Carteret County, North Carolina Genealogy
(Redirected from Carteret County, North Carolina Genealogy)
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
Guide to Carteret County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Carteret County is located in the Eastern portion of North Carolina and was named for John Carteret to whom King Charles II granted tracts of land in the New World called "Carolina"[2].
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Carteret County Courthouse
300 Courthouse Square
Beaufort, NC 28516
Phone: 252-728-8474
Carteret County Website
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage and death and land records
Clerk Superior Court has divorce, Probate and court records[3]
Carteret County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1912 | 1746 | 1912 | 1723 | 1721 | 1744 | 1784 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
|
|
|
| Census-designated places | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Bible Records at North Carolina Digital Archives - index and images
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- North Carolina, Historical Records Survey, Cemetery Inscription Card Index at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images Also at: Ancestry ($)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1790 | 3,734 | — |
| 1800 | 4,399 | 17.8% |
| 1810 | 4,823 | 9.6% |
| 1820 | 5,609 | 16.3% |
| 1830 | 6,597 | 17.6% |
| 1840 | 6,591 | −0.1% |
| 1850 | 6,939 | 5.3% |
| 1860 | 8,186 | 18.0% |
| 1870 | 9,010 | 10.1% |
| 1880 | 9,784 | 8.6% |
| 1890 | 10,825 | 10.6% |
| 1900 | 11,811 | 9.1% |
| 1910 | 13,776 | 16.6% |
| 1920 | 15,384 | 11.7% |
| 1930 | 16,900 | 9.9% |
| 1940 | 18,284 | 8.2% |
| 1950 | 23,059 | 26.1% |
| 1960 | 30,940 | 34.2% |
| 1970 | 31,603 | 2.1% |
| 1980 | 41,092 | 30.0% |
| 1990 | 52,556 | 27.9% |
| 2000 | 59,383 | 13.0% |
| 2010 | 66,469 | 11.9% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
- Carteret County census records - via the NCGenWeb Archives
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1700-1970 North Carolina, Church Records, 1700-1970 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- Church records - via the NCGenWeb Archives
Baptist
- Hadnor's Creek aka Hadnot's Creek. Constituted 1789.[7]
- Newport River aka Newport and North River. Constituted 1778.[7]
Church of England
St. John's Parish, Beaufort. Established 1742.Three volumes of Vestry Books are extant, covering the period from 1742 to 1843. The originals are at the NC State Archives; microfilm copies of what are most likely the same thing, titled Wardens of the Poor Minutes,1742-1866 (that also include separate records of the Wardens of the Poor, Minutes, 1844-1866) are also available at the NC Archives. Very limited extracts concerning the Shepard surname are in the Church Records link above. [8][9]
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Harker's Island
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1717-1844 Miscellaneous Probate Records, 1717-1844(*); County Court of Pleas and Quarter Sessions at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1723-1747 Court Minutes, 1723-1747(*); County Court of Pleas and Quarter Sessions at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1741-1938 North Carolina, Carteret County, Civil Action Papers, 1741-1938(*); Superior Court and Clerk of the Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1793-1867 Slave Records (Carteret County, North Carolina), 1793-1867(*); County Court of Pleas and Quarter Sessions at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1866-1958 Land Entry Books, 1866-1958(*); County Court of Pleas and Quarter Sessions and Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1867-1939 Carteret County, North Carolina Divorce Records, ca. 1867-1905, 1911-1912, 1919, 1920, 1923, 1939, and other records(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1868-1924 Minutes, 1868-1924(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1868-1940 Orders and Decrees, 1868-1940(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1869-1958 Special Proceedings Before the Clerk, 1883-1930; General Index to Special Proceedings, Orders and Decrees, 1869-1958(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- Carteret County, NC Court Records at USGenWeb Archives
Directories[edit | edit source]
- Several NC state business directories are available online. Visit this list of directories, open the directory, and navigate to Cartetert County. Directories include information on area businesses and citizens.
