County Antrim, Ireland Genealogy
|County Antrim Wiki Topics|
|County Antrim Record Types|
|Historic Ireland (pre-1922)|
|Northern Ireland (post-1922)|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to County Antrim ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
History[edit | edit source]
As a coastal region facing Scotland, the county has some of the earliest and most continuous interaction with that country within Northern Ireland. Carrickfergus means Rock of the rock of Fergus Mór mac Eirc, one of the legendary founders of Dalriada in Argyll, which grew to become the Kingdom of Scotland. In more recent times, that migration came in the other direction, and the area became the home of a number of Ulster Scots Planters.
In ancient times, Antrim was inhabited by a Celtic people called the Darini. In the early Middle Ages, southern County Antrim was part of the Kingdom of Ulidia. who were pre-Gaelic Celts and probably related to the Picts of Britain. Between the 8th and 11th centuries Antrim was exposed to the inroads of the Norse.
In the late 12th century Antrim became part of the Earldom of Ulster, conquered by Anglo-Norman invaders. A revival of Gaelic power followed the campaign of Edward Bruce in 1315, leaving Carrickfergus as the only significant English stronghold.
During the Tudor era in the 16th century numerous adventurers from Britain attempted to colonise the region; many Scots settled in Antrim around this time. In 1588 the Antrim coast was the scene of one of the 24 wrecks of the Spanish Armada in Ireland. The Spanish vessel La Girona was wrecked off Lacana Point, in 1588 with the loss of nearly 1,300 lives. Antrim is divided into sixteen baronies.
Islandmagee had, besides antiquarian remains, a notoriety as a home of witchcraft, and during the Irish Rebellion of 1641 was the scene of an act of reprisal, for the massacre of Protestants, against the Catholic population by the Scottish Covenanter soldiers of Carrickfergus. In 1689 during the Williamite War in Ireland, County Antrim was a center of Protestant resistance against the rule of the Catholic James II. After the advance of the Irish Army under Richard Hamilton, all of County Antrim was brought under Jacobite control. Later in the year a major expedition from England landed in Belfast Lough and successfully laid siege to Carrickfergus. Having captured most of the largest towns of the area, they then marched south towards Dundalk.
The population of Antrim is roughly 618,108 people.
General County Research Information[edit | edit source]
Further information about County Antrim is available at the Genuki site.
Archives and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Public Record Office of Northern Ireland (PRONI)
66 Balmoral Avenue
Belfast BT9 6NY
General Register Office
49/55 Chichester St
Belfast BT1 4HL
Register of births and deaths in Northern Ireland since 1864. Marriage records from 1922 onward.
Ordnance Survey of Northern Ireland
Lower Belfast, BT9 5BJ
Civil Jurisdictions and Parish Research Information[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- 1901 Ireland Census, 1901 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1911 Ireland Census, 1911 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Presbyterian Historical Society Church House
Belfast BT1 6DW
25 Church Road
Religious Society of Friends
4 Magheralave Road
Lisburn BT28 3BD
- 1623-1866 Ireland, Diocesan and Prerogative Marriage License Bonds Indexes, 1623-1866 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1701-1845 Ireland, Catholic Qualification & Convert Rolls, 1701-1845 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
- 1845-1913 Ireland Civil Registration, 1845-1913 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1845-1958 Ireland Civil Registration Indexes, 1845-1958 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Directories[edit | edit source]
- 1880 Ireland, Thom's Irish Almanac, 1880 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index, images available on Findmypast
- 1884 Ireland, Thom's Irish Almanac & Official Directory 1884 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
- 1831 - 1856 Ireland, Valuation Office Books, 1831-1856 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1847-1864 Ireland, Griffith's Valuations, 1847-1864 at MyHeritage — index & images, ($)
Maps[edit | edit source]
1885 County Map: Courtesy of London Ancestor
Military[edit | edit source]
- 1914-1918 Ireland, Memorial Record: World War I, 1914-1918 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
- 1595-1858 Ireland, Diocesan and Prerogative Wills & Administrations Indexes, 1595-1858 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
School Records[edit | edit source]
- 1849-1858 Ireland, Registers of Queen's Colleges, 1849-1858 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Societies[edit | edit source]
Family history societies often publish helpful journals, transcripts, compiled genealogies and host helpful websites. They may have ongoing projects to transcribe records and create indexes. Most societies publish queries in their journals and maintain lists of members’ research interests that may be helpful to you. You may want to join one of these societies, reap the benefits of their expertise and resources or support its efforts.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia Collaborators, "Antrim ," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/County_Antrim. Visited 18 October 2017.