County Tipperary, Ireland Genealogy
|County Tipperary Wiki Topics|
|County Tipperary Record Types|
|Ireland Record Types|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to County Tipperary ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
History[edit | edit source]
County Tipperary (Irish: Contae Thiobraid Árann) is a county of Ireland. It is located in the province of Munster. The county is divided between two local government authorities, North Tipperary (with its administrative centre in Nenagh) and South Tipperary, (with its administrative centre in Clonmel). In 2012 North and South Tipperary were reunited as a single local government authority.
The name Tipperary is taken from the Irish 'Tiobraid Arann', which means 'the well of Era', referring to the River Ara. The county covers 1,661 square miles (4,303 sq km). Its length is 74 miles from the corner of the Araglin river on the bondary south-west of Clogheen to where the Little Brosna river enters the Shannon. Its breadth is 45 miles from the western boundardy between Hospital and Emly and Carrickdoon Hill on the eastern boundary. Tipperary was part of the old Gaelic territory of Ormond and Thomond. The Normans invaded in 1172. In 1641, the Irish and Norman chieftains of Tipperary became part of the Catholic Confederacy and were defeated by Cromwell in 1649. The lands of those who rebelled were given to the Cromwell’s soldiers and English adventurers. Most of the soldiers sold their land to their officers and others creating large estates in the county.
The population was 346,896 in 1821 and grew to 435,553. It was greatly affected by the potato famine and its population decreased to 331,567 in 1851. The population continued to decrease until it was only 141,015 in 1926. In 2006, the population was 149,244. The predominant religion in the county is Roman Catholic. In 1871, 93.8% of the population was Roman Catholic followed by the Church of Ireland at 5.4% with 0.3% each being Presbyterian and Methodists. Overtime there has been a slight increase in the percentage of Roman Catholic to 96.9% in 1926. In 1926, the Church of Ireland decreased to 2.6% with 0.16% and 0.121% being Presbyterian and Methodist, respectively.
General County Research Information[edit | edit source]
- Further information about County Tipperary is available at the GenUKI site.
Census[edit | edit source]
- 1901 Ireland Census, 1901 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1911 Ireland Census, 1911 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1623-1866 Ireland, Diocesan and Prerogative Marriage License Bonds Indexes, 1623-1866 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1701-1845 Ireland, Catholic Qualification & Convert Rolls, 1701-1845 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil Jurisdictions and Parish Research Information[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
- 1845-1913 Ireland Civil Registration, 1845-1913 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1845-1958 Ireland Civil Registration Indexes, 1845-1958 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Directories[edit | edit source]
- 1880 Ireland, Thom's Irish Almanac, 1880 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index, images available on Findmypast
- 1884 Ireland, Thom's Irish Almanac & Official Directory 1884 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
- 1810-1926 Ireland, Dog Licence Registrations, 1810-1926 at Ancestry — index & images, ($)
- 1831 - 1856 Ireland, Valuation Office Books, 1831-1856 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1847-1864 Ireland, Griffith's Valuations, 1847-1864 at MyHeritage — index & images, ($)
Maps[edit | edit source]
- 1885 County Map: Courtesy of London Ancestor
Military[edit | edit source]
- 1914-1918 Ireland, Memorial Record: World War I, 1914-1918 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Probates[edit | edit source]
- Abstracts of Wills. A collection of Will Abstracts, gathered from many sources, including Samuel Gordon of the South Suburbs of Clonmell, dated 10 Aug 1737, proved in the Prerogative Court 5 Jan. 1742. Article found in The Irish Ancestor, vol.II, no2, 1970 pages 117-127, Family History Library Ref. 941.5 B2i
- 1595-1858 Ireland, Diocesan and Prerogative Wills & Administrations Indexes, 1595-1858 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index