Colleton County, South Carolina Genealogy
Guide to Colleton County, South Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Sir John Colleton, 1st Baronet, one of the eight Lords Proprietor of the Province of Carolina The County is located in the southcentral area of the state.[3]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Colleton County Courthouse
101 Hampton Street
Walterboro, SC 29488
Phone: 843-549-5791
Colleton County Website
County Pronunciation
Hear it spoken.[4]
Colleton County, South Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1915 | 1911 | 1915 | 1865 | 1865 | 1865 | 1790 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
Records were evacuated to Columbia in February 1865, where fire destroyed them. Virtually no pre-1865 records survived. Deeds have suffered heavy losses. For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- There are more than 100 burial grounds in the county. To view a list, see Colleton County, South Carolina Cemeteries.
- National Cemetery Administration
Census Records[edit | edit source]
For all existing and online Federal population schedules of South Carolina, see South Carolina Census. See also USGenWeb Census Project, South Carolina, including links to transcribed files.
- 1829-1920 South Carolina, State and Territorial Censuses, 1829-1920 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index & Images
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1800 | 24,903 | — |
| 1810 | 26,359 | 5.8% |
| 1820 | 26,404 | 0.2% |
| 1830 | 27,256 | 3.2% |
| 1840 | 25,548 | −6.3% |
| 1850 | 39,505 | 54.6% |
| 1860 | 41,916 | 6.1% |
| 1870 | 25,410 | −39.4% |
| 1880 | 36,386 | 43.2% |
| 1890 | 40,293 | 10.7% |
| 1900 | 33,452 | −17.0% |
| 1910 | 35,390 | 5.8% |
| 1920 | 29,897 | −15.5% |
| 1930 | 25,821 | −13.6% |
| 1940 | 26,268 | 1.7% |
| 1950 | 28,242 | 7.5% |
| 1960 | 27,816 | −1.5% |
| 1970 | 27,622 | −0.7% |
| 1980 | 31,776 | 15.0% |
| 1990 | 34,377 | 8.2% |
| 2000 | 38,264 | 11.3% |
| Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. | ||
1800
- Jarrell, Lawrence E. Early Colleton, South Carolina Census Complete Transcription of the Federal Census Records; 1790 Charleston District Census, St. Bartholomew's, St. George's-Dorchester; St. Paul's and St. John's-Colleton Parishes 1800 Colleton District Census--St. Bartholomew's, St. George's-Dorchester and St. Paul's Parishes; 1810 Colleton District Census. High Point, N.C.: Alligator Creek Genealogy Publications, 1998. FHL Collection 975.79 X2j
1810
- Jarrell, Lawrence E. Early Colleton, South Carolina Census Complete Transcription of the Federal Census Records; 1790 Charleston District Census, St. Bartholomew's, St. George's-Dorchester; St. Paul's and St. John's-Colleton Parishes 1800 Colleton District Census--St. Bartholomew's, St. George's-Dorchester and St. Paul's Parishes; 1810 Colleton District Census. High Point, N.C.: Alligator Creek Genealogy Publications, 1998. FHL Collection 975.79 X2j
1820
- Jarrell, Lawrence E. 1820 Colleton, South Carolina Census. High Point, N.C.: Alligator Creek Genealogy Publications, 1998. FHL Collection 975.795 X2j 1820
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church of England
See also St. Bartholomew's Parish See also St. John's Colleton Parish See also St. Paul's Parish
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
African Americans
Colleton County, South Carolina African Americans
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
General
Surname indexes to Leonardo Andrea's Files | Folders | Resources are available online, courtesy: The Andrea Files: South Carolina Genealogical Research. Learn more.
