County Cavan, Ireland Genealogy
|County Cavan Wiki Topics|
|County Cavan Record Types|
|Ireland Record Types|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to County Cavan ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
History[edit | edit source]
The Plantation of Ulster from 1610 saw the settlement and origins of several new towns within the county. Existing towns such as Cavan and Belturbet became over time more important as trading centres. Wars during the mid-seventeenth century that were aimed at trying to unsettle the Plantation only led to further plantations of English and Scottish settlers into the county and the beginnings of a thriving flax and linen industry. The Great Famine potato blight between 1845–49 hit parts of Cavan very hard. The winter of 1847 is particularly noted for the high levels of deaths nationally caused by diseases such as typhus and cholera. There were some instances of eviction that also occurred during the nineteenth century. There was one story where the local landlord in Mountnugent parish decided to evict over 200 people. The famous ballad "By Lough Sheelin Side" is based on this event witnessed by the local Catholic priest.
When the Ulster Union Council met on 9 June 1916, the delegates from Cavan learned that they would not be included in any "temporary exclusion of Ulster" from Home Rule; they agreed only with very great reluctance.
The population of County Cavan is roughly 76,092 people.
Archives and Libraries[edit | edit source]
County Cavan Genealogy Research Centre
TEL: (049) 4361094 FAX: (049) 4331494
Cavan County Library
Ireland E-mail: email@example.com or E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org
Includes Barron, Famham Estate, and other related papers. Also includes Griffith Valuation maps, legal papers, including rentals and wills for Cavan 18th and the 19th century. Also includes photography collections.
Public Record Office of Northern Ireland (PRONI)
66 Balmoral Avenue
Belfast BT9 6NY
The above is the official repository for the public records of Northern Ireland. PRONI also collects records from private sources.
Census[edit | edit source]
Census for the 1841 parish of Killeshandra, survives and is available to search at:
- online at Ancestry - access from home or from a library or family history centre.
- in books or films, as described at FamilySearch.org
- 1901 Ireland Census, 1901 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1911 Ireland Census, 1911 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Indexes to Church of Ireland Marriage License Bonds for the Diocese of Kilmore and Ardagh
- 1623-1866 Ireland, Diocesan and Prerogative Marriage License Bonds Indexes, 1623-1866 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1701-1845 Ireland, Catholic Qualification & Convert Rolls, 1701-1845 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
- 1845-1913 Ireland Civil Registration, 1845-1913 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1845-1958 Ireland Civil Registration Indexes, 1845-1958 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil Jurisdictions and Parish Research Information[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
- 1880 Ireland, Thom's Irish Almanac, 1880 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index, images available on Findmypast
- 1884 Ireland, Thom's Irish Almanac & Official Directory 1884 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
- 1810-1926 Ireland, Dog Licence Registrations, 1810-1926 at Ancestry — index & images, ($)
- 1831-1856 Ireland, Valuation Office Books, 1831-1856 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1847-1864 Ireland, Griffith's Valuations, 1847-1864 at MyHeritage — index & images, ($)
Maps[edit | edit source]
1885 County Map: Courtesy of London Ancestor
Military[edit | edit source]
- 1914-1918 Ireland, Memorial Record: World War I, 1914-1918 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Probates[edit | edit source]
Abstracts of Some Ardagh, Clogher and Kilmore Diocesan Wills. Alphabetical list of Wills proved from the above Diocese covering years 1739-1810. Article in The Irish Ancestor , vol.VI.no.2.1974, pages 112-121, Family History Ref. 941.5 B2i v5-6.
- 1595-1858 Ireland, Diocesan and Prerogative Wills & Administrations Indexes, 1595-1858 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
Societies[edit | edit source]
Family history societies often publish helpful journals, transcripts, compiled genealogies and host helpful websites. They may have ongoing projects to transcribe records and create indexes. Most societies publish queries in their journals and maintain lists of members’ research interests that may be helpful to you. You may want to join one of these societies, reap the benefits of their expertise and resources or support its efforts.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Cavan Resources and Help pages RootsChat Cavan Resources and Help pages. (Free).
- Genealogy-of-uk Ireland/Cavan/genealogy
- cavan rootsireland
- Genealogy links UK/ireland/cavan
- from-ireland county/cavan
- Irishpenpals county-cavan-genealogy
- interment ireland/cavan
- Wikipedia Collaborators, "County Cavan," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/County_Cavan. Visited 23 October 2017.