Charles City County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Charles City County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Charles City
Organized: 1634[1]
Parent County(s): Original
Neighboring Counties
Chesterfield  • Henrico  • Hopewell (Independent City)  • James City  • New Kent  • Prince George  • Surry
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaCharlesCityCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Charles City County Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Charles City County is located in the East-Central portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named for the English King's son, Charles, who later became King Charles I[2].

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Charles City County Courthouse
10780 Courthouse Road
Charles City, Virginia 23030
Phone: 804-652-2105
Charles City County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has birth, marriage, death and probate and land records[3]

Charles City County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1865 1762 1865 1650 1655 1655 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Charles City County has suffered heavy record loss, especially during the American Civil War, 1861-1865. Only a few pre-Civil War deed books, will books, minute books, or order books still exist.

  • Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890
  • Visit the Library of Virginia's website to determine exactly what records have been lost and their Lost Records Localities Database to find additional resources.
  • For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
  • Burned County Data 1809-1848 As Found in the Virginia Contested Election Files. 1986. By Benjamin B. Weisiger. Richmond, VA : n.p. FHL Book 975.5 P2w.[5]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Charles I, King of England, from Three Angles, the Triple Portrait. Artist: Anthony van Dyck

Charles City County Virginia History

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Charles City County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 5,588
1800 5,365 −4.0%
1810 5,186 −3.3%
1820 5,255 1.3%
1830 5,500 4.7%
1840 4,774 −13.2%
1850 5,200 8.9%
1860 5,609 7.9%
1870 4,975 −11.3%
1880 5,512 10.8%
1890 5,066 −8.1%
1900 5,040 −0.5%
1910 5,253 4.2%
1920 4,793 −8.8%
1930 4,881 1.8%
1940 4,275 −12.4%
1950 4,676 9.4%
1960 5,492 17.5%
1970 6,158 12.1%
1980 6,692 8.7%
1990 6,282 −6.1%
2000 6,926 10.3%
2010 7,256 4.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Charles City (1776)[8]
  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.
    Charles City County fell within the bounds of the Dover Association.
  • History of Elam Baptist Church [1810-1910], Charles City Co., VA. Reformer Electric Print, 1910.
  • History of Mount Pleasant Baptist Church, Charles City County, Virginia. 1976. By L. McCarthy Downs.

Church of England
Gotoarrow.png See also Bristol Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Charles City Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Chickahominy Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Jordan's Journey Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Martin's Brandon Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Smith's Hundred Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Southampton Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Wallingford Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also West and Shirley Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Westover Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Weyanoke Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Wilmington Parish Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Charles City County is available online.[9]

  • Colonial Churches of Tidewater Virginia. 1945. By George Carrington Mason. Richmond, Virginia: Whittet & Shepperson, County.]
  • The Colonial Churches of Charles City County, Virginia. The William and Mary Quarterly, Second Series, Vol. 22, No. 2 (Apr. 1942):114-135. Available at JSTOR ($).

Methodist

  • In This Place I Delivered My Soul: The Methodists of Charles City, Virginia. 1995. By Judith F. Ledbetter. Charles City, Virginia : Memorial United Methodist Church.

Presbyterian

  • A History of Bethany Presbyterian Church, Charles City County, Virginia. 1990. By Louise Adams Walls, William Elmer Cropper, and Robert Lee Marston. n.p.: Committee for the Preparation of a Church History.

Quaker
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

  • Weyanoke Monthly Meeting (1699-1841) aka James Howard's aka Old Man's Neck[10]
  • 1739-1793 Quaker Records of Cedar Creek Monthly Meeting, Virginia, 1739-1793 by Mary Marshall Brewer. Colonial Roots, Lewes, DE., 2002. FHL Book 975.5462 K2b. *A religious petition (1793) from Quaker residents of Charles City County, Virginia is available online in Early Virginia Religious Petitions, courtesy: The Library of Congress: American Memory.
  • Excerpts from the Charles City County Records (1665-1666). The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 42, No. 4 (Oct. 1934):341-344; Vol. 43, No. 2 (Apr. 1935):144-149; Vol. 43, No. 4 (Oct. 1935):347-354. Available at: JSTOR ($).
  • Quaker Records of Henrico Monthly Meeting and Other Church Records of Henrico, New Kent and Charles City Counties, Virginia. 2002. By F. Edward Wright. Lewes, Delaware : Colonial Roots.