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
- 1908-1958 North Carolina, Wilmington and Morehead City Passenger and Crew Lists, 1908-1958 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and image
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
- 1862-1870 North Carolina, Freedmen's Bureau Assistant Commissioner Records, 1862-1870 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1863-1872 North Carolina, Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1863-1872 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Munden Funeral Home & Crematory in Morehead City
- Noe Funeral Service, Inc in Beaufort
- Noe-Brooks Funeral Home and Crematory in Morehead City
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
- [Middleton] Brown, Leslie H. "John Middleton of Hampton, Va., and Onslow County, N.C.," The American Genealogist, Vol. 55, No. 3 (Jul. 1979):161-162. FHL 973 D25aga v. 55
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
- Deeds of Carteret County - via the NCGenWeb Archives
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Click a neighboring county
for more resources
for more resources
- Carteret County Maps - almost 100 maps from the North Carolina State Library
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- Carteret County miltary records - check the "Military" section on the Carteret County NCGenWeb page
- Military records - transcribed for the NCGenWeb Archives
Revolutionary War
- 1778-1833 Delamar Transcripts of Revolutionary War Petitions at North Carolina Genealogical Society - index ($)
- 1779-1782 North Carolina Revolutionary Pay Vouchers 1779-1782 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil War
- 1861-1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1861-1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1885-1953 North Carolina, Confederate Soldiers and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1953 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1885 and 1901 1885 and 1901 Confederate Pension Applications at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
Regiments. Men in Carteret County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Carteret County:
- -2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- - 1st Regiment, North Carolina Artillery 10th Regiment Volunteers-1st Artillery, Company G
- - 1st Regiment, North Carolina Artillery 10th Regiment Volunteers-1st Artillery, Company H
- - 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Artillery, Company G
- - 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, 1st Company C
Civil War Battles
The following Civil War battle was fought in Carteret County:
- March 23-April 26, 1862 Fort Macon[10]
- Map showing Civil War battles in North Carolina.
World War I
- 1914-1918 World War I Papers at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1917-1919 North Carolina, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
World War II
- 1939-1945 World Ward II Papers at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1940-1948 North Carolina, Discharge and Statement of Service Records, 1940-1948 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- North Carolina Newspapers at DigitalNC
- 1799-1893 Carteret County marriages - are included in Carrie Broughton's 6-volume index of the Raleigh Register & State Gazette newspaper (1799-1893). Marriages are listed by year and PDF files are searcheable. Available on the North Carolina Digital Collections website.
- Carteret County newspapers - a listing of newspapers published in the county; via the Library of Congress
- North Carolina Newspaper Digitization Project - contains full-text papers from 1752-1890s.Search for your Carteret County ancestors.
- Carteret County News Times - current newspaper in the county
- Carteret County deaths - list of county area deaths reported in various newspapers; dates range from late 1700s to 1900s.
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- Carteret County Obituaries - transcribed for the NCGenWeb
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Blog Posts
- Grandpa was a Whaler - post by Mark Green about the Chadwick family
- North Carolina Pioneers North Carolina Pioneers
Voter Registration
- 1868-1898 North Carolina, Voter Registration Records, 1868-1898 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1660-1790 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1660-1790 at Ancestry ($)
- 1663-1789 Secretary of State Wills at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1663-1978 Wills and Estate Papers (Carteret County), 1663-1978(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1663-1979 North Carolina Estate Files, 1663-1979 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1665-1998 North Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1665-1998 at Ancestry ($)
- 1681-1888 Alphabetical Index of Wills 1681-1888 - via Carteret County NCGenWeb
- 1717-1844 Miscellaneous Probate Records, 1717-1844(*); County Court of Pleas and Quarter Sessions at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1720-1961 Deeds, 1721-1931; Index to Deeds, 1720-1961(*); Superior Court and County Court of Pleas and Quarter Sessions at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1720-1960 Will Books A to F and 1 to 8 (1720-1960) at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; images only (by County)
- 1735-1970 North Carolina Probate Records 1735-1970 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; images only (by County)
- 1741-1887 Wills, Inventories, Sales and Settlements of Estates, 1741-1887(*); County Court of Pleas and Quarter Sessions at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1745-1957 Will Books A to H (1745-1957) at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; images only (by County)
- 1745-1961 Wills, 1745-1961(*); County Court of Pleas and Quarter Sessions and Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1760-1800 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1760-1800 at Ancestry ($)
- 1779-1807 Wills and Estate Papers (New Bern District), 1779-1807(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1790 Pre-1790 Carteret County, North Carolina Genealogy Wills stored at the North Carolina State Archives are online. Website tips.
