Coffee County, Tennessee Genealogy

United States

Tennessee

Coffee County

Guide to Coffee County, Tennessee ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Tennessee Online Genealogy Records

County Facts County seat: Manchester Organized: May 2, 1836 Parent County(s): Warren, Franklin, Bedford Neighboring Counties Bedford  • Cannon  • Franklin  • Grundy  • Moore  • Rutherford  • Warren See County Maps Courthouse Location Map Adoption Adopt-a-wiki page This page adopted by: TNGenWeb Project who welcome you to contribute. Adopt a page today

County Information

Description

Coffee County was named for John Coffee, a prominent planter, land speculator, and militia officer. The county is located in the central area of the state.

County Courthouse

Coffee County Courthouse
300 Hillsboro Boulevard, 2nd Fl; PO Box 629
Manchester, TN 37349
Coffee County Website Phone: 931-723-5110
County Clerk Phone: 931-723-5106
Circuit Court Clerk Phone: 931-723-5110
Chancery Court Phone: 931-723-5132
Register of Deeds Phone: 931-723-5130

Marriage records from 1854 and probate records from 1836
Clerk of the Circuit Court has divorce and court records
Register of Deeds has land records.

Coffee County, Tennessee Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth*	Marriage	Death*	Court	Land	Probate	Census
1881	1854	1881	1836	1836	1836	1810
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1914. General compliance by 1927.

Record Loss

1870 Courthouse burned and many records were damaged. Marriages recorded between 1836 and 1853 are lost For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see: Burned Counties. By Michael John Neill at 24-7 Family History Circle. When the Records are Gone. By Arlene Eakle at Arlene Eakle's Tennessee Blog. Burned Counties Research in the FamilySearch Research Wiki. List of counties in the United States with Record Loss

Boundary Changes

1836--Coffee County was created 2 May 1836 from Warren, Franklin, and Bedford Counties. County seat: Manchester For animated maps illustrating Tennessee county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewedat the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:

Cities
Manchester	Tullahoma
Unincorporated communities
Beechgrove Belmont Fudgearound	Noah Ovoca Pocahontas	Shady Grove Summitville
Census-designated places
Hillsboro	Lakewood Park	New Union

History Timeline

Additional Information
The county is named after "John Coffee (1772-1833), frontiersman, planter, and veteran of Creek War and War of 1812."

Resources

Bible Records

• W.P.A. Bible, Family and Tombstone Records, Coffee County, Tennessee. Typescript, TSLA. Microfilmed in 1943. FHL US/CAN Film 24624. Free online index, created by Steve Carson, courtesy: GSC Associates Historical Records Products (the pages may load slowly). For a small fee, the company sells two Coffee County CDs, which include a digitized version of this book, and a variety of other local records.

Biographies

All of the family biographies from the History of Coffee County, Tennessee website (1887) by Goodspeed Publishing Co., are available online at My Genealogy Hound.

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

• Middle Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1784 to 1902. 2004. By Alan N. Miller. Baltimore, Md.: Clearfield Company. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2ma. Includes Coffee County.

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Coffee County, Tennessee online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online	Findagrave.com TNGenWeb TNGenWeb Archives Tombstone Project TNGenWeb Cemeteries BillionGraves
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)	Family History Library WorldCat
List of Cemeteries in the County	Findagrave.com Gravestones FamilySearch Places
See Tennessee Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records

Historical populations
Census	Pop.	%±
1840	8,184	—
1850	8,351	2.0%
1860	9,689	16.0%
1870	10,237	5.7%
1880	12,894	26.0%
1890	13,827	7.2%
1900	15,574	12.6%
1910	15,625	0.3%
1920	17,344	11.0%
1930	16,801	−3.1%
1940	18,959	12.8%
1950	23,049	21.6%
1960	28,603	24.1%
1970	32,572	13.9%
1980	38,311	17.6%
1990	40,339	5.3%
2000	48,014	19.0%
2010	52,796	10.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Coffee County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.

See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

See Coffee County, TN census assignments, including links to transcribed files. The USGenWeb Census Project^®

1810-1891

• Tennessee, Compiled Census and Census Substitutes Index, 1810-1891 at Ancestry ($)

1840

• Potter, Dorothy and Betty Majors. 1840 Federal Census of Coffee County, Tennessee. Tullahoma, Tennessee: Coffee County Historical Society, 1970.FHL 976.864 X2p 1840 Transcription and index.

