Cherokee County, South Carolina Genealogy

United States

South Carolina

Cherokee County

Guide to Cherokee County, South Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

South Carolina Online Genealogy Records

County Facts County seat: Gaffney Organized: February 25, 1897 Parent County(s): Spartanburg, Union, York Neighboring Counties Chester  • Cleveland (NC)  • Rutherford (NC)  • Spartanburg  • Union  • York See County Maps Courthouse Location Map Adoption This page is available for adoption

County Information

Description

The county is named for Cherokee people who historically occupied this area. The County is located in the northwest area of the state.

County Courthouse

Cherokee County Courthouse
110 Railroad Ave
Gaffney, SC 26340
Telephone: 864-487-2560
Cherokee County Website

County Pronunciation
Hear it spoken.

Cherokee County, South Carolina Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth*	Marriage	Death*	Court	Land	Probate	Census
1915	1911	1915	1897	1897	1897	1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1915. General compliance by 1918.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Parent Counties: Created from Spartanburg, Union,and York Counties February 25, 1897. County seat: Gaffney Interactive Map of South Carolina County Formation History (1790-1897) - animated maps illustrating South Carolina county boundary changes Cherokee County, South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library

Populated Places

Cities
Chesnee	Gaffney
Towns
Blacksburg	Smyrna
Unincorporated communities
Cashion Crossroads Draytonville	Macedonia State Line	Thicketty

History Timeline

Cherokee County is named for the Cherokee Nation Indians who originally inhabited much of South Carolina. After an 1895 Law required the approval of two thirds of the voters residing within the proposed county boundaries, a proponent for the creation of a new county speaking in Cherokee Township, then in York County, agreed to the name Cherokee County to curry favor from the local residents. The residents, who had been hesitant to vote for the creation of Cherokee County under the old proposed name, turned out in droves to vote for the creation of the Cherokee County. Learn more about the history of Cherokee County from the South Carolina State Library or from Carolana.com.

Resources

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Cherokee County, South Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online	Find A Grave SCGenWeb SC Tombstone Transcription Project Interment.net BillionGraves
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)	Family History Library WorldCat
List of Cemeteries in the County	Find A Grave FamilySearch Places
See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

• To view a cemetery list see; Cherokee County, South Carolina Cemeteries.
• National Cemetery Administration

Census Records

For all existing and online Federal population schedules of South Carolina, see South Carolina Census. See also USGenWeb Census Project, South Carolina, including links to transcribed files.

• 1829-1920 South Carolina, State and Territorial Censuses, 1829-1920 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index & Images

Historical populations
Census	Pop.	%±
1900	21,359	—
1910	26,179	22.6%
1920	27,570	5.3%
1930	32,201	16.8%
1940	33,290	3.4%
1950	34,992	5.1%
1960	35,205	0.6%
1970	36,791	4.5%
1980	40,983	11.4%
1990	44,506	8.6%
2000	52,537	18.0%
2010	55,342	5.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records

Cherokee County Churches identifies dozens of churches in the area, courtesy: South Carolina Genealogical Society.

Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

• Gaffney
  
  

List of Churches and Church Parishes

• FamilySearch Places
  

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans
United States African Americans African American Resources for South Carolina

• Malone, Samuel Lorenzo and Ola Copeland. Black Families in Cherokee County, South Carolina, as Taken from 1910-1920 Federal Census. Spartanburg, S.C.: Reprint, 1993. FHL Book 975.742 F2m

Known plantations, South Carolina Plantations:

• Fold
• Henry Houser House - Grover - also called The Rock House
• The Rock House - Grover - also called Henry Houser House
• Whig Hill

Genealogies

General
Surname indexes to Leonardo Andrea's Files | Folders | Resources are available online, courtesy: The Andrea Files: South Carolina Genealogical Research. Learn more.

