Claiborne County, Tennessee Genealogy

United States

Tennessee

Claiborne County

Guide to Claiborne County, Tennessee ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Tennessee Online Genealogy Records

County Facts County seat: Tazewell Organized: October 29, 1801 Parent County(s): Grainger, Hawkins Neighboring Counties Bell (KY)  • Campbell  • Grainger  • Hancock  • Lee (VA)  • Union  • Whitley (KY) See County Maps Courthouse Location Map Adoption Adopt-a-wiki page This page adopted by: TNGenWeb Project who welcome you to contribute. Adopt a page today

County Information

Description

Claiborne County was named for Virginia tidewater aristocrat William C. C. Claiborne, one of the first judges of the Tennessee Superior Court and one of the first representatives in U.S. Congress from Tennessee. The county is located in the northeastern area of the state.

County Courthouse

Claiborne County Courthouse
PO Box 180
1740 Main St.
Tazewell, TN 37879
County Website Phone: 423-626-3284
Circuit Court Phone: 423-626-3334
Register of Deeds Phone: 423-626-3325

County Clerk has marriage records
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records.
Register of Deeds has land records.

Claiborne County, Tennessee Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth*	Marriage	Death*	Court	Land	Probate	Census
1908	1838	1908	1801	1801	1801	1810
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1914. General compliance by 1927.

Record Loss

1863 and 1931 Courthouse burned and many records were damaged. Lost censuses: 1810, 1820 Lack of marriage records: 1801 to 1837 Lack of wills: 1801 to 1839 For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see: Burned Counties. By Michael John Neill at 24-7 Family History Circle. When the Records are Gone. By Arlene Eakle at Arlene Eakle's Tennessee Blog. Burned Counties Research in the FamilySearch Research Wiki. List of counties in the United States with Record Loss

Boundary Changes

1801--Claiborne County was created 29 October 1801 from Grainger and Hawkins Counties. County seat: Tazewell For animated maps illustrating Tennessee county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewedat the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:

Cities
Harrogate
Towns
Cumberland Gap	New Tazewell	Tazewell
Unincorporated communities
Arthur Clairfield Eagan Hopewell	Little Sycamore Lone Mountain Midway Pruden	Shawanee Speedwell Springdale

History Timeline

Additional Information

Gov. William C.C. Claiborne (c1775-1817)

The county is named after Governor of Louisiana and Governor of Mississippi Territory William C. C. Claiborne (c1775-1817).

Resources

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

• East Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1778 to 1911. 2000. By Alan N. Miller. Baltimore, Md.: Clearfield Company. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2m. Online at MyHeritage ($). Includes Claiborne County.
• Tennessee Bureau of Agriculture, Statistics and Mines. Coal Mines and Mining--Tennessee. Nashville, Tennessee: A.B. Travel, 1883. Free digital copy.

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Claiborne County, Tennessee online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online	Findagrave.com TNGenWeb TNGenWeb Archives Tombstone Project TNGenWeb Cemeteries BillionGraves
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)	Family History Library WorldCat
List of Cemeteries in the County	Findagrave.com Gravestones FamilySearch Places
See Tennessee Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records

Historical populations
Census	Pop.	%±
1810	4,798	—
1820	5,508	14.8%
1830	8,470	53.8%
1840	9,474	11.9%
1850	9,369	−1.1%
1860	9,643	2.9%
1870	9,321	−3.3%
1880	13,373	43.5%
1890	15,103	12.9%
1900	20,696	37.0%
1910	23,504	13.6%
1920	23,286	−0.9%
1930	24,313	4.4%
1940	24,657	1.4%
1950	24,788	0.5%
1960	19,067	−23.1%
1970	19,420	1.9%
1980	24,595	26.6%
1990	26,137	6.3%
2000	29,862	14.3%
2010	32,213	7.9%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 federal population censuses of Claiborne County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.

See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

See Claiborne County, TN census assignments, including links to transcribed files. The USGenWeb Census Project^®

• 1810-1891 Tennessee, Compiled Census and Census Substitutes Index, 1810-1891 at Ancestry ($)

1810 Lost - substitute is available:

• Sherrill, Charles A. The Reconstructed 1810 Census of Tennessee: 33,000 Long-lost Records from Tax Lists, Court Minutes, Church Records, Wills, Deeds and Other Sources. Mt. Juliet, Tenn.: C.A. Sherrill, 2001. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1810.