1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners

• A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1967. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2pc 1840; FHL US/CAN Film 2321. 1841 edition digitized by the U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. See Tennessee, Middle District, Coffee County on page 155.

1850

• Porch, Deane. Coffee County, Tennessee, 1850 Census. Franklin, Tennesssee: Mrs. Clyde Lynch, 1969. FHL 976.864 X2p 1850 Transcription and index.
• Index and transcription of the 1850 Census for Coffee County Tennesse. Hosted by USGenWeb Census project.

1860

• Bridgewater, Betty A. 1860 Federal Census of Coffee County, Tennessee. Coffee County Historical Quarterly, v.10, no. 3-4 1979; v.11 no. 1, 1980. FHL 976.864 H2t In two parts.

1870

• Bridgewater, Betty A. 1870 Federal Census of Coffee County, Tennessee. Coffee County Historical Quarterly, v.14 no.2-4, 1988FHL 976.864 H2t.

1880

• Sistler, Byron and Samuel Sistler. 1880 Census, Coffee County, Tennessee. Nashville, Tennessee: Byron and Sistler & Assoc., 1992. FHL 976.864 X2s 1880

1890 Lost, but a substitute is available:

• Sistler, Byron H. and Barbara Sistler. 1890 Civil War Veterans Census, Tennessee. Evanston, Illinois: Byron Sistler and Associates, 1978. FHL 976.8 X2s 1890

1891 Male Voters

• 1891 Tennessee Enumeration of Male Voters 1891 at Ancestry ($)

Church Records

List of Churches and Church Parishes

• FamilySearch Places
  

Church records include baptisms, marriages and burials, as well as information about family members and clues about family migration.For additional information about church records, religions, and religious archives in Tennessee, see Tennessee Church Records.

• Coffee County Church Records

- FamilySearch Catalog - Coffee County Church Records

• Church histories tell when a church started in the area, who the early members were, give data about church leaders, etc.

- FamilySearch Catalog - Coffee County Church History

• If the records you need are not through the Family History Library, contact the church(es) in the area where your ancestor lived.Two sites that give information about churches in Coffee County are:

- List of Coffee County churches with addresses and phone numbers (Yellowbook)

- List of Coffee County churches (TN HomeTownLocator)

Baptist

• First Baptist Church (Manchester, Tenn.), Records, 1843-1986 (Microfilm Manuscript #2020, 5 reels) Available fr TSLA via interlibrary loan.
  
• Maxwell Baptist Church Records, Coffee County Association. Tullahoma, 1830-1889 (Microfilm Manuscript #1064, 1 reel) Available fr TSLA via interlibrary loan.
  

Episcopal

• 1872-1885 - St. Barnabas's Episcopal Church, Tullahoma, Baptism Index 1872-1885 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch C530292
• 1872-1895 - St. Barnabas's Episcopal Church, Tullahoma, Marriage Index 1872-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch M530291 and M530292 .

Methodist

• 1898-1967 - Methodist Church Records. Warren and Coffee Counties, 1898-1967.TSLA Reel #375
• 1898-1900 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records. Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979. FHL 976.8 K29s vol.2 Index to original recordsWarren and Coffee Cos. Methodist. 1898-1967.

Episcopal

• 1872-1972 - St. Barnabas's Episcopal Church Records. Tullahoma, 1872-1972. TSLA Reel #461
• 1872-1900 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Vital Statistics from 19th Century Tennessee Church Records. Nashville: Sitler and Associates, 1979. FHL 976.8 K29s vol.2 Index to original records. St. Barnabas's Episcopal Church Records. Tullahoma, 1872-1972.

Presbyterian

• 1882-1917 - Pleasant Hill Cumberland Presbyterian Church (Hurricane, Tennessee). Salt Lake City: Genealogical Society of Utah, 1966. Manuscript. FHL 2031043 Item 12

Court Records

County Court

• W.P.A. Coffee County, Tennessee, County Court Minutes, Vol. 1 1836-1841. Typescript, TSLA. Microfilmed in 1939. FHL US/CAN Film 24623 Item 1. Free online index, created by Steve Carson, courtesy: GSC Associates Historical Records Products (the pages may load slowly). For a small fee, the company sells two Coffee County CDs, which include a digitized version of this book, and a variety of other local records.
• May 1836 - Jan 1841 Phillips, Judy Henley, archivist and abstractor. Coffee County, Tennessee County Court Minute Book I This PDF file is searchable.
• 1841-1849 - Phillips, Judy Henley, archivist. Coffee County, Tennessee County Court Minute Book II. These minutes included entries regarding appointments of administers, inventory returns, and bastardy.