Petition

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

General

  • Cope, Robert S. "The Court of Charles City County, Virginia, 1688-1695," Thesis/dissertation, Ohio State University, 1947.

County Court

  • 1650; 1672-1673; 1677-1679; 1685; 1687-1695 Orders Virginia Pioneers ($).
  • 1655-1658 Charles City County Court Orders, 1655-1658. 1961. By Beverley Fleet. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Company. FHL, online at: Ancestry ($).
  • 1658-1661 Charles City County Court Orders, 1658-1661. 1961. By Beverley Fleet. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Company. FHL, online at: Ancestry ($).
  • 1661-1664 Charles City County Court Orders, 1661-1664. 1961. By Beverley Fleet. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Company. FHL, online at: Ancestry ($).
  • 1664-1665 Charles City County Court Orders, 1664-1665: Fragments, 1650-1696. 1961. By Beverley Fleet. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Company. FHL, online at: Ancestry ($).
  • 1676-1679 Charles City County, Virginia, Order Book 1676-1679. 1968. By Margaret McNeill Ayres. Memphis, Tennessee : n.p. Online at: Internet Archive.
  • 1680, 1687-1695 Excerpts from Charles City County, Virginia, Court Orders, 1687-1695: With a Fragment of a Court Order Book for the Year 1680. By Benjamin B. Weisiger. Online at Earlham College Libraries.
  • 1689-1690, 1737-1761 Charles City County, Virginia, Records, 1737-1774. 1986. By Benjamin B. Weisiger. Includes Court Order Books 1737-1761; 1689-1690 Genealogy Resources. Free surname index.
  • 1725-1731 Charles City County, Virginia, 1725-1731. 1984. By Benjamin B. Weisiger. Online at: Genealogy Resources. Free surname index.
  • 1762-1764 Charles City County Court Record, 1762-1764, Wills, Deed and Bond. By Russell H. Anderson. The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 59, No. 1 (Jan. 1951):103-107. Available at JSTOR ($). Copy of lost records found in the Western Reserve Historical Society, Cleveland, Ohio.
  • 1784, 1799-1800 Charles City County, Virginia, Reports of the County Clerk to the Auditor, 1784, 1799-1800. By Robert Y. Clay. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 21, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1977):83-88. Available at American Ancestors ($).
  • 1789-1808 Inventories and Guardian Accounts
  • Charles City County, Virginia, Miscellaneous Records. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 14, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1970):178-184. Available at American Ancestors ($). Includes remnants of court, guardianship, land, and probate found in the Earl Gregg Swem Library of the College of William and Mary.

Petitions
Petitions are valuable to genealogical research because they were often signed by residents of the locality and provide researchers with a glimpse of who lived in the area at the time. Some lists include hundreds of names.

  • Charles City County Grievances 1676. The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 3, No. 2 (Oct. 1895):132-160. Available at JSTOR ($).
  • Petition of Inhabitants of Charles City County 16 November 1710. By Eric Grundset. Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol.47, No.3 (Aug. 2009):213-214.

Record Book

  • Excerpts from the Charles City County Records (1665-1666). The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 43, No. 4 (Oct. 1935):347-354. Available at JSTOR ($)

Chancery Court

  • Library of Virginia's Chancery Record Index includes digital images of Charles City County's chancery records for the years 1758-1912.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. [Includes wills of residents of Charles City County, St. Martin Brandon [Martin's Brandon Parish], and West and Shirley Hundred proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]
  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Charles City County, Virginia (work in progress), courtesy: Immigrant Servants Database.
  • Parkers of Browsholme, Yorkshire, England, The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 5, No. 4 (Apr. 1898):442-444. Available at JSTOR ($). See also Three Richard Parkers of Va. : Dr. Richard Parker of Charles City Co. & Henrico Co., Va., Aug. 1656 md. Mary Perkins, wid./Nicholas; Richard Parker of Nansemund Co., Va.; Richard Parker of Surry, md. Judith Hunt, wid./Wm. Hunt. Available at: FHL.

During the War of 1812, American officials reported finding a total of 1 British alien living in Charles City County.[11]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American
Paul Heinegg has determined that in 1790, Charles City County, Virginia had the highest percentage of free African Americans in its population, per capita, where that statistic can be measured, of all Virginia counties (14.8% of the population or 363 free blacks).[12]

Native Americans
The Men Heyricks Tribe, Nottoways Tribe, and Appamattox Tribe lived in the area in the late 1600s.[13]

  • Excerpts from the Charles City County Records (1665-1666). The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 43, No. 4 (Oct. 1935):347-354. Available at JSTOR ($).

