Columbia County, Wisconsin Genealogy
Guide to Columbia County, Wisconsin ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County is located in the south-central area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Columbia County Courthouse
PO Box 177
Portage, WI 53901-0177
Phone: 608-742-9654
Columbia County Website
Register of Deeds has land, marriage, death and burial records.
Clerk of the Circuit Court has divorce and court records.
Register in Probate has probate records [3]
Columbia County, Wisconsin Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1860 | 1849 | 1877 | 1851 | 1829 | 1847 | 1820 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Villages | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Ghost towns | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Biographical Index: History Of Columbia County, Wisconsin, 1880 USGenWeb Archives
- Index from Columbia County Newspaper WIGenWeb Project
- Old Settlers Bios & Pictures
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1850 | 9,565 | — |
| 1860 | 24,441 | 155.5% |
| 1870 | 28,802 | 17.8% |
| 1880 | 28,065 | −2.6% |
| 1890 | 28,350 | 1.0% |
| 1900 | 31,121 | 9.8% |
| 1910 | 31,129 | 0.0% |
| 1920 | 30,468 | −2.1% |
| 1930 | 30,503 | 0.1% |
| 1940 | 32,517 | 6.6% |
| 1950 | 34,023 | 4.6% |
| 1960 | 36,708 | 7.9% |
| 1970 | 40,150 | 9.4% |
| 1980 | 43,222 | 7.7% |
| 1990 | 45,088 | 4.3% |
| 2000 | 52,468 | 16.4% |
| 2010 | 56,833 | 8.3% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
For tips on accessing Columbia census records online, see: Wisconsin Census.
- 1855 - Wisconsin State Census, 1855 This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born. - How to Use this Collection
- 1865 - Wisconsin State Census, 1865 Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan. - How to Use this Collection
- 1875 - Wisconsin State Census, 1875 Identifies head of household by name. - How to Use this Collection
- 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 — index and images. Search indexed census.Identifies by name of head of household. Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth. - How to Use this Collection
- 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical. - How to Use this Collection
- 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants. - How to Use this Collection
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wisconsin denominations, view the Wisconsin Church Records wiki page.
Lutheran
- Records of the American Lutheran Church, Rio, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com. ($)
- St. Paul Evangelical Lutheran Church, Caledonia Early Church Records - WIGenWeb Project
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Wisconsin Land and Property for additional information about early Wisconsin land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- Columbia County Land Patents Database WIGenWeb Project
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- History Of Columbia County, Wisconsin, 1880 University of Wisconsin
- Biographical Index: History Of Columbia County, Wisconsin, Vol. II, 1914 USGenWeb Archives
- A history of Columbia County, Wisconsin, Volume II Haithi Trust Digital Library
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
- Old Antique Atlases & Maps of Wisconsin
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Regiments. Service men in Columbia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Columbia:
- - 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Companies E and G
- - 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company E
- - 7th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Companies A and B
- - 8th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company D
- - 10th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company D
- - 12th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company E
World War I[edit | edit source]
- World War I Gold Star List -Casualties, Columbia County, Wisconsin WIGenWeb Project
World War II[edit | edit source]
- World War II Casualties - Army & Air Force, Columbia County, Wisconsin WIGenWeb Project
- World War II Casualties - Navy, Marines and Coast Guard, Columbia County, Wisconsin WIGenWeb Project
- World War II Army Enlistees, Columbia County (USGenWeb Archives)
- - Surnames Abraham - Fuller
- - Surnames Galien - Lytle
- - Surnames Maass - Ryan
- - Surnames Salzman - Zunker
Korean War[edit | edit source]
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Wisconsin Newspapers Online
- Biographical Index from Columbia County Newspaper WIGenWeb Project
- Columbia County Newspaper Resources WIGenWeb Project
- Some early deaths for Columbia County from the Columbus Republican Journal Newspaper. WIGenWeb Project
- Vital Records from Columbia County Newspapers WIGenWeb Project"
- Wisconsin Digital Newspaper at Wisconsin State Historical Society
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- Columbia County Obituaries WIGenWeb Project
- Four Obituaries Scroll down to obituaries of Daniel Babcock, Phillip Connell, George Marshall, and Mrs. Sophia (Ellithorpe) Rowley. USGenWeb Archives
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Probate records are held by the Columbia Clerk of Circuit Court and are housed at the Columbia Courthouse. See the wiki page Wisconsin Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, and adoptions.