Bibliography

• Dennard - Dennard, Norris. Dennard Heritage. Houston, Texas: Dennard Heritage Foundation, 1985. FHL Book 929.273 D418d; digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
  
• Mullinax - Mullinax, Jack D. The Mullinax Family of Northern South Carolina (York, Union and Cherokee Counties) and Southern North Carolina (Cleveland, Gaston and Lincoln Counties). Chesnee, S.C.: Chesnee Hardware, 1983. FHL 929.273 M917mj
• Whelchel - Mumford, Berniece Wynn. Thomas Chatman Whelchel, M.D., 1833-1900, the Man Who Went Down in History (Family History, of Course): and Allied Families [of] Alexander, Arbuckle, Bath, Bland, Butcher, Drerup, Farrar, Johnston, Kingery, Lugar, Maurer, McFadden, Mumford, Nagle, Olson, Paul, Sparks, Stockton, Wynn and Others. Carlsbad, N.M.: B.W. Mumford, 1978. FHL Book 929.273 W572a.
  
• Williams Williams, Johnny Lee. Descendants of Edward Williams, Sr.: of Spartanburg County, South Carolina (nowCherokee County, South Carolina). Attalla, Ala.: J.L. Williams, 2000. FHL 929.273 W67wjo

Land and Property Records

Because South Carolina was an agricultural state, many residents owned land. For earliest records, search 1) Charleston District, 2) your ancestor’s residential district, 3) neighboring districts, 4) the residential county, 5) neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. See also South Carolina Land and Property.

Online Land Indexes and Records
The following charts show where you may best expect to find land records.

Tracing Land Currently in Cherokee County with land originating in York county with Parent Counties and Districts

Date	Government Office
1897-present	Cherokee County
1868-1897	York County
1800-1868	York District
1791-1800	York County (old) Records in Pinckney District
1785-1791	York County (old) Records in Camden District
1769-1785	Camden District * **
1719-1769	Charleston District *
1710-1719	Proprietary Land Grants

• Records before 1772 may be found in North Carolina counties Tryon, Mecklenburg and Anson
  ** Some early Camden District records may be found in Kershaw County
  

Tracing Land Currently in Cherokee County with land originating in Spartanburg County with Parent Counties and Districts

Date	Government Office
1897-present	Cherokee County
1868-1897	Spartanburg County
1800-1868	Spartanburg District
1791-1800	Spartanburg County in Pinkney District
1785-1791	Spartanburg County (old) in Ninety-Six District
1769-1785	Ninety-Six District
1719-1769	Charleston District
1710-1719	Proprietary Land Grants

• Some early records may be found in North Carolina counties Anson, Mecklenburg, or Tryon

Orignial deed books are located at the Spartanburg County Courthouse. Abstracted deeds in Spartanburg County/District, South Carolina, deed abstracts, books A-T, 1785-1827 (1752-1827), A.B. Pruitt FHL Book 975.7 R28p

Tracing Land Currently in Cherokee County with property originating in Union County with Parent Counties and Districts

Date	Government Office
1897-present	Cherokee County
1868-1897	Union County
1800-1868	Union District
1791-1800	Union County in Pinkney District
1785-1791	Union County (old) in Ninety-Six District
1769-1785	Ninety-Six District
1719-1769	Charleston District
1710-1719	Proprietary Land Grants

• Some early records may be found in North Carolina counties Anson, Mecklenburg, or Tryon
• Orignial deed books are located at the Union County Courthouse.
• Abstacted deeds Union County, South Carolina deed abstracts, Brent Holcomb (Columbia, South Carolina SCMAR, 2000-c2007) FHL book 975.741 R2h 5 vols.
• Plats For State Land Grants 1784-1868 For information about the State Land Grants, see State Land Grants

