Clarke County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Clarke County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Berryville
Organized: 08 Mar 1836[1]
Parent County(s): Frederick[2]
Variant Spellings: Clark[3]
Neighboring Counties
Berkeley (WV)  • Fauquier  • Frederick  • Jefferson (WV)  • Loudoun  • Warren
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaClarkeCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Clarke County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Clarke County was named for Revolutionary War hero, George Rogers Clark. The county is located in the northern area of the Commonwealth of Virginia and is included in the Washington, DC Metropolitan area.[4]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Clarke County Courthouse
104 North Church Street
Berryville, VA 22611-0612
Phone: 540-955-5128
Clarke County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1836[5]

Clarke County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[6]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1836 1853 1836 1836 1836 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]

Towns
  • White Post
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

George Rogers Clark (1751-1818)


The county was named after George Rogers Clark (1751-1818), a prominent military officer in the Revolutionary War.[9]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. 1952. By George Barton Cutten. Richmond, Virginia : The Dietz Press, Incorporated. Online at: Hathitrust; At various libraries (WorldCat).

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Clarke County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1840 6,353
1850 7,352 15.7%
1860 7,146 −2.8%
1870 6,670 −6.7%
1880 7,682 15.2%
1890 8,071 5.1%
1900 7,927 −1.8%
1910 7,468 −5.8%
1920 7,165 −4.1%
1930 7,167 0.0%
1940 7,159 −0.1%
1950 7,074 −1.2%
1960 7,942 12.3%
1970 8,102 2.0%
1980 9,965 23.0%
1990 12,101 21.4%
2000 12,652 4.6%
2010 14,034 10.9%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist

Church of England
Gotoarrow.pngSee also Frederick Parish

  • Old Chapel and the Parish in Clarke County, Virginia: A History from the Founding of Frederick Parish, 1738 to the Centenary of Christ Church, Millwood, 1932. 1932. By Benjamin Duvall Chambers. Washington, DC : W. F. Roberts Company. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Ancestry ($).

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

  • Cartmell, T. K. Shenandoah Valley Pioneers and Their Descendants : A History of Frederick County, Virginia (Illustrated) from Its Formation in 1738 to 1908, Compiled Mainly from Original Records of Old Frederick County, Now Hampshire, Berkeley, Shenandoah, Jefferson, Hardy, Clarke, Warren, Morgan and Frederick. n.p.: n.p., c1909. FamilySearch Digital Library; FHL Book 975.59 H2c 1963; FHL Film 1000634 Item 1; digital version at Ancestry ($); and World Vital Records ($). [3 copies at FHL.]
  • MacDonald, Rose Mortinier Eilzey. Clarke County, A Daughter of Frederick: A History of Early Families and Homes. Berryville, Va.: Blue Ridge Press, 1943. FHL Book 975.598 H2m and supp..
  • Mann, Charles Harrison. Liberty Hill: The Story of a House and Its People. Washington, D.C.: A.S. Pratt & Sons, 1977. FHL Book 975.598 H2ma.
  • Myers, Lorraine F., Stuart E. Brown and Eileen M. Chappel. Some Old Families of Clarke County, Virginia. Berryville, Va.: Virginia Book Co., 1994. FHL Book 975.598 D2m
  • O'Dell, Cecil. Pioneers of Old Frederick County, Virginia. Marceline, Mo.: Walsworth Pub. Co., 1995. FHL Collection. One of the most impressively researched one-place studies in the United States. In a review, Dorman stated "Comprehensive studies such as this appear only rarely. This volume should be in every Virginia genealogical collection."[10]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Grants and Patents

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Clarke County, a Daughter of Frederick: A History of Early Families and Homes. 1979. By Rose Mortimer Ellzey MacDonald. Berryville, VA : Blue Ridge Press. Original edition and supplement available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Historical Collections Of Virginia. 1845. By Henry Howe. Charleston, SC : William R. Babcock.1852 reprint online at: Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Google Books.
  • History of Clarke County, Virginia and Its Connection with the War Between the States : With Illustrations of Colonial Homes and of Confederate Officers. c1914. By Thomas Daniel Gold. Berryville, VA : C.R. Hughes. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Google Books.
  • History of the Lower Shenandoah Valley Counties of Frederick, Berkeley, Jefferson and Clarke: Their Early Settlement and Progress to the Present Time, Geological Features, a Description of Their Historic and Interesting Localities, Cities, Towns and Villages, Portraits of Some of the Prominent Men, and Biographies of Many of the Representative Citizens. 1890. By J. E. Norris. Chicago, IL : A. Warner & Co., Publishers. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Google Books.
  • Shenandoah Valley Pioneers and Their Descendants : A History of Frederick County, Virginia (Illustrated) from Its Formation in 1738 to 1908, Compiled Mainly from Original Records of Old Frederick County, Now Hampshire, Berkeley, Shenandoah, Jefferson, Hardy, Clarke, Warren, Morgan and Frederick. c1909. By T. K. Cartmell. Winchester, VA : The Eddy Press Corp. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Ancestry ($); World Vital Records ($).

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

<
Loudoun CountyFauquier CountyWarren CountyFrederick CountyJefferson CountyBerkeley CountyVA CLARKE.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources
  • Clarke County. 1990. By Eugene M. Scheel. Warrenton, VA : Piedmont Press. Available at FHL. Features include "old roads, mills, stores, plantations, churches, ruins, cemeteries, battles, historic sites, early stream names and boundaries."[11]
  • FamilySearch Places: Cities and Towns in this county - How to Use FS Places

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Washington : Blair and Rives. Online at: Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat). See Virginia, Western District, Clark County [sic] on page 134.

War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... 1883. Washington, D.C : Government Printing Office. Online at: Internet Archive, Google Books. See Vol. 5, Virginia, Clarke County, p. 68.

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men in Clarke County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 1st Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate).
- 2nd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company C (Nelson Rifles), Company I (Clarke Rifles)
- 6th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company D (Clarke Cavalry).[12]
- 11th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry. Company K.[13]
- 23rd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company D.[14]

Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battles were fought in Clarke County.

Maps of Civil War battles in Virginia: 1861 and 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Clarke County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Clarke County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Clarke County Historical Association
P.O.Box 306, 32 E Main St.
Berryville, VA 22611
URL: www.clarkehistory.org - has searchable online catalog on website.&nbsp
540-955-2600
archives@clarkehistory.org

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Clarke County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Clarke County. By John Frederick Dorman. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 8, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1964):23. FHL; online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • Finding Your People in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia. 1998. By Rebecca H. and Rebecca A. Ebert Good. Bowie, MD : Heritage Books, 4th ed. FHL Book 975 D27e 1998

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. Newberry
  3. A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census] (1841), 134. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Book 973 X2pc 1840.
  4. http://clarketourism.com/visitors-guide/
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Newberry
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Clarke_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clarke_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 10 January 2020.
  9. Wikipedia Contributors, "Clarke County, Virginia," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clarke_County,_Virginia, accessed 13 January 2012.
  10. John Frederick Dorman, "Review of Pioneers of Old Frederick County, Virginia," in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 39, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1995):236.
  11. "Historic Prince William Sponsors New Historic Map by Eugene Scheel," The Newsletter of the Prince William County Genealogical Society, Vol. 10, No. 2 (Aug. 1991):10.
  12. Michael P. Musick, 6th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 66.
  13. Richard L. Armstrong, 11th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 52.
  14. Richard B. Kleese, 23rd Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1995). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 118.
  15. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 16 August, 2012)
  16. Heritage Preservation Services,Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012)