County Limerick, Ireland Genealogy
| County Limerick Wiki Topics | |
 | |
| Beginning Research | |
| County Limerick Record Types | |
| Ireland Record Types | |
| Ireland Background | |
| Local Research Resources | |
Guide to County Limerick ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
History[edit | edit source]
County Limerick (Irish: Contae Luimnigh) is a county in Ireland. It is located in the province of Munster. The administrative headquarters are in the city of Limerick. The name Limerick is derived from the Irish name Luimneach meaning ‘bare ground’. Its greatest length is 50 miles from the boundary at Galtmore to near Abbeyfeale and has an area of about 1030 square miles.
The Celts came to this area in 400 BC. Later in the fifth century, several Christian monasteries were established. The Vikings took control of Limerick City in the mid-ninth century followed by the Normans in the twelfth century. Limerick was formerly established in 1210. A large rebellion in the sixteenth century. To make the County more English, settlers came Limerick in 1598 as part of the Plantation of Munster, which wasn’t very successful. German settlers were brought to Limerick in 1709 from the Rhine Palatinate.
A local potato famine in 1820 followed by the great famine in 1845-47, had a terrible impact. In 1821, the population was 277,477. It increased to 330,029 in 1841, but began to decrease thereafter. In 1851, it was 262,132 and was only 143,000 in 1911. In 2006, the population was 184,055. Limerick is predominately Roman Catholic. In 1861, 96.4% of the population were Roman Catholic with 3.3% of the Church of Ireland, 0.10% Presbyterians and 0.2% Methodists. There were small variations over the years, but it remain fairly constant. In 1911, 97.08% were Roman Catholic with 2.44% Church of Ireland, 0.13% Presbyterians and 0.2% Methodists.
General County Research Information[edit | edit source]
- Further information about County Limerick is available at the GenUKI Limerick site.
Census[edit | edit source]
- 1901 Ireland Census, 1901 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1911 Ireland Census, 1911 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1623-1866 Ireland, Diocesan and Prerogative Marriage License Bonds Indexes, 1623-1866 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1701-1845 Ireland, Catholic Qualification & Convert Rolls, 1701-1845 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil Jurisdictions and Parish Research Information[edit | edit source]
- List of County Limerick Civil Parishes
- List of County Limerick Catholic Parishes
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
- 1845-1913 Ireland Civil Registration, 1845-1913 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1845-1958 Ireland Civil Registration Indexes, 1845-1958 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Directories[edit | edit source]
- 1880 Ireland, Thom's Irish Almanac, 1880 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index, images available on Findmypast
- 1884 Ireland, Thom's Irish Almanac & Official Directory 1884 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
- 1810-1926 Ireland, Dog Licence Registrations, 1810-1926 at Ancestry — index & images, ($)
- 1831 - 1856 Ireland, Valuation Office Books, 1831-1856 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1847-1864 Ireland, Griffith's Valuations, 1847-1864 at MyHeritage — index & images, ($)
Maps[edit | edit source]
- 1885 County Map: Courtesy of London Ancestor
Military[edit | edit source]
- 1914-1918 Ireland, Memorial Record: World War I, 1914-1918 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
- 1595-1858 Ireland, Diocesan and Prerogative Wills & Administrations Indexes, 1595-1858 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
