County Dublin, Ireland Genealogy
|County Dublin Wiki Topics|
|County Dublin Record Types|
|Ireland Record Types|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to County Dublin ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
History[edit | edit source]
County Dublin (Irish: Contae Bhaile Átha Cliath) is a county in Ireland, surrounding the capital city of Dublin. It is part of the province of Leinster. The county has now been split into four local government authorities: Dublin City; Dun Laoghaire–Rathdown; Fingal and South Dublin. In the eighth century, the Vikings establish a settlement here, which developed into an important Viking base. The Irish took over a portion of the area in 1014 at the Battle of Clontarf. In 1169, Dublin became the center of the Norman’s activities in Ireland. By 1644, the English controlled most of the country and the population of Dublin was about 60,000. Dublin continued to grow with the arrival of English administrators as well as people from all over Ireland. Huguenot, Jewish and other groups also came to Dublin.
The population was 335,892 in 1821 and grew to 372,773 in 1841. Contrary to the population of most counties, County Dublin’s population increased following the potato famine to 405,147 in 1851. The population generally continued to increase until it was 505,654 in 1926. In 2006, the population was 1,187,176 in total, of which 506,211 were living in the City. The predominant religion in the county is Roman Catholic. In 1891, 77.0% of the population was Roman Catholic followed by the Church of Ireland at 18.6% with 1.8% and 1.0% being Presbyterian and Methodists, respectively. Over time, the percentage of Roman Catholics increased to 95.8% in 1926 and the Church of Ireland also decreased to 10.6% with 1.3% and 0.8% being Presbyterian and Methodist. In 2006, the percentages were 81.4%, 3.0%, 0.5%, 0.4% for Roman Catholics, Presbyterians and Methodists with 12.2% reporting as being another religion or having no religion.
General County Research Information[edit | edit source]
Further information about County Dublin is available at:
- FamilySearch.org - click "All Record Collections"
Archives and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Other online resources:
- Irish Times, also lists all county Heritage Centres' addresses
- Sword's Heritage and Genealogy Centre (Dublin North)
- Dún Laoghaire (Dublin South Heritage Centre)
National Archives of Ireland:
Donnelly, Brian. Hospital Records in the National Archives of Ireland. Hospital records that include patient admissions in the National Archives include: St. Columbia's Mental Hospital, Sligo 1855-1892, St. John's Hospital 1910-1988, Richmond District Lunatic Asylum 1820-1893 Also Chief Secretary's Office Register Papers include medical records and photographs of persons sentenced to prison 1850 onwards. Many poor law records involve medical records. Restricted access to information on individuals after 1900. Article covers years 1745-2006. Found in Irish Archives: Journal of the Irish Society for Archives. Family History Library Ref. 941.5 B2ia journal 15 year 2008 pages 14-19.
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- 1805-2006 Ireland, Dublin City Cemetery Burials 1805-2006 at Findmypast - index ($)
County Dublin has numerous cemeteries within its boundaries. Currently, there are some of them which have published data online. The following web sites provide researchers some options for finding Dublin ancestry in compiled transcriptions of these precious records:
- Visit the FHL Favorites web sitefor a few sites containing online cemetery inscriptions.
- Internment.Net has over 30 cemeteries with (free) data available online. See the following ones:
- For a more exhaustive list of Dublin City cemeteries, the Dublin Graveyards Directory is an excellent resource with well over 200 cemeteries listed. Be certain to "Google!" the title of each cemetery, as there may be several of the listed cemeteries with online data available. Hint: Search with the following search-terms:
- Cemetery Title - if more than one word in the title, then place the cemetery name in quotation marks: i.e. "Saint Peter and Paul"
- Cemetery" or "graveyard"
- name of] town
Ireland Genealogy Links
Census[edit | edit source]
Most of the Census records carried out prior to 1900 have been destroyed or lost. However, the following web sites provide researchers with online access to an indexes and returns for the following years:
- 1851 - WorldVitalRecords.com ($) (*)
- 1901 - National Archives of Ireland (full census with images - free)
- 1911 - National Archives of Ireland (full census with images - free)
- only fragments of the actual 1851 census survive, for a few scattered civil parishes around Ireland. The 1851 'census' mentioned above is an extract created by Dr. D.A. Chart for the city area only.This contains the address and name of the head of household only - no other details.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- 1623-1866 Ireland, Diocesan and Prerogative Marriage License Bonds Indexes, 1623-1866 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1701-1845 Ireland, Catholic Qualification & Convert Rolls, 1701-1845 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Church of Ireland[edit | edit source]
The Representative Church Body Library has many (but not all) surviving Church of Ireland registers from the 1922 Four Courts, Dublin fire. However, some transcript copies are held at:
- the local parish
- local archives and libraries
- Irishgenealogy.ie provides parish register transcripts and images for many of the City of Dublin's Anglican parishes online for free. They update their web site with more data, continually; be certain to check back often.