Law and Legislation

• 1796-1850 - Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. January 25, 2005. In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service. The TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. Online searchable index at TSLA.

Genealogies

General

As of August 2010, a query for persons born in Coffee, Tennessee at World Connect, results in more than 25,000 entries.

• Coffee County Heritage Book Committee. The Heritage of Coffee County, Tennessee, 1836-2004. Waynesville, N.C.: County Heritage, 2005. FHL US/CAN Book 976.864 H2h.

Bibliography

• Butler - Gray, Sandra Lewis. Kinship Treasures from Coffee County Tennessee: Their Ancestors and Descendants Including Lineages of Butler, Davis, and Winnett Families. Booneville, Miss.: S.L. Gray, 1997. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 W73g.
• Carroll - Carroll, Joseph C. Carroll Cousins: A History of Timothy Carroll and His Descendants. Cedar Park, Texas: J.C. Carroll, 2002. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 C236cj.
• Chapman - Chapman, Clifford J. The Chapman Family. Unknown: Unknown, 1966. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 C366cc and FHL US/CAN Film 896942 Item 3; digital version at Heritage Quest Online ($).
• Chapman - Chapman, Clifford J. The Chapman Family, 1810-1967. Midland, Texas: C.J. Chapman, (1968?). FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 C366cc.
• Davis - W.P.A. Tennessee Records of Coffee County, Edwin L. Davis Family Record. Typescript, 1939. FHL US/CAN Film 860974 Item 2.
• Davis - Gray, Sandra Lewis. Kinship Treasures from Coffee County Tennessee: Their Ancestors and Descendants Including Lineages of Butler, Davis, and Winnett Families. Booneville, Miss.: S.L. Gray, 1997. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 W73g.
• Elkins - One page summary of Rev. Asa Elkins and family. FamilySearch Digital Library
• Hathcock - Hathcock, Douglas Wilburn. The Hathcock Family Research Project. MSS., 1991. FHL US/CAN Film 1697914 Item 13.
• King - Partin, SheRita Kae Vaughn Roberts. The Family of Elizabeth and Thomas King of Nacogdoches County, Texas. Nacogdoches, Texas: Partin Publications, 1993. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 K58p.
• Roberts - Turbett, James A. The Roberts--Smith Book: The Roberts and Smith Families of Upcountry South Carolina; Bedford County, Tennessee; Coffee County, Tennessee; Hamilton County, Tennessee; and Boone County, Arkansas. Alexandria, Va.: J.A. Turbett, 1994?. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 R541t.
• Willis - Sherrill, Charles A. Peter Willis of Tennessee and His Descendants. Cleveland, Tenn.: C.A. Sherrill, 1986. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 W679s.
• Winnett - See Butler.

Land and Property Records

Surveys

• Potter, Dorothy William. Original Surveyors Record Book 1836-1877 Coffee County, Tennessee (Tullahoma, Tenn. DWP Publications, 1976) FHL US/CAN Book 976.864 R2p website. "Book transcribed from the original book, now too fragile to handle and in pieces, located in the County Register’s office in Manchester. Original book has also been microfilmed by TSLA and it should be noted that the entries herein will not coincide with the microfilmed version. The disagreement arrises because the book microfilmed was actually a late 1880’s copy of the original Surveyor’s Book and that has some serious errors. Hence the original book was used for this new volume. The plats are drawn in the exact size and manner as the original. All entries and notations are copied in full." "Every name" index in back of book includes chain carriers, neighbors, etc.
  

Deeds

• 1808-1818 - Majors, Betty Moore. Warren County, Tennessee Deed Book A 1808-1818 (Signal Mountain, Tenn. Mountain Press, 1992) "Every name" index to abstracts that include names of people owning bordering properties. Author states pages 1-55 of deed book were missing and that since lists of the early inhabitants of Warren County are limited to the 1806 Petitions for the formation of the county and the 1812 Tax List of the county her work can be used to identify early inhabitants and their neighborhood groups. See World Cat.
  
