Cleburne County, Arkansas Genealogy
Guide to Cleburne County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for Patrick Cleburne. It is located in the north central area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Cleburne County Courthouse
301 W Main Street;
Heber Springs, AR 72543
Phone: 501.362.4620
Cleburne County website
County Clerk has marriage, probate, divorce, court, and land records from 1883.[3]
Cleburne County, Arkansas[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1914 | 1883 | 1914 | 1883 | 1883 | 1883 | 1830 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Townships | ||
|
|
|
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Cleburne County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [7]
- 1812 - The earliest known Anglo-Americans to settle in what is now Cleburne County were John Benedict and his brothers-in-law, William, Davis, and John Standlee.
- 1828 - The Arkansas Cherokee agreed to give up their reservation in exchange for lands west of Arkansas Territory.
- 1850s - By midcentury, there were colonies of families who had traveled together from Kentucky or Tennessee.
- 1861 - At the time of the Civil War, what was to become Cleburne County had fewer than 1,000 residents.
- 1870 - The area had lost population.
- 1880 - The county swiftly recuperated, with the population almost doubling, from 2,210 in 1870 to 4,025 in 1880.
- 1883 January 27 - The new county was formed from parts of Independence, Van Buren and White counties.
- 1908 - Construction of the Missouri and North Arkansas Railroad (M&NA) opened the remote valley to the world.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1890 | 7,884 | — |
| 1900 | 9,628 | 22.1% |
| 1910 | 11,903 | 23.6% |
| 1920 | 12,696 | 6.7% |
| 1930 | 11,373 | −10.4% |
| 1940 | 13,134 | 15.5% |
| 1950 | 11,487 | −12.5% |
| 1960 | 9,059 | −21.1% |
| 1970 | 10,349 | 14.2% |
| 1980 | 16,909 | 63.4% |
| 1990 | 19,411 | 14.8% |
| 2000 | 24,046 | 23.9% |
| 2010 | 25,850 | 7.5% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Federal Census Records[edit | edit source]
Though the United States purchased Arkansas from the French in 1803, Anglo-American settlement of the area did not began in earnest until after the formal organization of the territory in 1819. Therefore, Arkansas does not appear in Federal Censuses before 1830. For links to federal census indexes, see Arkansas Census.
Territorial and State Census Records[edit | edit source]
State censuses were taken at the state-level and territorial censuses were taken by the federal government. See Arkansas Census for more information about censuses taken in Arkansas.
- 1819-1879 Arkansas, Compiled Census and Census Substitutes Index, 1819-1870 at Ancestry.com - index and images ($)
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1875-1899 Nebraska, Church Records, 1875-1899 at FamilySearch — index- How to Use this Collection
Presbyterian
Nazareth Cumberland Presbyterian Church, Quitman
- 1878-1885 - Nazareth Cumberland Presbyterian Church, Quitman, Baptism Index 1878-1885. Batch C586771 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1878-1895 - Nazareth Cumberland Presbyterian Church, Quitman, Marriage Index 1878-1895. Batch M586771 at FamilySearch - free.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1883-1966 Court Records, 1883-1966(*); Chancery Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Family Funeral Service in Heber Springs
- Heber Springs Funeral Home in Heber Springs
- Olmstead Funeral Home in Edgemont and Heber Springs
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
- Probate Records 1881-1962 Cleburne County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)- How to Use this Collection
- Includes Administration and guardian bonds and letters 1883-1918; Chancery Court records 1883-1897; Dockets 1883-1893; Probate record index 1881-1962; Probate records 1883-1897; Wills 1901-1923.
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Cleburne County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Maps of Arkansas (1813-1925)
- Family Maps of Cleburne County, Arkansas Genealogy (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
- Arkansas State Archives State Maps Collection at Arkansas Digital Archives
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Regiments. Men in Cleburne County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:
- - 2nd Regiment, Arkansas Volunteers (Confederate), Company C
- - 10th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
Online Records
- 1861-1865 Arkansas Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index- How to Use this Collection
- 1890-1963 Arkansas Confederate Soldier Home,1890-1963 at FamilySearch — index and images- How to Use this Collection
- 1891-1939 Arkansas Ex-Confederate Pension Records, 1891-1939 at FamilySearch — index and images- How to Use this Collection
- 1901-1929 Arkansas Confederate Pensions, 1901-1929 at FamilySearch — index and images- How to Use this Collection
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cleburne newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat
- FamilySearch. Do a Cleburne County, Arkansas Genealogy Place-name search for these and other records in the FamilySearch Catalog (For instructions see, FamilySearch Catalog Places Search).
