Columbia County, Washington Genealogy
Guide to Columbia County Washington ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records, since 1875, when the county was formed.
| Columbia County, Washington | |
| Map | |
 Location in the state of Washington (disambiguation) | |
 Location of Washington in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | 11 November, 1875 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Dayton |
| Courthouse | |
 | |
| Address | Columbia County Courthouse 341 E Main Street Dayton, WA 99328-1361 Phone: 509.382.4321 Columbia County Website |
County Overview[edit | edit source]
 |
Before the newly-formed county was fully operational, search records of the parent county(s). |
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for the Columbia River. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.[1]
Parent County(s)[edit | edit source]
Columbia County, Washington was created 11 November 1875 from Walla Walla County.[2]
County seat: Dayton [3] See also Towns and Communities in Columbia County, Washington Genealogy. For Courthouse, see Archives, libraries, etc.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
- Historical County Boundaries from Newberry Library[4]
For animated maps illustrating Washington County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Washington County Boundary Maps" (1843-1915) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Columbia County, Washington Genealogy is surrounded by: Franklin | Garfield | Walla Walla | Whitman | Oregon counties: Umatilla | Wallowa
Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Columbia County Courthouse
341 E Main Street
Dayton, WA 99328-1361
Phone: 509.382.4321
County Clerk has divorce records from 1886,
probate records from 1891 and court records from 1890.
County Auditor has birth and death records 1891-1907
and marriage records from 1853. [5]
See also Archives, libraries, etc. in Columbia County, Washington Genealogy.
Dates of Major County Records[edit | edit source]
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1891 | 1876 | 1891 | 1891 | 1864 | 1891 | 1850 |
General compliance by 1917. | ||||||
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Topics for Columbia County, Washington Genealogy[edit | edit source]
The topics or headings on this page describe records that are used for genealogy and family history. They include links to web sites with indexes, images, or information about the county.
|
Don't overlook Columbia County, Washington Genealogy items in the FamilySearch Library Catalog. For other libraries (local and national) or to gain access to items of interest, see Archives and Libraries. |
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biography[edit | edit source]
Biographical information is often found in state and local histories or genealogies. See also Washington Biography.
Business and Commerce[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
| Tombstone Transcriptions Online | Tombstone Transcriptions in Print | List of Cemeteries in the county |
| FindAGrave | Family History Library | FindAGrave |
| Tombstone Project | WorldCat | Interment.net |
| Billion Graves (name) | Washington Periodicals | WA State Digital Archives |
| Billion Graves | Linkpendium | |
| WAGenWeb | Genealogy Trails | |
| FamilySearch Places | ||
| See Washington Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Census[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1880 | 7,103 | — |
| 1890 | 6,709 | −5.5% |
| 1900 | 7,128 | 6.2% |
| 1910 | 7,042 | −1.2% |
| 1920 | 6,093 | −13.5% |
| 1930 | 5,325 | −12.6% |
| 1940 | 5,549 | 4.2% |
| 1950 | 4,860 | −12.4% |
| 1960 | 4,569 | −6.0% |
| 1970 | 4,439 | −2.8% |
| 1980 | 4,057 | −8.6% |
| 1990 | 4,027 | −0.7% |
| 2000 | 4,064 | 0.9% |
| 2010 | 4,078 | 0.3% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
| Names, ages, birthplaces | 1850–1940 |
| Birthplaces of parents | 1880–1940 |
| Relationships | 1880–1940 |
| Family and Neighbors | All years |
| Immigration year | 1900–1930 |
| Citizenship | 1910–1940 |
Censuses 1) Give names, ages, and more about the family; 2) Pinpoint the area to find other records; and 3) Provide clues for further research.
|
Click for more census tips |
- Washington online census links to FamilySearch, Ancestry.com, Heritage Quest and others.
- See Washington Census Years for online availability of Federal, Territorial, and State-funded censuses.
Part of Washington, County Records, 1856-2009 at FamilySearch Historical Collections. (Free, browse images)
Part of Washington, County Records, 1856-2009 at FamilySearch Historical Collections. (Free, browse images)
- See what genealogical information may be in these records.