• 1836-1842, 1843 - 1850 - Land Deed Genealogy of Coffee County, Tennessee, vol. 1 1836-1842; vol. 2 1843-1850 (Marsh, 2006). Name Available from TSLA via interlibrary loan.
  
• 1836 Coffee County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1836 and is located at 300 Hillsboro Blvd, Manchester, Tennessee 37355, 931-723-5106. Land and property records include transfer of real estate or personal property, mortgages, leases, surveys, and entrie.
• The Family History Library has microfilm copies of deeds 1836-1910 with indexes 1836-1930; Court minutes 1812-1926 with indexes 1853-1930; Platt books 1912-1969; poll tax-road releases 1879-1920; surveyors books 1836-1955; and trust deeds 1875-1901 with indexes 1868-1930.

Local Histories

• The Goodspeed Histories of Cannon, Coffee, DeKalb, Warren and White Counties: With Biographical Sketches and Aboriginal Map of Tennessee. 1972. McMinnville, TN: B. Lomond Press. Reprint. Originally published: Nashville, TN: Goodspeed Pub. Co., 1887. Online at FamilySearch Digital Library.
• Fairbanks, George Rainsford. History of the University of the South, at Sewanee, Tennessse. Jacksonville, Florida: H.&W. B. Drew Co., 1905. Free digital copy.

Maps and Gazetteers

Click a neighboring county
for more resources

• Maps of Tennessee (1777-1985)
• Map of 1888 Coffee County, Tennessee (My Genealogy Hound)
• FamilySearch Places: Cities and Towns in this county - How to Use FS Places

Military Records

Revolutionary War
The following Coffee County Revolutionary War records are available online through TNGenWeb:

• 1835 Pension Roll
• 1852 Rejected or Suspended Pensions

Additional resources include:

• A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1967. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2pc 1840; FHL US/CAN Film 2321. 1841 edition digitized by the U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. See Tennessee, Middle District, Coffee County on page 155.
• Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." Digital version at Ancestry ($). Tennessee entries abstracted online at Tennesseans in the Revolutionary War, courtesy: TNGenWeb. Includes veterans from this county; Tennessee section begins on page 381.

Civil War

• 1861-1865 Tennessee, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch- How to Use this Collection
• 1861-1865 Tennessee, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch- How to Use this Collection
• 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
• 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
• 1891-1965 Tennessee, Confederate Pension Applications, Soldiers and Widows, 1891-1965 at FamilySearch- How to Use this Collection
• Civl War Research Database
• Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System

Regiments. Men in Coffee County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Coffee County:

Confederate Soldiers

• 1st Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (Turney's) - CSA - Company A and I.
• 4th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (McLemore's) - CSA
• 11th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Holman's) - CSA - Company H.
• 16th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Company B.
• 17th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA
• 23rd Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (Martin's) - CSA - Company H.
• 24th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Company K and 2nd Company C.
• 28th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Hay's) - CSA
• 34th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (4th Confederate Infantry) - CSA - Company I.
• 37th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (7th Infantry) (1st East Tennessee Rifles) - CSA - Company A.
• 44th Consolidated Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSADouglas' Battalion
• Douglas' Battalion, Tennessee Partisan Rangers- CSA- Chatham Coffee's Regiment.

Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Coffee County:

• Head, Thomas A. Campaigns and battles of the Sixteenth Regiment, Tennessee Volunteers, in the war between the states, with incidental sketches of the part performed by other Tennessee troops in the same war.1861-1865. Nashville, Tennessee: Cumberland Presbyterian Publishing House, 1885. Free digital copy
• Tennessee State Library and Archives, Tennessee Confederate Pension Applications Coffee County. Includes soldier's name, county, pension #, unit or widow.
• United States Pension Bureau, List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883: Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for ... (Washington Printing Office; 1883). Online at Internet Archive. Coffee County, page 327-328.
  TNGenWeb, Civil War Memories of Robert Carden.
• Tennessee Civil War Historical Markers: Coffee County.

Newspapers

Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at the TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Coffee County click on the following cities:

• Manchester
• Tullahoma
• 1794-1851 - Lucas, Silas Emmett. Marriages from Early Tennessee Newspapers 1794-1851. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1978. FHL 976.8 V2L.
• 1847- 1914 - Smith, Jonathan K.T. Genealogical Abstracts from Reported Deaths, the Nashville Christian Advocate. (1847-1914) 10 vols. Jackson, Tenn.: J.K.T. Smith, 1997-2003. FHL US/CAN Books 976.855/N1 V48s 1847-1851 ff; digital versions at David Donahue Memorial: Tennessee Records Repository. Website expands upon the publications and includes deaths from the 1830s, 1840s, 1910s and 1920s.