Bibliography
- Beamer - Curtis, Oscar F. Miscellaneous Genealogical Material. MSS. Copy: FHL Film 1638365 Item 5
- Brothers Brothers, William P. Records of the Families of Brothers, Swan, Bonar/Reeves, Beardsley. Palo Alto, Calif.: Nonpareil Press, 1990. FHL Book 929.273 B795bw
- Ford - Patillo, Edward. "Ford of the Low Country," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Reseach, Vol. 32, No. 2 (Spring 2004):63-72; Vol. 32, No. 3 (Summer 2004):133-142; Vol. 33, No. 1 (Winter 2005):44-52. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 32-33
- Fraser - Quander, Rohulamin. Their Stories Must Be Told: An Abridged History of the Fraser-Pearson-Lee-Powell Families of Waterboro Township and Colleton County, South Carolina. Washington, D.C.: Quander Historical Society, 1999. FHL 929.273 Q25q
- Freeman - Crumb, D.F. All About Us [the Freeman Lineage with Connecting Lines and Inserts of Other Franklin/Amite County Families]. South Jordan, Utah: C.A. Ormond, n.d. FHL Fook 929.273 F877c
- Glover - Glover, Jim. Colonel Joseph Glover (1719-1783) and His Descendants: Thirteen Generations of the Glover Family. Marietta, Ga.: J.B. Glover, 1996. FHL Book 929.273 G518gj
- Hardy - Brayton, John Anderson. "Check the Original! Two Lessons Learned the Hard Way, Part 1: Hardy of South Carolina - A 'Discreet' Omission to Hide an Indiscretion," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 90, No. 1 (March 2002):69-73. FHL Collection 973 B2ng v. 90
- Hayne - Hayne Family of South Carolina Including: Splatt, Heyward, McCall, Martin, Davidge, Brevard, Cleveland, Shubrick, Woodward, Simmons, Barnwell, Perry, Beattie, Courtenay, Adams, Huger, Motte and Trapier. MSS. Microfilmed 1983. FHL Fiche 6018783
- Inabnit Lefvendahl, Georgie Inabinet Adams. The Inabnit Family of South Carolina: Volume III. Some of the Inabnit, Inabnet, Inabinett Families of Colleton, Charleston, and Lower Orangeburgh Districts and Counties. [Orangeburg, S.C.: n.p.], 1970. FHL 929.273 In1L
- Jenkins Webber, Mabel L. "Descendants of John Jenkins, of St. John's Colleton," The South Carolina Historical and Genealogical Magazine, Vol. 20, No. 4 (Oct., 1919), pp. 223-251. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
- Johns Johns, Burton E. Jeremiah E. Johns: The Descendants of Jeremiah Johns (1788-1869), of Colleton County, South Carolina; of Wayne County, Georgia; of Hamilton County, Florida. Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, 2002. FHL 929.273 J623j
- Lawton - Harrell, Carolyn Willingham Lawton. Kith and Kin - A Portrait of a Southern Family, 1630-1934. Macon, Ga.: Mercer University Press, 1984. FHL Book 929.273 L448h
- Linder - Linder, Myrtle Kinard and Billy Royce Linder. Southern Linders: Jacob Simon Linder of Colleton County, South Carolina. 2 vols. Smoaks, S.C.: M.K. Linder, 1988. FHL 929.273 L643Li v. 2
- McIntosh - Swinton Family, ca. 1060-1883. MSS. Microfilmed 1958. FHL Film 184501 Item 7
- O'Quinn - O'Quinn, John Kenneth. O'Quinn Cousins, by the Dozens. Spartanburg, S.C.: Reprint, 1999. FHL Book 929.273 Oq5oj; digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
- Padgett William Padgett Family Bible [Records, 1782-1856]. MSS. Microfilmed 1990. FHL Film 1065185 Item 1 Includes genealogical information.
- Padgett Sikes, Florence Padgett and Jacklyn Padgett Staats. Padgetts, Then and Now. 2 vols. Riverview, Fla.: Padgett Sisters, [1994?]. FHL Book 929.273 P133p
- Pinckney - Powell, Mary Pinckney. Over Home, the Heritage of Pinckneys of Pinckney Colony, Bluffton, South Carolina. Beaufort, S.C.: M.P. Powell, 1982. FamilySearch Digital Library; FHL Book 929.273 P651p.
- Pinckney - Powell, Mary Pinckney. Back Over Home, the Heritage of Pinckneys of Pinckney Colony, Bluffton, South Carolina. Columbia, S.C.: R.L. Bryan, 1996. FHL Book 929.273 P651po
- Raysor - Bryan, David M. "Charleston Lady to Frontier Widow ... and Back!: The Saga of Elizabeth Chalmers Raysor," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 37, No. 4 (Fall 2009):187-194. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 37
- Rogers Banister, Eme O'Dell. The Family of Rogers of the Piedmont Section, South Carolina & Allied Families. Microfilmed 1983. FHL Book 929.273 R631b
- Spell - Herreid, Charlene Humphries. "A Tale of Two Charners," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 38, No. 2 (Spring 2010):79-82. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 38
- Stokes Stokes, Joseph Jackson. Henry Stokes of Colleton County, South Carolina, His Ancestry and Descendents: The Stokes, Risher, Byrd, Hunter and Allied Families of the South Carolina Low Country. Atlanta, Ga.: J.J. Stokes, 1996. FHL 929.273 St67sjj
- Stokes Linder, Bill R. Bill R. Linder's Genealogical Collection. MSS. Microfilmed 2001. FHL Film
- Williams Williams, Rufie Lee. The Family of John and Frances Williams. Aberdeen, Miss.: Almond Print., 1989. FHL Book 929.273 W673wi
- Woodin - Delorey, Janet Ireland. "John Woodin, Brickmaker, of New Hampshire, Massachusetts, and South Carolina," The American Genealogist, Vol. 64, No. 4 (Oct. 1989):238-245. FHL 973 D25aga
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Because South Carolina was an agricultural state, many residents owned land. For earliest records, search 1) Charleston District, 2) your ancestor’s residential district, 3) neighboring districts, 4) the residential county, 5) neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. See also South Carolina Land and Property.