- 1829-1862 Guardians, Administrators, Executors Accounts, Inventories, and Accounts of Sales, 1829-1862(*); County Court of Pleas and Quarter Sessions at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1868-1961 Appointment of Executors, 1868-1961(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1869-1961 Record of Accounts, 1869-1961(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1885-1961 Record of Settlements, 1885-1961(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1903-1936 Record of Administrators, Executors, and Guardians, 1903-1936(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1929-1961 Record of Guardianship, 1929-1961(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1951-1961 Estates Under $500., 1951-1961(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- Carteret County wills and estates - transcribed for the NCGenWeb Archives
- Images of Wills and Estates 1760-80;1794-1818;1829-66; 1860-98;1898-1916. North Carolina Pioneers ($)
School Records[edit | edit source]
- Carteret County students at NC colleges – via the NCGenWeb Yearbook Index
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
- 1779 - Tax Lists, Carteret County, 1779 (index) in NC Taxpayers vol. 2, online at Ancestry ($)
- 1779 - Tax Lists, New Bern District, 1779 (index) in NC Taxpayers vol. 2, online at Ancestry ($)
- 1779 - Tax Lists, New Bern District, 1779 (images) online at North Carolina Digital Collections
- 1784 - Tax Lists, Carteret County, 1784 (images) online at FamilySearch
- Carteret County Tax Lists - via the NCGenWeb Archives
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
- 1800-2000 North Carolina, Department of Archives and History, Index to Vital Records, 1800-2000 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1800-2000 North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1866-1964 North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1913-1922 North Carolina, Center for Health Statistics, Vital Records Unit, County Birth Records, 1913-1922 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1741-2004 North Carolina, United States Marriages at Findmypast
- 1741-2004 North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry $
- 1759-1979 North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; Index
- 1762-1979 - North Carolina, County Marriages, 1762-1979 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1763-1868 North Carolina, Civil Marriages, 1763-1868 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1771-1868 - Carteret County Marriages 1771-1868. Available to members. North Carolina Pioneers
- 1804-1951 - Carteret County Marriage Index 1804-1951 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch.[11]
- Pre-1799 - North Carolina Marriages to 1799, a database, available to members North Carolina Pioneers
- Carteret County Marriages - transcribed for the NCGenWeb Archives
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1898-1994 North Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1898-1994 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1906-1930 North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection;index and images Also at: MyHeritage ($)
- 1908-2004 North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry $
- 1909-1975 North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry $
- 1931-1994 North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1926-1975 North Carolina, County Divorce Records, 1926-1975 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1958-2004 North Carolina Divorce Index 1958-2004 at Ancestry $
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Carteret County. For state-wide archival repositories, see North Carolina Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Harkers Island North Carolina Family History Center
- Morehead City North Carolina Family History Center
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Carteret County. For state-wide library facilities, see North Carolina Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Historic Beaufort
Website
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Carteret County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see North Carolina Societies.
Carteret County Historical Society
1008 Arendell Street
Morehead City, NC 28557
Telephone 252-247-7533
Email: museumdirector.cchs@gmail.com
Website
Facebook
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Carteret County NCGenWeb genealogy resources; part of the national USGenWeb Project.
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/Carteret
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Carteret County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Carteret County, North Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carteret_County,_North_Carolina, accessed 9 February 2020.
- ↑ 7.0 7.1 Lemuel Burkitt and Jesse Read, A Concise History of the Kehukee Baptist Association: From Its Original Rise Down to 1808 (1808), Chapter 16. Digital version at archives.org; George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:491-492, 2:561-562. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- ↑ Robert J. Cain, ed., The Church of England in North Carolina: Documents, 1699-1741 (Raleigh, N.C.: Division of Archives and History, North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources, 1999), 432. FHL Book 975.6 K2cr.
- ↑ Guide to County Records in the North Carolina State Archives, 12th ed., 2009, 60-61.
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 8 August, 2012)
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.