Chesterfield County, South Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Chesterfield County, South Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Chesterfield
Organized: 12 Mar 1785 [1]
Parent County(s): Cheraw District[2]
Neighboring Counties
Anson (NC)  • Darlington  • Kershaw  • Lancaster  • Lee  • Marlboro  • Union (NC)
See County Maps
Courthouse
South Carolina, Chesterfield County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Sc-chesterfield.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Philip Stanhope, 4th Earl of Chesterfield (1694-1773)

The County is located in the north central area of the state. [3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Chesterfield County Courthouse
200 West Main Street / P.O. Box 529
Chesterfield, SC 29709
Phone: 843-623-2574
Chesterfield County Website

County Pronunciation
Hear it spoken.[4]

Chesterfield County, South Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1915 1911 1915 1823 1861 1865 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1915. General compliance by 1918.


Record Loss[edit | edit source]

During the Civil War, Chesterfield's courthouse records were evacuated to Columbia, Richland County, South Carolina Genealogy where they were destroyed by fire during Sherman's Union army occupation of that city in February 1865. Deed books have suffered heavy losses.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
  • Middendorf


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Officially, Chesterfield County is named for British statesman Philip Stanhope, 4th Earl of Chesterfield (1694-1773) though some local tradition suggests that Chesterfield was named for Chesterfield County, Virginia Genealogy.[9] Learn more about the history of Chesterfield County from the South Carolina State Library or from Carolana.com.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Chesterfield County, South Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For all existing and online Federal population schedules of South Carolina, see South Carolina Census. See also USGenWeb Census Project, South Carolina, including links to transcribed files.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1800 5,216
1810 5,564 6.7%
1820 6,645 19.4%
1830 8,472 27.5%
1840 8,574 1.2%
1850 10,790 25.8%
1860 11,834 9.7%
1870 10,584 −10.6%
1880 16,345 54.4%
1890 18,468 13.0%
1900 20,401 10.5%
1910 26,301 28.9%
1920 31,969 21.6%
1930 34,334 7.4%
1940 35,963 4.7%
1950 36,236 0.8%
1960 33,717 −7.0%
1970 33,667 −0.1%
1980 38,161 13.3%
1990 38,577 1.1%
2000 42,768 10.9%
2010 46,734 9.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1800

  • Chesterfield County, South Carolina Genealogical Services and James C. Pigg. 1790 Cheraw District & 1800, 1810 Chesterfield County, S.C. Federal Census. Tega Cay, S.C.: The Services & J.C. Pigg, 1997. FHL Collection 975.7 X2c
  • King, Walter. The Second Federal Census, South Carolina, Chesterfield County. FHL Collection 975.763 X2p 1800

1810

  • Chesterfield County, South Carolina Genealogical Services and James C. Pigg. 1790 Cheraw District & 1800, 1810 Chesterfield County, S.C. Federal Census. Tega Cay, S.C.: The Services & J.C. Pigg, 1997. FHL Collection 975.7 X2c

1820

  • Thomas, Elizabeth Wood. 1820 Census, Chesterfield County, South Carolina. Pass Christian, Miss.: Willo Institute of Genealogy, 1967. FHL Collection 975.763 B4t
  • Pigg, James C. 1820 Federal Census, Chesterfield County, South Carolina. Tega Cay, S.C.: J.C. Pigg, 1996. FHL Collection 975.763 X2p 1820

1820 Manufactures
The original manufactures schedules for South Carolina are kept at the NARA, Washington, D.C. FHL copies: FHL Collection 1024517 - 1024518.

1830

  • Pigg, James C. 1830 Federal Census, Chesterfield County, South Carolina. Tega Cay, S.C.: J.C. Pigg, 1995. FHL Collection 975.763 X2p 1830

1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C.: Blair and Rives, 1841. FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840; FHL Collection 2321; digital version at Google Books. See South Carolina, Chesterfield District on page 144.

1850 Agriculture

  • Pigg, James C. 1850 Federal Agricultural Census for Chesterfield County, South Carolina. 1996. FHL Collection 975.763 X2p 1850

1850-1880 Mortality Schedules

  • Pigg, James C. Mortality Schedule, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, Chesterfield County, South Carolina, Federal Census. Tega Cay, S.C.: J.C. Pigg, 1995. FHL Collection 975.763 X2p 1850-1880

1860

  • Pigg, James C. and Chesterfield County, South Carolina Historical and Genealogical Services. 1860 Federal Census, Chesterfield County, South Carolina. Tega Cay, S.C.: Chesterfield County, S.C. Geneal. Services, J.C. Pigg, 1998. FHL Collection 975.763 X2p 1860

1870

  • Pigg, James C. and Chesterfield County, South Carolina Historical and Genealogical Services. 1870 Federal Census, Chesterfield County, South Carolina. Tega Cay, S.C.: The Services & J.C. Pigg, 1997. FHL Collection 975.763 X2f 1870

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes


Chesterfield County Churches identifies dozens of churches in the area, courtesy: South Carolina Genealogical Society.