Dublin was comprised of numerous parishes within the county, suburbs and city, including their chapels of ease.
For Dublin City, here is a list of those extant Church of Ireland parishes in the City as of the 1837 publication of the famed 19th Century topographer, Samuel A. Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of Ireland:
- Grangegorman - 1830
- Female Orphan School
Episcopal Chapel - by 1837
- St Andrew's - 1660
- St Anne - 1707
- St Audeons - in ruins by 1837
- St Bridget or Bride - 1684
- St Catherine - 1769
Swift Alley Free Episcopal Chapel - by 1837 St George - 1802
- Little St George's Chapel, Lower Temple-St - 1837
- Free Episcopal Chapel, Great Charles St - 1826
- The Episcopal Chapel,
- Female Penitentiary, North Circular Rd - 1837
St James -
- Royal Hospital Chapel - by 1837
- Foundling Hospital Chapel
- Golden-Bridge Chapel of ease, Richmond Barracks - by 1837
- St John - 1554
- St Stephen Mount St Chapel - by 1837
- The Mariner's Chapel, Forbes St - 1832
- Marine School Episcopal Chapel - by 1837
- Trinity College Chapel (extra-parochial) - by 1837
- St Mary - 1697
- Mountjoy Street Free Episcopal Chapel - 1830
- The Lying in Hospital - by 1837
- Bethesda Episcopal Chapel - 1786
- St Paul - by 1697
King's or Blue Coat Hospital Chapel - bef. 1837
- St Kevin - bef. 1837 - Upper Mount St, Merrion Sq - by 1837
Rathmines Chapel - by 1837
Sandford Episcopal Chapel, Cullens Wood - by 1837
Upper Baggot St Episcopal Chapel - 1835
The Magdalen Asylum Chapel, Leeson Street - by 1837 St Thomas - 1749
Feinaglian Institution, Luxemburgh Episcopal Chapel - by 1837 St Werbergh - 1759
Finglass Epsicopal Chapel - by 1837
St. Margaret Chapelry - 1837
Ward Chapelry - by 1837.
Roman Catholic[edit | edit source]
The National Library, Kildare Street, Dublin, is the custodian of films of most of the available Roman Catholic parish registers from throughout the country--including County Dublin.These are now available to view online on the N.L.I. website
Here is a list of extant Roman Catholic parishes and their chapels of ease for the Dublin City region according to the renowned 19th Century topographer, Samuel A. Lewis, as of 1837:
- Rathmines - 1823,
- St. Mary's Cathedral - 1741
- - Chapel of St. Francis Zavir, Upper Gardiner-Street - ~1837
- St. Michan's - 1726
- St. Paul's - 1731
- - Phibsborough Chapel - 1835
- St. Andrew's - 1742
- St. Audeon's - 1778
- St. Catherine's - 1740
- - St. John the Baptist Chapel - abt 1825
- St. James's - 1752
- St. Michael's and St. John's - 1742
- - Chapel of St. Francis of Assisium - ~1840
- St. Nicholas's (Without) - by 1742
- Variety of Roman Catholic parishes by Irish Genealogy (free)
The FHL (Family History Library) has only copy registers for St Bride's Roman Catholic Parish for the City of Dublin. There are but few copy registers for the county of Dublin in its collection. You can identify extant ones listed online at FamilySearch.org. If you know the name of the civil parish in which your Catholic ancestor resided or was from, click "Catalog" and type in the name of the parish and then highlight/click on "Church Records".
The web site www.irishgenealogy.ie is a marvelous website which holds numerous Roman Catholic parish register transcripts for many City of Dublin parishes, and some for county Dublin--all at no cost. Eventually, scanned images will become available and connected to the indexed entries.