- Census indexes at Washington State Digital Archives: (Free); and Ancestry ($)
Part of Washington, County Records, 1856-2009 at FamilySearch Historical Collections. (Free, browse images)
 |
Censuses indexed by societies or groups in the area may be more accurate, due to familiarity with local surnames. |
Church Records[edit | edit source]
The information church records provide depends upon the church practices and the record keepers. Records may include names, ages, and dates of events such as baptism, marriage, or burial. See Washington Church Records.
- Church records (microfilmed originals or published transcripts) for Columbia County, Washington Genealogy are listed in the FamilySearch catalog. (Press space bar to select town.)
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Your ancestors may be found in court records as defendants, plaintiffs, witnesses, or jurors. Court records can clarify family relationships, places of residence, occupations, and family history. See Washington Court Records for courts used through the years.
For specialized court records, see Divorce · Guardianship · Land · Naturalization · Probate
- Columbia Frontier Justice. Part of "Frontier Justice’’: Guide to the Court Records of Washington Territory, 1853-1889 at Washington State Digital Archives. (Free Index, no images)
- The court procedures of Frontier Justice touch nearly all pioneers of the Washington Territory. The index has many abstracts that provide names and what is happening in disputes, settlements in civil and criminal cases as well as probate, equity and admiralty cases.
- Territorial Probate Court Records, 1876-1889 Part of Washington, County Records, 1856-2009 at FamilySearch Historical Collections. (Free, browse images)
- See what genealogical information may be in these records.
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
American Indian[edit | edit source]
- 1911 - 1919 Washington, Applications for Enrollment and Adoption of Washington Indians, 1911-1919 at FamilySearch — images
Japanese[edit | edit source]
- World War II Files, 1942-1946. Public Welfare/Social Security Department, (Japanese Internment) Assistance Cases, Evacuee Referrals for Resettlement and Assistance, 1945-1946 from the Washington State Archives – Digital Archives.
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
Many local libraries and societies have collections of family genealogies. County histories or biographies often include brief genealogies of the featured persons.
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Guardianship of orphans or adults unable to manage their own affairs were handled by the probate and the District courts. See Washington Court Records.
History[edit | edit source]
Local histories for Columbia County, Washington Genealogy may include biographies, history of churches, schools, local government with names of officials, military information, and more. See Washington Local Histories.
- Historic sketches of Walla Walla, Whitman, Columbia and Garfield Counties, Washington Territory, and Umatilla County, Oregon (If the link does not work, go to ancestry.com ($), click Search, select Card Catalog, paste Title into search box, click Search)
- Lyman's history of old Walla Walla County, embracing Walla Walla, Columbia, Garfield and Asotin counties, by W.D. Lyman online at Hathi Trust Digital Library.
- Columbia County, Washington Facts online (mis-labeled as Columbia County, Alabama)
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Columbia Historical County Boundaries from Newberry Library[7]
Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Phil Dougherty. Columbia County -- Thumbnail History, [1] Essay 7801.
- The lower Snake River was home to bands of Palouse and other Sahaptin-speaking people, including Nez Perce, Yakama, Walla Walla, Umatilla, and Wanapum.
- 1805 - October 12-13, Lewis and Clark canoed on the Snake River along the boundary separating Columbia and Whitman counties.
- 1834 - Captain B. L. E. Bonneville crossed Columbia County on the Nez Perce Trail, surveying the Northwest on behalf of the United States government.
- 1853 - March 2, U.S. President Millard Fillmore establishes Washington Territory.
- 1855 - One of the first white settlers in Columbia County was Henry M. Chase. Chase and another man, P. M. Lafontain, built cabins and possibly a small fort early in 1855 at the site of present day Dayton.
- 1859 - Permanent settlement reached Columbia County with claims taken up along the Touchet and Tucannon rivers and along Patit Creek.
- 1859 - Frederick Schnebley homesteaded at the Dayton site of the former Chase homestead, which had been destroyed in the 1855 Indian attack.
