Clarendon County, South Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Clarendon County, South Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Manning
Organized: 1855
Parent County(s): Camden District

[1]

Neighboring Counties
Berkeley  • Calhoun  • Florence  • Orangeburg  • Sumter  • Williamsburg
See County Maps
Courthouse
South Carolina, Clarendon County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Sc-clarendon.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Edward Hyde, who was a Lord Proprietor and earl of Clarendon. The County is located in the central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Clarendon County Courthouse
102 South Mill Street
Manning, SC 29102
Phone: 803-435-4443
Clarendon County Website

County Pronunciation
Hear it spoken.[3]

Clarendon County, South Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1915 1911 1915 1856 1856 1856 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1915. General compliance by 1918.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • Although records were removed before General Edward H. Potter's Union cavalry destroyed Manning in April 1865, Clarendon's loose probate papers were destroyed later, at an undetermined date; they begin in 1875.
  • Sumter suffered a major loss of probate records and deeds, on 27 November 1801, when fire destroyed the residence of Sumter District Clerk of Court John Horan, in Stateburg. This fire also consumed the records of Clarendon, Claremont, and Salem counties.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
  • Rimini
  • Silver
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Clarendon County, South Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For all existing and online Federal population schedules of South Carolina, see South Carolina Census. See also USGenWeb Census Project, South Carolina, including links to transcribed files.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1860 13,095
1870 14,038 7.2%
1880 19,190 36.7%
1890 23,233 21.1%
1900 28,184 21.3%
1910 32,188 14.2%
1920 34,878 8.4%
1930 30,036 −13.9%
1940 31,500 4.9%
1950 32,215 2.3%
1960 29,490 −8.5%
1970 25,604 −13.2%
1980 27,464 7.3%
1990 28,450 3.6%
2000 32,502 14.2%
2010 34,971 7.6%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1860

  • Teel, Dorothy Owens. 1860 Census, Clarendon District, South Carolina. Hemingway, S.C.: Three Rivers Historical Society (South Carolina), 1983. FHL Collection 975.781 X2t 1860

1870

  • Thomas, Irene Miles. Clarendon County, SC 1870 Federal Census Extract. Hemingway, S.C.: Three Rivers Historical Society, 2004. FHL Collection 975.781 X2ti 1870

Agricultural Census
1850, 1860, 1870, and 1880. This resource lists the name of farmer, size of ranch or farm, value of property, crop, livestock, and more.Agricultural rolls are not indexed and are available at South Carolina Department of Archives and History.

Mortality Census Schedules
Available from June 1 to May 31 for the following years: 1859, 1869, 1879.Information is provided for people who died during the year before the 1st of June of each census year.Informatin included: names, age, sex, occupation, birth place.The Mortality Census Schedules are available at the South Carolina Department of Archives and History and the National Archives.

Slaveholder Census
The 1850 and 1860 Slaveholder Census lists the names of the slaveholders and the number, age, and sex of slaves. It does not list the names of slaves.

Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Service
Taken in 1840. A list of pension holders. Not complete and contains some errors.

Civil War Union Veterans
Taken in a speial census in 1890. Some Confederate veterans are included.Listed by county on one roll of microfilm.Gives veteran's name and widow's name, rank, company, regiment, and more.

1875 State Census
Other state censuses exist for South Carolina. The 1875 SC State Census is complete for Clarendon County. Available at South Carolina Department of Archives and History.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most church records can be obtained by contacting the individual church. If you know your ancestor's church, look for information in the following resources: R. N. Cote, Local And Family History in SC, Southern Historical Press, Easley, SC, 1981, pp. 15-47, 381-419. A. H. Stokes, Jr. A Guide to the Manuscript Collection of South Caroliniana Library, University of SC, Columbia, SC, 1982. J. H. Moore, Research Materials in SC, University of SC Press, Columbia, SC 1967, pp. 18, 21-28, 32, 36-37, 45-46, 55-61, 66-138, 148, 154, 174.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans

Known plantations South Carolina Plantations:

  • Big Home
  • Black River
  • Cedar Grove
  • Elmswood
  • Farmingdale
  • Fullwood
  • Gilman
  • Hickory Hill
  • Holladay
  • Ox Swamp
  • Pineland
  • Rambay
  • Sycamore Grove
  • Taw Caw - Summerton
  • Woodside
  • Wyboo

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

General
Surname indexes to Leonardo Andrea's Files | Folders| Resources are available online, courtesy: The Andrea Files: South Carolina Genealogical Research. Gotoarrow.png Learn more.

