Coconino County, Arizona Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Coconino County, Arizona ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Flagstaff
Organized: February 19, 1891
Parent County(s): Yavapai
Neighboring Counties
Gila County  • Mohave County  • Navajo County  • Yavapai County  • Kane (UT)  • San Juan (UT)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Arizona, Coconino County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Az-coconino.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named from Cohonino, a name applied to the Havasupai. The County has Flagstaff as its seat and the County was created February 18, 1891. The County is located in the north central area of the state.[1]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Coconino County Courthouse
200 N. San Francisco Street
Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Phone: 928-679-7600
Coconino County Courthouse

Clerk Superior Court has marriage, divorce court and probate records from 1891. County Recorder had land records.[2]

Coconino County, Arizona Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1892 1891 1892 1891 1892 1891 1830
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in July 1909. General compliance by 1926

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Green check.png
The usage of "Mormon" and "LDS" on this page is approved according to current policy.


Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
  • Riordan
  • Native American communities
    Census-designated places
    Ghost towns


    History Timeline[edit | edit source]

    1852, New Mexico Territory
    Arizona is in yellow, left of the dotted line

    See Previous Jurisdictions to Land in Arizona showing dates the jurisdictions were created and maps. This will help in determining what jurisdiction your ancestor lived in and where the records are now located.

    Resources[edit | edit source]

    Bible Records[edit | edit source]

    Biographies[edit | edit source]

    Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

    Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

    Cemeteries of Coconino, Arizona online and in print
    Tombstone Transcriptions Online
    Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
    List of Cemeteries in the County
    See Arizona Cemeteries for more information

    Census Records[edit | edit source]

    For tips on accessing Census records online, see: Arizona Census.

    Historical populations
    Census Pop.
    1900 5,514
    1910 8,130 47.4%
    1920 9,982 22.8%
    1930 14,064 40.9%
    1940 18,770 33.5%
    1950 23,910 27.4%
    1960 41,857 75.1%
    1970 48,326 15.5%
    1980 75,008 55.2%
    1990 96,591 28.8%
    2000 116,320 20.4%
    2010 134,421 15.6%
    Source: "Wikipedia.org".

    Church Records[edit | edit source]

    Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For more about Arizona denominations, see Arizona Church Records.

    ard and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

    • Flagstaff
    • Fredonia
    • Tuba

    List of Churches and Church Parishes

    Court Records[edit | edit source]

    Directories[edit | edit source]

    Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

    Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

    Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

    Genealogies[edit | edit source]

    Guardianship[edit | edit source]

    Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

    Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

    See Arizona Land and Property for additional information about early Arizona land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse.

    Local Histories[edit | edit source]

    County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Arizona Local Histories.

    Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

    Kane CountySan Juan CountyNavajo CountyGila CountyYavapai CountyMohave CountyAZ COCONINO.PNG
    Click a neighboring county
    for more resources


    Migration[edit | edit source]

    Military Records[edit | edit source]

    World War II

    Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

    Newspapers[edit | edit source]

    Obituaries[edit | edit source]

    Other Records[edit | edit source]

    Periodicals[edit | edit source]

    Probate Records[edit | edit source]

    From 1850 to 1864, probate records of Arizona were kept by the probate courts of New Mexico. From 1864 to 1912, the records were handled by county probate courts. 1912 to present, records such as wills, claims, administrations, case files, and calendars are kept in the custody of the clerk of the superior court in the county courthouse.

    Online Probate Indexes and Records

    School Records[edit | edit source]

    Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

    Tax Records[edit | edit source]

    Vital Records[edit | edit source]

    Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arizona Department of Health Services or the county clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

    Birth[edit | edit source]

    Marriage[edit | edit source]

    Death[edit | edit source]

    Divorce[edit | edit source]

    Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

    Archives[edit | edit source]

    Listed below are archives in Coconino County. For state-wide facilities, see Arizona Archives and Libraries.

    Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

    Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

    • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
    • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

    Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

    Libraries[edit | edit source]

    Listed below are libraries in Coconino County. For state-wide library facilities, see Arizona Archives and Libraries.

    Museums[edit | edit source]

    Arizona Historical Society
    2340 N Ft. Valley Rd
    Flagstaff 86001-1200
    Phone:928-774-6272
    Pioneer Museum

    Societies[edit | edit source]

    Listed below are societies in Coconino County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Arizona Societies.
    Arizona Historical Society
    2340 N Ft. Valley Rd
    Flagstaff 86001-1200
    Phone:928-774-6272
    Website
    Facebook

    Sedona Genealogy Club
    P.O. Box 4258
    Sedona 86340
    Website

    Websites[edit | edit source]

    Research Guides[edit | edit source]

    References[edit | edit source]

    1. Wikipedia contributors, "Coconino, Arizona," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coconino_County,_Arizona 7/10/2017.
    2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Coconino County, Arizona p. 56. ; .
    3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Coconino County, Arizona. Page 56-57 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 52.
    4. Ariz. Terr. Laws 1891, 16th assy./ pp. 26-34
    5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002).At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
    6. Wikipedia contributors, "Coconino County, Arizona," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coconino_County,_Arizona, accessed 23 February 2019.
    7. Williams 108-110
    8. U.S. Stat., vol. 9, pp. 922-943; Parry, 102: 29-59; Van Zandt, 11, 28-29; Walker and Bufkin, 19, 20A
    9. N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 1st sess./p. 119; N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 2d sess. /pp. 266, 292
    10. U.S. Stat., vol. 12, ch. 56[1863]/pp. 664-665; Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy./ pp. vii-viii; Van Zandt, 162
    11. Howell Code, Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy., ch. 2/ pp. 24-25
    12. Ariz. Terr. Laws 1891, 16th assy./ pp. 26-34