County Carlow, Ireland Genealogy
| County Carlow Wiki Topics | |
 | |
| Beginning Research | |
| County Carlow Record Types | |
| Ireland Record Types | |
| Ireland Background | |
| Local Research Resources | |
Guide to County Carlow ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
History[edit | edit source]
The Normans invaded Carlow in the twelfth century and the land came into the possession of Strongbow, the Norman leader. The town of Carlow was an important Norman stronghold and was walled in 1361 to protect it from the neighboring Gaelic chieftains, who eventually captured the town in 1405. The County joined the Catholic Confederacy in 1641, which was defeated by Cromwell’s forces in 1650. Famine wiped out a lot of the population, cutting it in half.
Carlow Castle was constructed, to guard the vital river crossing. It was also to serve as the capital of the Lordship of Ireland from 1361 until 1374. This imposing structure survived largely intact until 1814 when it was mostly destroyed in an attempt to turn the building into a lunatic asylum. The original structure was largely replaced and widened in 1815 when it was named Wellington Bridge in celebration of the defeat of Napoleon's army by the Duke of Wellington at the Battle of Waterloo in June of that year. The bridge was built across a small island in the river and a 19th-century house was constructed on the bridge – this was for a time occupied by the Poor Clares, an enclosed religious order. In 1650, during the Cromwellian conquest of Ireland, Carlow was besieged and taken by English Parliamentarian forces, hastening the end of the Siege of Waterford and the capitulation of that city. During the 1798 rebellion Carlow was the scene of a massacre of 600 rebels and civilians following an unsuccessful attack on the town by the United Irishmen, known as the Battle of Carlow. The Liberty Tree sculpture in Carlow, designed by John Behan, commemorates the events of 1798.
The Great Famine of 1845-1847 badly affected the County. Ten thousand people died of starvation or other impacts of the Great Famine. The population continued to decrease reaching 34,476 in 1921. Carlow is predominately Roman Catholic. In 1891, the percentage of Roman Catholic 88.3%. The Church of Ireland, Presbyterians and Methodists decreased to 4.3%, 0.2% and 0.2%, respectively, with other or no religions increasing to about 5%.
The population of County Carlow is roughly 24,272 people.[1]
General Information about this county[edit | edit source]
- The county of Carlow is an inland county of the province of Leinster and is bounded by Wicklow, Wexford, Kilkenny, Laois, and Kildare.
- The county is completely within the diocese of Leighlin. The county contains the burough, market, and assize town of Carlow; the market and post-town of Tullow, Bagnalstown, and Leighlin-Bridge; the market-town of Hacketstown, and the post-town of Clonegal. The county courthouse and gaol are in Carlow.
- Carlow is almost exclusively an agricultural district.
Information provided by the 1847 edition of Samuel Lewis' "Topographical Dictionary of Ireland."
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- 1901 Ireland Census, 1901 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1911 Ireland Census, 1911 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1623-1866 Ireland, Diocesan and Prerogative Marriage License Bonds Indexes, 1623-1866 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1701-1845 Ireland, Catholic Qualification & Convert Rolls, 1701-1845 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil Jurisdictions and Parish Research Information[edit | edit source]
- List of County Carlow Civil Parishes
- List of County Carlow Catholic Parishes
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
- 1845-1913 Ireland Civil Registration, 1845-1913 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1845-1958 Ireland Civil Registration Indexes, 1845-1958 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Directories[edit | edit source]
- 1880 Ireland, Thom's Irish Almanac, 1880 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index, images available on Findmypast
- 1884 Ireland, Thom's Irish Almanac & Official Directory 1884 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
- 1810-1926 Ireland, Dog Licence Registrations, 1810-1926 at Ancestry — index & images, ($)
- 1831-1856 Ireland, Valuation Office Books, 1831-1856 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1847-1864 Ireland, Griffith's Valuations, 1847-1864 at MyHeritage — index & images, ($)
Military[edit | edit source]
- 1914-1918 Ireland, Memorial Record: World War I, 1914-1918 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
- 1595-1858 Ireland, Diocesan and Prerogative Wills & Administrations Indexes, 1595-1858 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
Archives and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Carlow Central Library
Tullow Street, Carlow
Telephone: 353-059-9136299
Fax: 353-059-9140548
E-mail: library@carlowcoco.ie
Website: www.carlowlibraries.ie
Carlow Genealogy
Old School, College Street, Co. Carlow
Telephone: 353-503-30850
E-mail: carlowgenealogy@iolfree.ie
Website: http://sites.rootsweb.com/~irlcar/ http://sites.rootsweb.com/~irlcar/
Tullow Library
Link Road, Tullow, Co. Carlow
Telephone: 353-059-9136299
Fax: 353-059-9140548
Societies[edit | edit source]
Carlow Historical and Archaeological Society
P. O. Box
162, Carlow, Ireland
Websites[edit | edit source]
- GENUKI County Carlow
- RootsChat Carlow Resources and Help.
- County Carlow Ireland GenWeb
- Genealogy of the UK, County Carlow
- Genealogy Links Carlow
- Irish Pen Pals Carlow County
- IrishRoots Carlow County
- ↑ Wikipedia Collaborators, "County Carlow," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/County_Cavan. Visited 23 October 2017.
