Chickasaw County, Mississippi Genealogy
Guide to Chickasaw County, Mississippi ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
This county was named for the Chickasaw people. The county is located in the northeast area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Chickasaw County Courthouse 1st District
1 Pinson Square
Houston, MS 38851-0000
Phone: 662-456-2531
Fax: 662-456-5295
Chickasaw County Courthouse 2nd District
234 W. Main St
Okolona, MS 38860
Phone: 662-447-2092
Fax: 662-447-5024
Chickasaw County Website
Clerk Circuit Court in Houston, has marriage, divorce, probate and court records and all land records for the county.
Clerk Circuit Court in Okolona, has marriage records from 1877 and court records.
Clerk Chancery Court has divorce and probate records from 1886.[3]
Chickasaw County is divided into two Judicial Districts giving the county two seats, one in Houston, and one in Okolona.
Chickasaw County, Mississippi Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1 Nov 1912 | 1863 | 1 Nov 1912 | 1863 | 1836 | 1863 | 1810 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
1863 Some records were lost in a fire.
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]
| Cities | ||
|
||
| Towns | ||
| Villages | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
|
||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- Mississippi Genealogy & History Network-Chickasaw County
- Cemeteries in Chickasaw and surrounding counties
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1840 | 2,955 | — |
| 1850 | 16,369 | 453.9% |
| 1860 | 16,426 | 0.3% |
| 1870 | 19,899 | 21.1% |
| 1880 | 17,905 | −10.0% |
| 1890 | 19,891 | 11.1% |
| 1900 | 19,892 | 0.0% |
| 1910 | 22,846 | 14.9% |
| 1920 | 22,212 | −2.8% |
| 1930 | 20,835 | −6.2% |
| 1940 | 21,427 | 2.8% |
| 1950 | 18,951 | −11.6% |
| 1960 | 16,891 | −10.9% |
| 1970 | 16,805 | −0.5% |
| 1980 | 17,853 | 6.2% |
| 1990 | 18,085 | 1.3% |
| 2000 | 19,440 | 7.5% |
| 2010 | 17,392 | −10.5% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
For tips on accessing Chickasaw County census records online, see: Mississippi Census.
Federal Census
- 1660-1820 U.S. Census Reconstructed Records, 1660-1820 at Ancestry $
- 1792-1866 Mississippi, State and Territorial Census Collection, 1792-1866 at Ancestry $
- 1805-1890 Mississippi, Compiled Census and Census Substitutes Index, 1805-1890 at Ancestry $
- 1850 United States Census (Mortality Schedule), 1850 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and some images
- 1850 United States Census (Slave Schedule), 1850 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1860 United States Census (Slave Schedule), 1860 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
State Census
- 1837 State census returns - Chickasaw Count Collection at FamilySearch images only
- 1841 State census returns - Chickasaw Count Collection at FamilySearch images only
- 1880 State census returns - Chickasaw Count Collection at FamilySearch images only
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.
- 1910-1919 Mississippi, Church Records, 1910-1919 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
African Americans
- 1863-1866 Mississippi, Freedmen's Department (Pre-Bureau Records), 1863-1866 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only
- 1865-1872 Mississippi, Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1865-1872 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only
- The Freedmen's Bureau Marriage Records at Mississippi Department of Archives and History - index and transcription
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Chickasaw County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.