Other Records

Prisons

• 1831-1850 Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1831-1850 at Tennessee State Library and Archives
  
• 1851-1870 Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1851-1870 at Tennessee State Library and Archives

Periodicals

Genealogical periodicals can contain unique sources and can be local, regional, or statewide. The following periodicals cover this county:

• Ansearchin' News: Quarterly magazine of the Tennessee Genealogical Society. For a keyword search, go to the county index. Read previous issues on their website; FHL Book 976.8 B2a.
• Family Findings: Quarterly of the Mid-West Tennessee Genealogical Society. For tables of contents and online access to issues, see TNGenWeb Project. Also try this specialized Google search. FHL US/CAN 976.8 B2f.
• The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History: Quarterly magazine of the Middle Tennessee Genealogical Society. For surnames, use the volume-by-volume index, or do a keyword search of the Article Index. FHL US/CAN Book 976.85 D25m.

Probate Records

The Coffee County Court has responsibility for the probate records.

Online Records

• 1779-2008 Tennessee Wills and Probate Records 1779-2008 at Ancestry ($)
• 1833-1980 Coffee County portion of Tennessee, Probate Court Books, 1795-1927 at FamilySearch - images only; handwritten indexes may be found at the front or back of some volumes.- How to Use this Collection
• 1836-1859; 1870-1901 SourtheasternGenealogy.com Images of Wills ($)

Book Abstracts and Indexes

• 1833 - 1860 - W.P.A. Coffee County Record of Wills, Volume 1, 1833-1860 Index. Typescript, TSLA. Microfilmed in 1939. FHL US/CAN Film 24623 Item 5. Free online index, created by Steve Carson, courtesy: GSC Associates Historical Records Products (the pages may load slowly). For a small fee, the company sells two Coffee County CDs, which include a digitized version of this book, and a variety of other local records.
• 1836 - 1861 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Tennessee Wills & Administrations 1779-1861. Nashville, Tenn. Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1990. FHL US/CAN 976.8 P22s. Includes an index to this county's wills.
• 1841 - 1849 - Phillips, Judy Henley, archivist. Coffee County, Tennessee County Court Minute Book II. These minutes included appointments of administers and mentions of inventory returns.
• 1858 - 1868 - W.P.A. Coffee County, Tennessee Bonds and Settlements, 1858-1868. Typescript, TSLA. Microfilmed in 1939. FHL US/CAN Film 24623 Item 6. Free online index, created by Steve Carson, courtesy: GSC Associates Historical Records Products (the pages may load slowly). For a small fee, the company sells two Coffee County CDs, which include a digitized version of this book, and a variety of other local records.

Social Security Records

• 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.

• 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.

Tax Records

Book Abstracts and Indexes

• 1836 - Duncan, Ruth Henley G. "Coffee County Tax List 1836," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 43, No. 1 (Spring 1996):15-19. For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Coffee.
• 1862 Direct Tax Assessments, 1862, Coffee County Historical Society Quarterly. Manchester TN: Jun 1990. Vol. 20 Iss. 1-2.
• 1865-1870 - Revenue Docket, 1865-70, Coffee County Historical Society Quarterly. Manchester TN: Jun 1990. Vol. 20 Iss. 1-2.
• 1866 Tax List, 1866, Civil District 13, Coffee County Historical Society Quarterly. Manchester TN: 1997. Vol. 24 Iss. 1-4.
• 1882 Tax List, 1882, Manchester, Coffee County Historical Society Quarterly. Manchester TN: Sep 1998. Vol. 25 Iss. 4.