Church of England (Anglican, Episcopal)
Gotoarrow.png See St. David's Parish.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans

Known plantations South Carolina Plantations:

  • Enfield
  • Homestead
  • Lynchwood
  • Oakland - Cheraw
  • Red Oak Woods

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

General
Surname indexes to Leonardo Andrea's Files | Folders | Resources are available online, courtesy: The Andrea Files: South Carolina Genealogical Research. Gotoarrow.png Learn more.

  • Historical Society of Chesterfield County. Book Committee. The Heritage of Chesterfield County, South Carolina. Knoxville, Tenn.: Tennessee Valley Pub., 2004. FHL 975.763 H2h

Bibliography

  • Allen - Allen--Osborn--Alley, and Connected Families, Census Records, 1850-1870. MSS., 1937. FHL Film 1597818 Item 8.
  • Blakeney - Stringer, Mildred E. Blakeney, Stringer, Ware [and] Brinson, Heidleberg, McClammy. n.p.: M.E. Stringer, 1979. FHL Book 929.273 A1 no. 2698.
  • Boan - Melton, E. Frank. Descendants of Daniel Boan, Born ca. 1765 Ireland. Hartsville, S.C.: Old Darlington District Chapter, South Carolina Genealogical Society, 2003. FHL Book 929.273 B63me.
  • Buchanan - "Alexander Henry Riley's petition for a name change [to Alexander Henry Buchanan]," The Carolina Herald and Newsletter, Vol. 33, No. 1 (Jan./Mar. 2005). FHL Book 975.7 B2c v. 33-34.
  • Bustin - Bustin, Larry. The Family History of George Washington Bustin. Laurel, Miss.: L. Bustin, 1979?. FHL Book 929.273 B969b.
  • Cochran - Cochran, Wayne E. T. Cochran Family. LaGrange, Ga.: T. Cochran, 199-. FHL Book 929.273 C643cw.
  • Eddins Rivers, Minnie Lee Sanders and Sharon F. Corey. Descendants of Nehemiah and Bedie Eddins, Chesterfield, South Carolina. Mt. Croghan, S.C.: S.F. Corey, 2000. FHL 929.273 Ed23r Originally published 1926.
  • Ellis Raymond, Charles E. Journey into the Past with Reverend John Ellis and Catherine McCraney: of Chesterfield District, South Carolina, Darlington District, South Carolina, Conecuh County, Alabama and Wilcox County, Alabama. Murrieta, Calif.: C.E. Raymond, 2006. FHL 929.273 EL59rc; digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
  • Eubanks Jay, Ella Mae Eubanks. Eubanks, a Brief Historical and Genealogical Record. Meridian, Miss.: E.M.E. Jay, 1983. FHL Book 929.273 A1 no. 3941.
  • Ford - Patillo, Edward. "Ford of the Low Country," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Reseach, Vol. 32, No. 2 (Spring 2004):63-72; Vol. 32, No. 3 (Summer 2004):133-142; Vol. 33, No. 1 (Winter 2005):44-52. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 32-33
  • Graves Graves, Kenneth Vance. Robert Graves of Anson County, N. C. and Chesterfield County, S. C., Ancestors and Descendants (ca. 1580-1979) a Branch of the Descendants of Capt. Thomas Graves, 1608 Immigrant to Jamestown, Va.; Allied Families Include Austin, Bagley, Davis, Dunn, Guy, Pyle, Reeves, Sholars, Slater, Smith, Wallis, Ward, Weisinger and Others. Baltimore, Md.: Gateway Press, 1980. FHL 929.273 G787g
  • Hendrick - Hendrix, GeLee Corley. "Benjamin Hendrick (1730-1818) of Virginia and Carolina and Some of His Descendants," The American Genealogist, Vol. 65, No. 1 (Jan. 1990):44-53. FHL 973 D25aga
  • Holifield - Daniel, Harland H. Two Hundred and One Years: This Book is Memories and History of John Holifield Family. 1972? FHL Book 929.273 H717a.
  • Hough - Geren, Emmie Hough. Hough Family (a Louisiana Family). Typescript, 1939-1952. FHL Film 1697429 Item 4; digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
  • Hough - Hough, Granville W. Some Descendants of Needham and Rebecca Hough of SC, NC, GA & AL. Laguna Hills, Calif.: G.W. Hough, 1992. FHL Book 929.273 A1 no. 7327.
  • Jackson - Garner, Linda. Our Jackson Family: Descendants of Jesse & Delilah Jackson. Box Springs, Ga.: L. Garner, 1982, 1998. FHL Book 929.273 J135g.
  • Jones Jones, Hazel Parker. The History of the Samuel Jones Family, Kershaw County, S.C. 1756-1960, Including Allied Families. Kershaw, S.C.: H.P. Jones, 1961. FHL Film 1697619 Item 5.