Bibliography

  • Cobia - Selleneit, Minnie Lee Cobia. My Life Story. 1977. FHL Book 921.73 Se48sm; digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
  • Graham - Graham, Ernest and Frances Oralee Jones Graham. The Rembert Ernest Graham Family Book of Remembrance, ca. 1570-1962. MSS. Microfilmed 1986: FHL Film 1321307 Item 2.
  • Humphrey - Marshall, Vera Lee Kearl. Proud to Remember: Genealogy and History of Four Ancestral Lines of Lula Barzilla Humphrey Kearl: Paternal -- Humphrey-Thames; Maternal -- Brunson-Marshall; Contains All the Data Procurable on the Generations from the First Known to the Present; Some Data on the Kirk and Gerald Families; Statements of Unsolved Problems and Questions. Provo, Utah: Brigham Young University Press, 1964. FHL Book 929.273 K211m.
  • Nelson - Huggins, George Allen. The Nelson Family of Clarendon County, South Carolina. Typescript. FHL 929.273 A1 no. 43
  • Richardson - Esker, Katie-Prince W. Billups and Allied Families. Baltimore, Md.: Gateway Press, 1984. FHL Book 929.273 B497e.
  • Sheriff - Sheriff, Pauline Callaway. Faith of the Prairies: A Sheriff - Burt - Spriggs History. Hollis, Okla.: P.C. Sheriff, 1977. FHL Book 929.273 Sh57sp.
  • Williams Womack, Andrina S. David Williams of Saint Marks Parish, South Carolina. Charlotte, N.C.: Catawba, 2007. FHL Book 929.273 W671wa.
  • Williams Womack, Andrina S. David Williams of Saint Marks Parish, South Carolina. 2 vols. n.p.: A.S. Womack, 2009. FHL Book 929.273 W671wa 2009 v. 1-v. 2.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Because South Carolina was an agricultural state, many residents owned land. For earliest records, search 1) Charleston District, 2) your ancestor’s residential district, 3) neighboring districts, 4) the residential county, 5) neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. See also South Carolina Land and Property.

Online Land Indexes and Records
The following chart show where you may best expect to find land records.

Tracing Land Currently in Clarendon County with Parent Counties and Districts [8]
Date Government Office
1868-present Clarendon County (new)
1855-1868 Clarendon District
1801-1855 Sumter District
1800-1801 Sumter District Records Lost*
1792-1800 Salem County Records Lost*
1785-1800 Claredon County (old) Records Lost*
1769-1785 Camden District
1719-1769 Charleston District
1710-1719 Proprietary Land Grants
  • Sumter District records destroyed by fire 27 Nov 1801

Plats For State Land Grants 1784-1868
For information about the State Land Grants, see State Land Grants

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Edward Hyde, 1st Earl of Clarendon (1609-1674)

The county is named after one of the original Lord Proprietors of South Carolina (and High Chancellor of England) Edward Hyde, 1st Earl of Clarendon (1609-1674).[9] Clarendon has existed in two different incarnations (see below). Learn more about the history of Clarendon County from the South Carolina State Library or from Carolana.com.

  • Clark, Sylvia H. Shadows of the Past an Illustrated History of Clarendon County SC. (Virginia Beach, Virginia Donning Company Publishers, c2005), 203 pages. History of Clerendon from about 1855 to 1960 & beyond. Book at FHL 975.781 H2c and Other Libraries

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Sumter CountyFlorence CountyWilliamsburg CountyBerkeley CountyOrangeburg CountyCalhoun CountySC CLARENDON.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, South Carolina, Clarendon County, p. 183-184. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men from Clarendon County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were formed in Clarendon County or from many of its men:

