at Ancestry ($)
- 1818-1973 Index to Will Records (1818-1973) at Indiana Genealogical Society
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.
- Vital Records - INGenWeb
Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1780-1992 Indiana Marriages, 1780-1992 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; Also at: MyHeritage ($)
- 1800s-2007 Indiana, United States Marriages at Findmypast$
- 1802-1892 Indiana Marriages, 1802-1892 at Ancestry ($)
- 1811-1959 Indiana, Marriages, 1811-1959 at MyHeritage - index and images, ($)
- 1811-2007 Indiana Marriages, 1811-2007 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Death[edit | edit source]
- Pre-1882 WEB: Indiana, Deaths, Pre-1882 at Ancestry.com - index, (Free collection)
- 1750-1993 Indiana Deaths and Burials, 1750-1993 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1882-1920 Indiana, Death Index, 1882-1920 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1899-2011 Indiana, Death Certificates, 1899-2011 at Ancestry ($)
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Crawford County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Brandenburg Kentucky Family History Center
- New Albany Indiana Family History Center
- Crawford County Public Library - an affiliate library.
- Jasper Public Library - an affiliate library.
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Crawford County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.
Crawford County Public Library
203 S. Indiana Avenue
English, IN 47118-0375
Phone: 812-338-2606
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Crawford County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Societies.
Crawford County Historical and Genealogical Society
310 Oak Hill Circle
English, IN
Mailing address: P.O. Box 162
Leavenworth, IN 47137
Email: billgpiper@hotmail.com
Website
Southern Indiana Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 665
180 West Spring Street
New Albany, IN 47150
Email: sigsvolunteer@gmail.com
Website
The Society's collection of genealogical materials is housed in the Indiana History Room of the New Albany-Floyd County Public Library.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Indiana Digital Archives Search by name in all records or specific collections
- Indiana Historical Society Digital Collections Search by county or keyword
- Indiana Memory Click the map or select a statewide collection
- List of indexes and databases at Indiana State Library
- Indiana Genealogical Society Databases Free and Members-only. Select a county
- EveryNameIndex.com for Indiana Free online genealogy indexes for county histories. Select a county.
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Crawford County, Indiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Genealogy Trails History Group, “Crawford County, Ohio Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ind/crawford/ accessed 3/02/2017.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Crawford County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crawford_County,_Indiana accessed 3/02/2017.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Crawford County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crawford_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, " Crawford County, Indiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crawford_County%2C_Indiana, accessed 4 December 2019.