1820 Lost

1820 Manufactures

The original manufactures schedules for the Eastern and Western Districts of Tennessee are kept at the National Archives, Washington, D.C. FHL copies: FHL US/CAN Films 1024517-1024518.

These records have also been abstracted:

• National Archives. Indexes to Manufactures Census of 1820. 1920; reprint, Knightstown, Ind.: Bookmark, 1977. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2m 1820.
• 1820 Census of Manufactures: Claiborne County, East Tennessee Roots, Vol. 7, No. 1 ():34. For availability, see Claiborne.

1830

• Sistler, Byron H. 1830 Census, East Tennessee. Evanston, Ill.: n.p., 1969. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2p 1830.

1840

• Full name index linked to appropriate scanned census image.

1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners

• A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1967. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2pc 1840; FHL US/CAN Film 2321. 1841 edition digitized by the U.S. Census Bureau and Google books et. al. See Tennessee, Eastern District, Claiborne County on page 152.

1850

• Full name index linked to appropriate scanned census image.

1860

• Full name index linked to appropriate scanned census image.
• Bishop, Brenda C. 1860 Census, Claiborne County, Tennessee. Elizabethton, Tenn.: B.C. Bishop, 1985. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8944 X2c.

1870

• Minton, Vestina Lewis. Claiborne County People. Harrogate, Tenn.: T. and V. Minton, 1980. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8944 X2m 1870. Includes 1870 Census.
• Bishop, Brenda C. 1870 Census Tennessee: Transcription for Claiborne County. Tallahassee, Fla.: B.C. Bishop, 1983. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8944 X2b.

1880

• Sistler, Byron and Samuel D. Sistler. 1880 Census Claiborne County, Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: B. Sistler & Associates, 1992. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8944 X2s 1880.

Male Voters

• 1891 Tennessee Enumeration of Male Voters 1891 at Ancestry ($)

1900

• Minton, Vestina Laws. Claiborne County, Tennessee, 1900 (Census). Harrogate, Tenn.: T. and V. Minton, 1989. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8944 X2m 1900.

Church Records

List of Churches and Church Parishes

• FamilySearch Places
  

Baptist

• Big Spring. Church minutes (1795-1948), membership list for 1800 available on microfilm at the Tennessee State Library and Archives.

Court Records

Law and Legislation

• Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. January 25, 2005. In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service. The TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. Online searchable index at TSLA.
• Online Images of Wills & Estates 1812-1814; 1839-1844; 1844-1850; 1867-1898; 1870-1892. Southeastern Genealogy ($)

Emigration and Immigration

• During the War of 1812, American officials reported finding 4 British aliens, some of whom had families, living in Claiborne County. Ancestry ($)

Genealogies

More than 45 genealogies have been published about Claiborne County families. For more information visit Claiborne County, Tennessee Compiled Genealogies

Land and Property Records

The original Claiborne County Deed Books are held at the County Courthouse. TSLA microfilmed Deed Books A to Z2 (1801-1895) and the Index (1801-1910). FHL copies: FHL US/CAN Films 898403-898416.

• Index to Deeds 1801-1860. Southeastern Genealogy ($)

Local Histories

• Holt, Edgar A. and Joy Bailey Dunn. Claiborne County. Memphis, Tenn.: Memphis State University Press, 1981. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8944 H2h.

Maps and Gazetteers

Click a neighboring county
for more resources

• Maps of Tennessee (1777-1985)
• FamilySearch Places: Cities and Towns in this county - How to Use FS Places

Migration

• Stage Book Belonging to Harman Roberts, Sr., Claiborne Co., Tennessee, 1846-1848. MSS.; FHL US/CAN Film 898421.

