Cass County, Indiana Genealogy
Guide to Cass County, Indiana ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
 | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Cass County was named in honor of Gen. Lewis Cass, who was one of the commissioners of the United States and did much to consummate the treaties with the Indians, by which the Government became the possessor of the lands that now constitute the county.[1] The county is located in the central area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Cass County Courthouse
103 Cass County Government Bldg
Logansport, IN 46947-3114
Phone: 219-753-7740
County Website
Cass County Health Department
512 High Street
Logansport, IN, 46947
Health Officer: Dr. Dori Ditty
Phone Number: 574-753-7760
Fax: 574-753-7039
Email: tina.collins@co.cass.in.us
Health Department
County Health Department has birth and death records.
County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1892, divorce and court records from 1894.
County Auditor has land records. [3]
Health Department has birth records and death records.
Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.
Cass County, Indiana Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1882 | 1892 | 1882 | 1894 | 1830 | 1892 | 1807 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Townships | ||
| Ghost towns | ||
|
|
|
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Biographical and Genealogical History of Cass, Miami, Howard and Tipton Counties, Indiana. 2 Vols. 1898. Chicago, Illinois : The Lewis Publishing Company. Online at: Vol. 1 - FamilySearch Digital Library, Vols. 1 & 2 - Hathitrust, Vol. 1 - Internet Archive, Vol. 1 - Google Books, Vol. 2 - Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat).
- Indiana Biography Index at Indiana State Library
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Cass County census records online, see: Indiana Census.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1830 | 1,162 | — |
| 1840 | 5,480 | 371.6% |
| 1850 | 11,021 | 101.1% |
| 1860 | 16,843 | 52.8% |
| 1870 | 24,193 | 43.6% |
| 1880 | 27,611 | 14.1% |
| 1890 | 31,152 | 12.8% |
| 1900 | 34,545 | 10.9% |
| 1910 | 36,368 | 5.3% |
| 1920 | 38,333 | 5.4% |
| 1930 | 34,518 | −10.0% |
| 1940 | 36,908 | 6.9% |
| 1950 | 38,793 | 5.1% |
| 1960 | 40,931 | 5.5% |
| 1970 | 40,456 | −1.2% |
| 1980 | 40,936 | 1.2% |
| 1990 | 38,413 | −6.2% |
| 2000 | 40,930 | 6.6% |
| 2010 | 38,966 | −4.8% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
- Index of Defective, Dependent, Delinquent Census for Cass County, Indiana (1880) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
- Index to Mortality Schedule for Cass County at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.
For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Directory of Businesses in Cass County, Indiana (1858) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.
After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the Cass County courthouse, where records are currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Cass County. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information. For more information about local histories, see Indiana Local Histories.
- History of Cass County, Indiana. 1878. By Thomas B. Helm. Chicago, Illinois : Kingman Brothers. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat).
- History of Cass County, Indiana : From the Earliest Time to the Present. 1886. Edited by Thomas B. Helm. Chicago : Brant & Fuller. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust, Google Books, Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat).
- History of Cass County, Indiana : From its Earliest Settlement to the Present Time. 2 Vols. 1972. Edited by Jehu Z. Powell. Evansville, Indiana : Unigraphic. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library (2 volumes in 1), Vols. 1 & 2 - Hathitrust, Vol. 1 - Internet Archive, Vol. 2 - Internet Archive, Vols. 1 & 2 - Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat).
- History of Logansport and Cass County.[19--]. By Graham Taber. N.p: Pharos-Tribune. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Old Antique Atlases & Maps of Indiana
- Cass County, Indiana: Maps and Gazetteers - Linkpendium
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- Military Record Series Index at Indiana Digital Archives
- Cass County Military - INGenWeb
- Military Records and Histories - Linkpendium
- Cass County Veterans at State Soldiers Home, Lafayette, Indiana (1906) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
- Residents of Cass County who Served in the Mexican War (1846-1848) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
Powell, Jehu Z., "Military History" Chapter 13 in History of Cass County Indiana, give name, regiment and company. Vol. 2. (Chicago: Lewis Pub. Co, 1972.) 977.286 H2p FamilySearch Digital Library Vol. 2 Internet Archive other library
Wolfe, Barbara Schull. Revolutionary War Soldiers of Cass Co., Ind. (Logansport, Ind: Wolfe, 1976.) 977.2 A1 no. 153 FHL Collection other library
Civil War
Civil War service men from Clark County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Clark County.