Local Histories

• Gorski, Eddie L., South Carolina Confederate Widows Pension Act of 1919 for Cherokee County (S.l. s.n., c1991), 54 Leaves. Abstracts from the files in the Probate Judges Office of the Cherokee County Courthouse, Gaffney, S.C. Includes full-name index. Contains information on all Civil War soldiers and widows for cherokee county. Book at FHL 975.742 M2gand Other Libraries
• Stevens, Robert J.Captain Bill the Records and Writings of Captain William Henry Edwards (and Others), Company A, 17th Regiment, South Carolina Volunteers, Confederate States of America. (Richburg, South Carolina Chester District Genealogical Society, c1985) A History and Genealogy of Chester County, S.C. in Five Volumes. Contents: v. 1. Autobiography of Captain William Henry Edwards, his obituary, a condensed history of the seventeenth regiment including military records -- v. 2. Letters of genealogical and historical importance -- v. 3. Published writings, including obituaries, of the early 20th century -- v. 4. Genealogies of the Edwards, Culp, Edward McFadden & Robert McFadden families; a bibliography.--v. 5. Miscellaneous, Epilogue. Books 1-3 atFHL 975.747 H2s and Other Libraries

Maps and Gazetteers

Click a neighboring county
for more resources

• FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Cherokee County for European settlers included:

• Occaneechi Path pre-historic
• Lower Cherokee Traders' Path pre-historic
• Catawba and Northern Trail pre-historic
• Upper Road about 1783 (overlapped Lower Cherokee Traders' Path in Cherokee County)

Military Records

• Cherokee County - Military, SCGenWeb. Lists some names from most wars from the American Civil War to Vietnam.

Revolutionary War

• "Battle of King's Mountain diagram, 1780," Pastmaster Journal of the Mountain Empire, June 2005, Volume 2, Issue 4. Ms Shelby Ireson Edwards Bristol, VA.
• "Over Mountain Men at the Battle of Kings Mountain, 1780," Gaston County Historical Bulletin, 2003, Volume 49, Issue 2. Gaston County, North Carolina Historical Society Gastonia, NC.
• "Battle of Kings Mountain," Sandy Valley Heritage, November 2000, Volume 19, Issue 4. Big Sandy Valley Historical Society Hagerhill, KY 41222.
• "Events to Battle of Kings Mountain," Daughters of the American Revolution Magazine, August 1985, Volume 119, Issue 7. Daughters of the American Revolution Magazine Washington, D.C. FHL Collection Book 973 B2dar.
• "Battle of Cowpens," Daughters of the American Revolution Magazine, November 1973, Volume 107, Issue 9. Daughters of the American Revolution Magazine Washington, D.C. FHL Collection Book 973 B2dar.

Civil War

• 1861-1865 South Carolina Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index & Images
• 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
• 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)

Regiments. Cherokee County did not exist in the Civil War. It was created in 1897 from the counties of Spartanburg, York, and Union Counties. During the Civil War, men from the area of Cherokee County mostly would have served in various regiments recruited in those counties. Counties were called districts during the Civil War.

Other Resources

• Gorski, Eddie L., South Carolina Confederate Widows Pension Act of 1919 for Cherokee County (S.l.: s.n., c1991), 54 Leaves. Abstracts from the files in the Probate Judges Office of the Cherokee County Courthouse, Gaffney, S.C. Includes full-name index. Contains information on all Civil War soldiers and widows for cherokee county. Book at FHL 975.742 M2gand Other Libraries
• Stevens, Robert J.Captain Bill the Records and Writings of Captain William Henry Edwards (and Others), Company A, 17th Regiment, South Carolina Volunteers, Confederate States of America. (Richburg, South Carolina Chester District Genealogical Society, c1985) A History and Genealogy of Chester County, S.C. in Five Volumes. Contents: v. 1. Autobiography of Captain William Henry Edwards, his obituary, a condensed history of the seventeenth regiment including military records -- v. 2. Letters of genealogical and historical importance -- v. 3. Published writings, including obituaries, of the early 20th century -- v. 4. Genealogies of the Edwards, Culp, Edward McFadden & Robert McFadden families; a bibliography.--v. 5. Miscellaneous, Epilogue. Books 1-3 atFHL 975.747 H2s and Other Libraries
• Cherokee County - Military, SCGenWeb

Newspapers

• 1800s-1999 Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry ($)

Historic
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Cherokee County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.

