Carroll County, New Hampshire Genealogy
Guide to Carroll County, New Hampshire ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Carroll County is located in the east central region of the state. The county was named for Charles Carroll of Carrollton, who had died in 1832, the last surviving signer of the United States Declaration of Independence. [1]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Carroll County Courthouse
96 Water Village Rd.
Ossipee, NH 03864
Phone: 855-212-1234
Carroll County Website
Town Clerks have birth, marriage, death and burial records.
The Clerk of the Court has divorce and court records from 1859.
Register of Deeds has land records from 1840.
Probate Judge has probate records since 1840 and are at the County Courthouse.
Court records are at the North Circuit Court. [2]
Carroll County, New Hampshire Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1841 | 1841 | 1841 | 1859 | 1841 | 1841 | 1790 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator.
The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]
| Towns | ||
| Villages | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Townships | ||
Towns Organized Before 1800:
Albany 1766
Brookfield 1794
Chatham 1767
Conway 1765
Eaton 1766
Effingham 1788
Moultonborough 1777
Ossipee 1785
Sandwich 1768
Tamworth 1766
Tuftonborough 1795
Wakefield 1774
Wolfeborough 1770
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
- The county was named for Charles Carroll of Carrollton (September 19, 1737 – November 14, 1832) who was a delegate to the Continental Congress and later United States Senator for Maryland. He was the only Catholic signer of the Declaration of Independence. He was the longest lived signer of the Declaration of Independence and the Continental Congress. He lived to age 95.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
For the northern part of Carroll County there is a two-volume set with a great deal of biographical and family history information: Gideon Tibbetts Ridlon, Sr., Saco Valley Settlements and Families, published in 1841, and republished in 1984 (FHL book 974 H2rg 1984; films 202,845 vol. 1; 202,846 vol. 2; fiche 6051275. Many Family History Centers have the fiche.The books can be seen online if you are at the Family History Library or at a Family History Center.
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1850 | 20,157 | — |
| 1860 | 20,465 | 1.5% |
| 1870 | 17,332 | −15.3% |
| 1880 | 18,224 | 5.1% |
| 1890 | 18,124 | −0.5% |
| 1900 | 16,895 | −6.8% |
| 1910 | 16,316 | −3.4% |
| 1920 | 15,017 | −8.0% |
| 1930 | 14,277 | −4.9% |
| 1940 | 15,589 | 9.2% |
| 1950 | 15,868 | 1.8% |
| 1960 | 15,829 | −0.2% |
| 1970 | 18,548 | 17.2% |
| 1980 | 27,931 | 50.6% |
| 1990 | 35,410 | 26.8% |
| 2000 | 43,666 | 23.3% |
| 2010 | 47,818 | 9.5% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about New Hampshire denominations, view the New Hampshire Church Records Wiki page. For tips on how to determine denomination, view the New Hampshire Research Tips and Strategies Wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Online Court Indexes and Records
- Carroll County court records at FamilySearch Catalog(*)
- 1861-1876 and 1876-1901: Supreme Court, 1861-1876 and 1876-1901
- 1874-1876: Circuit Court 1874-1876
- 1901-1916: Superior Court 1901-1916
- 1861-1916: Court Judgements 1861-1916
- 1859-1897 and 1897-1928: The records include plaintiff and defendant indexes for 1859-1897, and 1897-1928.
Directories[edit | edit source]
City directories were printed for some towns and cities in Carroll County. For example, ancestry.com has a Conway 1905 city directory. This was very much like a census. Contact the local historical society or the New Hampshire State Historical Society in Concord, New Hampshire to find out about available directories.
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Genealogy - Town Histories often have Genealogical Sections
For the northern part of Carroll County there is a two-volume set with a great deal of biographical and family history information: Gideon Tibbetts Ridlon, Sr., Saco Valley Settlements and Families, See the Biography section above.
For Carroll County the Family History Library has genealogical books or manuscripts for the following towns:
Conway - There is an alphabetical genealogical collection on six microfilms.
Eaton - There is the Keith Henney Family Records Card File, 1760-1947 on one film.
