Chesterfield County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Chesterfield County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Chesterfield
Organized: 25 May 1749[1]
Parent County(s): Henrico[2]
Neighboring Counties
Amelia  • Charles CIty  • Colonial Heights (Independent City)  • Dinwiddie  • Goochland  • Henrico  • Hopewell (Independent City)  • Petersburg (Independent City)  • Powhatan  • Prince George  • Richmond (Independent City)
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaChesterfieldCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Chesterfield County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Chesterfield County is located in the Central portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named for Philip Dormer Stanhope, Fourth Earl of Chesterfield, a prominent English statesman who had been the Lord Lieutenant of Ireland[3].

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Chesterfield County Courthouse
9500 Courthouse Road
Chesterfield, Va 23832
Phone: 804-748-1231
Chesterfield County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records from 1771, land records from 1749, divorce, probate and court records[4]

Chesterfield County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1853 1771 1855 1746 1749 1740 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

  • Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890
  • For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Philip Stanhope, 4th Earl of Chesterfield (1694-1773)


The county was named after British statesman Philip Stanhope, 4th Earl of Chesterfield (1694-1773).[8]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Chesterfield County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 14,214
1800 14,488 1.9%
1810 9,979 −31.1%
1820 18,003 80.4%
1830 18,637 3.5%
1840 17,148 −8.0%
1850 17,489 2.0%
1860 19,016 8.7%
1870 18,470 −2.9%
1880 25,085 35.8%
1890 26,211 4.5%
1900 18,804 −28.3%
1910 21,299 13.3%
1920 20,496 −3.8%
1930 26,049 27.1%
1940 31,183 19.7%
1950 40,400 29.6%
1960 71,197 76.2%
1970 76,855 7.9%
1980 141,372 83.9%
1990 209,274 48.0%
2000 259,903 24.2%
2010 316,236 21.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1783 Enumeration

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Bethel (1799).
  2. Chesterfield (1773)[9]
  3. Salem (1794).[9]. A history is available: FHL Book 975.5 A1 no. 244. Includes a list of persons buried in the cemetery. A list of members was published in Virginia Settlers (Winter 1996): FHL Book 975.5 D2c.
  4. Skinquarter (1778)[9]
  5. Spring Creek (1790)[9]
  6. Tomahawk (1777)[9]
  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.
    Chesterfield County fell within the bounds of the Middle District Association.

Church of England
Gotoarrow.png See also Dale Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also King William Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Manchester Parish Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Chesterfield County is available online.[10]

  • Prosecution of Baptist Ministers, Chesterfield County, Va., 1771-'73. 1904. The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol 11. Online at: JSTOR.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records
Library of Virginia's Chancery Record Index can be used to search for Chesterfield County chancery records for the years 1751-1913. Originals located at the Library of Virginia.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

Bermuda Hundred has been a port since colonial times. Unfortunately, no official passenger lists survive for the seventeenth or eighteenth centuries.

  • Items from Southern Records. By Milnor Ljungstedt. The American Genealogist, Vol. 15 (1938):95-104. Showing family and trade connections with Northern Colonies and the Home Countries. Digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Virginia are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.
    During the War of 1812, American officials reported finding a total of 7 British aliens, many of whom had families, living in Manchester and Chesterfield County.[11]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.*Bannister. 604 patents dated 1638-1790 in what is now Chesterfield County, Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper, 2002. [Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Chesterfield County, Virginia, Its History and Present Condition : Prepared Under the Supervision of John B. Watkins, as Authorized by the Board of Supervisors of the County, August, 1906. 1907. By T. Bransford Cox, John B. Watkins, and Chesterfield County (Va.). Board of Supervisors. Richmond, VA : Williams Printing Co. Online at: Google Books.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Richmond (Independent City)Hopewell (Independent City)Colonial Heights (Independent City)Petersburg (Independent City)Henrico CountyCharles City CountyPrince George CountyDinwiddie CountyAmelia CountyPowhatan CountyGoochland CountyVA CHESTERFIELD.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

  • Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790. By Robert Y. Clay. The Virginia Genealogist Vol. 19, No. 3. July - Sept.1975:190-194. Online at: New England Ancestors ($), FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 B2vg. Chesterfield County's 1788 Delinquent List appears on pp. 115-116.

Military Records[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War

  • Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. By William F. Boogher. 2007. Baltimore : Genealogical Pub. Co. Online at: Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat). Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch [French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For Chesterfield County, see pp. 70, 107.]
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.
  • Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. By Lloyd DeWitt Bockstruck. 1988. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2bL. Identifies some Chesterfield County militia officers, soldier enlistments, and veterans; see place name index.

Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Washington : Blair and Rives. Online at: Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat). See Virginia, Eastern District, Chesterfield County on page 129.
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.
  • Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War: McAllister's Data. By J. T. McAllister. c1913. Hot Springs, Virginia : McAllister Pub. Co. Online at: Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat).

Regiments. Service men in Chesterfield County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Chesterfield County supplied soldiers for the:

- 5th Virginia Regiment
- 15th Virginia Regiment

War of 1812

  • Muster rolls, 1812-1813, 1861-1865. 1992. Compiled by Chesterfield County, Virginia, County Clerk. Richmond, Virginia : Virginia State Library and Archives. FHL Film 1929610 30926 Item 2
  • Roster of War of 1812, Southside, Virginia. By James L. Douthat. 2007. Signal Mountain, Tenn : Mountain Press. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press ($); At various libraries (WorldCat).
  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... 1883. Washington, D.C : Government Printing Office. Online at: Internet Archive, Google Books. See Vol. 5, Virginia, Chesterfield County, pp. 67-68.