Military Records

Revolutionary War
The following Claiborne County Revolutionary War records are available online through TNGenWeb:

• 1835 Pension Roll
• 1852 Rejected or Suspended Pensions

Additional resources include:

• A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1967. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2pc 1840; FHL US/CAN Film 2321. 1841 edition digitized by the U.S. Census Bureau and Google books et. al. See Tennessee, Eastern District, Claiborne County on page 152.
• Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." Digital version at Ancestry ($). Tennessee entries abstracted online at Tennesseans in the Revolutionary War, courtesy: TNGenWeb. Includes veterans from this county; Tennessee section begins on page 381.
• Revolutionary War Soldiers List, Pathways, Vol. 24, No. 1 (Mar. 2005).

War of 1812

• Embry, Hermione D. "War of 1812 - Tennessee Pensioners on List - January 2, 1883," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 7, No. 2 (Apr. 1960):40-45. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 7 (1960); digital version at journal website. [Includes Claiborne County pensioners (p. 40)]

Civil War

Online Records

• 1861-1865 Tennessee, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch- How to Use this Collection
• 1861-1865 Tennessee, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch- How to Use this Collection
• 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
• 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
• 1891-1965 Tennessee, Confederate Pension Applications, Soldiers and Widows, 1891-1965 at FamilySearch- How to Use this Collection
• Civil War Research Database
• Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System

Regiments. Men in Claiborne County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Claiborne County:

Confederate Soldiers

• 1st Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Carter's) - CSA - Companies F and L.
• 2nd Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Ashby's) - CSA - Company B and D.
• 4th Battalion, Tennessee Cavalry (Branner's) - CSA - Company C.
• 5th Battalion, Tennessee Cavalry (McClellan's) - CSA - Company C.
• 29th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Company C.
• 37th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (7th Infantry) (1st East Tennessee Rifles) - CSA - Company B.
• 61st Regiment, Tennessee Mounted Infantry (Pitts') (81st Infantry) - CSA - Company H.
• 25th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company I (Lee Rangers later Lee Greys).

Union Soldiers

• 6th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - Company E.
• 8th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry - Company G.
• 9th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry - Companies B, L, and M.
  

Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Claiborne County:

• Civil War Veterans Buried in Claiborne County. Hosted by rootsweb.
• USGenWeb Archives, Claiborne County Tennessee Archives. Civil War Claims and Civil War Rosters.
• Tennessee State Library and Archives, Tennessee Confederate Pension Applications: Claiborne County. Includes soldier's name, county, pension #, unit or widow.
• United States Pension Bureau, List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883: Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for ... (Washington Printing Office; 1883). Online at Internet Archive. Claiborne County, page 335-326.
  

Newspapers

Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at the TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Claiborne County click on the following towns:

• Cumberland Gap
• New Tazewell
• Tazewell
  

• Lucas, Silas Emmett. Marriages from Early Tennessee Newspapers 1794-1851. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1978. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 V2L.
  
• 1847-1914 - Smith, Jonathan K.T. Genealogical Abstracts from Reported Deaths, the Nashville Christian Advocate. [1847-1914] 10 vols. [Jackson, Tenn.]: J.K.T. Smith, 1997-2003. FHL US/CAN Books 976.855/N1 V48s 1847-1851 ff; digital versions at David Donahue Memorial: Tennessee Records Repository. Website expands upon the publications and includes deaths from the 1830s, 1840s, 1910s and 1920s.

Other Records

Prisons

• 1831-1850 Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1831-1850 at Tennessee State Library and Archives
  
• 1851-1870 Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1851-1870 at Tennessee State Library and Archives

Periodicals

Genealogical periodicals can contain unique sources and can be local, regional, or statewide. The following periodicals cover this county:

• Ansearchin' News: Quarterly magazine of the Tennessee Genealogical Society. For a keyword search, go to the county index. Read previous issues on their website; FHL Book 976.8 B2a.
  

• East Tennessee Roots: Published by East Tennessee Roots The table of contents for some issues are available on their website; FHL Book 976.8 D25e.
  

• Reflections: The Claiborne County Historical Society was founded in 1982 and publishes a quarterly entitled "Reflections."
  The Family History Library has current volumes beginning with Volume 5.For further information see website: Claiborne County Historical and Genealogical Society. Reflections is indexed in the PERiodical Source Index (PERSI).
  

• The Pellissippian: Published by the Anderson County Historical Society (formerly called, Pellissippi Genealogical and Historical Society). The table of contents for some issues are available on their website. FHL Book 976.8 D25p.
  

• Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin: Published by Watauga Association of Genealogists. The table of contents for some issues are found on their website; FHL US/CAN Books 976.897 B2w; Bulletin Subject Index: The First Thirty Years, 1972-2001 (Johnson City, Tenn.: Watauga Association of Genealogists, 2002) FHL Book 976.897 B2w index 1972-2001.

Probate Records

Claiborne County's early Will Books have been lost. Surviving records begin in the late 1830s. TSLA microfilmed Claiborne County Wills 1893 to 1932. FHL copy: FHL Film 898402.

Online Records

• 1779-2008 Tennessee Wills and Probate Records 1779-2008 at Ancestry ($)
• 1812-1932 Claiborne County portion of Tennessee, Probate Court Books, 1795-1927 at FamilySearch - images only; handwritten indexes may be found at the front or back of some volumes.- How to Use this Collection
• 1812-1814; 1839-1844; 1844-1850; 1870-1892; 1848-1852; 1867-1898; 1878-1899; 1899-1921; 1801-1860 SourtheasternGenealogy.com Images of Wills, Inventories, Settlements, Bonds, Administrations, Deed Index ($)

The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Claiborne County probate records. They offer a research service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:

• Inventories and Settlements of Estates, Wills: Court of Pleas and Quarter Sessions: 1812-1814

Book Abstracts and Indexes

• 1812 - 1814 - Strictly By Name (see above).
• 1837 - 1846 - Claiborne County, Tennessee, Will Book A, 1837-1846. n.p.: Claiborne County Historical Society, 1992. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8944 P2c.
• 1837 - 1865 - Historical Records Project (W.P.A.). Will Books, 1837-1865, Claiborne County, Tennessee. Typescript, TSLA. Microfilmed 1939. FHL US/CAN Films 24619-24620, 464088-464089. Will Books A to D.
• 1839 - 1861 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Tennessee Wills & Administrations 1779-1861. Nashville, Tenn. Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1990. FHL US/CAN 976.8 P22s. Includes an index to this county's probate records. Free Lookups Available!
• 1844 - 1865 - Fletcher, Virginia Billingsley. Index to the Probate Court Records Claiborne County, Tennessee 1844-1865: Estate Settlements, Wills, Inventories, Sales, Guardian Reports; the Records Copied by the Historical Records Survey Transcritpion Unit as Will Books B, C, D. Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.: V.B. Fletcher, 1993. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8944 P2f.

Social Security Records

• 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.

• 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.

Tax Records

The original Claiborne County Tax Books covering the years 1850 to 1900 (gaps) were microfilmed by the TSLA. FHL copy: FHL US/CAN Film 898419.

Book Abstracts and Indexes

• 1803 Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Early Tennessee Tax Lists. Evanston, Ill.: B. & B. Sistler, 1977. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4s. Includes 1803 tax list.
• 1803 Curtis, Mary Barnett. Early East Tennessee Tax Lists. Fort Worth, Texas: Arrow Printing Company, 1964. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 R4c. Includes 1803 petition.
• 1814 - "Direct Federal Tax-Delinquent Property Owners Listed for 1814," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 43, No. 3(Fall 1996):115-120. For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Claiborne. Includes Claiborne County.
• 1817 "U.S. Holds 1817 Public Sale of Federal Tax-Delinquent Properties in Tennessee," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 43, No. 2 (Summer 1996):63-68. For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Claiborne. Includes Claiborne County.
• 1836 Douthat, James L. Claiborne County, Tennessee, 1836 Tennessee Civil District and Tax List. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 1993. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8944 R4d.
• 1839 Lemasters, Paul W. and Claiborne County Historical Society. Claiborne County, Tennessee, 1839 Tax List. n.p.: Claiborne County Historical Society, 199-?. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8944 R48L.
• 1857 District No. 10, 1857, Pathways. Maynardville TN: Sep 2002. Vol. 21 Iss. 3.