- A History of Chickasaw County, Mississippi v. 1. county history; a pictorial account to the past with commentaries regarding business, commerce, communities, churches, education, wars and memories; family histories -- v. 2. early history; pictorial account and commentaries regarding communities, people and military service; family histories. and maps
- Chickasaw times past Periodicals.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
- Maps of Mississippi (1785-1918)
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Multiple Wars
- 1812-1951 Military grave registrations - Chickasaw Count Collection at FamilySearch - images only
- 1841-1845 Register of Military Commissions - Chickasaw Count Collection at FamilySearch - images only
- 1848-1860 Register of Military Commissions - Chickasaw Count Collection at FamilySearch - images only
Mexican-American War
- 1846-1848 United States Mexican War Index and Service Records, 1846-1848 How to Use this Collection; at FamilySearch — index and images
Civil War
- 1861-1865 Mississippi, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images at partner site
- 1861-1865 Mississippi, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images at partner site
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry free index
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry Index Free
- 1889-1942 Mississippi, Confederate Records, 1889-1942 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only
- 1900-1974 Mississippi, Confederate Veterans and Widows Pension Applications, 1900-1974 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only
- 1836-1939 Civil war records a Memorial list of those that served in the Civil War - Chickasaw Count Collection at FamilySearch - images only
Regiments. Men in Chickasaw County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Chickasaw County:
- - 2nd Regiment, Mississippi State Cavalry
- Company B - Johnson Partisans
- Company G - Isbell’s Company
- Company I - Clarke’s Company
- - 5th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
- Company G - Barry Guards
- - 6th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
- Company L - Williams’ Company
- - 19th Battalion Mississippi Cavalry (Duff's)
- Company E - Walker’s Company
- - 8th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry (formerly 19th Battalion Mississippi Cavalry (Duff's)
- Company E - Walker’s Company
- - 9th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
- Company E - Chickasaw Mounted Guards
- - Perrin's Battalion, Mississippi State Cavalry
- Company H - Chickasaw Rangers
- - 11th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
- Company H - Chickasaw Rangers
- - 11th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
- Company C - Prairie Rifles, aka Prairie Rifleman
- Company H - Chickasaw Guards
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War Battle was fought in Chickasaw County:
World War I
- 1917-1919 Mississippi, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1917-1918 Mississippi, World War I Army Veterans, Master alphabetical index, 1917-1918 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
State Archives
- 1820-1951 Mississippi, State Archives, Various Records, 1820-1951 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images - incomplete - Topics covered: Ex Slave Narratives, list of military veterans, Military grave registrations, Naturalizations and some Land records.
VOTER List
- 1871-1967 Mississippi, Voter Registration, 1871-1967 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Probate records are held by the Chickasaw County, Mississippi Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Chickasaw County, Mississippi Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Online Records
- 1780-1982 Mississippi Wills and Probate Records 1780-1982 at Ancestry $
- 1781-1930 Mississippi Probate Records 1781-1930 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only
School Records[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1892; 1908-1957 Enumeration of Educable Children, 1850-1892; 1908-1957 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.
- 1836-1899 County Tax rolls Chickasaw Count Collection at FamilySearch - images only
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.
See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1776-1935 Mississippi Marriages, 1776-1935 at Ancestry $
- 1800-1825 Mississippi Marriages to 1825 at Ancestry $
- 1800-1911 Mississippi, Marriages, 1800-1911 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1826-1850 Mississippi Marriages, 1826-50 at Ancestry $
- 1826-1900 Mississippi Marriages, 1826-1900 at Ancestry $
- 1857-1928 (gaps) Chickasaw County Marriage Index. Courtesy: MSGenWeb
- 1858-1900 Marriage records, Chickasaw County Mississippi volume 1, 1858 to 1900 Alphabetized by groom, notes for marriage records and bride index.
- 1858-1979 Mississippi, County Marriages, 1858-1979 at FamilySearchfor various counties - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1863-1923 Chickasaw County Marriage Books 1-12 Index 1863-1923 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1822-1921 Mississippi Deaths and Burials, 1822-1921 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index, some images
- 1912-1943 Mississippi, Death Certificate Index, 1912-1943 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1912-1943 Reclaim the Records: Mississippi Death Index at Archive.org - images of index
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Chickasaw County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Mississippi Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Chickasaw County. For state-wide library facilities, see Mississippi Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Chickasaw County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Mississippi Societies.
Chickasaw County Historical and Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 42
304 E Woodland Circle
Houston, MS 38851
(662) 456-0060
Email: smsisk32@gmail.com
Website
Facebook
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Chickasaw County Mississippi Genealogy & History Network
- Mississippi Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb Chickasaw County, Mississippi project. Has maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Chickasaw, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chickasaw_County,_Mississippi."
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Chickasaw County, Mississippi . Page 378-384 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 379-381.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Chickasaw County, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chickasaw_County,_Mississippi, Last accessed 11 September 2019.
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012)