Chickasaw County, Iowa Genealogy
Guide to Chickasaw County, Iowa ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Chickasaw County was named for the Chickasaw people and is located in northeastern Iowa.[3]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Chickasaw County Courthouse
8 E Prospect St
PO Box 14
New Hampton, IA 50659-0014
Phone: 641-394-2106
Chickasaw County Courthouse
Chickasaw County, Iowa Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1880 | 1853 | 1880 | 1865 | 1851 | 1880 | 1847 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
1880 Courthouse burned on March 26 and many records were destroyed. For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit [For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]
| Cities | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
|
|
|
| Townships | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Listed below are resources for Bible records specific to Chickasaw County. To find more resources, go to the Iowa Bible Records page.
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Alexander, W. E. History of Chickasaw and Howard Counties, Iowa. Decora, IA. Western Pub. Co., 1883. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library
- Fairbairn, Robert Herd. History of Chickasaw and Howard Counties, Iowa. S.J Clarke Publishing Company, Chicago, IL., 1919. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library Vol 1, FamilySearch Digital Library Vol 2.
- Chickasaw County, Iowa Biographies Project at RootsWeb — links to biographies and local histories
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Iowa recorded not only federal, but state censuses for several in-between years as well. For more information, see the very informative Iowa Census article.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1860 | 4,336 | — |
| 1870 | 10,180 | 134.8% |
| 1880 | 14,534 | 42.8% |
| 1890 | 15,019 | 3.3% |
| 1900 | 17,037 | 13.4% |
| 1910 | 15,375 | −9.8% |
| 1920 | 15,431 | 0.4% |
| 1930 | 14,637 | −5.1% |
| 1940 | 15,227 | 4.0% |
| 1950 | 15,228 | 0.0% |
| 1960 | 15,034 | −1.3% |
| 1970 | 14,969 | −0.4% |
| 1980 | 15,437 | 3.1% |
| 1990 | 13,295 | −13.9% |
| 2000 | 13,095 | −1.5% |
| 2010 | 12,439 | −5.0% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
State Census
- 1885 Iowa State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1895 Iowa State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1905 Iowa State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images (individual cards, not family context)
- 1915 Iowa State Census, 1915 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1925 Iowa State Census, 1925 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Most church records are held by individual churches. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.
Church Records and Indexes
Lutheran
- 1781-1969 U.S., Evangelical Lutheran Church in America Church Records, 1781-1969 at Ancestry ($)
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1838-1934 Iowa, County Marriages, 1838-1934(*) at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index only
- 1853-1871 Court Records, 1853-1871(*); County Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Counsell Woodley Funeral Home in Hampton
- Hugeback Johnson Funeral Home in Fredericksburg, Nashua and New Hampton
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. They include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Iowa Land and Property for information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, transactions were usually recorded and housed at the county courthouse.
Online Land and Property Records
- 1851-1859 Copies of original entries, ca. 1851-1859 at FamilySearch Catalog - images
- 1853-1908 Deed records, 1853-1908 at FamilySearch Catalog - images and indexes
- 1854-1901 Mortgage index, 1854-1901, to lands at FamilySearch Catalog - images and indexes
- 1855-1923 Town lot deed records, 1855-1923 at FamilySearch Catalog - images and indexes
- 1866-1929 Land transfer books, 1866-1929 at FamilySearch Catalog - images and indexes
- 1878-1885 Homestead record, 1878-1885 at FamilySearch Catalog - images
- Plat book of Chickasaw County, Iowa. 1892.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Chickasaw County, which may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Iowa Local Histories.
- History of Chickasaw and Howard Counties, Iowa. 1883. By W. E. Alexander. Decorah, IA: Western Pub. Co. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive, HathiTrust; At various libraries (WorldCat).
- History of Chickasaw and Howard Counties, Iowa. 1919. By Robert Herd Fairbairn. Chicago, IL: S. J. Clarke Pub. Co. Online at: Vol. I - FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive; Vols. I & II - HathiTrust; Vol. II - FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive; At various libraries (WorldCat).
- Iowa Indexes at EveryNameIndex.com — Select the county.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For online maps and collections in libraries and societies, see Iowa Maps. Historical maps may be especially useful.
for more resources
- 1860-1918 U.S., Indexed County Land Ownership Maps, 1860-1918, Chickasaw County at Ancestry ($) - index.
- 1875-2007 Chickasaw County 1875-2007 at Historic Map Works - may include names of land-owners.
- 1885-1931 Fire Insurance Maps for Chickasaw County, Iowa at Library of Congress - various years between 1885 and 1931.
- Chickasaw County Maps at FamilySearch Catalog.
- IAGenWeb - Chickasaw County.
- Iowa Digital Library, Chickasaw County at Iowa University Libraries.
- Plat book of Chickasaw County, Iowa. 1892. Philadelphia, PA: Northwest Publishing Co. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library
- Standard Historical Atlas of Chickasaw County, Iowa(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images.
