Coos County, Oregon Genealogy
Guide to Coos County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Coos County, Oregon | |
| Map | |
 Location in the state of Oregon, United States Genealogy | |
 Location of Oregon in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | December 22, 1853 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Coquille |
| Courthouse | |
 | |
| Address | Coos County Courthouse 250 N Baxter Street Coquille, OR 97423 Phone: 541.396.3121 Coos County Website |
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for a tribe of Native Americans who live in the region. The County is located in the west area of the state. [1]
Coos County, Oregon Record Dates[edit | edit source]
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1906 | 1857 | 1906 | 1853 | 1854 | 1852 | 1845 |
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
County Clerk has birth and death records 1906-1929, marriage records from 1857, land records from 1854, widows’ military pensions 1929-1950 and some school records; State Courts have divorce and probate records. [3]
Records Held at the Courthouse[edit | edit source]
- County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Coos County Court House as of August/September 2004.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Quick Facts[edit | edit source]
|} Named after a tribe of Native Americans who lived in the area.
Trivia Tidbits: Little biographic bits associated with the names of non-population localities.
Parent Counties[edit | edit source]
22 December 1853: Created from Umpqua and Jackson Counties. [4]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
18 December 1855: Part was taken to form Curry County.
For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator
The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]
| Cities | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Native American communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
Post Offices
- Allegany: This post office was established Mar. 25, 1893, with William Vincamp first postmaster.
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Trivia Tidbits[edit | edit source]
Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
| Tombstone Transcriptions Online | Tombstone Transcriptions in Print | List of Cemeteries in the county |
| Findagrave.com | Family History Library | Findagrave.com |
| ORGenWeb | WorldCat | Billion Graves |
| ORGenWeb Archives | FamilySearch Places | |
| Tombstone Project | ||
| ORInterment | ||
| ORGravestones | ||
| Billion Graves | ||
| See Oregon Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Census[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1860 | 445 | — |
| 1870 | 1,644 | 269.4% |
| 1880 | 4,834 | 194.0% |
| 1890 | 8,874 | 83.6% |
| 1900 | 10,324 | 16.3% |
| 1910 | 17,959 | 74.0% |
| 1920 | 22,257 | 23.9% |
| 1930 | 28,373 | 27.5% |
| 1940 | 32,466 | 14.4% |
| 1950 | 42,265 | 30.2% |
| 1960 | 54,955 | 30.0% |
| 1970 | 56,515 | 2.8% |
| 1980 | 64,047 | 13.3% |
| 1990 | 60,273 | −5.9% |
| 2000 | 62,779 | 4.2% |
| 2010 | 63,043 | 0.4% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church History and Records[edit | edit source]
Lutheran[edit | edit source]
- Records of First Norwegian Lutheran Church, North Bend, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[6]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Maps[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
for more resources
Military History and Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - Oregon, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1919-1920 - Oregon, World War I, County Military Service Records, 1919-1920 at FamilySearch — index
- 1921-1938 - Oregon, World War I, Veteran State Aid Applications, 1921-1938 at FamilySearch — index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.
Historic Oregon Newspapers http://oregonnews.uoregon.edu/ as a division of the Oregon Digital Newspaper Program has digitzied more than 644,000 pages of newspapers throughout Oregon. Dates range from 1846-1922 with selected issues continuing through 1973.
Of particular interest to Coos county researchers:
The Bandon Recorder
Semi-Weekly Bandon Recorder
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Records
- 1833 – 1963 Oregon Wills and Probate Records 1833-1963 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Rivers and Waterways[edit | edit source]
Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.
Birth Records[edit | edit source]
- 1842-1917 Oregon, Oregon State Archives, Births, 1842-1917 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images (*); Also at: Ancestry
- 1860 - 1952 Oregon Births, 1860-1952 at FamilySearch — index
Delayed Birth Certificates
Birth Registers
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
- 1826-1975 - Oregon, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index $
- 1842-1917 Oregon, U.S., State Births, 1842-1917 at Ancestry - index and images ($); Also at: FamilySearch
- 1849-1884; 1991-2006 - Oregon Marriage Index, 1849-1884; 1991-2006 at FamilySearch — index and images; collection is incomplete.
- 1906-1968 Oregon, U.S., State Marriages, 1906-1968 at Ancestry - index and images ($)
- Extractions of early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index
- Marriage Index 1885-1896 Actually is a book of affiants reporting the marriages. Historical Records Collection
Death Records[edit | edit source]
Societies, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]
Coos Bay Genealogical Forum
PO Box 1067
North Bend, OR 97459
Website
Coos County History Museum
1210 N Front St
Coos Bay, OR 974206
541-756-6320
Website
Coos Bay Public Library
525 Anderson Ave
Coos Bay, OR 97420
541-269-1101
Website
Facebook Page
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Bandon Oregon Family History Center
- Coos Bay Oregon Family History Center
- Cottage Grove Oregon Family History Center
- Gold Beach Oregon Family History Center
- Port Orford Oregon Family History Center
- Reedsport Oregon Family History Center
- Roseburg Oregon Family History Center
- South Umpqua Oregon Family History Center
- The Genealogical Forum of Oregon - an affiliate library
- Oregon Genealogical Society - an affiliate library
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Coos County, OR History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Oregon Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- The Coos County GenWeb Project part of The ORGenWeb Project
- Linkpendium
- The USGenWeb Archives Project
- The USGenWeb Archives Project (backup site)
- FamilySearch.org FamilySearch Catalog for Coos County
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Coo, Oregon" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coos_County,_Oregon accessed 27 Nov 2018
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Coos County, Oregon . Page 572-574 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 563-564.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Coos County, Oregon page 572, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ WorldCat 50140092 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Coos County, Oregon," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coos_County,_Oregon, accessed 3 October 2018.
- ↑ "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.