Vital Records

Birth

• 1828-1939 Tennessee Births and Christenings 1828-1939 at FamilySearch- How to Use this Collection
• 1869-1909 Tennessee Delayed Birth Records 1869-1909 at Ancestry ($)
• 1908-1912 Tennessee, Birth Records (ER Series), 1908-1912 at FamilySearch- How to Use this Collection

Marriage

Online Indexes and Records

• 1625-1966 Tennessee, United States Marriages at Findmypast ($)
• 1780-2002 Tennessee State Marriages 1780-2002 at Ancestry($)
• 1780-2002 Tennessee State Marriage Index 1780-2002 at FamilySearch Index may not be complete for all counties- How to Use this Collection
• 1790-1962 Tennessee County Marriages, 1790-1950 - at FamilySearch. index and images. Covers all counties in Tennessee.- How to Use this Collection
• 1796-1950 Tennessee Marriages 1796-1950 (Indexes only) at FamilySearch- How to Use this Collection
• 1838-1888 Tennessee Civil Marriages, 1838-1888 at FamilySearch- How to Use this Collection
• 1838-1895 - Claiborne County Marriage Index 1838-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch
• 1838-1850; 1850-1968 SourtheasternGenealogy.com Marriages ($)
• 1851-1900 Tennessee Marriages 1851-1900 at Ancestry.com($)
• 1980-2014 Marriage Records Index 1980-2014 at Shelby County Register of Deeds - index

Book Abstracts and Indexes

• 1838-1850 - Marriages of Claiborne County Tennessee 1838-1850 & Campbell County Tennessee 1838-1853. FHL US/CAN 976.8 V2.
• 1838-1868 - Early East Tennessee Marriages. 2 vols. FHL US/CAN 976.8 V2s v. 1.

Death

• 1874-1955 Tennessee Deaths and Burials 1874-1955 at FamilySearch- How to Use this Collection
• 1908-1933 Tennessee Deaths, 1908 - 1933 at MyHeritage ($) — index
• 1908-1958 Tennessee Death Records 1908 - 1958 at Ancestry ($)
• 1908-1912 Tennessee Death Records 1908-1912 at Tennessee State Library & Archives - index
• 1914-1933 Tennessee Death Records 1914-1933 at Tennessee State Library & Archives - index
• 1914-1966 Tennessee Deaths, 1914-1966 at FamilySearch- How to Use this Collection
• 1949-2014 Death Records Index 1949-2014 at Shelby County Register of Deeds - index

Book Abstracts and Indexes

• Wiefering, Edna and Cleveland Public Library. Claiborne County, Tennessee, Vital Statistics, 1914 through 1925. Cleveland, Tenn.: Cleveland Public Library, 1993. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8944 V2w.

Divorce

Online Records

• 1796-1850 Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850 at Tennessee State Library & Archives - index
• 1800-1965 Tennessee Divorce and Other Records, 1800-1965 at Ancestry ($)
• 1980-2014 Divorce Records Index 1980-2014 at Shelby County Register of Deeds - index

Online Titles

Research Facilities

Archives

Listed below are archives in Claiborne County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Tennessee Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

• Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
• FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
  

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

• Cumberland Gap Tennessee Family History Center
• La Follette Tennessee Family History Center
• Johnson City Public Library - an affiliate library.
• Knox County Public Library - an affiliate library.

Libraries

Listed below are libraries in Claiborne County. For state-wide library facilities, see Tennessee Archives and Libraries.

Claiborne County Public Library
1304 Old Knoxville Road
Tazewell, TN 37879
Phone: 423-626-5414
Facebook
Website

Societies

Listed below are societies in Claiborne County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Tennessee Societies.

Claiborne County Historical and Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 32
Tazewell, TN 37879
Phone: 423-526-5737
Email: claibornecohistoricalsociety@yahoo.com
Facebook
Website

Websites

• Claiborne County, TN Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
• Claiborne County, TN Genealogy Forum (GenForum)
• Claiborne County, TNGenWeb (USGenWeb)
• Claiborne County TN Genealogy
• FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides

• Genealogical "Fact Sheets" About Tennessee Counties: Claiborne County, courtesy: TSLA. (Identifies published county histories, published local records, census records, newspapers and local records on microfilm, and select manuscripts.)

This website requires a paid subscription for full access.

Family History Library

FamilySearch affiliate libraries may have access to center-only databases, but do not always have all services normally provided by a family history center.