Online Land Indexes and Records
- 1784-1868 For information about the State Land Grants, see State Land Grants
The following chart show where you may best expect to find land records.
| Date | Government Office |
| 1866-Present | Colleton County |
| 1800-1866 | Colleton District Records Lost |
| 1710-1800 | Charleston District |
| 1670-1710 | Proprietary Land Grants |
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Colleton County is named for Sir John Colleton (1608-1666), one of the original Lord Proprietors of South Carolina. [10] Colleton County has existed in several different incarnations. It was created as one of the original South Carolina counties in 1682. At the time, all formal business was conducted in Charles Town and the counties were used to locate property. The original Colleton County was abolished in 1768 after the District Court Act was passed. Colleton County was created again in 1785 with the passage of the 1785 County Court Act but never became functional and was abolished in 1798. The present day Colleton County (then a district) was established in 1800.[11] Learn more about the history of Colleton County from the South Carolina State Library or from Carolana.com.
- Bryan, Evelyn McDaniel Frazier.Colleton County, S.C. a History of the First 160 Years, 1670-1830. (Jacksonville, Florida Florentine Press, 1993, c1993 ; Columbia, South Carolina R.L. Bryan), 243 pages. This book, is relating the first 160 years of the history of Colleton County. A story of the people & the main events occuring in the county. Book at FHL 975.795 H2b and Other Libraries.
- Linder, Suzanne Cameron. Historical Atlas of the Rice Plantations of the ACE River Basin, 1860. (Columbia, South Carolina: S.C. Dept. of Archives and History, c1995), 684 pages. The plantations were in Beaufort, Colleton & Charleston counties. Book at FHL 975.79 R2L and Other Libraries
- Glover, Beulah. Narratives of Colleton County the Land Lying Between the Edisto and Combahee River.(S.l. s.n., c1963), 239 pages. History of Colleton County starting in 1682. Book at FHL 975.795 H2gb.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Early migration routes to and from Colleton County for European settlers included:[12]
- Atlantic Ocean about 1670
- Fort Moore-Charleston Trail about 1716
- Charleston-Savannah Trail (an extension of the King's Highway) late 1730s
Military Records[edit | edit source]
French and Indian War
- Weir, Robert M. "Muster Rolls of the South Carolina Granville and Colleton County Regiments of Militia, 1756," The South Carolina Historical Magazine, Vol. 70, No. 4 (Oct., 1969), pp. 226-239. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
- "Muster rolls of Colleton co. regim., 1756," South Carolina Historical Magazine, October 1969, Volume 70, Issue 4. South Carolina History Society: Charleston, SC. FHL Collection Book 975.7 B2s.
Revolutionary War
- "Revolutionary War Volunteer Roll, 1775," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, March 1930, Volume 18, Issue 1. National Genealogical Society: Arlington,VA.
War of 1812
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, South Carolina, Colleton County, p. 184. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.
