Catawba County, North Carolina Genealogy
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
Guide to Catawba County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Catawba County is located in the western portion of North Carolina and was named for the Catawba Indians.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Catawba County Courthouse
100 A Southwest Blvd
POBox 389
Newton, NC 28658-0389
Phone: 828-465-1573
Catawba County Website
Clerk Superior Court has divorce, probate and court records from 1843.
Register of Deeds has marriage and land records.[3]
Catawba County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1913 | 1843 | 1913 | 1843 | 1837 | 1843 | 1784 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
Many court records missing.
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Townships | ||
|
|
|
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Bible Records at North Carolina Digital Archives - index and images
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- North Carolina, Historical Records Survey, Cemetery Inscription Card Index at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images Also at: Ancestry ($)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1850 | 8,862 | — |
| 1860 | 10,729 | 21.1% |
| 1870 | 10,984 | 2.4% |
| 1880 | 14,946 | 36.1% |
| 1890 | 18,689 | 25.0% |
| 1900 | 22,133 | 18.4% |
| 1910 | 27,918 | 26.1% |
| 1920 | 33,839 | 21.2% |
| 1930 | 43,991 | 30.0% |
| 1940 | 54,653 | 24.2% |
| 1950 | 61,794 | 13.1% |
| 1960 | 73,191 | 18.4% |
| 1970 | 90,873 | 24.2% |
| 1980 | 105,208 | 15.8% |
| 1990 | 118,412 | 12.6% |
| 2000 | 141,685 | 19.7% |
| 2010 | 154,358 | 8.9% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1700-1970 - North Carolina, Church Records, 1700-1970 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Lutheran
- Grace Evangelical Lutheran Church, near Startown, N.C. Organized before 1797.[7] Originally located in Lincoln.
- St. John's Lutheran Church, near Conover, N.C. Organized before 1798.[8] Previously located in Lincoln.
- St. Paul's Lutheran Church, near Conover, N.C. Organized before 1771.[9] Previously located in Tryon and Lincoln counties.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
- 1862-1870 North Carolina, Freedmen's Bureau Assistant Commissioner Records, 1862-1870 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1863-1872 North Carolina, Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1863-1872 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Allen Mitchell Funeral Home in Hickory
- Bass-Smith Funeral Home in Hickory
- Bennett Funeral Service in Newton
- Burke Mortuary & Crematory in Newton
- Caring Cremations in Hickory
- Catawba Memorial Park, Funerals & Cremations in Hickory
- Dirk M. Thompson Mortuary in Hickory
- Drum Funeral Home in Hickory
- Hickory Funeral Home in Hickory
- Jenkins Funeral Home in Newton
- Willis-Reynolds Funeral Home in Newton
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Click a neighboring county
for more resources
for more resources
Migration[edit | edit source]
Early migration routes to and from Catawba County for European settlers included:[10]
- Catawba and Northern Trail pre-historic
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Revolutionary War
- 1778-1833 Delamar Transcripts of Revolutionary War Petitions at North Carolina Genealogical Society - index ($)
- 1779-1782 North Carolina Revolutionary Pay Vouchers 1779-1782 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil War
- 1861-1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1861-1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1885-1953 North Carolina, Confederate Soldiers and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1953 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1885 and 1901 1885 and 1901 Confederate Pension Applications at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
Regiments. Men in Catawba County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Catawba County:
- - 12th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company A
- - 4th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company C
- - 5th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company E
- - 8th Battalion, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company B
World War I
- 1914-1918 World War I Papers at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1917-1919 North Carolina, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
World War II
- 1939-1945 World Ward II Papers at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1940-1948 North Carolina, Discharge and Statement of Service Records, 1940-1948 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- North Carolina Newspapers at DigitalNC
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Voter Registration
- 1868-1898 - North Carolina, Voter Registration Records, 1868-1898 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1660-1790 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1660-1790 at Ancestry $
- 1663-1789 Secretary of State Wills at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1663-1978 Wills and Estate Papers (Catawba County), 1663-1978(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1663-1979 North Carolina Estate Files, 1663-1979 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1665-1998 North Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1665-1998 at Ancestry $
- 1720-1960 Will Books A to F and 1 to 8 (1720-1960) at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; images only (by County)
- 1735-1970 North Carolina Probate Records 1735-1970 at FamilySearch- How to Use this Collection; images only (by County)
- 1760-1800 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1760-1800 at Ancestry $
- 1786-1966 North Carolina, Chowan County, Widow's Support Records, 1786-1966(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1843-1868 Record of Estates, 1843-1868(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1843-1922 Accounts and Inventories, 1869-1922; Inventories and Sales, 1843-1868(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1843-1966 Record of Administrators, Executors, Guardians, 1868-1939; Index to Administrators, Executors, Guardians, 1843-1966(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1843-1966 Wills, 1843-1939; Index to Wills, 1843-1966(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1849-1939 Will Books 1 to 5 (1849-1939) at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; images only (by County)
- 1868-1928 Records of Settlements, 1868-1928(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1868-1966 Probate Orders and Decrees, 1868-1924; Index, 1868-1966(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1871-1907 Widows' Support, 1871-1907(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1875-1948 Division of Land and Dowers, 1875-1948(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1894-1907 North Carolina, Catawba County, Widow's Support Records, 1894-1907(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- North Carolina Probate Records tips
- Wills, Estates, 1845-68;1868-97;1892-1902. North Carolina Pioneers $
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
- 1800-2000 - North Carolina, Department of Archives and History, Index to Vital Records, 1800-2000 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1800-2000 North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1866-1964 North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1913-1922 North Carolina, Center for Health Statistics, Vital Records Unit, County Birth Records, 1913-1922 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1741-2004 North Carolina, United States Marriages at Findmypast
- 1741-2004 North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry $
- 1759-1979 North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; Index
- 1762-1979 North Carolina, County Marriages, 1762-1979 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1763-1868 North Carolina, Civil Marriages, 1763-1868 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1842-1938 Catawba County Marriage Books 1-14 Index 1842-1938 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch[11]
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1898-1994 North Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1898-1994. at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1906-1930 North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection;index and images Also at: MyHeritage ($)
- 1908-2004 North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry $
- 1909-1975 North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry $
- 1931-1994 North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1926-1975 North Carolina, County Divorce Records, 1926-1975 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1958-2004 North Carolina Divorce Index 1958-2004 at Ancestry $
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Catawba County. For state-wide archival repositories, see North Carolina Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Catawba County. For state-wide library facilities, see North Carolina Archives and Libraries.
- Hickory Public Library
Website - Hickory North Carolina Family History Center
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Catawba County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see North Carolina Societies.
- Catawba County Genealogical Society
PO Box 2406
Hickory, NC 28603-2406
Website
- Historical Association of Catawba County
PO Box 73
Newton, NC 28658
(828) 465-0383
Email: cchasholbrook@gmail.com
Website Facebook
Websites[edit | edit source]
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Catawba County NCGenweb Project, a member of The NCGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/Catawba
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Catawba County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Catawba County, North Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Catawba_County,_North_Carolina, accessed 10 February 2020.
- ↑ "Grace Evangelical Lutheran Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ "St. John's Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ "Old St. Paul's Lutheran Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.