• Blacksburg Times (Blacksburg, S.C.) 1965-1968.
• Blacksburg Times and Cherokee Report (Blacksburg, S.C.) 1968-1972.
• Blacksburg Times and Cherokee Tribune (Blacksburg, S.C.) 1972-current.
• Gaffney Carolinian (Gaffney City, S.C.) 1881-1884.
• Gaffney City Trade Review (Gaffney, S.C.) 18??-1???.
• The Blacksburg News (Spartanburg, S.C.) 1953-1954.
• The Cherokee News (Gaffney, S.C.) 1903-1919.
• The Cherokee Times (Gaffney, S.C.) 1922-1930.
• The Gaffney Ledger (Gaffney, S.C.) 1907-current.
• The Ledger (Gaffney City, S.C.) 1896-1907.
• The Weekly Ledger (Gaffney City, S.C.) 1894-1896.

University of South Carolina Library Catalog

• Historical Newspapers of South Carolina at University of South Carolina Libraries - not complete

Current

• The Gaffney Ledger (Gaffney, S.C.) Online edition.

Periodicals

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For more information and links, see South Carolina Periodicals.

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For this county, see:

• Eswau Huppeday. FHL Book 975.6 D25e.
  

Probate Records

Various types of records are created throughout the probate process of settling estates and property, usually after death. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

• 1897-1915 Cherokee County Will Book 1897-1915: with every name index of persons listed in the wills. Microfilm of originals loaned by Malinda Poole of Gaffney, South Carolina. Family History Library
• 1894-1962 Cherokee County WIll Books 1-6 ca. 1894-1962: with every name index of persons listed in the wills. Microfilm of originals loaned by Malinda Poole of Gaffney, South Carolina. Family History Library
• Abstracts of Cherokee County, will book 1: from the files in the Probate Office in the Cherokee County Court House, Gaffney, S.C. Family History Library
• 1670-1980 South Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1670-1980 at Ancestry.com — index and images ($)
• 1671-1977 South Carolina Probate Records, Bound Volumes, 1671-1977 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Images Only
• 1732-1964 South Carolina Probate Records, Files and Loose Papers, 1732-1964 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Images Only
• 1782-1866 South Carolina, Will Transcripts 1782-1866 at Findmypast — index, ($) — $, index

Social Security Records

• 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch — How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
• 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007

Tax Records

Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, and relationships. See South Carolina Taxation for online resources and suggestions.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

• South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Cherokee County.
  

Vital Records

Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records created by Civil authorities. See South Carolina Vital Records for online resources and suggestions.

Birth

State-wide birth registration did not begin until 1915. For records after 1915, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

• 1766-1900 South Carolina, Delayed Birth Certificates, 1766-1900 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index & Images
• 1915-1917 South Carolina, U.S., Births, 1915-1917 at Ancestry - index & images ($)

Marriage

In South Carolina, Probate Courts issued and still keep marriage licenses from 1 July 1911 to the present. Licenses were not required before 1911. In the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Statewide registration of marriages started in July, 1950. See South Carolina Vital Records for indexes and more information.

Online Marriage Records and Indexes

• South Carolina Confederate Widows Pension Act of 1919 for Cherokee County by Eddie L. Gorski FHL Collection WorldCat - index
  
• 1892-1911 South Carolina Proof of Marriages Prior to July 1, 1911 for Cherokee County by Eddie L. Gorski FHL Collection WorldCat - abstract
  
• 1911-1952 Cherokee County, South Carolina Proofs of Marriage, 1892-1940; Marriage Registers & Indexes, July 1911-Dec. 1952 FHL Collection - index and records
  
• 1911-1950 Cherokee County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, July 1911-1950 FHL Collection - records
  
• There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found insome counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Death

State-wide death registration began in 1915. For information and online records, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Deaths - Indexes and Records