Dowling, Noelle. The Legacy of Brother Allen. The Allen Library is housed within the Edmund Rice House. William Allen collected material he deemed significant to understanding Irish Social and political history, beginning with the Rising in 1916. The Library is a repository for Christian Brothers Schools and houses that have closed. Covers years 1892-2006 Article in the Irish Archives, Journal of the Irish Society for Archives No. 12-2005-2006, pages 12-14. Family History Library Ref. 941.5 B2ia.
Presbyterian[edit | edit source]
Presbyterian records began much later than those for the Church of Ireland, some from the mid to late 18th century, but more especially from the early 19th century.
The Swords Heritage Centre (Dublin North) and the Dun Laoghaire Genealogy Centre (Dublin South) currently have not posted any Presbyterian register data online. Be sure to check back periodically to determine availability of data.
The vast majority of Ireland's Presbyterian denominational chapel registers have never been centrally archived, and thus are found in various locations. [Regretably, these precious records and the rich local Presbyterian heritage as well as the descendants they represent worldwide, are at risk unless and until such time when these registers are all copied into at least microform or, better--a digitized format.]
To find your ancestors in extant registers, you must conduct exhaustive, thorough studies to determine to which Presbyterian denomination your ancestor belonged; and to then, determine the whereabouts of surviving registers--if any. The most likely places to find and search Presbyterian registers starts with checking the following locations:
- The local Presbyterian congregation/church (if still in use)
- For defunct Presbyterian churches (i.e. Scots Presbyterian chapels), visit, write to or, hire a record searcher to check contiguous or sometimes distant Presbyterian chapels for the records. Hint: registers and records of defunct chapels usually were transferred to a nearby operating church
- Dublin City Library, Pearse Street, and posssibly other town libraries
- The Presbyterian Historical Society, Belfast has some registers for i.e. earlier record-keeping years
- County archives/libraries
- PRONI (Public Record Office of Northern Ireland)
- The National Archives, Dublin
- The National Library of Ireland
- Civil Registration of Marriages - beginning 1845
- Irishgenealogy.ie provides church record extracts from Lucan Presbyterian Church online for free. Since they update their web site with more data, continually, be certain to check back often to see if new Presbyterian church records data appears.
- Try "Google!"-ing the three search terms (words) of [name of] "township/civil parish", "Presbyterian" and i.e. "marriage", etc, for online data.
- Search in Church of Ireland parish registers as sometimes events surrounding Presbyterians were at times recorded in these for many areas--especially in earlier years
- Lucan Parish Records: Irish Genealogy (Free)
The Unitarian Church, St Stephen's Green, Dublin, aside from its own registers, holds records relating to almost all of Dublin's now defunct English Presbyterian chapels/congregations, all once resident in Eustace Street, Cook Street (very few pre-1800 records) and Wood Street.
Other[edit | edit source]
- The excellent rootsireland web site for County Dublin currently has no Presbyterian chapel registers data available online. Keep checking back to see if this status changes.
- The FHL (Family History Library) has but very few transcription copies of Presbyterian chapels. Do a "Place" search in the FamilySearch Catalog (FamilySearch Catalog) under the name of the civil parish (if known) in order to find available ones to search. To view a list or see a map showing the civil parishes for Dublin, visit IrishTimes.com.
- HENRY_SMYRL. Steven C. The Records of Dublin's Protestant Dissenting Congregations. A discussion of Dublin's Protestant dissenters, their records and where they are now located. Illustrated with facsmile pages from some of the registers. Bibliography. Covers years 1660-1957. Article in Irish Archives: Journal of the Irish Society for Archives. vol. 16, 2009. pages 14-22. Family History Library, SLC. Ref. 941.5 B2ia
- Prof. Cormack O'Grade, Material for the History of Irish Jewry. Mentioned is a series of Compendia of Archives by Stuart Rosenblatt. 16 volumes includes marriage registers, memorial inscriptions, census record, school enrolment and alien field. All are depostited in The National Archives, and the Irish Jewish Museum. also a list of holdings at many repositories. Covers years 1748-2009. Article in Irish Archives: Journal of the Irish Society For Archives, vol. 16, 2009, pages 42-49. Family History Library Ref. 941.5 B2ia
Methodist[edit | edit source]
Most of Methodist Church registers of baptisms and marriages are still held locally at the Methodist churches. You must contact the minister office of each chapel, bearing in mind that they may or may not conduct ancestral searches on your behalf.
