Columbia County, Florida Genealogy
Guide to Columbia County, Florida ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
This county is named for Christopher Columbus (c. 1451-1506), explorer of the Americas.[2] The County is located in the North Central area of the state.[3]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Columbia County Courthouse
145 N Hernando St; PO Box 2069
Lake City, FL 32055
Phone: 386-758-1041
Columbia County Website
Clerk Circuit Court has birth records from 1943, Marriage and land records from 1875, Divorce and court records from 1892, Probate records from 1895
Public Health Unit has birth, death and burial records[4]
Columbia County, Florida Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1943 | 1875 | 1899 | 1892 | 1875 | 1895 | 1830 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
1848, 1860, 1867, and 1874 - Columbia County Courthouses were burned by arsonists and most early records were destroyed.
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- 1949-1952 A Group of Genealogical Records from Columbia County, Florida, Presented by Edward Rutledge Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution, Lake City, Florida(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1840 | 2,102 | — |
| 1850 | 4,808 | 128.7% |
| 1860 | 4,646 | −3.4% |
| 1870 | 7,335 | 57.9% |
| 1880 | 9,589 | 30.7% |
| 1890 | 12,877 | 34.3% |
| 1900 | 17,094 | 32.7% |
| 1910 | 17,689 | 3.5% |
| 1920 | 14,290 | −19.2% |
| 1930 | 14,638 | 2.4% |
| 1940 | 16,859 | 15.2% |
| 1950 | 18,216 | 8.0% |
| 1960 | 20,077 | 10.2% |
| 1970 | 25,250 | 25.8% |
| 1980 | 35,399 | 40.2% |
| 1990 | 42,613 | 20.4% |
| 2000 | 56,513 | 32.6% |
| 2010 | 67,531 | 19.5% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
For tips on accessing census records online, see: Florida Census.
- 1783 Spanish Census USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1821 Census/Tax List Index USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1823 Census/Tax List Index USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1880 Census African Born Blacks and Mulattos USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1885 Florida State Population Census includes sex, age, relationship, occupation, place of birth of each family member and parents. Also census for agriculture, manufacture and mortality. - How to Use this Collection
- 1935 1935 Florida State Census at MyHeritage - index ($))
- Federal Census Information from National Archives USGenWeb Archives Project
- State Census Information from Florida State Archives USGenWeb Archives Project
- Census of Pensioners Revolutionary Military Service USGenWeb Archives Project
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Lake City
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
African American
- Florida African American Griots Project-USGenWeb
- Afrigeneas - African Genealogy
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Dees-Parrish Family Funeral Home in Lake City
- Gateway-Forest Lawn Funeral Home and Crematory in Lake City
- Guerry Funeral Homes and Crematory in Lake City
- ICS Cremation and Funeral Home in Lake City
- Mizell's Funeral Home in Lake City
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Florida Territorial Land Records
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for most counties. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Maps of Florida (1821-1997)
- 1870 Gray's Atlas Panhandle Portion of State USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1882 Rand McNally Panhandle Portion of State USGenWeb Archives Project
- Exploring Florida, FCIT Maps, University of South Florida
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- Columbia County Military Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Florida State Military Files USGenWeb Archives Project
- Pension Transcriptions Florida state pension records from various wars USGenWeb Pension Project
Civil War
- 1861-1865 - Florida Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 - Florida Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry (free)
- 1883 Columbia County Pensioners on the Roll as of January 1, 1883 (Genealogy Trails)
- 1885-1955 - Florida Confederate Veterans and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1955 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
World War I
- 1917-1920 - Florida, World War I Navy Card Roster, 1917-1920 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- Index to Columbia County World War I Draft Registration - Scroll down to WWI. (USGenWeb Archives)
- Columbia County World War I Casualty List (Genealogy Trails)
World War II
- 1940-1945 - Florida, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- Index to Columbia County World War II Army Enlistees - Scroll down to WWII. (USGenWeb Archives)
- Columbia County World War II Casualty List (Genealogy Trails)
- Columbia County World War II Honor List of Dead and Missing Army and Army Air Forces Personnel (Genealogy Trails)
Korean War
- Columbia County Korean War Casualty List (Genealogy Trails)
- Florida Casualties in the Korean Conflict
Vietnam War
- Columbia County Vietnam War Casualty List (Genealogy Trails)
- Distantcousin.com Florida Casualties in the Vietnam War
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
- Florida Digital Newspaper Library at George A. Smathers Libraries
- Early Florida Newspapers at the Florida State Library
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- Florida Obituaries Obituary transcriptions from Florida counties - USGenWeb Obituaries Project
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Voters Registration[edit | edit source]
1845 voters registration list for Columbia County.
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Indexes and Records
- 1784-1990 Florida Probate Records, 1784-1990(*) at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; images
- 1827-1950 Florida, U.S., Wills and Probate Records, 1827-1950 at Ancestry ($)
- 1860-1955 Probate Records, 1860-1955(*); County, County Judge's, and Probate Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1871-1874 Columbia County, Florida Inventory Record of Estates, v. A 1871-1874(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- Wills of Columbia County, Florida: on File in the Court House in Lake City, Florida. These are in Will Book A. ; Presented to National Library of the Daughters of the American Revolution by Edward Rutledge Chapter, Lake City, Florida, Mrs. David Means, Regent ; Mrs. E. M. M(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, Florida State Archives, or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1880-1935 - Florida, Births and Christenings, 1880-1935 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1802-1998 - Florida, United States Marriages at Findmypast $
- 1822-1875 and 1927 - 2001 - Florida, Marriage Index, 1822-1875 and 1927-2001 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1830-1957 - Florida, County Marriages, 1830-1957 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1830-1993 - Florida, Marriages, 1830-1993 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1837-1974 - Florida, Marriages, 1837-1974 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- Florida State Archives
- 1970 - 1999 Florida, Marriages, 1970 - 1999 at MyHeritage - index ($))
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1877-1939 - Florida, Deaths, 1877-1939 at FamilySearch- How to Use this Collection
- 1877-1998 - Florida, Death Index, 1877-1998 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1900-1921 - Florida, Deaths and Burials, 1900-1921 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1927-2001 - Florida, Divorce Index, 1927-2001 at Ancestry$
- 1970 - 1999 Florida, Divorces, 1970 - 1999 at MyHeritage - index ($)
Voter Records[edit | edit source]
- 1867-1868 Web: Florida, U.S., Voter Registration Rolls, 1867-1868 at Ancestry - index ($)
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Columbia County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Florida Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Columbia County. For state-wide library facilities, see Florida Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Lake City-Columbia County Historical Museum
157 SE Hernando Ave
Lake City, Florida 32025
Phone: 386-755-9096
Facebook
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Columbia County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Florida Societies.
Lake City-Columbia County Historical Museum
157 SE Hernando Ave.
Lake City, FL 32025
386-755-9096
Email: lccchistory@gmail.com
Facebook
Websites[edit | edit source]
|
- Columbia County FLGenWeb
- Columbia County, Florida Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- State of Florida
- Columbia County, USGenWeb Archives.
- Columbia County, Florida Genealogy Trails
- Columbia County FL Genealogy (ldsgenealogy.com)
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ eReferencedesk, "Columbia County," in ereferencedesk:, referencedesk 12/20/2019.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Columbia County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, wikipedia 04/24/2017.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
