Charlotte County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Charlotte County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Charlotte
Organized: 01 Mar 1765
Parent County(s): Lunenburg
Neighboring Counties
Appomattox  • Campbell  • Halifax  • Lunenburg  • Mecklenburg  • Prince Edward
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaCharlotteCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Charlotte County Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Charlotte County is located in the south-central portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named for Queen Charlotte, wife of King George III of Great Britain.[1]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Charlotte County Courthouse
115 David Bruce Ave / PO Box 127
Charlotte Courthouse, VA 23923
Phone: 434-542-5600
Charlotte County Website

County Clerk has birth and death records 1853-1870, marriage, probate court and land records from 1765 and divorce records[2]

Charlotte County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1853 1765 1853 1765 1765 1765 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

  • Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]

Towns
Unincorporated communities


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

The county was named after Queen Charlotte (1744-1818), queen consort of King George III of the United Kingdom (1738-1820).

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Charlotte County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 10,078
1800 11,912 18.2%
1810 13,161 10.5%
1820 13,290 1.0%
1830 15,252 14.8%
1840 14,595 −4.3%
1850 13,955 −4.4%
1860 14,471 3.7%
1870 14,513 0.3%
1880 16,653 14.7%
1890 15,077 −9.5%
1900 15,343 1.8%
1910 15,785 2.9%
1920 17,540 11.1%
1930 16,061 −8.4%
1940 15,861 −1.2%
1950 14,057 −11.4%
1960 13,368 −4.9%
1970 11,551 −13.6%
1980 12,266 6.2%
1990 11,688 −4.7%
2000 12,472 6.7%
2010 12,586 0.9%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1782 Enumeration

1782-1785, 1790

  • Heads of families at the first census of the United States taken in the year 1790, Virginia : records of the state enumerations: 1782 to 1785. Online at FamilySearch Digital Library.

1850
Census takers uncharacteristically recorded the birth town or county of residents this census year.[6]

1860
Census takers uncharacteristically recorded the birth town or county of residents this census year.[6]

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

  • Baptisms and Burials, Church of Our Saviour Parish Register, Charlottesville, Virginia. By Sharon B. Hamner. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 23, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1979):83-87; Vol. 23, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1979):175-177. FHL, online at: American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Ash Camp (1803).[7] Church minutes (1813-1870) have been filmed: FHL Film 30816. Cemetery database at Find A Grave. (487+ graves).
  2. Cubb Creek aka Cub Creek (1771)[7]. A history was published in 1967: Virginia Baptist Register, Issue 6 (1967).
  3. Midway. Meeting minutes and membership lists (1833-1867) have been filmed: FHL Film 986448.
  4. Mossingford (1785)[7]
  5. Sandy Creek (1785)[7]
  6. Staunton River (1804)[7]
  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.
    Charlotte County fell within the bounds of the Appomattox Association, the Meherrin Association, and the Roanoke Association.

Church of England
Gotoarrow.png See also Cornwall Parish Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Charlotte County is available online.[8]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

County Court
Online Court Indexes and Records

Chancery Court

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Virginia are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.
    During the War of 1812, American officials reported finding a total of 1 British alien living in Charlotte County.[9]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

  • Bouldin, Powhatan. The Old Trunk, or, Sketch of Colonial Days. 2nd ed. Danville, Va.: Blair & Boatwright, Printers, 1896. FHL Film 30775; digital versions at Google Books; Internet Archive.
  • Charlotte County Heritage Book Committee. The Heritage of Charlotte County, Virginia 1765-2007. Waynesville, N.C.: County Heritage, 2007. FHL Collection 975.565 H2h
  • Priddy, A.S. and Walter M. Priddy. Notes of Some of the Old Families on the Head Waters of Roanoke and Twitty's Creek and the Keysville Section of Charlotte County. Typescript, abt. 1910. Copy: FHL Film 1036740 Item 3; digital version at USGenWeb Archives.
  • Pritchett, John W. Southside Virginia Genealogies. CD-ROM. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. Free online index, courtesy: Virginians - The Family History of John W. Pritchett. [Includes a great deal of information about residents of Charlotte County, see discussion of cited sources.] FHL US/CAN CD-ROM no. 3887.
  • Steltzner, Mildred White, Virginia Frances Jordan Bloomfield and Fort Wayne Public Library. Hunting for Ancestors by Mildred W. Steltzner: A Genealogy Column in the Charlotte Gazette, Drakes Branch, Virginia. 3 vols. Fort Wayne, Ind.: Allen County Public Library, 1977-1978. FHL Collection 975.565/D1 B3s