Tamworth - A collection is available on one microfilm with forms sent out by the town clerk to be completed by families.
Tuftonboro - A history book was written by John William Hayley in 1923. It has 111 pages. It has historical information but does not have a genealogical section. The Family History Library has the book. It is not on film.
Wakefield - There is a film with various records compiled about 1949 by members of the Daughters of the American Revolution.
NOTE: For most of the towns in Carroll County, the birth records to 1900, and marriage and death records to 1947, are on microfilms or in book form available through the Family History Library. These include Albany, Bartlett, Brookfield, Chatham, Conway, Eaton, Effingham, Freedom, Hart's Location, Jackson, Madison, Moultonboroough, Ossipee, Tamworth, Tuftonboro, Wakefield, and Wolfeboro.
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents. See New Hampshire Land and Property for additional information about early New Hampshire land grants. A
Online Land Indexes and Records
- 1841-1901 Land records, 1841-1901 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1841-1909 Index to land records, 1841-1909 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section New Hampshire Local Histories.
There are many local history books available for Carroll County, and, towns in Carroll County. See the FamilySearch Catalog and type New Hampshire, Carroll for county histories and genealogies. See New Hampshire - Carroll - [name of town] - Genealogy or History for town genealogy and history books. Following are examples:
- History of Carroll County, New Hampshire, hosted by New Hampshire Genealogy Trails, (accessed 20 August 2011).
- Wiley, Benjamin G., Incidents in White Mountain history, together with many interesting anecdotes illustrating life in the backwoods, (Boston: N.Noyes; Dover, N.H., E. J. Lane; 1856).IOnline book at Internet Archives.
- See also the Genealogy - Town Histories section above for helpful town histories.
The New Hampshire State Library at Concord, New Hampshire has a vast collection of books about New Hampshire towns and counties. Check their internet catalog for a town of interest.
The New Hampshire Historical Society also in Concord has a very large collection of local history books and other publications.
- New Hampshire Indexes at EveryNameIndex.com — Select the county.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
For historical publications and online resources for the state, see the pages: New Hampshire Maps and New Hampshire Gazetteers.
- Carroll County Town Descriptions from Merrill's Gazetteer of New Hampshire (1817), (accessed 20 August 2011).
- See the Gazetteers section in the New Hampshire wiki article for information about several early New Hampshire gazetteers.
- Map of Carroll County, New Hampshire 1861, You can purchase 1861 maps at this site. (accessed 20 August 2011).
- Contact the local historical society or public library. They may be able to photocopy a map or a section of a map for a small fee.
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
American Revolution
- 1675-1835 New Hampshire Revolutionary War Records, 1675-1835 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
The most complete listing of New Hampshire Revolutionary War soldiers is found in volumes 14-17 of the New Hamsphire State Papers. You can go to google.com, and look forNew Hampshire State Papers with the link to ancestry.com. There you will find a name index to voloumes 14-17, then you can go to the needed volume and page for information on the soldier. Often the place of residence is given.
For a military history of New Hampshire, see: Potter, Chandler Eastman, The Military History of the State of New Hampshire. Concord, N.H.: McFarland and Jenks, 1866. (Family History Library film 1033664; fiche 6046858.) You can search this book on-line by going to google.com. Look for ancestry.com as the internet way to search this book. This history comprises events from the first settlements in New Hampshire to the rebellion in 1861. It includes biographical notices of many of the officers and explanatory notes.
Civil War
- 1861-1866 New Hampshire Civil War Service and Pension Records 1861-1866 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; Also at: Ancestry ($)
- 1861-1866 You can go to ancestry.com and search for names in The Revised Register of the Soldiers and Sailors of New Hampshire in the War of the Rebellion, 1861-1866, by Augustus D. Ayling. This book gives the age, residence, and service information about approximately 32,000 New Hampshire Civil War veterans.
- History of Carroll County, New Hampshire, by Georgia Drew Merrill - Chapter XVII - Military Affairs in Carroll County Prior to 1860 - Soldiers in the Rebellion 1861-1865. See pages 134-185.