- 1860s - Settlers slowly drifted into the county, but in the early 1870s settlement rapidly increased.
- 1875 - November 29, Columbia County officially came into existence.
- 1881 - July, The railroad arrived in Dayton.
- 1934 - The Blue Mountain Cannery was built in Dayton.
- 1935 - As part of Franklin Roosevelt's New Deal, two Civilian Conservation Camps were established in Columbia County.
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Land records (especially deeds) may give the name of a spouse, heirs, and witnesses, who are sometimes relatives or in-laws. County deeds, mortgages, and leases show transfers from person to person. See also Court Records for actions involving real estate. See Washington Land for government-to-person records.
- County Recorder's Office: check deeds, file mining claims, get assistance in finding ownership of a particular property, and obtain copies of county plat maps. This office has county plat records dating back to 1878, prior records having been destroyed in a fire.
Maps[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
for more resources
Migration[edit | edit source]
Most residents came to Washington from other states or crossed the border from Canada. (See Seattle Passenger Lists for those who came from other countries.) Although few other migration records exist, try:
• Censuses: (use birthdates and places of children as clues)
• Land Records: (1st deed may reveal previous residence)
• Death-related records of children may give town or county of birth
• Records of relatives and neighbors
Military[edit | edit source]
- Washington, World War I Veteran's Compensation Fund Application Records, 1921-1925 at FamilySearch — index
- World War II enlistments. Select search codes for state and county. These are partial lists. The NARA website cautions: "This series does not contain records of all World War II Army enlistees."
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Declarations of Intent before 1906 often include the nation of origin, foreign and "Americanized" names, residence, and date of arrival. See Washington Naturalization and Citizenship for more information. Note: Until 1922 in the United States, women's citizenship was based on that of their husbands.
- Naturalization and Citizenship, 1890-1955 Part of Washington, County Records, 1856-2009at FamilySearch Historical Collections. (Free, browse images)
- See what genealogical information may be in these records.
- Includes Journal of naturalization 1890-1906; Letters of administration 1887-1965; Naturalization correspondence 1908-1955; Naturalization depositions 1910-1920; Orders of the court 1925-1950; Petition and record 1908-1928.
- Journals of Naturalization Orders, 1890-1906 at Washington State Digital Archives Collection. (Free) Part of Washington, County Records, 1856-2009 at FamilySearch Historical Collections. (Free, browse images)
- See what genealogical information may be in these records.
- Naturalization Records, 1908-1953 at Washington State Digital Archives Collection. (Free)
- Registers of Declarations of Intent, 1890-1941 at Washington State Digital Archives Collection. (Free)
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Small town newspapers provide historical content and contain obituaries, birth or death notices, legal notices, and community news, such as visits to or from out-of-town relatives. See Washington Newspapers for tips, resources, and details.
- Columbia County, Washington Newspapers (Sortable by towns, years, and titles)
- 1855-2009 Washington Newspapers, 1855-2009 at MyHeritage — index & images, ($)
Finding More Washington Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Columbia County, Washington Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a search for these and other records in the FamilySearch Catalog. To select a county in Washington, add a comma, slide way down to the county list, then click Search. (Almost every state seems to have a Washington County)
- Washington Digital Newspaper at Washington State Library
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Obituaries may mention birth, marriage, spouse, parents, living family members, education, occupation, and more. See Washington Obituaries for state level collections and United States Obituaries for tips and insights.
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Probate records identify heirs of the decedents, give the (approximate) death dates, and provide specifics about property holdings. The records were kept by the county judge.
These include wills, inheritance records, dockets, and other documents regarding property and estates of individuals who have died. See also Court Records for civil actions involving estates. Also see Washington Probate Records.
Part of Washington, County Records, 1856-2009 at FamilySearch Historical Collections. (Free, browse images)
- See what genealogical information may be in these records.
- Includes Clerks files of wills ca 1896-1917; Declarations of intention 1890; 1890-1906; 1890-1941; Estate files 1877-1915; Facts for declarations of intention 1901-1907; Homestead records 1882-1898; Probate case files 1878-1943; Probate fee books 1891-1898; Probate journal 1891-1932; Territorial letters of administration of wills annexed ca 1876-1877.