Online Records
- 1800–1987 Wisconsin Wills and Probate Records 1800-1987 at Ancestry — images and index $
- 1848–1948 Wisconsin Probate Estate Files 1848-1948 at FamilySearch — images - How to Use this Collection
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Wisconsin tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned property or other items that could be taxed were listed, some residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records. For more information see the Wiki page, Wisconsin Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Most counties started keeping records in the 1870s. In 1907, the counties began sending copies to the state.
For pre-1907 births, deaths, and marriages, search the Wisconsin Genealogy Index.
For additional information, see Wisconsin Vital Records.
- Vital Records from Columbia County Newspapers WIGenWeb Project
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1820-1907 Wisconsin, Birth Index, 1820-1907 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1820-1920: Wisconsin, Birth Index, 1808-1920 at MyHeritage - index ($)
- 1826-1908 Wisconsin, Births and Christenings Index, 1826-1908 at Ancestry — index $
- 1826-1926 Wisconsin, Births and Christenings, 1826-1926 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- Pre-1907 Columbia County Births WIGenWeb Project
- Pre-1907 Pre-1907 Wisconsin Vital Records Index at Wisconsin Historical Society - free index, images ($)
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1836-1911 Wisconsin, County Marriages, 1836-1911 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1836-1930 Wisconsin, Marriages, 1836-1930 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1886-1887 Some early marriages for Columbia County WIGenWeb Project
- Pre-1907 Columbia County Marriages Incomplete. WIGenWeb Project
- Pre-1907 Pre-1907 Wisconsin Vital Records Index at Wisconsin Historical Society - free index, images ($)
- 1973-1997 Wisconsin, Marriage Index, 1973-1997 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1973-1997 Wisconsin Marriages, 1973-1997 at Ancestry — index/images $
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1820-1907 Wisconsin, Death Index, 1820-1907 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1835-1968 Wisconsin, Deaths and Burials, 1835-1968 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1867-1907 Wisconsin, Death Records, 1867-1907 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- Pre-1907 Pre-1907 Wisconsin Vital Records Index at Wisconsin Historical Society - free index, images ($)
- Pre-1920 Columbia County Deaths through 1920 Incomplete. WIGenWeb Project
- 1959-1997 Wisconsin, Death Index, 1959-1997 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1965-1984 Wisconsin, Divorce Index, 1965-1984 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Columbia County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Wisconsin Archives and Libraries.
- Archives - Steenbock Library
University of Wisconsin, Madison
425 Steenbock Library
550 Babcock Dr.
Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: 608-262-5629
Email
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Columbia County. For state-wide library facilities, see Wisconsin Archives and Libraries.
- Archives - Steenbock Library
University of Wisconsin, Madison
425 Steenbock Library
550 Babcock Dr.
Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: 608-262-5629
Email
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Columbia County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Wisconsin Societies.
- Cambria-Friesland Historical Society
112 N. Madison St.
P.O.Box 501
Cambria, WI 53923
Phone: 920-348-5940 or 920-348-5787
Facebook - Columbia County Historical Society
112 North Main St.
Pardeeville, WI 53954
Phone: 608-429-1447
Facebook - Dells Country Historical Society
714 Broadway
P.O.674
Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone: 608-254-2254
Website - Lodi Valley Historical Society
173 S Main St
Lodi, WI 53555
Phone: 608-592-0705
Website - Portage Historical Society
804 MacFarlane Road
PO Box 727
Portage, WI 53901
Phone: 608-742-6682
Facebook - Poynette Area Historical Society
W5660 Hall Rd
Poynette, WI 53955
Phone: 608-635-2970
Facebook - West Point Area Historical Society
West Point Town Hall
N2114 Rausch Rd.
Lodi, WI 53555
Phone: 608-592-7059
Facebook
]
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Columbia County, WI History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Wisconsin Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Columbia County WIGenWeb
- Columbia County USGenWeb Archives
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Columbia County, Wisconsin " in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Columbia_County,_Wisconsin."
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Columbia County, Wisconsin. Page 755-760, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 757-759.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Columbia County, Wisconsin," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Columbia_County,_Wisconsin#Communities, accessed 11 August 2018.
| ||||||||||||