  • Jones Jones, Hazel Parker. Book Two of the Samuel Jones Family, Kershaw County, S.C., 1756-1979: Including Allied Families. Kershaw, S.C.: H.P. Jones, 1979. FHL Book 929.273 J725j 1979.
  • Knotts Knotts, Burton Ray. Knotts & Walrond Families of Randolph County, Arkansas. Little Rock, Ark.: B.R. Knotts, 1991. FHL Book 929.273 K759k.
  • Lowry - Wiggins, Marie Gulledge. "Lowry Family of Chesterfield Co., S.C.," Wiggins Genealogical Collection, MSS. Microfilmed 1990: FHL Film 1597762 Item 3.
  • McFarland - McFarland Family Records, 1755-1830. MSS. Microfilmed 1972: FHL Film 893741 Item 2.
  • McRae - Walker, Anne Kendrick. The Storied Kendalls; with Historical and Genealogical Records of Scottish and Allied Families. Richmond, Va.: Dietz Press, 1947. FHL Film 1321266 Item 2.
  • Murphy - Murphy, Joseph Albert. Murphy: Genealogy. 2003. FHL Book 929.273 M954mja.
  • Newman - Kewman, Kenneth L. Loose Ends: Some Newman Families. Jacksonville, Ala.: K.L. Newman, 1991? FHL Book 929.273 N462nkL.
  • Pate - Scarborough, Eleazer Pate. Pate History and Genealogy. Florence, S.C.: E.P. Scarborough, [1987?]. FHL Book 929.273 P271s.
  • Pigg - Pigg, James C. Antecedents and Descendants of Rev. Edward Pigg. Hartsville, S.C.: South Carolina Genealogical Society. Old Darlington District Chapter, 1999. FHL Book 929.273 P624p.
  • Raley - Raley, William Lindsay. The Fabric of a Family: Some Ancestors and Descendants of William Charlie Raley, Julius Goodrich Hollister, John Lindsay Lowry and Michael Miller. Winter Haven, Fla.: W.L. Raley, 1995. FHL Book 929.273 R138r.
  • Reid - Reid, John Sharp. Family History, Chesterfield County, South Carolina; Anson County, North Carolina. Typescript. Microfilmed 1971: FHL Film 873454 Item 5.
  • Riley - "Alexander Henry Riley's petition for a name change [to Alexander Henry Buchanan]," The Carolina Herald and Newsletter, Vol. 33, No. 1 (Jan./Mar. 2005). FHL Book 975.7 B2c v. 33-34.
  • Rivers Seymour, Geneva Bailey. Rivers - Eudy - Seymour. Lubbock, Texas: G.B. Seymour, 1981. FHL Book 929.273 R524s.
  • Rivers Purvis, Charles Lee and Betty Lee Johnson. Descendants of William Rivers: Born about 1718 in England; Died before 1790, Chesterfield Co., SC. Ogden, Utah: C.L. Johnson and B.L. Johnson, 1999. FHL Book 929.273 R524p
  • Rivers Purvis, Charles Lee. The Descendants of Isaac Rivers 1735-1999. Thomasville, N.C.: C.L. Purvis, 1999. FHL Book 929.273 R524pc.
  • Roberson - Derhak, Pauline McConkie, Jennis McConkie Betts and Sandra Estes Allen. John Newton Roberson, 1843-1915, and Martha Ann Davenport, 1843-1931, and Their Ancestors. 2 vols. West Valley City, Utah: Jennies Family Histories, 1998. FHL Book 929.273 R54d v. 1 - v. 2.
  • Sellers Pigg, James C. Descendants of Hardy Sellers. Hartsville, S.C.: Old Darlington District Chapter, South Carolina Genealogical Society, 2002. FHL Book 929.273 Se48pj.
  • Shelby - Johnson, Johnnie Mullinax. Rees and Mary Shelby: Ancestors & Descendants. Athens, Texas: J.M. Johnson, 1994. FHL Book 929.273 Sh43jj
  • Turnage - Turnage, Wynne Edwards. Descendants of Isaac W. Turnage [and] William George Turnage, Olean Payne Turnage, Sr. Austin, Texas: W.E. Turnage, 1999. FHL Book 929.273 T849tw.
  • Welsh - Welch, Brian E. Welch Records in Sumter District and Other Areas of South Carolina. Columbia, S.C.: B.E. Welch, 1995. FHL Book 929.273 W442wb.
  • Winfrey - Davidson, Grace Gillam. Dyonisius Oliver, Georgia's Pioneer Realtor. Newspaper clipping. Microfilmed 1960: FHL Film 209591 Item 8.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Because South Carolina was an agricultural state, many residents owned land. For earliest records, search 1) Charleston District, 2) your ancestor’s residential district, 3) neighboring districts, 4) the residential county, 5) neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. See also South Carolina Land and Property.

