Charlottesville (Independent City), Virginia Genealogy
Guide to Charlottesville, Virginia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|— Independent City —|
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The City of Charlottesville is located in the West-Central portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named in honor of Princess Charlotte, who became queen of England when she married King George III in 1761.
Courthouse[edit | edit source]
For additional records, see Albemarle County.
History[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Indexes (1889-1939) and images (1889-1926) to Charlottesville, Virginia Chancery Records are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. These records, often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.
Immigration[edit | edit source]
During the War of 1812, American officials reported finding one British alien living in Charlottesville.
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Civil War records for Charlottesville were kept by the city.
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1855-1880 - Jeffersonian Republican (Charlottesville, Va.) at Genealogy Bank ($).
Occupations[edit | edit source]
- Cutten, George Barton. The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, Incorporated, 1952. Available at FHL. [Includes a section on Charlottesville silversmiths.]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1785-1940 Virginia Marriages, 1785-1940 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index; Also at: MyHeritage ($)
- 1785-1940 Virginia, Select Marriages, 1785-1940 at Ancestry.com ($) — index
- 1888-1929 Virginia Marriages 1851-1929 (Ancestry) ($).
Death[edit | edit source]
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- "Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index Availability," Library of Virginia (accessed 26 January 2010).
- Kenneth Scott. British Aliens in the United States During the War of 1812. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1979, 320-333. FHL Collection 973 W4s; digital version at Ancestry ($).