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

  • Boddie, John Bennett. Southside Virginia Families. 2 vols. 1955-1956; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1976. FHL Book 975.5 D2bs 1976-1996 v. 1-v. 2.
  • Davis, Virginia Lee Hutcheson. Tidewater Virginia Families: A Magazine of History and Genealogy. 12 vols. Urbanna, Virginia: V.L.H. Davis, 1992-2004. FHL Collection
  • Foley, Louise Pledge Heath. Early Virginia Families Along the James River, Their Deep Roots and Tangled Branches. 3 vols. Richmond, Va.: L.P.H. Foley, 1974-1990. FHL Book 975.5 R2f v. 1-v. 3. Volume 2 includes Charles City County families (see also Vol. 1).
  • Harrison, Francis Burton and Fairfax Harrison. Aris Sonis Focisque; Being a Memoir of an American Family, the Harrisons of Skimino: and Particularly of Jesse Burton Harrison and Burton Norvell Harrison. New York: De Vinne Press, 1910. Digital version at Internet Archives. Discusses the Harrisons, Jordans, Bates, Burtons, Hudsons, Whitlockes and Bacons were landowners in the adjoining counties of York, James City and Charles City and across the James River in Nansemond, from the middle of seventeenth century, and later in Henrico and all were of purely English stock.
  • Heinegg, Paul. Free African Americans of Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Maryland and Delaware. 2005-present. - free online book. Heinegg identifies the following free African American surnames in Charles City County before 1820: Ampey, Anderson, Atkins, Barham (see introduction), Bates, Bowman, Bowser, Bradby, Brown, Bragby, Carsey, Carter, Cary, Charity, Chavis, Colley, Corney, Cumbo, Elliott, Evans, Fields, Gibson, Goeing, Gowen, Grantum, Green, Griffin, Hamlin, Harris, Hill, Homes, Hood, Humbles, Hunt, Jasper, Lewis, Kecatan, King, Lucie, Marshall, Miles, Morris, Moss, Redcross, Reed, Rosarran, Scott, Seldon, Smith, Stewart, Stringer, Sweat, Thomas, Toney, Valentine, Wallace, Willis, and Young.
  • Lawrence-Dow, Elizabeth. Autographs of 65 Gentlemen Justices, Militia Officers and Members of the Grand Jury from Charles City/Prince George and Surry counties Who Signed an Oath of Loyalty to Protestant King William III of England in March 1701/2. Richmond, Va.: Dietz Press, 1976. FHL Book 975.5 P4L. [Includes biographies of Charles City County men.]
  • McCartney, Martha W. Virginia Immigrants and Adventurers 1607-1635: A Biographical Dictionary. Baltimore, Maryland: Genealogical Pub. Co., 2007. FHL Collection; purchase at Genealogical Publishing Company.
  • Pritchett, John W. Southside Virginia Genealogies. CD-ROM. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. Free online index, courtesy: Virginians - The Family History of John W. Pritchett. [Includes a great deal of information about residents of Charles City County, see discussion of cited sources.] FHL US/CAN CD-ROM no. 3887. Purchase at Virginians.com.
  • Virginia Cousins : A Study of the Ancestry and Posterity of John Goode of Whitby (A Virginia Colonist of the Seventeenth Century, with Notes upon Related Families, a Key to Southern Genealogy and a History of the English Surname Gode, Goad, Goode or Good from 1148 to 1887). 1887. By G. Brown Goode. Richmond, VA : J. W. Randolph & English. Online at: Hathitrust.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Deeds

  • 1763-1774 Charles City County, Virginia, Records, 1737-1774. 1986. By Benjamin B. Weisiger. Includes deeds 1763-1774 Genealogy Resources. Free surname index.
  • Articles of Agreement Between William Byrd, Esq. of Charles City and John Caldwell of Brunswick County, Virginia [17 Jan 1743], MSS., Carmen Finley Papers, available at Sonoma State University.
  • Charles City County Court Record, 1762-4, Wills, Deed and Bond. By Russell H. Anderson. The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 59, No. 1 (Jan. 1951):103-107. CD available at JSTOR ($). Copy of lost records found in the Western Reserve Historical Society, Cleveland, Ohio.
  • Charles City County, Virginia, Miscellaneous Records. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 14, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1970):178-184. Available at American Ancestors ($). Includes remnants of court, guardianship, land, and probate found in the Earl Gregg Swem Library of the College of William and Mary.
  • Deeds, Wills and Bonds: From Charles City County (Va.), 1724/5-1731, 1762-1769, MSS., available at University of Virginia Library.

Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.*Cavaliers and Pioneers: Abstracts of Virginia Land Patents and Grants 1623-1666. 1934. By Nell Marion Nugent. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1991. Vol I. Available at FHL, online at: Ancestry ($). Includes Charles City County. N.B. If Ancestry's search engine fails, try checking the printed index at the end of the book.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • An Historical Analysis of Charles City County, Va. 1979. By Mark A. Dreyer, Judith R. Ragsdale, Edward R. Walker, Elaine V. Walker, College of William and Mary. Dept. of Religion. Available at the College of William and Mary.
  • Virginiana in the Printed Book Collections of the Virginia State Library. 1975. Edited by Donald Haynes. Richmond, VA : Virginia State Library. Vol 2. Online at: Hathitrust
  • Virginia Indexes at EveryNameIndex.com — Select the county.

Historic Residences

  • Berkeley : A James River Plantation, Ancestral Home of a Signer of the Declaration of Independence and Two United States Presidents, Charles City County, Virginia. Berkeley Plantation
  • Berkeley Plantation Journal and Account Book, 1839-1877, Charles City County, Virginia, accession number 11260. 2001. Bethesda, Maryland : University Publications of America. At University of Virginia Library.
  • Berkeley Plantation, 1726, Charles City County, Virginia. 1989. By Patrick Wade McClane, K. Edward Lay, University of Virginia. School of Architecture. Charlottesville, Virginia : School of Architecture, University of Virginia.
  • Charles City Houses. The William and Mary Quarterly, Second Series, Vol. 17, No. 1 (Jan. 1937):90. Available at JSTOR ($).
  • Historic Charles City County : Many of More Famous Homes Found Too, in this One of Eight Original Shrines. 1942. By Elwood Street. Richmond, Virginia : Richmond Times-Dispatch.
  • Kittiewan Plantation (44CC0404), Charles City County, Virginia. By Patrick L. O'Neill. Quarterly Bulletin, Vol. 63, No. 2 (June 2008):81-107.
  • Old Houses in Charles City, New Kent, Warwick, and Elizabeth City Counties. The William and Mary Quarterly, Second Series, Vol. 18, No. 2 (Apr. 1938). Available at JSTOR ($).
  • Shirley Plantation Collection, 1650-1888, Charles City County, Virginia, also Maryland. 1993. Bethesda, Maryland : University Publications of America. At Colonial Williamsburg Foundation, Library.
  • The Origins of Milton Plantation, Charles City County, Virginia. 1994. By Charles M. Downing, Donald W. Linebaugh, Dennis B. Blanton, Harrison Tyler, William and Mary Center for Archaeological Research. Williamsburg, Virginia : William and Mary Center for Archaeological Research.
  • The Origins of Sherwood Forest, Charles City County, Virginia. 1992. By Charles M. Downing, Donald W. Linebaugh, Dennis B. Blanton, Harrison Tyler, William and Mary Center for Archaeological Research. Williamsburg, Virginia : William and Mary Center for Archaeological Research.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Hopewell (Independent City)Prince George CountySurry CountyJames City CountyNew Kent CountyChesterfield CountyHenrico CountyVA CHARLES CITY.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War

  • 1651-1776 Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2c; digital book at Ancestry ($). Identifies some County militia officers and soldiers; see place name index.
  • Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. 1988. By Lloyd DeWitt Bockstruck. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2bL.


Revolutionary War

  • Charles City County, Virginia During the Period of the Revolutionary War, 1775-1783. 1976. By D. Gardner Tyler, Charles City County Historical Bicentennial Committee.
  • Revolutionary War Roster at Charles City County government website. 250+ soldiers, sailors, and patriots.

Regiment. Service men in Charles City County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Charles City County supplied soldiers for the:

- 6th Virginia Regiment


War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Charles City County, p. 67.]

Regiments. Charles City County men served in the 52nd Regiment.[14]

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men in Charles City County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 3rd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate).Company D (Charles City Troop or Light Dragoons).[15]

Civil War Battles
The following Civil War battles were fought in Charles City County.