- The Iowa Heritage Digital Collections, Chickasaw County at State Library of Iowa.
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places.
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Multiple Wars
- 1835-1998 Iowa, Armed Forces Grave Registrations, ca. 1835-1998 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index only
- 1862-1910 Iowa, Records of Persons Subject to Military Duty, 1862-1910 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index
Civil War
- 1861-1949 Iowa, Grand Army of the Republic Membership Records, 1861-1949 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil War service men in Chickasaw County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:
- - 7th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company B
- - 27th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company G
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Please see the Iowa Naturalization and Citizenship page for state-wide information.
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1858-1906 Naturalization Records, 1858-1906(*); Chickasaw County Court at FamilySearch Catalog — 2 index's, images
- 1859-1990 United States, Iowa Naturalization Records, 1859-1990 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1958-1976 The Nashua Reporter at Ancestry ($)
- 1932-1957 Fredericksburg News at Ancestry ($)
- 1891, 1918, 1955 The New Hampton Tribune at Ancestry ($)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1758-1997 Iowa Wills and Probate Records 1758-1997 at Ancestry — index & images ($)
- 1854-1871 Records, 1854-1871(*); Circuit Court at FamilySearch Catalog - images
- 1854-1941 Probate Records, 1854-1941(*); Circuit Court at FamilySearch Catalog - index & images
- 1859-1937 Will Records, 1859-1937(*); District Court at FamilySearch Catalog - index & images
- 1886-1929 Administrative, Executors, and Guardians Letters and Bonds, 1886-1929(*); Circuit Court at FamilySearch Catalog - images
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch — How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Iowa tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. Iowa's unique Old Age Assistance tax gives names, addresses and birth years. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.
Online Tax Indexes and Records
- 1934-1958 Iowa, Old Age Tax Assistance Records, 1934-1958 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded by civil officials on registers, certificates, and other documents. Copies or extracts may be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office. See also Iowa Vital Records.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1939 Iowa, Delayed Birth Records, 1850-1939 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection;index and images
- 1880-1935 Iowa, County Births, 1880-1935 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1921-1942 Iowa, Birth Records, 1921-1942 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1518-1996 Iowa, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index ($)
- 1809-1992 Iowa, Marriages, 1809-1992 at MyHeritage — index ($)
- 1836-1926 Iowa, Marriages, 1836 - 1926 at MyHeritage — index ($)
- 1838-1934 Iowa, County Marriages, 1838-1934 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1880-1951 Iowa, Marriage Records, 1880-1951 at Ancestry ($) — index and images
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1990 Iowa, Deaths and Burials 1850-1990 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index; Also at: MyHeritage($)
- 1880-1992 Iowa, County Death Records, 1880-1992 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index
- 1900-1939 Iowa Death Index, 1900-1939 at MyHeritage — index ($)
- 1904-1951 Iowa, Death Records, 1904-1951 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1920-1967 Iowa, U.S., Death Records, 1920-1967 at Ancestry — index and images, ($)
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1912-1925 Divorce Records, 1912-1925(*) at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Chickasaw County. For state-wide library facilities, see Iowa Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Cedar Falls/Waterloo Iowa Family History Center
- Fort Dodge Iowa Family History Center
- Mason City Iowa Family History Center
- African American Museum Of Iowa - an affiliate library
- Genealogical Society of Linn County, Iowa - an affiliate library
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Chickasaw County. For state-wide library facilities, see Iowa Archives and Libraries.
New Hampton Public Library
20 W Spring Street
New Hampton, IA 50659
641-394-2184
E-mail: director@newhampton.lib.ia.us
Website
Facebook
Museums[edit | edit source]
Carnegie Cultural Center
PO Box 243
7 N Water Avenue
New Hampton, IA 50659-0243
641-394-2354
E-mail: info@carnegieculturalcenter.org
Website
Facebook
Chickasaw County Historical Society Museum & Bradford Pioneer Museum
2729 Cheyenne Avenue
Nashua, IA 50648
641-435-2567
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Chickasaw County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Iowa Societies.
Chickasaw County Historical Society
3009 Gilmore Avenue
Ionia, IA 50645
515-435-4701
Website
Facebook
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Chickasaw County at Cyndi's List - a comprehensive, categorized & cross-referenced list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online
- Chickasaw County at Genealogy Trails - volunteer transcriptions of genealogical and historical data
- Chickasaw County at Iowa USGenWeb - free online resources for genealogical research
- Chickasaw County at Iowa USGenWeb Archives - free online data for genealogical research
- State Historical Society of Iowa — select from research collection topics
- State Library of Iowa — electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies
- The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection — digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed 6/2/2021.
- ↑ Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed 6/2/2021.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Chickasaw, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chickasaw_County,_Iowa.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Chickasaw County, Iowa. Page 230-238 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 222-225.
- ↑ Iowa Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed 6/2/2021.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Chickasaw County, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chickasaw_County%2C_Iowa, accessed 29 August 2019.