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Charlotte County, Virginia: Historical, Statistical, and Present Attractions. 1907. By John Cullen Carrington. n.p. : Hermitage Press. Online at: [100137 FamilySearch Digital Library], Google Books.
  • Lang Syne. 1972. By Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities - Charlotte County Branch. n.p. : n.p. Online at: FamilySearch Online Books.
  • Mulberry Hill and the Family : Presented at the Annual Meeting of the Charlotte County Branch Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities, Held at Mulberry Hill on October 2, 1976. 1976. By Frances Barksdale Lynn. n.p. : n.p. Online at: Online Books.
  • The Old Trunk, or, Sketches of Colonial Days. 1888. By Powhatan Bouldin. Richmond, VA : Andrews, Baptist & Clemmitt, Steam Printers. Online at: Internet Archive, Second Edition 1896 Hathitrust, Google Books.

Historic Residences

  • Distinguished Descendants of Colonel Clement Read and Bushy Forest and Other Charlotte County Homes of the Early Reads: Two Addresses. 1932. By J.D. Eggleston. n.p. : n.p. Collection with index and images at Ancestry ($).

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Appomattox CountyPrince Edward CountyLunenburg CountyMecklenburg CountyHalifax CountyCampbell CountyVA CHARLOTTE.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Detail View of Charlotte County
The Library of Congress, American Memory website contains two beautifully detailed maps of Charlotte County from the 1860's. Both show rivers, creeks, and some landowners names. Viewable online or downloadable in jpeg2000 format.

Migration[edit | edit source]

  • Emigration to Other States from Southside Virginia. 1966. By Katherine B. Elliott. South Hill, Virginia : K.B. Elliott. 2 Vols. FHL Collection contains Vol. 1 of original edition, FHL Collection contains 1983 reprint, FHL Collection contains 1990-1992 reprints. This book includes individuals who migrated out of Charlotte County to other parts of the country.
  • Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790. By Robert Y. Clay. The Virginia Genealogist Vol. 19, No. 3. July - Sept.1975:190-194. Online at: New England Ancestors ($), FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 B2vg. These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. Charlotte County's 1787-1788 Delinquent Lists appear on 20:31-34; the 1789 Delinquent List appears on 21:118.

Military Records[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War

  • Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. By Lloyd DeWitt Bockstruck. 1988. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2bL.

Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Washington : Blair and Rives. Online at: Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat). See Virginia, Eastern District, Charlotte County on page 129.
  • Charlotte County, Virginia : Revolutionary Officers and Soldiers. 1921. The William and Mary Quarterly. Online at: JSTOR.
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.
  • Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War: McAllister's Data. By J. T. McAllister. c1913. Hot Springs, Virginia : McAllister Pub. Co. Online at: Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat).

Regiments. Service men in Charlotte County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Charlotte County supplied soldiers for the:

- 4th Virginia Regiment
- 14th Virginia Regiment (10th Company)[10]

Colonial Militia

  • Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. By Lloyd DeWitt Bockstruck. 1988. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2bL. Identifies some Charlotte County militia officers 1767-1774; see place name index.

War of 1812
Charlotte County men served in the 26th Regiment.[11]

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Charlotte County, p. 67.]
  • Roster of War of 1812, Southside, Virginia. By James L. Douthat. 2007. Signal Mountain, Tenn : Mountain Press. Mountain Press provides online surname list. At various libraries (WorldCat).