Regiments. Chesterfield County men served in the 23rd Regiment.[12]

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men in Chesterfield County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:
*Information about the following regiments can be found FHL book 975.5594 H2L titled Chesterfield, An Old Virginia County.

- 1st Regiment, Virginia Militia Cavalry (Confederate)
- 1st Regiment, Virginia Reserves (Confederate) (Chesterfield Reserves)
- 2nd Regiment, Virginia Artillery (Confederate)
- 3rd Regiment, Virginia Light Artillery (Confederate)
- 4th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate)
- 5th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate)
- 6th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company K (Alstadt Grays).[13]
- 14th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company D (Chesterfield Central Guards) and Company I (Chester Grays) (Southern Braves).[14]

Civil War Battles
The following Civil War battles were fought in Chesterfield County.

Maps of Civil War battles in Virginia: 1861 and 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865
  • Muster rolls, 1812-1813, 1861-1865. 1992. Compiled by Chesterfield County, Virginia, County Clerk. Richmond, Virginia : Virginia State Library and Archives. FHL Film 1929610 30926 Item 2

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

A free index to Chesterfield County, Virginia Genealogy wills and administrations (-1800) is available at the Library of Virginia.

Digital Images of Chesterfield County Wills 1774 to 1785.  See names of Testators. Virginia Pioneers ($)

Digital Images  of Chesterfield County Wills 1785 to 1800.  See names of Testators. Virginia Pioneers ($)

Online Probate Indexes and Records

Digital Imagesof Chesterfield County Wills 1785 to 1800. See names of Testators. Virginia Pioneers ($)

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • 1747 Chesterfield County Tax Lists 1747 List of Tithes online at Genealogy Trails.
  • 1747-1778 Chesterfield County Tithe Lists 1747-1778 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1747-1821 Chesterfield County, Virginia Lists of Tithables and Insolvents, 1747-1821. Original records, Library of Virginia, Richmond, Virginia; also available on microfilm at FHL.
  • 1747-1821 Chesterfield County Tithables, 1747-1821. By Paul Heinegg. Free African Americans.
  • 1747-1778 Chesterfield County - the Colonial Tithe Lists 1747-1778. Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1756 Chesterfield Tithables, 1756. By J. C. Kolbe. The Southside Virginian, Vol. 2; online at Internet Archive.
  • 1756 Southside Virginia Genealogies. 2007. By John W. Pritchett. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co. Available at FHL, online at: Virginians - The Family History of John W. Pritchett. Includes annotated 1756 tithe list of Chesterfield County.
  • 1762 Chesterfield Tithables, 1762. By L. H. Hart. The Southside Virginian, Vol. 3; online at Internet Archive.
  • 1786-1811 Chesterfield County Personal Property Tax Lists 1786-1811 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1786, 1788 The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. c1987. By Netti Schreiner-Yantis and Florene Speakman Love. Springfield, Virginia : Genealogical Books in Print. At various libraries (WorldCat). Sources for this publication are the 1786 personal property tax list and a partial reading of the 1788 personal property tax list (only published names that do not appear on 1786 list). Chesterfield County is included in Vol. 2.
  • 1788 Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790. By Robert Y. Clay. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 19, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1975):190-194. FHL 975.5 B2vg; CD available at: New England Ancestors ($). These records often identify migrants who left the county and their intended destinations. Chesterfield County's 1788 Delinquent List appears on pp. 115-116.
  • 1790, 1801 Personal Property Tax Lists of Chesterfield County, Virginia 1790 and 1801. Indexed images at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1791, 1802 Personal Property Tax Lists of Chesterfield County, Virginia 1791 and 1802. Indexed images at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1800 Chesterfield County, Virginia, 1800 Tax List. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 15, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1971):254-258; Vol. 16, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1972):23-28; Vol. 16, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1972):89-95. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • 1815 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). By Roger D. Ward. c1997. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co. FHL 975 E4w. At various libraries (WorldCat). The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Chesterfield County is included in Vol. 1.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]


  • Marriage Bonds and Ministers' Returns of Chesterfield County. 1958.By Catherine Lindsay Knorr. Pine Bluff, Arkansas : n.p.

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Chesterfield County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Chesterfield County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Chesterfield County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Chesterfield County. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 7, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1963):174-176. Available at FHL, digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. Newberry
  3. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chesterfield_County,_Virginia
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Newberry
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Chesterfield_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chesterfield_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 10 January 2020.
  8. Wikipedia Contributors, "Philip Stanhope, 4th Earl of Chesterfield," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Philip_Stanhope,_4th_Earl_of_Chesterfield, accessed 12 January 2012.
  9. 9.0 9.1 9.2 9.3 9.4 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 254. Digital version at Google Books.
  10. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  11. Kenneth Scott, British Aliens in the United States During the War of 1812 (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1979), 320-333. FHL Book 973 W4s; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  12. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 68. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  13. Michael A. Cavanaugh, 6th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 43.
  14. Edward R. Crews and Timothy A. Parish, 14th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1995). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 117.
  15. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 16 August, 2012)
  16. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).
  17. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).
  18. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 16 August, 2012)
  19. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).
  20. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).