Regiments.' Civil War service men from Carroll County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Carroll County:
- - 1st Regiment, New Hampshire Heavy Artillery, Company K.
- - 2nd Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Company F.
- - 3rd Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Company G.
- - 4th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Company D.
- - 5th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Company H.
- - 6th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Company D.
- - 8th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Company I.
- - 11th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Company C.
- - 12th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies G and K.
- - 13th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Company A.
- - 16th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Company B.
- - 18th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies A, C, and E.
World War I
A very helpful source for World War I is an index at www.ancestry.com of World War I draft registration records, 1917-1918. All men between ages eighteen and forty-five were required to register. Their birth date and place, address, and sometimes the name of nearest kin, are listed on the card. Many of these men served in the war.
World War II
- 1938-1946 U.S., World War II Army Enlistment Records, 1938-1946 at Ancestry ($)
There is an index on www.ancestry.com of the 1942 World War II draft registrations for New Hampshire, of men forty-five to sixty-five. Some of these men served in that war. The records contain name, address, birth date and place, name of kin or friend, name and address of employer, and signature. (See www.ancestry.com for further information.) The following book may be helpful:
- Carroll County, New Hampshire World War II Casualties Army and Air Force, (accessed 20 August 2011).
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1906-1993 New Hampshire, United States Naturalization Records, 1906-1993 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
The New Hampshire State Library, in Concord, New Hampshire, has a large collection of newspapers.
Several companies are putting newspapers on the internet. They are indexed by ancestors' names. One company is genealogybank.com. They are adding newspapers regularly. They have many newspapers from New Hampshire, for example, newspapers of Concord, for 1790-1890, and some from the years 2002 to the present. You can do some searching free, and then you can purchase a subscription for a fee if you desire.
Other companies include fold3.com and ancestry.com. Ancestry.com has some Portsmouth, New Hampshire newspapers. Type the name of the city and state in the Card Catalog Search.
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
In most counties in New Hampshire, probate records have been kept by the county. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1635-1753 New Hampshire Probate Records 1635-1753 at Ancestry.com — index and images ($)
- 1643-1982 New Hampshire Wills and Probate Records 1643-1982 at Ancestry.com — index and images ($)
- 1840-1936 Probate papers, 1840-1936 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1840-1936 Unfiled probate papers, 1840-1936 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1840-1870 Probate records, 1840-1870 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1840-1990 Index to probate papers, 1840-1990 at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Carroll County probate records begin with 1840 one year before the county was established from Strafford county. The Carroll County records are kept at the county courthouse at Ossipee. For probate records from the 1770s to 1840 see the records of Strafford County.
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch — How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Online Tax Indexes and Records
Many town tax records have been preserved by town clerks and town tax officials. Town tax records were generally taken each year. The Family History Library has many town records on microfilms. For film numbers see the FamilySearch Catalog under New Hampshire - Carroll County - [name of town] - Town Records.
There is an index to the town records (which include many tax records) from the early settlement of the town to about 1850. This is the Index to Early Town Records of New Hampshire, Early to 1850 (FHL films 14942-15052). The index cards list volume and page numbers for the town records, many of which are on Family History Library microfilms. The town records are listed in the Family Hiistory Library Catalog in the manner mentioned in the paragraph above.
Ancestry.com has online images of the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) tax lists for New Hampshire and many other states for 1862-1866. Only persons who owned businesses, or valuable items such as carriages, were listed. You may wish to check ancestry.com to see if your ancestor was listed. The record gives the person's name, town of residence, business or valuable item, and amount of tax.
Town Records[edit | edit source]
Town records are an important source of family history information from the 1600s to about the 1940s. The early New Hampshire town records to about 1850 have an every-name index. The index and film numbers are listed just above in the Taxation section. Many town records are still in the town offices.
To see the types of family history information you might find in town records please go to the heading Town Records in our New Hampshire wiki article.
