County of Clwyd, Wales Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Wales Wiki Topics
Y ddraig goch.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Wales Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to County of Clwyd, Wales ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

1974 - 1996 County of Clwyd[edit | edit source]

WalesClwyd.png
Clwyd was a short-lived county in Wales, formed during the controversial re-organisation of local government in 1974, but abolished following further re-organisation in 1996.

The county was formed under the Local Government Act 1972 as a merger of the ancient county of Flintshire and the majority of the ancient county of Denbighshire, together with the Edeirnion Rural District from the ancient county of Merionethshire.

Clwyd was was divided into six administrative districts:

  • Alyn and Deeside
  • Colwyn
  • Delyn
  • Glyndŵr
  • Rhuddlan
  • Wrexham Maelor

The county town was Mold.

In 1996, the county of Clwyd was split up into several new Unitary Authorities:

  • Denbighshire (with very different boundaries to the ancient county of the same name)
  • Flintshire (with very different boundaries to the ancient county of the same name)
  • County Borough of Wrexham, Wales Genealogy
  • County Borough of Conwy (together with parts of Gwynedd).

with some parts of the district of Glyndŵr being transferred to the county of Powys.

The archives of the former Clwyd Records Office were transferred to the newly created counties:

Retrieved from "https://www.familysearch.org/en/wiki/index.php?title=County_of_Clwyd,_Wales_Genealogy&oldid=4242635"