Civil War
- 1861-1865 South Carolina Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index & Images
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
Regiments. Civil War service men from Colleton County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies and regiments that were formed with many men from Colleton County:
- - 1st Regiment, South Carolina State Troops Junior Reserves (State Militia), Company I
- - 1st Regiment, South Carolina Mounted Militia,
- - Campbell's Company (also known as Marion Scouts or Marion Troop)
- - Earnest's Company (also known as Marion Rangers or Marion Troop)
- - Green's Company (also known as Salkehatchie Guerrillas)
- - D. B. Heyward's Company (also known as Marion Men of Combahee)
- - King's Company (also known as St. Paul's Home Guard or St. Paul's Mounted Men)
- - Oswald's Company (also known as Grey Riders of St. Bartholomew's)
- - Scott's Company (also known as St. Paul Rangers)
- - Smith's Company (also known as Beech Hill Rangers)
- - 1st Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry, Company E (also known as James D. Trezevant's Cavalry and Fort Motte Rangers) and Company I (also known as J.R.P. Cavalry and Round O Troop)
- - 2nd Battalion, South Carolina Reserves, Company C (also known as the Spartan Rangers, the Spartanburg Rangers and the Spartan Rangers Independent Cavalry Reserves)
- - 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry, Company B (also known as Beaufort Detachment, Hampton Legion, Beaufort District Troop, Beaufort Dragoons)
- - 2nd Regiment, South Carolina State Troops Junior Reserves (State Militia), Company F
- - 2nd Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry Reserves, Company B (also known as the Marion Men of Combahee), Calhoon Minute Men (also known as the Calhoon Mounted Men and Martin's Company, South Carolina Volunteers), and possibly the Colleton Rangers
- - 2nd Regiment, South Carolina State Troops (6 months 1863-64), Company D and Company H
- - 3rd Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company D (also known as the Wassamassaw Cavalry or Wassa Massaw Rangers)
- - 3rd Battalion, South Carolina Light Artillery (Palmetto Battalion), Company F (also known as the Chestnut Light Artillery)
- - 3rd Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry,
- - Company A (also known as the Marion Men of Combahee)
- - Company B (also known as the Colleton Rangers)
- - Company E (also known as the Calhoun Mounted Men or Calhoun Minute Men)
- - Company F (also known as the St. Peter's Guards)
- - Company I (also known as the Rebel Troops)
- - 4th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Rutledge's), Company G
- - 5th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Ferguson's), Company C
- - 5th Regiment, South Carolina Reserves (90 days 1862-63), Company F
- - 6th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Aiken's Partisan Rangers) (1st Partisan Rangers), Company B and Company H
- - 7th Battalion, South Carolina Infantry (Nelson's) (Enfield Rifles), Company E
- - 7th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry , Company B and Company G
- - 8th Battalion, South Carolina Reserves (Stalling's), Company B
- - 10th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company C
- - 11th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (9th Volunteers), Company B, Company G, Company H, and Company K
- - 11th Regiment, South Carolina Reserves(90 days 1862-63), Company C, Company I, and Company K
- - 16th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company B
- - 24th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company C and Company E
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1800s-1999 Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry ($)
Historic
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Colleton County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.
- The Colleton and Beaufort Sun (Walterboro, S.C.) 1859-186?.
- The Colleton Democrat (Walterboro, S.C.) 1877-1880.
- The Colleton News (Walterboro, S.C.) 1908-1911.
- The Colleton Press (Walterboro, S.C.) 1880-1890.
- The Colleton Standard (Walterboro, S.C.) 1889-1890.
- The Press and Standard (Walterboro, S.C.) 1890-current.
- The Southern Star (Walterboro, S.C.) 1885-1887.
- The Walterboro News (Walterboro, S.C.) 1873-1877.
University of South Carolina Library Catalog
- Historical Newspapers of South Carolina at University of South Carolina Libraries - not complete
Current
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For more information and links, see South Carolina Periodicals.
- Rice Planter
- South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Various types of records are created throughout the probate process of settling estates and property, usually after death. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina Probate Records.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. FHL 942 P27c 2007 Includes wills of residents of Colleton County proved in London, see place-name index. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.
- 1670-1980 South Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1670-1980 at Ancestry.com — index and images ($)
- 1671-1977 South Carolina Probate Records, Bound Volumes, 1671-1977 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Images Only
- 1732-1964 South Carolina Probate Records, Files and Loose Papers, 1732-1964 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Images Only
- 1782-1866 South Carolina, Will Transcripts 1782-1866 at Findmypast — index, ($) — $, index
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch — How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, and relationships. See South Carolina Taxation for online resources and suggestions.
Online Tax Indexes and Records
- South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Colleton County.
Published abstracts:
- 1760 "Colleton County excerpts from 1760 SC Tax List," available online, courtesy: SCGenWeb. The original "Records of the Receiver - General Accounts of Quit Rents Paid" are kept at the South Carolina Department of Archives and History.
- 1768 Quit Rent Rolls.[13]FHL Book 975.7 N28w 1994 Includes Colleton County; begins on page 255.
- 1785 St. Andrew's Parish Tax Returns, 1785, South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 5, No. 2 (Spring 1977). FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 5
- 1785 St. Bartholomew's Parish Tax Returns, 1785, South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 5, No. 3 (Summer 1977). FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 5
- 1785 St. Paul's Parish Tax Returns, 1785, South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 5, No. 2 (Spring 1977); Vol. 5, No. 3 (Summer 1977). FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 5
- 1809 "Two Early Tax Returns from the Low Country," South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 35, No. 2 (Spring 2007):115-117. FHL 975.7 B2sc v. 35. Return of the Poor Tax Collected by John Mikell, 1809.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records created by Civil authorities. See South Carolina Vital Records for online resources and suggestions.