- 1636-1947 New Hampshire, Town Clerk, Vital and Town Records, 1636-1947 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Certified copies of of birth, death, and marriage records are available from the State Division of Vital Records Administration or from the local city and town clerk where the event took place. Original records are kept by the city or town clerk and copies are sent to the state. In 1905, when the state created the Bureau of Vital Records and Health, printed cards were distributed to the local clerks and earlier vital records were transcribed onto the cards and submitted to the state.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- Early-1900 New Hampshire Birth Records, Early to 1900 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
- 1656-1938 New Hampshire, Vital and Town Records Index, 1656-1938 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index
- 1901-1915 New Hampshire Birth Certificates, 1901-1915 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
- Births: Begins in 1880 - 2010; Courtesy of the Conway Public Library and constructed from the Annual Reports for the Town of Conway
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1637-1964 New Hampshire, United States Marriages at at Findmypast — index, ($) — index $
- 1637-1947 New Hampshire Marriage Records, 1637-1947 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
- 1656-1938 New Hampshire, Vital and Town Records Index, 1656-1938 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index
- 1880-1991 Conway Public Library - Marriages Search Begins in 1880 (Some marriage are prior to 1880) - 1991
- 1789-1854 Wolfeborough, New Hampshire Marriages Nov. 1789 to July 1854, (accessed 20 August 2011). From: History of Wolfeborough, New Hampshire By: Benjamin Franklin Parker; Published by the town, 1901
Surnames Starting with A to K - 1789-1854 Wolfeborough, New Hampshire Marriages Nov. 1789 to July 1854, (accessed 20 August 2011). From: History of Wolfeborough, New Hampshire By: Benjamin Franklin Parker; Published by the town, 1901
Surnames Starting with L to Y - 1948-1959 New Hampshire Marriage Certificates, 1948-1959 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1656-1938 New Hampshire, Vital and Town Records Index, 1656-1938 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index
- 1654-1947 New Hampshire Death Records, 1654-1947 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images
- Deaths: Begins in 1880 - 2010
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Archives and Libraries
A useful way to become acquainted with the types of records kept by county officials is to study the Inventory of the County Archives of New Hampshire, No. 2, Carroll County (Ossipee). This inventory was made by the U. S. Government in 1939 (FHL book 974.242 A3, film 982,203). Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Lebanon New Hampshire Family History Center
- Oxford Maine Family History Center
- Portland Maine Family History Center
- Wolfeboro New Hampshire Family History Center
- Bath Public Library - an affiliate library
- Meredith Public Library - an affiliate library
- Thornton Public Library - New Hampshire - an affiliate library
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Carroll County Public Libraries, (accessed 20 August 2011).Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Carroll County Historical Societies as listed by CountyOffice.orgWebsite
Websites[edit | edit source]
- The Carroll County NHGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Carroll County
- Carroll County, New Hampshire Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
1. Check familysearch.org and see if your ancestor's information is listed there.
2. Check familysearch.org and see if your family's vital records of births, marriages, and deaths are listed.
3. Check familysearch.org and see if your family is listed on the U. S. census records of 1850-1940. You can also see those censuses at the Family History Center using Heritage Quest, and ancestry.com.
4. If you know the county where your ancestor lived, take a look at the free internet site www.usgenweb.com. A volunteer helper gathers information about ancestors who lived in that county. You might find biographies, cemetery records, deeds, obituaries, queries, vital records, etc. You can leave a query.
5. If you know the town where they lived, look for a town history with a genealogical section. See the section below for how to find out if there is a town history.
6. Read the wiki articles on Carroll County, and on New Hampshire, for ideas of sources. Study the Records Selection Table in the New Hampshire article. This can help you think of new sources to try.
7. Enter your ancestor's information on familysearch.org., genforum.com, or ancestry.com. You can also share your quest with the local historical society, genealogical socieety, or town library and ask for help. Send them a family group form and a pedigree chart.
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Carroll County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carroll_County,_New_Hampshire accessed 25 September 2018.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Carroll County, New Hampshire page 452, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Carroll County, New Hampshire. Page 452-453. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 436.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), New Hampshire.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Carroll County, New Hampshire," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carroll_County,_New_Hampshire, accessed 7 November 2018.