Online Land Indexes and Records
The following chart show where you may best expect to find land records.

Tracing Land Currently in Chesterfield County with Parent Counties and Districts [10]
Date Government Office
1868-Present Chesterfield County
1800-1865 Chesterfield District Records Lost
1785-1800 Chesterfield County Records Lost
1719-1785 Charleston District
1710-1719 Proprietary Land Grants
  • Some Chesterfield deeds may be found in Lancaster, Darlington and Marlboro counties of South Carolina, and neighboring North Carolina counites.
  • Antebellum deed books do not survive.

Conveyance Books
The earliest surviving Chesterfield County conveyance book begins in 1861 and is kept at the county courthouse. It has been microfilmed: FHL Collection 1449103

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Gardner, Miles. Further Tales of Murder and Mayhem in Lancaster, Kershaw, and Chesterfield Counties(Spartanburg, South Carolina Reprint Company Publishers, c2006), 296 pages. Book at FHL 975.7 H2gm and Other Libraries.
  • Historical Society of Chesterfield County, Book Committee. The Heritage of Chesterfield County, South Carolina(Knoxville, Tennessee Tennessee Valley Pub., c2004 ), 374 pages. Includes: county & local Histories, organizations, schools, churches and many family histories. Book at FHL 975.763 H2h and Other Libraries
  • Gregg, Alexander.History of the Old Cheraws Containing an Account of the Aborigines of the Pedee, the First White Settlements, their Subsequent Progress, Civil Changes, the Struggle of the Revolution, and the Growth of the Country Afterward, Extending from About A.D. 1730 to 1810 with Notices of Families and Sketches of Individuals (Baltimore, Maryland Genealogical Pub. Co., 1967 ), 629 pages. Book at FHL 975.7 F2g 1967

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Anson CountyUnion CountyLancaster CountyKershaw CountyLee CountyDarlington CountyMarlboro CountySC CHESTERFIELD.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to and from Chesterfield County for European settlers included:[11]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

  • "Revolutionary war pensioners, 1841," Carolinas Genealogical Society Bulletin, November 1965, Volume 2, Issue 3. Carolinas Genealogical Society Monroe, NC. FHL Collection Book 975 B2c.
  • Raymond, Charles E. Chesterfield District, South Carolina Genealogical Links and Revolutionary War Pension Data (1786-2855). Temecula, California C.E. Raymond, 2010. FHL Collection Book 975.763 D2r.

War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, South Carolina, Chesterfield County, p. 183. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men from Chesterfield County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were formed in Chesterfield County or from many of its men:

- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (Butler's) (1st Regulars), Company A (also called Company B and Beauregard Artillery)
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Artillery, Company D
- 4th Regiment, South Carolina State Troops, Company K
- 4th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Rutledge's), Company A (may have been known as Charleston Light Dragoons) and Company B (also known as the Palmetto Rangers)
- 5th Battalion, South Carolina Reserves (Brown's), Company C
- 6th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Aiken's Partisan Rangers) (1st Partisan Rangers), Company K
- 7th Battalion, South Carolina Infantry (Nelson's) (Enfield Rifles),
- Company A
- Company E
- Company F
- Company G
- 7th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry , Company H and Company I
- 8th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company B, Company C, and Company D
- 9th Battalion, South Carolina infantry (Smith's) (Pee Dee Legion), Company B, Company D, and Company E
- 9th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company F
- Garden's Company, South Carolina Light Artillery (Palmetto Light Battery)

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Historic
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Chesterfield County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.

