Chittenden County, Vermont Genealogy
(Redirected from Chittenden County, Vermont Genealogy)
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
Guide to Chittenden County, Vermont ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Vermont's first governor and one of the framers of its constitution as an independent republic and later U.S. state, Thomas Chittenden. The County is located in the northwest area of the state. [1]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Chittenden County Courthouse
175 Main Street
Burlington, VT 05401-8310
Phone: 802-863-3467
Chittenden County Website
Town Clerks have birth, marriage, death, burial, probate and land records.
County Clerk has divorce records from 1829 and court records from 1798.
Chittenden County, Vermont Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| at town creation | at town creation | at town creation | 1798 | 1785 | 1795 | 1790 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[4]
Towns and Cities
Extinct Town
Unincorporated
- Buel's Gore [6]
|
Towns Organized Before 1800:
|
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
| |
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1790 | 7,287 | — |
| 1800 | 12,778 | 75.4% |
| 1810 | 18,120 | 41.8% |
| 1820 | 16,955 | −6.4% |
| 1830 | 21,765 | 28.4% |
| 1840 | 22,977 | 5.6% |
| 1850 | 29,036 | 26.4% |
| 1860 | 28,171 | −3.0% |
| 1870 | 36,480 | 29.5% |
| 1880 | 32,792 | −10.1% |
| 1890 | 35,389 | 7.9% |
| 1900 | 39,600 | 11.9% |
| 1910 | 42,447 | 7.2% |
| 1920 | 43,708 | 3.0% |
| 1930 | 47,471 | 8.6% |
| 1940 | 52,098 | 9.7% |
| 1950 | 62,570 | 20.1% |
| 1960 | 74,425 | 18.9% |
| 1970 | 99,131 | 33.2% |
| 1980 | 115,534 | 16.5% |
| 1990 | 131,761 | 14.0% |
| 2000 | 146,571 | 11.2% |
| 2010 | 156,545 | 6.8% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church Records[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- Vermont Indexes at EveryNameIndex.com — Select the county.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Click a neighboring county
for more resources
for more resources
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War
- 1861-1867 Vermont, Enrolled Militia Records, 1861-1867 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
Regiments. Regiments and Companies:
- - 2nd Regiment, Vermont Infantry
- - 5th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Companies I and K
- - 13th Regiment, Vermont Infantry
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1749-1999 Vermont Wills and Probate Records 1749-1999 at Ancestry.com — index and images ($)
- 1796-1910 Vermont, Chittenden County Probate Files at FamilySearch — images
- 1800-1921 Vermont Probate Files, 1800-1921 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch — How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Town Records[edit | edit source]
- 1850-2005 Vermont, Town Records, 1850-2005 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Early Vermont vital records were kept on the town level, and beginning dates varied from place to place. Statewide requirements started in 1779. Statewide registration began in 1857, with town clerks sending copies of the previous year’s vital events to the secretary of state. For online indexes, collections, and more information, see Vermont Town Records and Vermont Vital Records.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1732-2005 Vermont, Town Clerk, Vital and Town Records, 1732-2005 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
- 1760-1954 Vermont Vital Records, 1760-1954 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
- 1760-2008 Vermont Vital Records, 1760-2008 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
- 1765-1908 Vermont Births and Christenings, 1765-1908 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index
- 1850-2005 Vermont, Town Records, 1850-2005 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1732-2005 Vermont, Town Clerk, Vital and Town Records, 1732-2005 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
- 1760-1954 Vermont Vital Records, 1760-1954 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
- 1760-2008 Vermont Vital Records, 1760-2008 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
- 1791-1974 Vermont Marriages, 1791-1974 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index
- 1850-2005 Vermont, Town Records, 1850-2005 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1732-2005 Vermont, Town Clerk, Vital and Town Records, 1732-2005 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
- 1760-1954 Vermont Vital Records, 1760-1954 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
- 1760-2008 Vermont Vital Records, 1760-2008 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
- 1850-2005 Vermont, Town Records, 1850-2005 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
- 1871-1965 Vermont Deaths and Burials, 1871-1965 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Chittenden County. For state-wide facilities, see Vermont Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Essex Vermont Family History Center
- Montpelier Vermont Family History Center
- Newport Vermont Family History Center
- Plattsburgh New York Family History Center
- Bath Public Library - an affiliate library
- Vermont French-Canadian Genealogical Society - an affiliate library
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Chittenden County. For state-wide library facilities, see Vermont Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Chittenden County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Vermont Societies.
- Charlotte Historical Society
4205 Ethan Allen Highway
Charlotte, VT 05445 - Chittenden County Historical Society
PO Box 1576
Burlington, VT 05402
Email:cchsvt@gmail.com
Website
Facebook - Colchester Historical Society
c/o Robert Furst
245 Bluebird Dr
Colchester, VT 05446
Website - Essex Community Historical Society
PO Box 8388
Essex, VT 05451
Email: essexcommunityhistoricalsociety@myfairpoint.net
Website
Facebook - Milton Historical Society
Museum
13 School Street
Milton, VT 05468
Email:miltonhistorical@yahoo.com
802-893-1604
Facebook
Website - Winooski Historical Society
Champlain Mill - Suite 42
20 Winoskik Falls Way
Winooski, VT 05404
E-mail:winooskihistory@yahoo.com
Website - Westford Historical Society
PO Box 21
Westford, VT 05494
Phone:802-878-8890
E-mail: carolinebrown802@myfairpoint.net
Websites[edit | edit source]
- The Chittenden County VTGenWeb Project, a member of The VTGenWeb Project
- The USGenWeb Archives Project
- Chittenden County Genealogy (Vermont Genealogy)
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Chittenden, Vermont" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chittenden_County,_Vermont accessed 6 Dec 2018
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Chittenden County, Vermont . Page 698-699 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 686-687.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Vermont.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Chittenden_ County,_Vermont," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chittenden_County,_Vermont accessed 24 October 2019.
- ↑ Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 395. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.
- ↑ Leclerc, 394.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 698. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