Public Records[edit | edit source]
Public records are documents created by civil authorities that either don't fit comfortably in another topic, or that could fit in several topics.
- Columbia Postmaster Index A-M • Postmaster Index M-Z. Part of Washington, Postmaster Indexes, Prior to 1965, FamilySearch Historical Collections for Washington. (Free, browse images)
Part of Washington, County Records, 1856-2009 at FamilySearch Historical Collections. (Free, browse images)
School Records[edit | edit source]
Part of: Washington County Records, 1856-2009 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
- See what genealogical information may be in these records.
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Washington tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Washington Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
The county auditors in Washington kept records of birth, marriage, and death. The county clerk has the divorce records - the earliest dates to the present.
Visit the Washington State Department of Health website to order a Washington Birth, Death, Marriage or Divorce Certificate. See Washington Vital Records for details and history of the records. .
Birth[edit | edit source]
In 1891, coroners, physicians, and midwives were to "return" births and deaths to the county auditor. Many went unrecorded. In 1907, the State Center for Health Statistics assumed this responsibility.[8] See also Washington Birth Records.
- Washington State Digital Archives has a free database of Columbia County Birth Records. This database contains the names of people who were born in Columbia County from June 1891 – August 1913. The names were taken from the Columbia County Register of Births.
- Washington, County Birth Registers, 1873-1965 — index and images
- Index to marriage licenses (direct and indirect) 1922-1939 Part of Washington, County Records, 1856-2009 at FamilySearch Historical Collections. (Free, browse images)
- See what genealogical information may be in these records.
- Includes Marriage affidavits 1904-1961; Marriage certificates 1885-1946; Marriage licenses index-direct 1922-1939; Marriage licenses index-direct 1922-1939; Marriage licenses index-indirect 1922-1939; Marriage returns 1902-1947; Marriage statistics 1891-1910; Register of marriages 1891-1910; Territorial marriage certificates 1876-1890.
For earlier or unrecorded births, search:
- Washington Delayed Birth Certificates often include statements of witnesses to the birth.
- Death Records often give birth date, place, parents
- Censuses to learn age, family members, location, etc.
- School Censuses in Washington give date of birth and name of parent or guardian
- Cemeteries usually give birth date or age, and sometimes birth place
- Obituaries often include birth info, living and deceased family members, and more
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Marriage records include certificates, marriage returns, license applications or affidavits. Counties kept the records until 1968, when the state took over. See also Washington Marriage Records.
- 1801-1962 Washington, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index $
- 1855–2008 Washington, County Marriages, 1855-2008 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1876-1912 - Marriages from 4 Jan 1876 to 2 Nov 1912 are available from the Western States Marriage Index website.
- 1904-1939 Marriage Affidavits, 1904-1939 at Washington State Digital Archives Collection.(Free)
- 1888-1914 Marriage Certificate Volumes, 1888-1914 at Washington State Digital Archives Collection. (Free)
- 1876-2003 Marriage Records, 1876-2003 at Washington State Digital Archives Collection. (Free)
- 1878-1890 Probate Marriage Records, 1878-1890 at Washington State Digital Archives Collection. (Free)
- 1922-1939 Marriage Records, 1922-1939 Part of Washington, County Records, 1856-2009 at FamilySearch Historical Collections. (Free, browse images)
- 1969-2014 Washington Marriage Index, 1969-2014 at FamilySearch — index
- See what genealogical information may be in these records.
- Includes Marriage affidavits 1904-1961; Marriage certificates 1885-1946; Marriage licenses index-direct 1922-1939; Marriage licenses index-direct 1922-1939; Marriage licenses index-indirect 1922-1939; Marriage returns 1902-1947; Marriage statistics 1891-1910; Register of marriages 1891-1910; Territorial marriage certificates 1876-1890.
|
Witnesses or affiants may be relatives or close family friends. The affidavits also include physician's certificates. |
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Divorce records give the names of the parties and may give the date and place of their marriage. See Washington Vital Records for excellent information. Online Records
- 1969 - 2014 Washington Divorce Index, 1969-2014 at FamilySearch — index
Death[edit | edit source]
In 1891, coroners, physicians and midwives were to report (or return) all births and deaths under their supervision to County Auditors. On July 1, 1907, the State took over.[9] See Washington Death Records.
