County Monaghan, Ireland Genealogy
|County Monaghan Wiki Topics|
|County Monaghan Record Types|
|Ireland Record Types|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to County Monaghan ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
History[edit | edit source]
In 1585, the English lord deputy of Ireland, visited the area and met the Irish chieftains. They requested that Ulster be divided into counties and land in the kingdom of Airgíalla be apportioned to each of the McMahon chiefs. A commission was established to accomplish this and County Monaghan came into being. The county was subdivided into five baronies, which was left under the control of the McKenna chieftains. After the defeat of the rebellion of Hugh O'Neill, The O'Neill and the Ulster chieftains in 1603, the county was not planted like the other counties of Ulster. The lands were instead left in the hands of the native chieftains. In the Irish Rebellion of 1641 the McMahons and their allies joined the general rebellion of Irish Catholics. Following their defeat, some colonisation of the county took place with Scottish and English The population of County Monaghn is roughly [NUMBER] people.
General Information about this county[edit | edit source]
- The county of Monaghan is an inland county of the province of Ulster. It is bounded by counties Louth, Armagh, Tyrone, Fermanagh, Cavan and Meath.
- The county is completely within the diocese of Clogher and province of Armagh. The civil jurisidiction divides Monaghan into the baronies of Cremorne, Dartree, Farney, Monaghan, and Trough. It contains the disfranchised borough, market and assize town of Monaghan; the market and post towns of Carrickmacross, Castle-Blayney, Ballybay, Clones, and Newbliss; and the post towns of Emyvale and Glaslough. The principal villages are Smithsborough, Ballytrain, Ballinode, Glennon, and Rock-Corry. The county court house and gaol are in the town of Monaghan, where the assizes are held; general quarter-sessions are held four times in the year at Monaghan and Castle - Blayney. There are 23 constabulary police stations. In military arrangements the county is in the Belfast district, and contains a barrack at Monaghan for cavalry; the barrack has accommodations for 3 officers, 54 privates, and 44 horses, and hospital accommodation for 4 patients, but is generally occupied by a detachment of infantry from Londonderry or Newry.
- Few of the farms on the larger estates are tenanted in perpetuity; the usual term is 21 years and a life, or 60 years and three lives.
- The larger farms throughout the county do not average 25 acres; smaller, which are much more numerous, not six, so that ten acres may be adopted as the general average.
- The linen manufacture was established here at a very early period, and several towns and villages owe their origin to this branch of national industry. Both spinning and weaving declined considerably until the last few years, within which period the trade has revived.
Information provided by the 1847 edition of Samuel Lewis' "Topographical Dictionary of Ireland".
Archives and Libraries[edit | edit source]
- The National Library of Ireland
- National Archives of Ireland
- Proni or Public Record Office of Northern Ireland
Census[edit | edit source]
- 1901 Ireland Census, 1901 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1911 Ireland Census, 1911 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1623-1866 Ireland, Diocesan and Prerogative Marriage License Bonds Indexes, 1623-1866 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1701-1845 Ireland, Catholic Qualification & Convert Rolls, 1701-1845 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil Jurisdictions and Parish Research Information[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
- 1845-1913 Ireland Civil Registration, 1845-1913 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1845-1958 Ireland Civil Registration Indexes, 1845-1958 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Directories[edit | edit source]
- 1880 Ireland, Thom's Irish Almanac, 1880 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index, images available on Findmypast
- 1884 Ireland, Thom's Irish Almanac & Official Directory 1884 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
- Ffolliott, Rosemary. Some Connecting Links between Ireland and the New World from Old Newspapers. Alphabetical listings of births, marriages and deaths in the Munster Newspapers covering U.S.A. Canada, West Indies and England, years 1765-1826. Article found in The Irish Ancestor vol.2, no. 1. 1970 pages 62-69. Family History Library Ref. 941.5 B2i
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
- 1810-1926 Ireland, Dog Licence Registrations, 1810-1926 at Ancestry — index & images, ($)
- 1831 - 1856 Ireland, Valuation Office Books, 1831-1856 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1847-1864 Ireland, Griffith's Valuations, 1847-1864 at MyHeritage — index & images, ($)
Maps[edit | edit source]
- 1885 County Map Courtesy of London Ancestor
Military[edit | edit source]
- 1914-1918 Ireland, Memorial Record: World War I, 1914-1918 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Probates[edit | edit source]
Abstracts of Some Ardagh, Clogher and Kilmore Diocesan Wills. List of Wills proved in these Diocese, covering years 1739-1810, article in The Irish Ancestor, vol.VI.no.2.1974, pages 112-121, Family History Library Ref. 941.5 B2i v5-6.
- 1595-1858 Ireland, Diocesan and Prerogative Wills & Administrations Indexes, 1595-1858 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
Societies[edit | edit source]
Family history societies often publish helpful journals, transcripts, compiled genealogies and host helpful websites. They may have ongoing projects to transcribe records and create indexes. Most societies publish queries in their journals and maintain lists of members’ research interests that may be helpful to you. You may want to join one of these societies, reap the benefits of their expertise and resources or support its efforts.
Clogher Historical Society
Tel: +353 47 82304
Member of the Irish Genealogical Project.
Clogher Historical Society
St Macartan's College,
Tel: +353 47 71984
Internet: Clogher History
Monaghan County Library
Tel: +353 47 51143
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Irish Times, also lists all county Heritage Centres' addresses
- RootsChat Monaghan Resources and Help pages. (Free).
- RootsIreland baptism records County Monaghan.
- FamilySearch.org- click "All Record Collections"
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia Collaborators, "ounty Monghan," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, [URL]. Visited [DATE].