Carroll County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Carroll County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Hillsville
Organized: 17 Jan 1842[1]
Parent County(s): Grayson[2]
Neighboring Counties
Floyd  • Galax (Independent City)  • Grayson  • Patrick  • Pulaski  • Surry (NC)  • Wythe
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaCarrollCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Carroll County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Carroll County is located in the Southwestern portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and shares a border with North Carolina. Carroll County was named in honor of Charles Carroll, a signer of the Declaration of Independence[3].

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Carroll County Courthouse
605 Pine Street
Hillsville, VA 24343
Phone: 276-730-3050
Carroll County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has birth records 1842-1896, marriage, divorce, probate and land records from 1842.[4]

Carroll County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1842 1842 1853 1842 1842 1842 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

  • Lost census: 1890
  • For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8] Carroll County

Towns
Unincorporated communities
  • Sylvatus
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Charles Carroll (1737-1832)


The county is named after Charles Carroll (1737-1832), a signer of the Declaration of Independence.[9]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Carroll County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1850 5,909
1860 8,012 35.6%
1870 9,147 14.2%
1880 13,323 45.7%
1890 15,497 16.3%
1900 19,303 24.6%
1910 21,116 9.4%
1920 21,283 0.8%
1930 22,141 4.0%
1940 25,904 17.0%
1950 26,695 3.1%
1960 23,178 −13.2%
1970 23,092 −0.4%
1980 27,270 18.1%
1990 26,594 −2.5%
2000 29,245 10.0%
2010 30,042 2.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Quaker
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

  • Goodspur Monthly Meeting (1790-1800) aka Dugspur[10]
  • Road Creek Monthly Meeting (1802-1810)[10]
  • Ward's Gap Monthly Meeting, Hillsville, Va. (1795-1825)[10]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records
Library of Virginia's Chancery Court Index includes digital images for Caroll County chancery records for the years 1842-1913.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Carroll 1765-1815, the Settlements: A History of the First Fifty Years of Carroll County, Virginia. c1985. By John Perry Alderman. n.p.: Central Va. Newspapers. Online at: Ebook Download ($). Table of contents and appendices online at: Evergreen Indiana Library Consortium. Available at FHL.
  • Foot Prints on the Sands of Time. 1900. By Dr. A. B. Cox. Sparta, NC : The Star Pub Co. Online at: Internet Archive.
  • The Mountain Massacre. c1930. Bluefield, WV : Country Life. Online at: Internet Archive, Google Books.
  • Virginia County Names : Two Hundred and Seventy Years of Virginia History. 1908. By Charles M. Long, MA, PhD. Online at: Internet Archive. See pgs 114-115 for Carroll County.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Radford (Independent City)Galax (Independent City)Pulaski CountyFloyd CountyPatrick CountyGrayson CountyWythe CountySurry CountyVA CARROLL.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

  • Revolutionary War Pension Applications of Southwest Virginia Soldiers. 1997. By Mary B. Kegley. n.p.: M.B. Kegley. FHL Collection

War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, Virginia, Carroll County, p. 67.

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men in Carroll County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 4th Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry and Infantry) (Confederate). Company D.[11]
- 22nd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Bowen's Virginia Mounted Riflemen) (Confederate). Company G.
- 24th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company C (Carroll Boys).[12]
- 25th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company F.[13]
- 29th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company C (Carroll Marksmen), Company D (Rifle Rangers), and Company E.[14]
- 30th Battalion, Virginia Sharpshooters (Clarke's) (Confederate). Company E.[15]
- 37th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Dunn's Battalion, Partisan Rangers) (Confederate). Company D and Company I.[16]
- 45th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company E (Rough and Readys) and Company I (Reed Island Rifles).[17]
- 47th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company C.[18]
- 50th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company I.[19]
- 54th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company G.[20]
- 63rd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (McMahon's) (Confederate). Company G.[21]

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Online Carroll County, Virginia Tax Lists
Type Index Images
Free FHC Fee Free FHC Fee
Personal Property 1842 - - - 1842 -
Personal Property - - - - 1843-1850 -

Bibliography

  • 1842 Carroll County, Virginia Personal Property Tax List; index online at New River Notes.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Carroll County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Carroll County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Carroll County Historical Society and Museum.
Website

515 North Main Street
Hillsville, VA 24343
Phone: (276) 728 – 4113
Email: carrollmuseum@yahoo.com

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Carroll County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Carroll County. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 7, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1963):33-35. FHL. Available at: American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).

References[edit | edit source]

  1. https://digital.newberry.org/ahcb/documents/VA_Individual_County_Chronologies.htm#CARROLL Newberry]
  2. https://digital.newberry.org/ahcb/documents/VA_Individual_County_Chronologies.htm#CARROLL Newberry]
  3. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carroll_County,_Virginia
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. https://digital.newberry.org/ahcb/documents/VA_Individual_County_Chronologies.htm#CARROLL Newberry]
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Carroll_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carroll_County,_Virginia accessed 19 Decamber 2019.
  9. Wikipedia Contributors, "Charles Carroll of Carrollton," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charles_Carroll_of_Carrollton, accessed 13 January 2012.
  10. 10.0 10.1 10.2 Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  11. The Virginia State Line: Organizational Structure of the Virginia State Line, Ranger95.com, accessed 11 June 2012.
  12. Ralph White Gunn, 24th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 34.
  13. Dobbie E. Lambert, 25th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 106.
  14. John Perry Alderman, 29th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 53.
  15. Michael West, 30th Battalion Virginia Sharpshooters (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1995). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 108.
  16. J.L. Scott, 36th and 37th Battalions Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 24.
  17. J.L. Scott, 45th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 58.
  18. Richard L. Armstrong, 26th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 110.
  19. John C. Chapla, 50th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 129.
  20. George L. Sherwood and Jeffrey C. Weaver, 54th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1993). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 91.
  21. Jeffrey C. Weaver, 63rd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1991). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 76.