Vital Records

Birth

• 1828-1939 Tennessee Births and Christenings 1828-1939 at FamilySearch- How to Use this Collection
• 1869-1909 Tennessee Delayed Birth Records 1869-1909 at Ancestry ($)
• 1908-1912 Tennessee, Birth Records (ER Series), 1908-1912 at FamilySearch- How to Use this Collection

Marriage

• 1625-1966 Tennessee, United States Marriages at Findmypast ($)
• 1780-2002 Tennessee State Marriages 1780-2002 at Ancestry ($)
• 1780-2002 Tennessee State Marriage Index 1780-2002 at FamilySearch- How to Use this Collection
• 1790-1962 Tennessee County Marriages, 1790-1950 [1790-1962] - at FamilySearch. index and images. Covers all counties in Tennessee.- How to Use this Collection
• 1796-1950 Tennessee Marriages 1796-1950 (Indexes only) at FamilySearch- How to Use this Collection
• 1838-1888 Tennessee Civil Marriages, 1838-1888 at FamilySearch- How to Use this Collection
• 1851-1900 Tennessee Marriages 1851-1900 at Ancestry ($)
• 1853-1886 - Marriage Records, 1853-1886, Coffee County, Tennessee. Free online index FHL film 4769001 Items 2-4.
• 1853-1862; 1863-1870 SourtheasternGenealogy.com Marriages ($)
• 1853-1895 - Marriage Index 1853-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch
• 1980-2014 Marriage Records Index 1980-2014 at Shelby County Register of Deeds - index

Book Abstracts and Indexes

• 1853-1870 - 35,000 Tennessee Marriage Records and Bonds 1783-1870. 3 vols. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 V2t v. 1.
• 1853-1870 - Early Middle Tennessee Marriages. 2 vols. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 V2sb v. 2 .
• 1853-1870 - Marriage Books A and C, 1853 - 1870, Coffee County, Tennessee. FHL 976.864 V25p Includes index.

Death

• 1838-1869 - Some Early Coffee County Deaths & Guardenship [sic] book, 1838-1869 (Majors, 200?) Available fr TSLA via interlibrary loan.
  
• 1874-1955 Tennessee Deaths and Burials 1874-1955 at FamilySearch- How to Use this Collection
• 1908-1933 Tennessee Deaths, 1908 - 1933 at MyHeritage ($) — index
• 1908-1958 Tennessee Death Records 1908 - 1958 at Ancestry ($)
• 1908-1912 Tennessee Death Records 1908-1912 at Tennessee State Library & Archives - index
• 1914-1933 Tennessee Death Records 1914-1933 at Tennessee State Library & Archives - index
• 1914-1966 Tennessee Deaths, 1914-1966 at FamilySearch- How to Use this Collection
• 1949-2014 Death Records Index 1949-2014 at Shelby County Register of Deeds - index

Divorce

Online Records

• 1796-1850 Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850 at Tennessee State Library & Archives - index
• 1800-1965 - Tennessee. Tennessee Divorce and Other Records, 1800-1965. Nashville, Tennessee: Tennessee State Library and Archives. Available at Ancestry ($)
• 1980-2014 Divorce Records Index 1980-2014 at Shelby County Register of Deeds - index

Online Titles

• W.P.A. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey, 1941. FamilySearch Digital Library.

Research Facilities

Archives

Listed below are archives in Coffee County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Tennessee Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

• Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
• FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
  

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

• McMinnville Tennessee Family History Center
• Murfreesboro Tennessee Family History Center
• Tullahoma Tennessee Family History Center
• Chattanooga Public Library - an affiliate library.
• Fayetteville-Lincoln County Public Library - an affiliate library.

Libraries

Listed below are libraries in Coffee County. For state-wide library facilities, see Tennessee Archives and Libraries.

Coffee County Manchester Public Library
1005 Hillsboro Blvd.
Manchester, TN 37355
Phone: 931-723-5143
Website
Genealogy Department includes family histories and genealogies provided by genealogists.

Coffee County Lannom Memorial Library
312 North Collins St.
Tullahoma, TN 37388
Phone: 931-455-2460
Website

Societies

Listed below are societies in Coffee County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Tennessee Societies.

Coffee County Historical Society
101 W. Fort St., Box 2
Manchester, TN 37355-7502
Phone: 931-728-0145
Email: cchs1969@att.net
Website
Facebook

Websites

• Coffee County, TN Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
• Coffee County, TNGenWeb (USGenWeb)
• FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides

• Genealogical "Fact Sheets" About Tennessee Counties: Coffee County, courtesy: TSLA. (Identifies published county histories, published local records, census records, newspapers and local records on microfilm, and select manuscripts.)
• "Coffee County Genealogical Research," The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History, Vol. 6, No. 2 (Fall 1992). For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Coffee.

This website requires a paid subscription for full access.

Family History Library

FamilySearch affiliate libraries may have access to center-only databases, but do not always have all services normally provided by a family history center.