- 1907-1960 Washington, Death Certificates, 1907-1960 at MyHeritage — index, ($)
- Washington, County Death Registers, 1881-1922 at FamilySearch - How to use this collection, index
- Washington, Death Certificates, 1907-1960 at FamilySearch Historical Collections. (Free, browse images)
- See what genealogical information may be in these records.
Voting Registers[edit | edit source]
Websites[edit | edit source]
Check back often with websites. Local societies and libraries may know of other websites.
| WAGenWeb for Columbia County | Free | Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions |
| USGenWeb Archives Project | Free | Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions |
| Washington State Digital Archives | Free | Includes indexes, some linked to images.
|
| FamilySearch Historical Collections | Free | Search indexes or browse images at FamilySearch.org.
|
| Websites at RootsWeb - Columbia WA | Free | Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions |
| Linkpendium | Free | Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($) |
| CyndisList | Free | Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($) |
| Genealogyinc.com | Free | Columbia County, Washington Facts |
| Facebook.com | Free | Washington Genealogy Network Group on Facebook |
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records | |
| FamilySearch catalog | Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box. |
| WorldCat | To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog. |
| Allen County Public Library (Indiana) | |
Archives, Libraries, etc.[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in {{{1}}} County. For state-wide facilities, see Washington Archives and Libraries.
Resources for Columbia County, Washington Genealogy are available in libraries, archives, and other repositories at all levels: the town, the county, the state (including universities), and the nation.
- Check websites and catalogs, such as items in FamilySearch Library (Utah) or Allen County Public Library (Indiana) for Columbia County, Washington Genealogy.
- When you find items you'd like to access, see Get a Copy
See also Courthouse · FamilySearch Centers · Libraries · Museums · Other Repositories · Societies
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Basin City Washington Family History Center
- Columbia Basin Washington Family History Center
- Dayton Washington Family History Center
- Kennewick Washington Family History Center
- Pasco Washington Family History Center
- Richland Washington Family History Center
- Walla Walla Washington Family History Center
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Local public libraries—even smaller ones—often have Unique Genealogical Collections that are not online for the area they serve. Many libraries in Washington have an area dedicated to local history and genealogy.
|
A library's Unique Collections may include card indexes of local records, newspapers, scrapbooks, genealogy papers, files of a genealogical or historical society, and other unpublished manuscripts. |
- Columbia County Rural Library District
Dayton Memorial Library
111 S. Third Street
Dayton, WA 99328
Phone: 509-382-4131
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Blue Mountain Heritage Society
PO Box 163
Dayton, WA 99328
509-540-9560
E-mail: bluemountainheritage@gmail.com
Website
Facebook
Listed below are societies in {{{1}}} County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Washington Societies.
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[10]
| Cities | ||
|
||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
|
|
|
| Ghost towns | ||
|
Delaney |
Grange City |
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Columbia County, Washington," in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Columbia_County,_Washington. accessed 15/07/2019
- ↑ The Evolution of Washington Counties by Newton Carl Abbott, Fred E. Carver, 1979. Published by the Yakima Valley Genealogical Society and Klickitat County Genealogical Society.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ John H. Long, Atlas of Historical County Boundaries (Chicago: Newberry Library, 2006) online.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ferry County, Washington page 732, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Columbia County, Washington . Page 732-735 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 733-734.
- ↑ John H. Long, Atlas of Historical County Boundaries (Chicago: Newberry Library, 2006) online.
- ↑ Washington State Archives - Digital Archives, Birth Records, About this Collection
- ↑ About Death Records at Washington State Digital Archives.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Columbia County, Washington," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Columbia_County,_Washington, accessed 4 March 2019.