Colne, Lancashire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Colne, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Colne, Lancashire
St Bartholomew's Church, Colne.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackburn
County Lancashire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Burnley
Registration District Burnley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1599; Separate registers exist for Trawden beginning 1846
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Whalley
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Archives

Chapelry History[edit | edit source]

Colne St Bartholomew was erected as an ancient chapel of ease, and in operation by 1599, taken from and lying within the boundaries of Whalley Ancient Parish.

Other places in the parish include: Foulridge and Barrowford Booth.

Originally in the Diocese of Chester ( registers begin in 1599) it became part of the Whalley Deanery in The Diocese of Manchester in 1847
The Diocese of Blackburn is a Church of England diocese, covering much of Lancashire, created in 1926 from part of the Diocese of Manchester. The Diocese includes the towns of Blackburn, Blackpool, Burnley, and the cities of Lancaster, and Preston, as well as a large part of the Ribble Valley.

COLNE, a market-town and parochial chapelry, in the parish of Whalley, union of Burnley, Higher division of the hundred of Blackburn, N. division of the county of Lancaster, 35 miles (S. E.) from Lancaster, and 217 (N. N. W.) from London. [1] This parochial chapelry included at least the following 5 chapels of ease:

  • Great Marsden - 1847
  • Little Marsden - 1835
  • Colne Christ Church - 1836
  • Barrowford St. Thomas - 1838
  • Trawden St Mary - 1844

This chapelry also included the town of Foulridge.

There were places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyan Methodists, and Primitive Methodists.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Chapelry is a church or churches built in a large ecclesiastical parish to help the members attend worship services closer to their homes.

Online Parish Records Table

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Colne Parish Records
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Lancashire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Parish Registers-Lancashire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Findmypast-Lancashire ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Ancestry-Church of England BMD-Lancashire ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1800s-1900s

Other Websites
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformist Churches (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Stott, Brian. Towler of Colne and Burnley. Family History article of John Towler of Colne marrying Judith Robinson from the parish of Clapham at Colne in 1761, and the descendants, scattering through Yorkshire and London. to be found in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Society Magazine, vol. 16. no.1.page 40-43. FHL Ref 942.72 B2r

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Burnley Poor Law Union, Lancashire

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 663-668. Date accessed: 17 September 2013.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Colne on GENUKI