University of South Carolina Library Catalog

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For more information and links, see South Carolina Periodicals.

  • Carolinas Genealogical Society Bulletin
  • Chesterfield District Chronicle

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Various types of records are created throughout the probate process of settling estates and property, usually after death. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, and relationships. See South Carolina Taxation for online resources and suggestions.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Chesterfield County (the earliest are dated 1866).

Extant tax records are identified in:

  • Inventory of Local Government Records in the Old Vault, Chesterfield District Chronicle, Vol. 9, No. 1 (Winter 2006).

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records created by Civil authorities. See South Carolina Vital Records for online resources and suggestions.

  • 1840-1920: The Diary of Aaron W. Knight: a Collection of Marriages and Deaths, 1840-1920, Chesterfield County, S.C., Indexed by Aaron W. Knight [12] FHL Collection WorldCat - index

Birth[edit | edit source]

State-wide birth registration did not begin until 1915. For records after 1915, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Marriage[edit | edit source]

In South Carolina, Probate Courts issued and still keep marriage licenses from 1 July 1911 to the present. Licenses were not required before 1911. In the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Statewide registration of marriages started in July, 1950. See South Carolina Vital Records for indexes and more information.

Online Marriage Records and Indexes

Death[edit | edit source]

State-wide death registration began in 1915. For information and online records, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Online Death Records and Indexes

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Chesterfield County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Chesterfield County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Libraries
Chesterfield County Library System includes the main Chesterfield County Library and four branches. Their catalog SClends is shared with the South Carolina State Library and a number of other county systems in the state. Chesterfield County Library (HQ)
Address:
119 W. Main St.
Chesterfield, SC 29709
Telephone: (843) 623-7489
Fax: (843) 623-3295 )
Hours: M-F 9:00AM-6:00PM,Sat 10:00AM-2:00PM
Website

  • Matheson Memorial Library
    Address:
    227 Huger St.
    Cheraw, SC 29520
    Telephone: (843) 537-3571
    Fax: (843) 537-1248
    Hours: M-F 9:00AM-6:00PM, Sat 10:00AM-2:00PM

  • Pageland Community Library
    Address:
    109 West Blakeney St.
    Pageland, SC 29728
    Telephone: (843) 672-6930
    Fax: (843) 672-6670
    Hours: M-F 10:00AM-6:00PM, Sat 10:00AM-2:00PM

  • McBee Depot Library
    Address:
    96 W. Pine Ave.
    McBee, SC 29101
    Telephone: (843) 335-7515
    Fax: (843) 335-6219
    Hours: T, Th 10:00AM-6:00PM

  • Fannie D. Lowry Memorial Library
    Address:
    500 N. Main St.
    Jefferson, SC 29718
    Telephone: (843) 658-3966
    (843) 658-6695
    Hours: M,W,F 12:00PM-6:00PM

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Chesterfield County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see South Carolina Societies.

  • Historical Society of Chesterfield County
    100 East Main St.
    Chesterfield, SC 29709
    843-623-9673
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  2. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Chesterfield County, South Carolina" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chesterfield County, South Carolina." accessed on the 3/27/2019
  4. Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Chesterfield County, South Carolina. Page 611-615 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 607-608.
  6. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), South Carolina .At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Chesterfield County, South Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chesterfield_County,_South_Carolina, accessed 22 December 2019.
  9. "Chesterfield County, South Carolina Carolana.
  10. Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
  11. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the Early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
  12. Knight, Aaron W., The Diary of Aaron W. Knight: a Collection of Marriages and Deaths, 1840-1920, Chesterfield County, S.C., Indexed, [S.l.: s.n., 1998?].
  13. South Carolina, Probate Court (Chesterfield County), Chesterfield County, South Carolina Original Marriage Licenses, 1911-1951, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1999-2002.
  14. Pigg, James C., Death notices from the Pageland journal of Chesterfield County, South Carolina,Tega Cay, South Carolina : J.C. and J.H. Pigg, c1996-c1997.
  15. Pigg, James C, Chesterfield County, South Carolina Death Certificates (caucasian), Tega Cay, SC: J.C. Pigg, c1996-c2000.