Maps of Civil War battles in Virginia: 1861, 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865


World War I


World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Private Papers

  • Berkeley Plantation Journal and Account Book, 1839-1877, Charles City County, Virginia, accession number 11260. Bethesda, Maryland : University Publications of America, 2001. Housed at University of Virginia Library.
  • Byrd - Virginia Historical Society. MSS1B9963b, Byrd Family Papers, 1757-1860, Charles City County, Virginia. Bethesda, Maryland: University Publications of America, 1995.
  • Byrd - Virginia Historical Society. MSS1B9963c, Byrd Family Papers, 1791-1867, Charles City County, Virginia. Bethesda, Maryland: University Publications of America, 1995.
  • Douthat - Virginia Historical Society. MSS1D7495a, Douthat Family Papers, 1795-1922, Charles City County, Virginia. Bethesda, Maryland: University Publications of America, 1995.
  • Jerdone - College of William and Mary, Swem Library. Jerdone Family Papers, 1623-1957, Charles City, Hanover, Louisa, New Kent, and York Counties, Virginia, also Great Britain. Bethesda, Maryland: University Publications of America, 1994.
  • Selden - Selden Family, John Armistead Selden. Papers, 1811-1868, of the Selden Family of Charles City County, Va., MSS., available at the Virginia Historical Society Library.
  • Selden - Virginia Historical Society. Mss1Se487a, Selden Family Papers, 1811-1868, Charles City and Charlotte Counties, Virginia. Bethesda, Maryland: University Publications of America, 1995.
  • Shirley Plantation Collection, 1650-1888, Charles City County, Virginia, also Maryland. Bethesda, Maryland : University Publications of America, 1993. Housed at Colonial Williamsburg Foundation Library.
  • Willcox - Willcox, James M. and Duke University. Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library. James M. Willcox Papers, 1831-1871, Buckland, Charles City County, Virginia. Bethesda, Maryland: University Publications of America, 2001.
  • Wills - Wills, Henry, Virginia Historical Society. Mss5:3W6857, Henry Wills Account Book, 1782-1795, Charles City County, Virginia. Bethesda, Maryland: University Publications of America, 1995.

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

Remnants of Charles City County, Virginia Court

  • 1665-1666 Excerpts from the Charles City County Records (1665-1666). The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 43, No. 2 (Apr. 1935):144-149. Available at JSTOR ($). Probate Inventory of Captain Richard Tye, Deceased, 1663.
  • 1724-1731, 1762-1769 Deeds, Wills and Bonds: From Charles City County (Va.), 1724/5-1731, 1762-1769, MSS., available at University of Virginia Library.
  • 1762-1764 Charles City County Court Record, 1762-4, Wills, Deed and Bond. By Russell H. Anderson. The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 59, No. 1 (Jan. 1951):103-107. Available at JSTOR ($). Copy of lost records found in the Western Reserve Historical Society, Cleveland, Ohio.
  • 1763-1774 Charles City County, Virginia, Records, 1737-1774. 1986. By Benjamin B. Weisiger. Includes deeds 1763-1774 Genealogy Resources. Free surname index.
  • Charles City County, Virginia Miscellaneous Records. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 14, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1970):178-184. Available at American Ancestors ($). Includes remnants of court, guardianship, land, and probate found in the Earl Gregg Swem Library of the College of William and Mary.

Original Wills

  • 1655-56; 1689-1690; 1724-1731; 1765-1791; 1766-1774; 1789-1808; 1791-1805;1808-1824 Images of Wills, Estates, Inventories etc. Virginia Pioneers ($)
  • 1789-1808 Index to Charles City County Inventories and Guardians Accounts Virginia Pioneers ($)
  • 1808-1824 Index to Charles City County Wills and Inventories Virginia Pioneers ($)
  • Berkeley, Charles City County, Virginia, Will: 1780 January 3 [Will of Benjamin Harrison], MSS., available at Library of Virginia.
  • Charles City County, Virginia Will: 1772 December 12 [Will of Ellyson Crew], MSS., available at Library of Virginia.
  • Some Wills from the Burned Counties of Virginia and Other Wills Not Listed in Virginia Wills and [Administrations 1632-1800. 1987. By William Lindsay Hopkins. Richmond, Virginia : W.L. Hopkins. Available at FHL.

