County Tyrone, Ireland Genealogy
|County Tyrone Wiki Topics|
|County Tyrone Record Types|
|Historic Ireland (pre-1922)|
|Northern Ireland (post-1922)|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to County Tyrone ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
History[edit | edit source]
Tyrone is the largest county in northern Ireland. It is one of four counties in Northern Ireland which currently has a majority of the population from a Catholic community background. In the 12th century the kingdom of Ailech split into two sovereign territories and Cenél nEógain became Tír Eoghain, the land of Eoghan, Anglicised as Tyrone. It was later ruled ruled under their kinsmen the Ó Néill clan. The other part of Ailech, was Anglicised as Tyrconnell.
Following the Norman invasion of Ulster in 1177, Tyrone had become the predominant power in the north of Ireland, a position it regained upon the collapse of the Norman Earldom of Ulster in the 14th century.
During the reign of the monarch Elizabeth I it would become an earldom within the kingdom of Ireland, eventually curtailed, it was shired into the counties of Armagh and Tyrone, and subdivided into baronies. During the reign of Stuart monarch James I, Tyrone would be reduced further with the barony of Loughinsholin in its north-east being transferred to the new county of Londonderry. The Ó Néill's rebelled several times with attempts to reassert sovereignty but failed each time. The last attempt of substance was under Hugh O'Neill, Earl of Tyrone, who fled in 1607 with many of his allies fleeing Ireland with him.
The population of County Tyrone is roughly 177,986 people.
General County Research Information[edit | edit source]
County Tyrone (Irish: Contae Tír Eoghain) is one of the six counties of Northern Ireland. It lies within the province of Ulster. The county town is Omagh. Further information about County Tyrone is available at the GenUKI site.
Civil Jurisdiction and Parish Research Information[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- 1901 Ireland Census, 1901 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1911 Ireland Census, 1911 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1623-1866 Ireland, Diocesan and Prerogative Marriage License Bonds Indexes, 1623-1866 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1701-1845 Ireland, Catholic Qualification & Convert Rolls, 1701-1845 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
- 1845-1913 Ireland Civil Registration, 1845-1913 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1845-1958 Ireland Civil Registration Indexes, 1845-1958 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Directories[edit | edit source]
- 1880 Ireland, Thom's Irish Almanac, 1880 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index, images available on Findmypast
- 1884 Ireland, Thom's Irish Almanac & Official Directory 1884 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
- 1831 - 1856 Ireland, Valuation Office Books, 1831-1856 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1847-1864 Ireland, Griffith's Valuations, 1847-1864 at MyHeritage — index & images, ($)
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
- 1595-1858 - Ireland, Diocesan and Prerogative Wills & Administrations Indexes, 1595-1858 at FamilySearch — index
Maps[edit | edit source]
- 1885 County Map: Courtesy of London Ancestor
Military[edit | edit source]
- 1914-1918 Ireland, Memorial Record: World War I, 1914-1918 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Websites[edit | edit source]
County Tyrone has a growing number of online resources for researching ancestry. Here are a few which provide significant data-rich entries for family history researchers:
- CountyTyroneGenealogy - totally free website established in 2001 by a group of dedicated Volunteers
- RootsIreland - currently holds over 750,000 entries from various records--including church registers, census, Griffiths Valuations, etc.
- Cemetery/church graveyards - for the county, in the Ulster Historical Foundation website
- RootsChat Tyrone Resources and Help pages. (Free).
- County Tyrone Northern Ireland GenWeb Project: Additional resources and links
Links to articles, subcategories and images under the Category County Tyrone[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia Collaborators, "County Tyrone," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tyrone. Visited 20 October 2017.