PRONI (Public Record Office of Northern Ireland, Belfast) possesses the largest collection of Methodist registers which is mostly available only on microfilm. Held also by that archive is an index to baptisms from most of Ireland (Dublin area excepted), 1817-1850 called the Methodist Composite and is on microfilm.
When a Methodist chapel closed, the registers were transferred to the next nearest chapel called a circuit and sometimes often subsequently re-named.
By Parliamentary Act of 1753, all marriages of most dissenting denominations were to occur within the local Church of Ireland parishes--including Methodists from early 19th century. Burials will mostly be found in the local Church of Ireland church graveyards; some in the Presbyterian graveyards where they existed.
The Wesley Historical Society Archives, at Edgehill College, in Belfast has significant record holdings in both microform format of records and hard copy registers. You may initially contact them; however, they will not perform genealogical searches for you. You will likely need to contact a professional researcher or a record agent on your behalf. Here is the contact information for W.H.S.A.:
Edgehill Theological College
9 Lennox Vale
Belfast BT9 5BY
Tel: 028 9068 5870
For the Dublin District, be certain to contact Christ Church, Sandymount, Dublin, which holds a large collection of Methodist Church registers.
For over all help with Dublin Methodist ancestry, your initial enquiries may be made to the Archivist, Wesley Historical Society (WHS), Edgehill College, Belfast.
The rootsireland web site for County Dublin currently does not have any Methodist data online. However, in the future this web site, like other counties, will likely make some Methodist church register data available to researchers online. Keep checking back often.
Society of Friends[edit | edit source]
Church registers for The Society of Friends exist and may provide excellent information about Irish Quaker ancestry. Especially for Dublin "Friends" or members, be sure to contact the Dublin Historical Library – officially the Historical Library of Ireland Yearly Meeting of the Religious Society of Friends which is located in Quaker House, Dublin. Their manuscript and printed archives collection provide information on most Irish Quakers from the 17th century.
The most important manuscripts are the Minutes to the various Quaker meetings and committees. Many of these have been microfilmed and scanned to computer files, others have been digitally photographed. In addition, the collection contains comprehensive records of births, marriages and deaths. These, from the earliest times up to the mid-19th century, are now searchable on computer database at the above library.
The Family History Library possesses fairly significant microfilm collections of Irish Quaker records and indexes to many Quaker Meeting records. These films may be circulated to any one of its over 4,500 worldwide satellite FHCs (Family History Centers). Visit FamilySearch.org to obtain the location addresses to any of these FHCs for further assistance.
Goodbody, Olive C. "Quaker Inventories". An article of deaths of some Quakers in Co. Kildare, Dublin and Offaly. James Taylor of Dublin 1687, with interest in his dealings with London and Pennsylvania. Samuel Watson of Dublin 1731, inventory with trade to London and Philadelphia. John Stevens of Dublin, 1731, attestation of his hadwriting and inventory. Article The Irish Ancestor, vol.III, no. 1, 1971 pages 52-63, Family History Ref. 941.5 B2i
Harrison, Richard S. Irish Quaker Archives and the Dublin Friends Historical Library. Quaker Archives are housed in the Dublin Friends Historical Library. Holdings include manuscripts, ancillary non-archival materials, letters, journals, photographs, school records, pedigrees and 1140 printed volumes. Covers years 1671-2004 contained in Irish Archives, Journal of the Irish Society for Archives. vol. 12, 2005-2006 pages 25-30. Family History Library Ref. 941.5 B2ia
Other Records[edit | edit source]
During the period of 1806-1837, Rev. J.G.F. Schulze married over 6,000 Irish couples in his City of Dublin German chapel. Many of these recorded marriages were considered to be clandestine. These (mostly) marriages and a few baptisms may be viewed on the following Family History Library microfilm: #101771 (item 1).
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
- 1845-1913 Ireland Civil Registration, 1845-1913 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1845-1958 Ireland Civil Registration Indexes, 1845-1958 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- FamilySearch.org - Index to 1864 - 1959; Protestant (only) marriages from 1845; Civil Registration of births, marriages and deaths in Ireland
- The General Register Office of Ireland: official government site for ordering copies of births, marriages, and deaths from their address, at reasonable prices. No online ordering is available, yet. However, they may fulfill requests via fax, telephone or by snail-mail.