- 1st Battalion, South Carolina Sharpshooters, Company B - (also known as the Sumter Guards)
- 3rd Battalion, South Carolina Light Artillery (Palmetto Battalion),
- Company C (also known as the Wilson Light Artillery, Culpepper's Light Artillery and Culpeper Battery)
- Company G (also known as the DeSaussure Light Artillery and the DePass Light Battery)
- Company K (also known as Richardson's Company)
- 4th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Rutledge's), Company D, Company F, and Company I
- 4th Regiment, South Carolina State Troops, Company D
- 5th Battalion, South Carolina Reserves (Brown's), Company F
- 6th Battalion, South Carolina Infantry (Byrd's), Company B
- 7th Battalion, South Carolina Reserves (Ward's), Company E
- 7th Battalion, South Carolina Infantry (Nelson's) (Enfield Rifles), Company E
- 7th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry , Company G, Company I, and Company K
- 8th Regiment, South Carolina Reserves
- 9th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company D and Company I
- 14th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company A
- Company I- 25th Regiment South Carolina Volunteers
- Company I- 23rd Regiment South Carolina Volunteers
- Company H- 5th Cavalry South Carolina Volunteers
- Company K- 6th Infantry South Carolina Volunteers

Other Resources

  • Clark, Sylvia H. Shadows of the Past: an Illustrated History of Clarendon County SC. (Virginia Beach, Virginia: Donning Company Publishers, c2005), 203 pages. History of Clerendon from about 1855 to 1960 & beyond. Chapter 4, page 45 has Civil War information. Book at FHL 975.781 H2c and Other Libraries

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Historic
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Clarendon County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.

University of South Carolina Library Catalog

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For more information and links, see South Carolina Periodicals.

  • The South Carolina Historical and Genealogical Magazine

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Various types of records are created throughout the probate process of settling estates and property, usually after death. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records
Claredon County Estate Records, ca. 1899-1926. Microreproduction of original estate packages at the South Carolina Dept. of Archives and History, Columbia, South Carolina FHL Film 2313270

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, and relationships. See South Carolina Taxation for online resources and suggestions.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Claredon County.

See also African Americans

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records created by Civil authorities. See South Carolina Vital Records for online resources and suggestions.

Birth[edit | edit source]

State-wide birth registration did not begin until 1915. For records after 1915, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Birth Substitutes

  • Bible
  • Biographical records
  • Cemetery records
  • Census
  • Church records
  • Newspapers
  • Wills and probate records

Marriage[edit | edit source]

In South Carolina, Probate Courts issued and still keep marriage licenses from 1 July 1911 to the present. Licenses were not required before 1911. In the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Statewide registration of marriages started in July, 1950. See South Carolina Vital Records for indexes and more information.

Online Marriage Records and Indexes

Death[edit | edit source]

State-wide death registration began in 1915. For information and online records, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Online Death Records and Indexes

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Some separations were recorded during Reconstruction 1869-1870. Divorce records began to be officially recorded April 1949 with the Clerk of Court in the county the divorce was made official.Divorces occuring after July 1962 were filed with the state and are available from the Office of Vital Records.

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Clarendon County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Clarendon County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Clarendon County Archives and History Center
211 N. Brooks Street
Manning, SC 29102
803-435-0328
clarendonarchives@clarendoncountygov.org
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Clarendon County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see South Carolina Societies.

Clarendon County Historical Society and Museum
211 N Brooks Street
Manning, South Carolina, 29102
803-433-0328
Email: clarendonmuseum@gmail.com
Website Facebook

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 09 December 2021.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, Clarendon County, South Carolina in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clarendon_County,_South_Carolina." accessed 25/06/2019
  3. Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Clarendon County, South Carolina. Page 611-615 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 607-608.
  5. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 09 December 2021.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), South Carolina .At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Clarendon County, South Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clarendon_County,_South_Carolina, accessed 22 December 2019.
  8. Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
  9. Workers of the Writers' Program of the Works Projects Administration in the State of South Carolina, Palmetto Place Names (The Reprint Company: Spartanburg, S.C., 1975) 13.
  10. South Carolina, Probate Court (Clarendon County), Clarendon County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, ca. 1911-1950, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2001.