• 1816-1990 South Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1816-1990 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index
• 1821-1969 South Carolina, U.S., Death Records, 1821-1969 at Ancestry - index & images ($)
• 1915-1943 South Carolina, Deaths, 1915-1943 at MyHeritage - index & images ($)
• 1915-1965 South Carolina Deaths, 1915-1965 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index & Images
• State-wide South Carolina Death Indexes. There are several online death indexes covering all of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Research Facilities

Archives

Listed below are archives in Cherokee County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

• Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
• FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
  

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

• Forest City North Carolina Family History Center
• Gaffney South Carolina Family History Center
• Gastonia North Carolina Family History Center
• Spartanburg South Carolina Family History Center
• York South Carolina Family History Center

• Union County Carnegie Library - an affiliate library

Libraries

Listed below are libraries in Cherokee County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Cherokee County Public Library

• Main Branch
  300 East Rutledge Avenue
  Gaffney, South Carolina 29340
  Telephone: (864) 487-2711
  FAX: (864) 487-2752 (fax)
  Email: cherokeelib@spiritcom.net
  Website
  Hours: Monday to Thursday 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.. Friday.9am to 5 p.m., Saturday 9 a.m . to 4 p.m.
  
  The library has a genealogy/local history room that is open all hours that the main library is open. It is staffed from 10:00 AM-2:00 PM Monday-Friday by a genealogy assistant. They carry census records, microfilm copies of the longest-standing local paper, The Gaffney Ledger, dating back to its inception in 1894, an extensive Cherokee County collection (including family histories, cemetery records, church records, and plenty of other sources), DAR references, as well as South Carolina records and some out-of-state information.
  
  The Heritage Room contains materials relating to the people and history of Cherokee County, South Carolina and other areas. The collection consists of books, pamphlets, census records, microfilm, newspapers, church and family records. Materials in the Heritage Room collection are unique, costly to replace or irreplaceable. When the room is not staffed it will be unavailable to the public.
  
  Heritage Room hours beginning Tuesday, February 1, 2011 are: Monday to Thursday 10:00 am to 2:00 pm and 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm, Friday 10:00 am to 2:00 pm, Saturday 10:00 am to 12:00 pm
  
  The library itself offers access to two online genealogy databases, Heritage Quest and Ancestry Library. Heritage Quest is available remotely to Cherokee County Public Library card holders. Their catalog is online.
  
  
• Blacksgurg Branch
  201 S Rutherford Street
  Blacksburg, South Carolina 29702
  Telephone: (864) 839-2630
  FAX: (864) 839-2572
  Hours: Monday to Thursday 10 a.m. to 6 p.m., Friday 10 a. m. to 5 p. m.

Museums

Cherokee County History & Arts Museum
Address:
301 College Drive
Gaffney, S.C. 29340
Telephone: 864-489-3988
Located on the 1812 mustering ground of the South Carolina Militia and the site of the historic Central School building, the Cherokee County History & Arts Museum is also home to the offices of its governing body, the Cherokee Historical & Preservation Society. Phase I of the facility opened in May 2008 and renovations are currently underway on Phases II and III of the building. Upon completion, the History & Arts Museum will house over 20,000sq. feet of exhibits, meeting spaces, and educational resources for Cherokee County residents and visitors.Website

• The Cherokee Historical & Preservation Society seeks to preserve historical sites in the county. Their email is: chaps@cherokeecountyhistory.org
  

Societies

Listed below are societies in Cherokee County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see South Carolina Societies.

• Cherokee Historical and Preservation Society
  301 College Drive
  Gaffney, SC 29340
  864-489-3988
  E-mail: chaps@cherokeecountyhistory.org
  Website Facebook

Websites

• Cherokee County, South Carolina Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
• Cherokee County, SCGenWeb.
• Cherokee County Genealogy Trails
• FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides

• South Carolina Archives Summary Guide: Cherokee County, available online, courtesy: South Carolina Department of Archives and History.

This website requires a paid subscription for full access.

FamilySearch affiliate libraries may have access to center-only databases, but do not always have all services normally provided by a family history center.