County Fermanagh, Ireland Genealogy
| County Fermanagh Wiki Topics | |
 | |
| Beginning Research | |
| County Fermanagh Record Types | |
| Historic Ireland (pre-1922) Wiki Topics | |
| Record Types | |
| Northern Ireland (post-1922) Wiki Topics | |
| Record Types | |
| Ireland Background | |
| Local Research Resources | |
Guide to County Fermanagh ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
History[edit | edit source]
The Menapii are the only known Celtic tribe specifically named on Ptolemy’s 150 AD map of Ireland, They later became known as the Fir Manach, and giving their name to Fermanagh and Monaghan.
The Annals of Ulster which cover medieval Ireland between AD 431 to AD 1540 were written at Belle Isle on Lough Erne near Lisbellaw.
Fermanagh was a stronghold of the Maguire clan and Donn Carrach Maguire who died in died 1302, was the first of the chiefs of the Maguire dynasty. However, on the confiscation of lands relating to Hugh Maguire, Fermanagh was divided in similar manner to the other five counties among the Scottish, English and native Irish.
Fermanagh was made into a county by Elizabeth I, but it was not until the time of the Plantation of Ulster that it was finally brought under civil government.
By the end of the 11th century, Fermanagh had decisively re-emerged as a sovereign kingdom in the region. The rulers of this kingdom were drawn from the Airgíalla. Towards the end of the 13th century, the Maguire arose to the kingship of Fermanagh and with the exception of some challenges from the Ó Domhnaill of Tyrconnell, this would remain the situation until the end of the kingdom in 1607 with the Flight of the Earls.
The closure of all the lines of Great Northern Railway (Ireland) within County Fermanagh in 1957 left the county as the first non-island county in the UK without a railway service.
The population of County Fermanagh is roughly 61,805 people.[1]
General County Research Information[edit | edit source]
County Fermanagh (Irish: Contae Fear Manach) is one of the six counties of Northern Ireland. The county town is Enniskillen. Further information about County Fermanagh is available at the Fermanagh website.
Civil Jurisdictions and Parish Research Information[edit | edit source]
- List of County Fermanagh Civil Parishes
- List of County Fermanagh Catholic Parishes
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- 1901 Ireland Census, 1901 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1911 Ireland Census, 1911 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1623-1866 Ireland, Diocesan and Prerogative Marriage License Bonds Indexes, 1623-1866 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1701-1845 Ireland, Catholic Qualification & Convert Rolls, 1701-1845 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
- 1845-1913 Ireland Civil Registration, 1845-1913 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1845-1958 Ireland Civil Registration Indexes, 1845-1958 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Directories[edit | edit source]
- 1880 Ireland, Thom's Irish Almanac, 1880 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index, images available on Findmypast
- 1884 Ireland, Thom's Irish Almanac & Official Directory 1884 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
- 1831 - 1856 Ireland, Valuation Office Books, 1831-1856 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1847-1864 Ireland, Griffith's Valuations, 1847-1864 at MyHeritage — index & images, ($)
Maps[edit | edit source]
- 1885 County Map: Courtesy of London Ancestor
Military[edit | edit source]
- 1914-1918 Ireland, Memorial Record: World War I, 1914-1918 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Probates[edit | edit source]
Abstracts of Some Ardagh, Clogher and Kilmore Diocesan Wills, List of Wills proved, years covered 1739-1810, Article in The Irish Ancestor, vol.VI.no.2.1974, Family History Library Ref. 941.5 B2iv5-6.
- 1595-1858 Ireland, Diocesan and Prerogative Wills & Administrations Indexes, 1595-1858 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
Websites[edit | edit source]
- FHLFavorites.info
- RootsChat Fermanagh Resources and Help pages. (Free).
- County Fermanagh, Northern Ireland GenWeb:
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia Collaborators, "County Fermanagh," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/County_Fermanagh. Visited 18 October 2017.
