County Armagh, Ireland Genealogy
|County Armagh Wiki Topics|
|County Armagh Record Types|
|Historic Ireland (pre-1922)|
|Northern Ireland (post-1922)|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to County Armagh ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
History[edit | edit source]
Ancient Armagh was the territory of the Ulaid before the fourth century AD. It was ruled by the Red Branch and the Red Branch play an important role in the Ulster Cycle, as well as the Cattle Raid of Cooley. However, they were eventually driven out of the area by the Three Collas, who invaded in the 4th century and held power until the 12th. The Clan Colla ruled the area for 800 years. The chief Irish septs of the county were descendants of the Collas. Armagh was the seat of St. Patrick, and the Catholic Church continues to be his see. County Armagh is presently one of four counties of Northern Ireland to have a majority of the population from a Catholic background.This is according to the 2011 census.
The southern part of the County has been a stronghold of support for the IRA, earning it the nickname "Bandit Country". South Armagh is predominantly nationalist, with most of the population being opposed to any form of British presence, especially that of a military nature. On 10 March 2009, the CIRA claimed responsibility for the fatal shooting of a PSNI officer in Craigavon, County Armagh—the first police fatality in Northern Ireland since 1998. The officer was fatally shot by a sniper as he and a colleague investigated "suspicious activity" at a house nearby when a window was smashed by youths.
The population of Armagh is roughly 174,792 people.
General County Research Information[edit | edit source]
Civil Jurisdictions and Parish Research Information[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- 1901 Ireland Census, 1901 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1911 Ireland Census, 1911 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1623-1866 Ireland, Diocesan and Prerogative Marriage License Bonds Indexes, 1623-1866 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1701-1845 Ireland, Catholic Qualification & Convert Rolls, 1701-1845 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Presbyterian Historical Society Church House
Belfast BT1 6DW
25 Church Road
Religious Society of Friends
4 Magheralave Road
Lisburn BT28 3BD
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
- 1845-1913 Ireland Civil Registration, 1845-1913 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1845-1958 Ireland Civil Registration Indexes, 1845-1958 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Directories[edit | edit source]
- 1880 Ireland, Thom's Irish Almanac, 1880 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index, images available on Findmypast
- 1884 Ireland, Thom's Irish Almanac & Official Directory 1884 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
- 1831 - 1856 Ireland, Valuation Office Books, 1831-1856 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1847-1864 Ireland, Griffith's Valuations, 1847-1864 at MyHeritage — index & images, ($)
Maps[edit | edit source]
For a larger version of this map, click here.
- 1885 County Map: Courtesy of London Ancestor
- Bygonesandbyways -- Townland maps for a few parishes in the center of the county
Military[edit | edit source]
- 1914-1918 Ireland, Memorial Record: World War I, 1914-1918 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
- 1595-1858 Ireland, Diocesan and Prerogative Wills & Administrations Indexes, 1595-1858 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
Archives and Libraries[edit | edit source]
- Register of births and deaths in Northern Ireland since 1864. Marriage records from 1922 onward.
Ordnance Survey of Northern Ireland
OSNI Online Map Shop
Land & Property Services
7 Lanyon Place
Belfast, BT1 3LP
Armagh Robinson Library
(Formerly known as Armagh Public Library)
43 Abbey Street,
Armagh BT61 7DY
Societies[edit | edit source]
Family history societies often publish helpful journals, transcripts, compiled genealogies and host helpful websites. They may have ongoing projects to transcribe records and create indexes. Most societies publish queries in their journals and maintain lists of members’ research interests that may be helpful to you. You may want to join one of these societies, reap the benefits of their expertise and resources or support its efforts.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia Collaborators, "Armagh," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/County_Armagh. Visited 18 October 2017.