- Civil Registration of births marriages and deaths for County Dublin, online, has transcribed some Dublin BMDs, from 1864
Civil Jurisdictions and Parish Research Information[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration of Births, Marriages & Deaths[edit | edit source]
Government-sponsored registration of births, marriages and deaths began in 1864, in addition non-Catholic marriages (including registry office) were registered from 1845. To find information on the vital events of your irish ancestor, here are some helpful websites for obtaining critical information:
- FamilySearch.org - has online databases for births, marriages and deaths; click "All Records Collections", then scroll down to and click "Ireland Civil Registration Indexes, 1845 to 1958".
- To obtain certificates of birth, marriage or death for your ancestor[s], write to or contact the following record office; the cost is €10 (about $13) per certificate:
General Register Office
Tel: +353 (0) 90 6632900
LoCall: 1890 252076
Fax: +353 (0) 90 6632999
Fax: +353 (0) 90 6632988
There are fees for performing particular searches; see their website for further information.
The General Register Office of Ireland: official government site for ordering copies of births, marriages, and deaths from their address, at reasonable prices. Certificates can be requested online or by snail-mail. Note: research certs which are photocopies of the GRO registers cost €4, providing you include the required BMD Index references, so no search is required. i.e. Name, record type (e.g. birth), registration district, year/quarter, volume number & page number. (Note: earlier records don't require a quarter.)
Civil Registration of births marriages and deaths for County Dublin, online, has transcribed some Dublin BMDs, from 1864
Directories[edit | edit source]
- 1843 Ireland, Dublin, The Post Office Annual Directory and Calendar, 1843 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index, images available through findmypast
- 1858 Ireland, Dublin, The Post Office Annual Directory and Calendar, 1858 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index, images available through findmypast
- 1880 Ireland, Thom's Irish Almanac, 1880 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index, images available on Findmypast
- 1884 Ireland, Thom's Irish Almanac & Official Directory 1884 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Estate Records[edit | edit source]
Estate records may provide names of households in such records as leases, rents, and mortgages. These ought to be consulted and used when extant, especially when church registers do not exist for the time period being researched. Here are some web sites which hold estate records and some transcriptions of same:
- findmypast ($)
- Connacht Province Landed Estate Database (online)
- Freeholders Records - many Irish freeholders
Jews[edit | edit source]
Ireland's earliest established synagogue was comprised of a mere "prayer room" at Crane Lane, near Dublin Castle. The oldest Jewish cemetery dates from the early 1700s, and is situated near Ballybough Bridge, Clontarf, Dublin 3.
Most records for Ireland's Jews are housed at the Jewish Museum, Dublin. But by the beginning of the 19th century, the Jewish community had dwindled to just three families.
Prof. Cormack O'Grade. Material for the History of Irish Jewry. Mentioned is a series of compendia of archives by Stuart Rosenblatt. 16 volumes includes marriage registers, memorial inscriptions, census records, school enrolments and alien field. All are deposited in The National Archves and The Irish Jewish Museum, also a list of hodings at many repositories. covers years 1748-2009 Article in Irish Archives: Journal of the Irish Society for Archives, vol 16, 2009. pages 42-49. Family History Library SLC, Ref. 941.5 B2ia
Huguenots[edit | edit source]
Rambaut, Philip Marland. The Hugenot Family of Rambaut in Ireland. Article is a brief history of the Hugenots in Ireland. Author traces the Rambaut family from William Rambaut, 1795-1833. Illustrated with photogrpahs, also Edmund Francis Rambaut 1827-1893, and his wife Madalene Marlande 1829-1887. Dates covered 1453-1985. Article in The Irish Ancestor, vol. XVII no.2, 1985, page 70-72. FHL Ref. 941.5 B2i
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
- 1810-1926 Ireland, Dog Licence Registrations, 1810-1926 at Ancestry — index & images, ($)
- 1831 - 1856 Ireland, Valuation Office Books, 1831-1856 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1847-1864 Ireland, Griffith's Valuations, 1847-1864 at MyHeritage — index & images, ($)
Maps[edit | edit source]
- To view a list or to see a map showing the civil parishes for Dublin, visit IrishTimes.com, here.
