County Armagh, Ireland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
County Armagh Wiki Topics
Flag of County Armagh.png
Beginning Research
County Armagh Record Types
Historic Ireland (pre-1922)
Wiki Topics
Record Types
Northern Ireland (post-1922)
Wiki Topics
Record Types
Ireland Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to County Armagh ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

History[edit | edit source]

Ancient Armagh was the territory of the Ulaid before the fourth century AD. It was ruled by the Red Branch and the Red Branch play an important role in the Ulster Cycle, as well as the Cattle Raid of Cooley. However, they were eventually driven out of the area by the Three Collas, who invaded in the 4th century and held power until the 12th. The Clan Colla ruled the area for 800 years. The chief Irish septs of the county were descendants of the Collas. Armagh was the seat of St. Patrick, and the Catholic Church continues to be his see. County Armagh is presently one of four counties of Northern Ireland to have a majority of the population from a Catholic background.This is according to the 2011 census.

The southern part of the County has been a stronghold of support for the IRA, earning it the nickname "Bandit Country". South Armagh is predominantly nationalist, with most of the population being opposed to any form of British presence, especially that of a military nature. On 10 March 2009, the CIRA claimed responsibility for the fatal shooting of a PSNI officer in Craigavon, County Armagh—the first police fatality in Northern Ireland since 1998. The officer was fatally shot by a sniper as he and a colleague investigated "suspicious activity" at a house nearby when a window was smashed by youths.

The population of Armagh is roughly 174,792 people.[1]

General County Research Information[edit | edit source]

County Armagh (Irish: Contae Ard Mhacha) is one of the six counties of Northern Ireland. Further information about County Antrim is available at the Genuki site.


Civil Jurisdictions and Parish Research Information[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online Records

Presbyterian Historical Society Church House
Fisherwick Place
Belfast BT1 6DW
Ireland

Moravian Church
25 Church Road
Gracehill Ballymena
County Antrim
Ireland
E-mail

Religious Society of Friends
4 Magheralave Road
Lisburn BT28 3BD
County Antrim
E-mail

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]


Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Maps[edit | edit source]

For a larger version of this map, click here.

Armagh Map.jpg

Military[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Archives and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Public Record Office of Northern Ireland (PRONI)
2 Titanic Boulevard
Titanic Quarter
Belfast
BT3 9HQ
United Kingdom
Phone: 028.9053.4800
E-mail: proni@communities-ni.gov.uk
Website

General Register Office of Northern Ireland (GRONI)
NISRA, Colby House
Stranmillis Court
Belfast
BT9 5RR
United Kingdom
Email: gro_nisra@finance-ni.gov.uk
Website

Register of births and deaths in Northern Ireland since 1864. Marriage records from 1922 onward.

Ordnance Survey of Northern Ireland
OSNI Online Map Shop
Land & Property Services
Lanyon Plaza
7 Lanyon Place
Town Parks
Belfast, BT1 3LP
Ireland
Phone:0300.200.7804
Email: OSNIonline@finance-ni.gov.uk
Website

Armagh County Museum
The Mall East
Armagh BT61 9BE
Phone: +44 [0]28.3752.3070
Email: sarah.millsopp@armaghbanbridgecraigavon.gov.uk
Website


Armagh Robinson Library
(Formerly known as Armagh Public Library)
43 Abbey Street,
Armagh BT61 7DY
Phone: 028.752.3142
Email: admin@armaghrobinsonlibrary.co.uk
[www.armaghrobinsonlibrary.co.uk Website]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Family history societies often publish helpful journals, transcripts, compiled genealogies and host helpful websites. They may have ongoing projects to transcribe records and create indexes. Most societies publish queries in their journals and maintain lists of members’ research interests that may be helpful to you. You may want to join one of these societies, reap the benefits of their expertise and resources or support its efforts.

North of Ireland Family History Society
Unit C4, Valley Business Centre
67 Church Road
Newtownabbey
Co. Antrim
Northern Ireland BT36 7LS
Email: Nquire@nifhs.org
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia Collaborators, "Armagh," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/County_Armagh. Visited 18 October 2017.