Coryell County, Texas Genealogy
Guide to Coryell County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Coryell County, Texas|
Location in the state of Texas, United States Genealogy
Location of Texas in the U.S.
|Founded||4 February, 1854|
|Address||Coryell County Courthouse|
PO Box 237
Gatesville, TX 76528
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for James Coryell, a frontiersman and Texas Ranger who was killed by Comanche Indians while protecting settlers. The County is located in the central area of the state.
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Coryell County Courthouse
PO Box 237
Gatesville, TX 76528
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage, probate and court and land records from 1854
P.O. Box 237
P.O. Box 4
Phone: 254-865-5911 ext. 291
Coryell County, Texas Record Dates[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
- County seat: Gatesville 
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
- Copperas Cove
- Fort Hood
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
‡This populated place also has portions in an adjacent county or counties
[edit | edit source]
Henson's Creek | Spring Hill | Station Creek | Turnover | Lincolnville
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|FindAGrave||Family History Library||FindAGrave|
|TX Gravestones||WorldCat||Tombstone Project|
|BillionGraves (name)||Cemeteries of TX|
|GenWeb Archives||Texas Cemeteries|
|Names in Stone||FamilySearch Places|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Census[edit | edit source]
Church[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
- 1861, 1868-1870 Court Dockets from the Coryell County TXGenWeb site
Land[edit | edit source]
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1906 - 1989 Texas, Naturalization Records, 1906-1989 — index and images
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Coryell County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- History of Coryell County, 1965 by Zelma Scott.
- Coryell County, Texas, Families, 1854–1985, published 1986, by the Coryell County Genealogical Society.
- Copperas Cove, City of Five Hills: A Centennial History, 1980, by Jerry K. Smith and Patrick D. McLaughlin.
Maps[edit | edit source]
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the Texas Genweb site
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Military[edit | edit source]
Mexican-American War[edit | edit source]
- 1845 - 1848 - US American Volunteer Soldiers Mexican War 1845-1848 at Ancestry.com — index $
Fort Gates originally Camp Gates, established in 1849 to protect the settlers.
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861 - 1865 - Texas, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 - Texas, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
World War I[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Coryell County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Texas Digital Newspaper Program at The Portal to Texas History
Probate[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1800 – 1990 Texas Probate Records 1800-1990 at FamilySearch — images
- 1800 – 2000 Texas Wills and Probate Records 1800-2000 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
- 1846-1910 Texas, County Tax Rolls 1846-1910 at findmypast ($) — index and images
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive.
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- 1840 - 1981 Texas Births and Christenings, 1840-1981 — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1903 - 1935 Texas Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 (images and index) - How to Use this Collection
- 1903 - 1997 Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 (index only) - How to Use this Collection
- 1926 - 1934 Coryell County Births 1926-1934
- 1926-1995 Texas Births, 1926 - 1995 at MyHeritage ($) — index
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- 1802-2010 - Texas, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index $
- 1814 - 1909 and 1966 - 2011 Texas Marriage Collection 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837 - 1965 - Texas, County Marriage Records, 1837-1965 — index and images - How to Use this Collection
- 1837 - 1973 - Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1837 - 1977 - Texas, County Marriage Index, 1837-1977 — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1932 - 1977 Coryell County Marriages 1932-1977 performed by Bro. Dick Derrick
- 1966 - 2010 Texas Marriages, 1966-2010 - FamilySearch record collection - How to Use this Collection
- 1966-2016 Texas Marriages and Divorces at MyHeritage ($) — index
Death[edit | edit source]
Online Death Indexes and Records
- 1890-1976 Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 with images - How to Use this Collection
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. Few certificates are available prior to 1903
- 1903 - 1909 First Book of Death Records 1903-1909 from the Coryell County TXGenWeb site.
- 1903 - 1917 Coryell County Deaths 1903-1917
- 1903 - 1973 Texas Deaths and Burials, 1903-1973 — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1903 - 1982 Texas Death Certificates 1903-1982 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1926 - 1931 Earliest Funeral Home Records 1926-1931 from the Coryell County TXGenWeb site.
- 1932 - 1936 Funeral Home Records 1932-1936 from the Coryell County TXGenWeb site.
- Coryell County Deaths 1964-1984
- 1964 - 1998 Texas Death Index, 1964-1998 (no images) - How to Use this Collection Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- 1977 - 1986 Texas Deaths, 1977-1986 — index - How to Use this Collection
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1968 - 2010 Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1968 - 2011 Texas Divorces 1968-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1966-2016 Texas Marriages and Divorces at MyHeritage ($) — index
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Central Texas Genealogical Society, Inc.
c/o Waco-McLennan County Library
1717 Austin Avenue
Waco, Texas 76701
Coryell County Genealogical Society
811 Main Street
Gatesville Public Library
111 N 8th St
Gatesville, TX 76528-1461
Telephone Number: 254-865-5367
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Coryell County TXGenWeb site
- Coryell County, Texas Old Photos
- FamilySearch Catalog The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Coryell County, Texas," in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coryell_County,_Texas. accessed 07/30/2019
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Coryell County, Texas. Page 661 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Coryell County, Texas . Page 658-677 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 655-665.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Coryell County, Texas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coryell_County,_Texas, accessed 31 March 2019.