- Also visit the FHLFavorites.com web site which has several additional links to Irish maps, including the Dublin region and county.
- 1885 County Map: Courtesy of London Ancestor
- 1885 City of Dublin and Suburbs: Courtesy of London Ancestor
Military[edit | edit source]
- 1914-1918 Ireland, Memorial Record: World War I, 1914-1918 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Visit www.FHLFavorites.com - scroll down to "Ireland - General - Newspapers" and also "Ireland - Dublin - Newspapers" to view those links to additional online newspapers offerings.
Ffolliott, Rosemary. "Some Connecting Links between Ireland and the New World From Old Newspapers". Article contains alphabetical listings of births, marriages and deaths in the Munster Newspapers covering U.S.A, Canada, West Indies and England, covering years 1765-1826 Article found in The Irish Ancestor. vol. 2 no. 1. 1970 pages 62-69, Family History Library Ref. 941.5 B2i
Occupations[edit | edit source]
Trade directories exist for Dublin which are outstanding in the information they provide. The information in these annual publications pertained mostly to those in professional, manufacturing, and corporate groups. For example Peter Wilson's Wilson's Directories from 1751 to 1837 and, Samuel and John Watson's Gentleman's and Citizen's Almanack from 1729 to 1844 are among the best such directories available.
Freemen of the City of Dublin were licenced to 'ply' their trade in the city. Records exist for these which are ancient in origin, going back as far as the year 1225 AD. The records are held at the Dublin City Library.
Additionally, there are records for "Citizens" of Dublin City which extend back even further in time, beginning as early as the year 1192 AD. These are also housed at the Dublin City Library. The excellent record holdings of this library can be viewed or consulted by contacting:
Dublin City Archives
138 - 144 Pearse Street
Dublin 2 IRELAND
Tel: +353 1 6744999
Fax: +353 1 6744881
Place-Names[edit | edit source]
Here are two important place-name aids/tools for locating your Irish place and its parish jurisdiction[s]:
- List of All Townlands, and Towns in County Dublin. - under the County, click "Dublin"; then click "Submit" to view a complete alphabetical listing of all towns and townlands, and the civil parishes in which they reside
- Topographical Dictionary of Ireland by Samuel A. Lewis; at LibraryIreland.com - provides a rich 1837 historical perspective of each Ireland (Civil) parish, cities and large towns; great for determining which churches existed in each parish--Church of Ireland, Catholic and Nonconformist
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
- 1595-1858 Ireland, Diocesan and Prerogative Wills & Administrations Indexes, 1595-1858 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
Societies[edit | edit source]
Family history societies often publish helpful journals, transcripts, compiled genealogies and host helpful websites. They may have ongoing projects to transcribe records and create indexes. Most societies publish queries in their journals and maintain lists of members’ research interests that may be helpful to you. You may want to join one of these societies, reap the benefits of their expertise and resources or support its efforts. "Members' Interests" are usually published which cite those county surnames which are being pursued and researched by researchers from around the world. Visit a large university library, a major archive or research library to determine availability of a family history or genealogical society's quarterly journal.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Irishgenealogy.ie provides much online data for particularly the City of Dublin church registers. Visit their website to determine the extent of the data they have thus far placed online.
- RootsIreland.ie has transcribed some church records for those lying within the boundaries of the county of Dublin (little or no data from City of Dublin churches). Always check back as new data gets published periodically throughout each year.
- Family History Library (see the FamilySearch Catalog; search under "Dublin, Dublin - Church Records")
- GenWeb Ireland - has numerous online links to data-rich lists of Dublin County families
- John Grenham's web site has several helpful links for Dublin names
- Dublin County Surname Query board is here
- CMCRP Project (Dublin) - has a few records for the county
- Ireland Genealogical Project (IGP) for Dublin City - has numerous online resources
- Catholic Parish Registers at the NLI has images of RC records for all of Ireland
- IrishGenealogy.ie - has quickly become the one-stop web site of choice for serious Dublin ancestral seekers
- Jane Lyons' website for Dublin records online
- Morris' website for Dublin genealogy ($)
- FHLFavorites.info for some great sites.
- Dublin Resources and Help pages RootsChat Dublin Resources and Help pages. (Free).