County Down, Ireland Genealogy
|County Down Wiki Topics|
|County Down Record Types|
|Historic Ireland (pre-1922)|
|Northern Ireland (post-1922)|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to County Down ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
History[edit | edit source]
It was during the Williamite War in Ireland from 1689 to 1691 the county was a center of Protestant rebellion against the rule of the Catholic James II. The Protestants formed a small force and were defeated by the Irish Army at the Break of Dromore They were forced to retreat leading to the whole of Down falling under Jacobite control. Later that year Marshal Schomberg's large Williamite expedition arrived in Belfast Lough and captured Bangor. After laying siege to Carrickfergus Schomberg marched south to Dundalk Camp, clearing County Down and much of the rest of East Ulster of Jacobite troops.
The population of Down is roughly 531,665 people.
General County Research Information[edit | edit source]
Archives and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Public Record Office of Northern Ireland (PRONI)
66 Balmoral Avenue
Belfast BT9 6NY
The above is the official repository for the public records of Northern Ireland. PRONI also collects records from private sources.
General Register Office
49/55 Chichester St.
Belfast BTI 4HL
Register of births and deaths in Northern Ireland since 1864. Marriage records from 1922 on.
Ordnance Survey of Northern Ireland
Lower Belfast BT9 5BJ
Civil Jurisdictions and Parish Research Information[edit | edit source]
- List of County Down Civil Parishes
- List of County Down Catholic Parishes
- County Down Roman Catholic Records
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- 1901 Ireland Census, 1901 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1911 Ireland Census, 1911 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1623-1866 Ireland, Diocesan and Prerogative Marriage License Bonds Indexes, 1623-1866 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1701-1845 Ireland, Catholic Qualification & Convert Rolls, 1701-1845 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
- 1845-1913 Ireland Civil Registration, 1845-1913 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1845-1958 Ireland Civil Registration Indexes, 1845-1958 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Directories[edit | edit source]
- 1880 Ireland, Thom's Irish Almanac, 1880 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index, images available on Findmypast
- 1884 Ireland, Thom's Irish Almanac & Official Directory 1884 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
- 1831 - 1856 Ireland, Valuation Office Books, 1831-1856 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1847-1864 Ireland, Griffith's Valuations, 1847-1864 at MyHeritage — index & images, ($)
Maps[edit | edit source]
1885 County Map: Courtesy of London Ancestor
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
- 1595-1858 Ireland, Diocesan and Prerogative Wills & Administrations Indexes, 1595-1858 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
Societies[edit | edit source]
Family history societies often publish helpful journals, transcripts, compiled genealogies and host helpful websites. They may have ongoing projects to transcribe records and create indexes. Most societies publish queries in their journals and maintain lists of members’ research interests that may be helpful to you. You may want to join one of these societies, reap the benefits of their expertise and resources or support its efforts.
Ulster Historical Foundation
12 College Square
Northern Ireland BT1 6DD
Tel: (01232) 33 22 88 Fax: (01232) 23 98 85
Internet: Ancestry Ireland
Down County Museum
The Mall Downpatrick
County Down BT30 6AH
Down County Museum
Dromore Dioceasan Archives
Bishops House Newry
By appointment Collections include records of baptisms, marriages and deaths for each parish 1926- as well as other diocesan parish papers
South Eastern Education Library Board
Ballynahinch County Down
Northern Ireland Internet: Seelb
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia Collaborators, "Down," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/County_Down. Visited 18 October.