Cartmel, Lancashire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Cartmel, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. See also Cartmel Fell, a chapel of ease serving the Winster Valley in Cartmel Parish. For researchers, see a comprehensive List of Chapelries in Cartmel Parish.

Cartmel, Lancashire
Cartmel Priory Lancashire.jpg
Type England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lonsdale
County Lancashire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Ulverston
Registration District Ulverstone
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1664
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Furness and Cartmel
Diocese Chester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries
Location of Archive
Lancashire Archives

Parish History[edit | edit source]

CARTMEL (St. Mary), a parish and market town in the union of Ulverston, hundred of Lonsdale north of the Sands, N. division of the county of Lancaster. Other places in the parish include: Lower Holker, Lower Allithwaite, Newton in Cartmel, Upper Allithwaite, Upper Holker, and East Plain.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Lake+District+Cartmel+Priory.JPG

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Chapelry is a church or churches built in a large ecclesiastical parish to help the members attend worship services closer to their homes.

Chapelries of Cartmel[edit | edit source]
  • Allithwaite St Mary Chapelry - 1865
  • Cartmel-Fell St Anthony Chapelry - 1857
  • Grange St Paul Chapelry - 1857
  • Field-Broughton (East Broughton) St Peter Chapelry - 1859
  • Flookburgh St John the Baptist Chapelry - 1859
  • Haversthwaite Chapelry - 1832
  • Lindale St Paul Chapelry - 1754
  • Staveley St Mary Chapelry - 1857

Online Parish Records Table

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Cartmel Parish Records
All Chapelries Found in Cartmel are included in these links.
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Lancashire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Parish Registers-Lancashire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Findmypast-Lancashire ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Ancestry-Church of England BMD-Lancashire ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1800s-1900s

Other Websites
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformist Churches (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Ulverston Poor Law Union,Lancashire

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Cartmel on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 523-526.