- 1873-2011 The Press and Standard Newspaper index online by the Colleton County Public Library - index, includes birth, marriage, and death notices
Birth[edit | edit source]
State-wide birth registration did not begin until 1915. For records after 1915, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Births and Birth Substitutes - Indexes
- 1766-1900 South Carolina, Delayed Birth Certificates, 1766-1900 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index & Images
- 1915-1917 South Carolina, U.S., Births, 1915-1917 at Ancestry - index & images ($)
Marriage[edit | edit source]
In South Carolina, Probate Courts issued and still keep marriage licenses from 1 July 1911 to the present. Licenses were not required before 1911. In the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Statewide registration of marriages started in July, 1950. See South Carolina Vital Records for indexes and more information.
- 1911-1951 South Carolina, County Marriage Licenses, 1911-1951 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index & Images
- 1911-1951 - Colleton County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, ca. July 1911-Jan. 1951 [14] FHL 1005261 - records only
- There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found insome counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Death[edit | edit source]
State-wide death registration began in 1915. For information and online records, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.
- 1816-1990 South Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1816-1990 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index
- 1821-1969 South Carolina, U.S., Death Records, 1821-1969 at Ancestry - index & images ($)
- 1915-1943 South Carolina, Deaths, 1915-1943 at MyHeritage - index & images ($)
- 1915-1965 South Carolina Deaths, 1915-1965 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index & Images
- State-wide South Carolina Death Indexes. There are several online death indexes covering all of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Colleton County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Beaufort South Carolina Family History Center
- Charleston South Carolina Family History Center
- Moncks Corner South Carolina Family History Center
- Ridgeland South Carolina Family History Center
- Statesboro Georgia Family History Center
- Walterboro South Carolina Family History Center
- International African American Museum - an affiliate library
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Colleton County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.
Libraries
- Colleton Memorial Library
Address:
600 Hampton Street
Walterboro, SC 29488
Telephone: 843-549-5621
Fax: 843-549-5122
Hours: Monday to Thursday 9:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m., Friday 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m., Saturday 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Sunday Closed
The Colleston Memorial Library is part of the SCLends catalog system. - Edisto Beach Library
Address:
71 Station Court
P O Box 760
Edisto Beach, SC 29438
Telephone / Fax (843) 869-2499
Hours: Tuesday 1:00 P.M. - 5:00 P.M., Wednesday 10:00 A.M. - 5:00 P.M. Closed 12:30 - 1:00,
Thursday 1:00 P.M. - 5:00 P.M
Museums[edit | edit source]
- Colleton Museum
Address:
239 North Jefferies Boulevard
Walterboro, SC 29488
Phone: 843-549-2303
Museum Hours: Monday - Noon - 4PM, Tuesday to Friday 10AM-5PM
Admission: FREE
The museum features a permanent collection which explores the history of Colleton County from prehistoric times to the early 1900's.
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Colleton County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see South Carolina Societies.
- Colleton Genealogical Society
2917 Woodway Lane, Columbia SC 29223
(803) 896-6100
Website Facebook - Colleton County Historical and Preservation Society
205 Church St., Walterboro SC 29488
(843) 549-9633
Email: info@cchaps.com
Website Facebook
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Colleton County, SCGenWeb
- Colleton County, South Carolina (Government Site) Includes Property and Tax Search for recent residents
- Colleton County, South Carolina Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Colleton County, South Carolina, courtesy: Carolana.com. Includes history.
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
- South Carolina Archives Summary Guide: Colleton County, available online, courtesy: South Carolina Department of Archives and History.
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
- ↑ South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, Colleton County, South Carolina in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colleton_County,_South_Carolina." accessed 25/06/2019
- ↑ Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Colleton County, South Carolina. Page 611-615 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 607-608.
- ↑ South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), South Carolina .At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Colleton County, South Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colleton_County,_South_Carolina, accessed 22 December 2019.
- ↑ Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
- ↑ South Carolina State Library, "Colleton County".
- ↑ "Colleton County," South Carolina State Library.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the Early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
- ↑ Mary Bondurant Warren, Citizens and Immigrants--South Carolina, 1768 (Athens, Ga.: Heritage Papers, 1994).
- ↑ South Carolina, Probate Court (Colleton County), Colleton County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, ca. July 1911-Jan. 1951, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2001.