Civil War

Regiments. Charlotte County men most often served in regiments (and companies) from their home county. At times, however, individuals and small groups can be found serving in regiment from neighboring counties. Later in the war, Confederate units often reorganized.
Men from Charlotte County can be found in the following regiments:

- 1st Regiment, Virginia Infantry Reserves (Confederate). Company B (Home Guard)
- 2nd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company K (Albemarle Light Horse)
- 14th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company B (Charlotte Cavalry).[12]
- 18th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company K (Charlotte Rifles).[13]
- 21st Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Red House Volunteers).[14]
- 22nd Battalion, Virginia Infantry (Confederate)
- 23rd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company K (Keysville Guards).[15]
- 44th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company G (Randolph Guard) - Page 227 of FHL book 975.565 H2a only casually mentions this regiment. Therefore, it is possible that only its commander was from Charlotte County.
- 56th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Companies G (Charlotte Defenders) and I (Charlotte Grays).[16]
- Staunton Hill, Virginia Artillery (Confederate), was formed, equipped and initially commanded by Captain Charles Bruce and later commanded by Captain A. B. Paris. This company is reported as having been composed of three sections, 1st, 2nd, 3rd with the 3rd section serving in North Carolina while the other two served in Savannah, Georgia. Further into the war, possibly became Co. B, 2nd Regiment, Virginia Artillery and much later possibly Company B, 22nd Battalion Virginia Infantry.
- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Artillery 10th Regiment Volunteers-1st Artillery, Company C
  • Information about the history of the companies from Charlotte County can be found in:
-Charlotte County, Rich Indeed, pp. 222-249 and muster rolls on pp. 476-484 FHL book 975.565 H2a
- Muster roll for Charlotte County on microfilm FHL film 1939964 item 1
-A Guide to Virginia Military Organizations 1861-1865, FHL book 975.5 M2vr v. 29


Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in Charlotte County.

Maps of Civil War battles in Virginia: 1861, 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • 1782-1813 Charlotte County Personal Property Tax Lists 1782-1813 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1782-1813 Charlotte County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1813. By Paul Heinegg. Online at: Free African Americans.
  • 1782 Charlotte County, Virginia 1782 Tax List; index online at Rays Place.
  • 1782 Charlotte County, Virginia 1782 Tax List online at Genealogy Trails.
  • 1783 Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783; index online at Revolutionary War Service website.
  • 1790, 1800 Indexed images of the 1790 and 1800 Personal Property Tax Lists of Charlotte County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). By Roger D. Ward. c1997. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co. FHL 975 E4w. At various libraries (WorldCat). The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Charlotte County is included in Vol. 2.
  • Charlotte County, Virginia, 1800 Tax List. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 15, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1971):110-116; Vol. 15, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1971):166-173. Available at FHL; online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790. By Robert Y. Clay. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 19, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1975):190-194. FHL 975.5 B2vg; CD available at: New England Ancestors ($). These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. Charlotte County's 1787-1788 Delinquent Lists appear on 20:31-34; the 1789 Delinquent List appears on 21:118.
  • The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. By Netti Schreiner-Yantis and Florene Speakman Love. c1987. Springfield, Virginia : Genealogical Books in Print. At various libraries (WorldCat). The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Charlotte County is included in Vol. 1.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Beth Fridley has published birth records through the following Ancestry index collections ($):

Marriage[edit | edit source]

  • Beware of the Charlotte County, Virginia, Marriage Bonds: The Featherston Family. By Margaret T. Macdonald. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 23, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1979):3-7. Available at FHL; online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Charlotte County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Charlotte County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Charlotte County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Charlotte County. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 7, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1963):115-117. Available at FHL, online at: American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).

References[edit | edit source]

  1. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charlotte_County,_Virginia
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. VA Historical Boundary Changes- list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Charlotte_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charlotte_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 8 January 2020.
  6. 6.0 6.1 Alycon Trubey Pierce, "In Praise of Errors Made by Census Enumerators," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 81, No. 1 (March 1993):51-55. FHL Book 973 B2ng
  7. 7.0 7.1 7.2 7.3 7.4 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 272. Digital version at Google Books.
  8. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  9. Kenneth Scott, British Aliens in the United States During the War of 1812 (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1979), 320-333. FHL Book 973 W4s; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  10. 1978. E.M. Sanchez-Saavedra, A Guide to Virginia Military Organizations in the American Revolution, 1774-1787 Richmond, Va. : Virginia State Library, 71. FHL Book 975.5 M2s.
  11. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 67. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  12. Robert J. Driver, 14th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 47.
  13. James I. Robertson, 18th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1984). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 12.
  14. Susan A. Riggs, 21st Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1991). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 72.
  15. Thomas M. Rankin, 23rd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 14.
  16. William A. Young Jr. and Patricia C. Young, 56th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 63.
  17. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).