- Fayetteville Democrat at Ancestry.com ($)
- Fayetteville Daily Democrat at Ancestry.com ($)
- Daily Fayetteville Democrat at Ancestry.com ($)
- Northwest Arkansas Times at Ancestry.com ($)
- Courier Times at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1783–1998 Arkansas Wills and Probate Records 1783-1998 at Ancestry.com — index and images ($)
- 1817-1979 Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979(*) at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; images
- 1881-1962 Cleburne County, Arkansas Index to Probate Court Papers, vol. 1, ca. 1881-1962(*); County Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1883-1923 Probate Records, 1883-1923(*); Probate Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth[edit | edit source]
| Y | M | |
| Name of Child | 
|
|
| Birth Date and Place |
|
|
| Parent's Names |
|
|
| Mother's Maiden Name |
| |
| Parent's Ages |
|
|
| Father's Occupation |
|
|
| Current Residence |
|
|
| Name of Doctor or Midwife |
|
|
In 1877, a few county and city clerks[8] started keeping birth and death records.
In 1914, the state law required all county clerks to record births and forward them to the state.
- Arkansas Births and Christenings, 1812-1965 at FamilySearch. (Free, index only)
- Small file, but worth searching. Most entries were user-submitted.
See also: • Arkansas Online Genealogy Records, • How to Find Arkansas Birth Records and • Arkansas Vital Records—Birth.
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1779-1966 Arkansas, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index $
- 1860 - 1976 Arkansas Church Marriages, 1860-1976 at FamilySearch — index and images- How to Use this Collection
- 1883 - 1896 - Cleburne County Marriage Books 1-15 Index 1883-1896 in Arkansas, County Marriages, 1837-1957 at FamilySearch - free.[9]- How to Use this Collection
- 1883 - 1923 - Cleburne County Marriage Books 1-8 Index 1883-1923 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[10]
- 1917-1969 Arkansas, Marriage Certificates, 1917-1969 at Ancestry.com - index and images ($)
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1914-1969 Arkansas, Death Certificates, 1914-1969 at Ancestry.com - index and images ($)
- 1935-1961 Arkansas, Death Index, 1935-1961 at MyHeritage - index and images ($)
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1923-1969 Arkansas, Divorces, 1923-1969 at Ancestry.com - index ($)
Voter Records[edit | edit source]
- 1868-1910 Arkansas, County Voter Registration Records, 1868-1910 at FamilySearch — index and images- How to Use this Collection
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Cleburne County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Arkansas Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Jim G Ferguson Searcy County Library - an affiliate library
- White County Regional Library System - Searcy Public Library - an affiliate library
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Cleburne County. For state-wide library facilities, see Arkansas Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Cleburne County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Arkansas Societies.
Cleburne County Historical Society
PO Box 794
Heber Springs, AR 72543
Telephone 501-362-5225
Email: cchist@ipa.net
Webpage
Facebook
Websites[edit | edit source]
ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
RootsWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Cleburne County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cleburne_County,_Arkansas
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cleburne County, Arkansas. Page 67 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 65.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Cleburne County, Arkansas" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cleburne_County,_Arkansas, accessed 2 September 2018.
- ↑ Evalena Berry, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=756&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent=+%3a+accessed+January+6%2c+2016)%2c : accessed January 12, 2016), “Cleburne County.”
- ↑ such as Sebastian County (Fort Smith) and Pulaski County (Little Rock) (No entry in FamilySearch Catalog found for Pulaski County nor for Little Rock, Aug 2014)
- ↑ FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages - FamilySearch Historical Records," in FamilySearch Wiki.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/5/5c/Igiarkansasad.pdf.