London Courts

  • 1611-1857 North American Wills Registered in London. 2007. By Coldham, Peter Wilson. Baltimore, Maryland : Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc. Includes wills of residents of Charles City County, St. Martin Brandon [Martins Brandon Parish], and West and Shirley Hundred proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.
  • 1639-1850 Virginia Land, Marriage and Probate Records 1639-1850 at Ancestry — index, incomplete ($)

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • 1704 Virginia Quit Rent Rolls, 1704. Virginia Magazine of History and Biography (VMHB), Vol. 28 (1920):207-218, 328-339; Vol. 29 (1921):18-28, 337-343, 402-412; Vol. 30 (1922):21-30, 280-285, 341-347; Vol. 31 (1923):70-75, 153-163, 215-231, 314-318; Vol. 32 (1924):69-75, 144-158, 281-287, 338-343; Vol. 33 (1925):47-50, 359-370; Vol. 34 (1926):113-119, 252-258, 313, 321. Available at FHL; reprinted in Virginia Tax Records. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1983, which is also available at FHL; digital version of VMHB at JSTOR ($). Charles City County appears in 31:314-318.
  • 1782-1822 Charles City County Personal Property Tax Lists 1782-1822 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1782-1824 Charles City County Land Tax Lists 1782-1824 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1783 Virginia Tax Payers, 1782-87, Other Than Those Published by the United States Census Bureau. 1940. By Augusta B. Fothergill and John Mark Naugle. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc. Online at FamilySearch - free; FHL. 1783 personal property tax list of Charles City County.
  • 1784-1814 Charles City County Personal Property Tax List 1784-1814. By Paul Heinegg. Online at: Free African Americans. Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.
  • 1787 The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. By Netti Schreiner-Yantis and Florene Speakman Love. c1987. Springfield, Virginia : Genealogical Books in Print. Available at FHL; At various libraries (WorldCat). The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Charles City County is included in Vol. 2.
  • 1790, 1800 Personal Property Tax Lists of Charles City County, Virginia 1790 and 1800. Indexed images of the Binns Genealogy.
  • 1800 Charles City County, Virginia, 1800 Tax List. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 15, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar.1971):42-47. Available at The American Ancestors ($).
  • 1815 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). By Roger D. Ward. c1997. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co. Available at FHL; At various libraries (WorldCat). The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Charles City County is included in Vol. 1.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Though the records of Charles City County, Virginia were largely destroyed, Mr. James A. Leachy found a number of marriage bonds in loose papers in the Charles City Clerk's Office covering a range of years (1762-1849). They are abstracted in Marriage Bonds in Charles City County. The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 8, No. 3 (Jan. 1900):193-196. Available at JSTOR. Republished by Crozier and online:

Additional online resources:

  • Charles City County, VA : Marriages and Deaths. Virginia Tidewater Genealogy, Vol.39, No.2 (June 2008):34-38.

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Charles City County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Charles City County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Charles City County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Charles City County. By John Frederick Dorman. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 7, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun.1963):75-77. CD available at: American Ancestors ($).
  • Records of Tidewater Virginia Counties. By Virginia Lee Hutcheson Davis. Tidewater Virginia Families: A Magazine of History and Genealogy, Vol. 1, No. 2 (May-June 1992):53-66. FHL Collection 975.51 D25t. For Charles City County, see pp. 55-56.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. https://www.co.charles-city.va.us/235/About-the-County
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Charles City County, Virginia. Page 711 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Charles City County, Virginia . Page 710-723 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 715-720.
  5. John Frederick Dorman, "Review of Burned County Data 1809-1848," in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 31, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1987):60-61.
  6. Newberry
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Charles City_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charles_City_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 8 January 2020.
  8. Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 118-119. Digital version at Google Books.
  9. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  10. Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  11. Kenneth Scott, British Aliens in the United States During the War of 1812 (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1979), 320-333. FHL Book 973 W4s; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  12. Paul Heinegg, "Introduction," in Free African Americans of Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Maryland and Delaware, http://www.freeafricanamericans.com/introduction.htm.
  13. Charles Campbell, History of the Colony and Ancient Dominion of Virginia (Philadelphia, Pa.: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1860), 267-268. Digitized by Internet Archive.
  14. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 66, 150. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  15. Thomas P. Nanzig, 3rd Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 61.
  16. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).
  17. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).