- 5th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry (90th Regiment, Indiana Volunteers), Company K
- 9th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company K, and Reorganized Company K
- 12th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company F
- 20th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company F, and Reorganized Company F
- 29th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company E
- 34th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies H, and K
- 35th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company C
- 46th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies B, C, D, F, and I
- 73rd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies G, and H
- 99th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies F, and K
- 110th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company H
- 116th Regiment, Indiana Infantry (6 months, 1863-4), Company F
- 128th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies B, C, G, H, and K
- 130th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company A
- 138th Regiment, Indiana Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company K
- 142nd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies B, and K
- 145th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company G
- 147th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company K
- 151st Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company F
- 155th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company C
- 28th US Colored Troops, Addition Recruits for Colored Troops
Civil War Books:
Helm, Thomas B. "Military History" Chapter 5 in History of Cass County, Indiana: give name, regiment and company.(Owensboro, Ky: CookMcDowell, 1980.) page 125-190 977.286 H2h FamilySearch Digital Library; Google Book
World War I
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- Naturalization Record Series (for this county) at Indiana Digital Archives. Search by names.
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Indiana newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
For more Indiana newspaper information see the wiki page Indiana Newspapers.
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
- Hoosier State Chronicles
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the Cass County courthouse. For more information, see Indiana Probate Records.
- 1798-1999 Indiana Wills and Probate Records 1798-1999 at Ancestry $
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.
- Cass County Vital Records - INGenWeb
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1882-1920 - INGenWeb
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1780-1992 Indiana Marriages, 1780-1992 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; Also at: MyHeritage ($)
- 1800s-2007 Indiana, United States Marriages at Findmypast$
- 1811-1959 Indiana, Marriages, 1811-1959 at MyHeritage - index and images, ($)
- 1811-2007 Indiana Marriages, 1811-2007 at FamilySearch- How to Use this Collection
- 1903-1908, 1920-1942 - Cass County Marriage Index 1903-1908 and 1920-1942 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch M004227 [7]
Death[edit | edit source]
- Pre-1882 WEB: Indiana, Deaths, Pre-1882 at Ancestry.com - index, (Free collection)
- 1750-1993 - Indiana Deaths and Burials, 1750-1993 at FamilySearch- How to Use this Collection
- 1882-1920 Indiana, Death Index, 1882-1920 at FamilySearch - Index only - How to Use this Collection
- 1899-2011 Indiana, Death Certificates, 1899-2011 at Ancestry $
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Cass County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Kokomo Indiana Family History Center
- West Lafayette Indiana Family History Center
- Kokomo-Howard County Public Library - an affiliate library.
- Pulaski County Public Library - an affiliate library.
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Cass County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Cass County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Societies.
Cass County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 1373
Logansport, IN 46947
Website
Cass County Historical Society
421 E. Broadway
Logansport, IN 46947
Phone: 574-753-3866
Email: cchistoricalsoc@frontier.com
Website
Facebook
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Indiana Digital Archives Search by name in all records or specific collections
- Indiana Historical Society Digital Collections Search by county or keyword
- Indiana Memory Click the map or select a statewide collection
- List of indexes and databases at Indiana State Library
- Indiana Genealogical Society Databases Free and Members-only. Select a county
- EveryNameIndex.com for Indiana Free online genealogy indexes for county histories. Select a county.
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Cass County, Indiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Genealogy Trails History Group, “Cass County, Ohio Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ind/cass/history.html accessed 3/01/2017.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Cass County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cass_County,_Indiana accessed 3/01/2017.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Cass County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cass_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/9/91/Igiindiana.pdf.
