Carroll County, Maryland Genealogy
Guide to Carroll County, Maryland ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Carroll County was named for Charles Carroll of Carrollton. The county is located in the north-central area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Carroll County Courthouse
55 North Court St.
Westminster, MD 21157
Phone: 410-386-8710
Toll-free (in Maryland) 888-786-0039
Email: heather.dewees@mdcourts.gov
Carroll County Website
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records 1837-1900 (not indexed) and from 1900 (indexed), divorce, court and land records from 1837.[3]
Carroll County, Maryland Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1898 | 1837 | 1898 | 1837 | 1837 | 1837 | 1790 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
Most early papers of the county court have been lost.
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Maryland county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Maryland County Boundary Maps" (1637-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Carroll County, Maryland Genealogy census records online, see: Maryland Census.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1840 | 17,242 | — |
| 1850 | 20,617 | 19.6% |
| 1860 | 24,533 | 19.0% |
| 1870 | 28,619 | 16.7% |
| 1880 | 30,992 | 8.3% |
| 1890 | 32,376 | 4.5% |
| 1900 | 33,860 | 4.6% |
| 1910 | 33,934 | 0.2% |
| 1920 | 34,245 | 0.9% |
| 1930 | 35,978 | 5.1% |
| 1940 | 39,054 | 8.5% |
| 1950 | 44,907 | 15.0% |
| 1960 | 52,785 | 17.5% |
| 1970 | 69,006 | 30.7% |
| 1980 | 96,356 | 39.6% |
| 1990 | 123,372 | 28.0% |
| 2000 | 150,897 | 22.3% |
| 2010 | 167,134 | 10.8% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Federal Census reports available 1840-1930 including slave and veterans schedules.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1668-1995 Maryland, Church Records, 1668-1995 at FamilySearch — index- How to Use this Collection
- Guide to Maryland Religious Institutions is not intended to be a complete listing of all Religious institutions in Maryland. It was originally based upon the churches recorded by the Federal Works Progress Administration during a records survey conducted from 1935 to 1941. It has been expanded by later acquisitions from religious organizations to the Maryland State Archives.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
- 1897-1952 Maryland, Baltimore Passenger Lists Index, 1897-1952 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
- Winchester - Boddie, John Thomas and John Bennett Boddie. Boddie and Allied Families. Chicago: n.p., 1918. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library - free.
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Through a Joint eGovernment Service of the Maryland Judiciary and the Maryland State Archives, free images and indexes of the complete series of Carroll County Deed Books (1837-present) have been uploaded to their website: A Digital Image Retrieval System for Land Records in Maryland. (Requires free registration.)
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- History of Western Maryland. 2 volumes. 1882. By J. Thomas Scharf. Philadelphia : L. H. Everts. Online at: Hathitrust, Vol. 1 - Internet Archive, Vol. 2 - Internet Archive; At various libraries (WorldCat).
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
for more resources
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Maryland, Carroll County on page 127.]
War of 1812[edit | edit source]
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Maryland, Carroll County, pp. 140-142. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 Maryland, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 Maryland, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index- How to Use this Collection
Regiments. Service men in Carroll served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Carroll:
- - 1st Regiment, Maryland Eastern Shore Infantry, Companies D, E, F and G.
- - 6th Regiment, Maryland Infantry, Companies A and C.
- - 7th Regiment, Maryland Infantry, Companies D and F.
World War I[edit | edit source]
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 Maryland, World War II Draft Registration Cards, 1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- Carroll County newspapers are identified in "Guide to Maryland Newspapers," available online, courtesy: Special Collections, Maryland State Archives.
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- Maryland, Wills and Probate Records at findmypast - index
- 1634-1777 Maryland, Index To Colonial Probate Records, 1634-1777 at findmypast - index
- 1635–1743 Maryland Calendar of Wills 1635-1743 at Ancestry — index and images $
- 1635–1777 Maryland Wills and Probate Records, 1635-1777 at Ancestry — index and images $
- 1796–1940 Maryland Probate Estate and Guardianship Files , 1796-1940 at FamilySearch images - How to Use this Collection
- 1800-1999 Caroll County, Index to Will and Probate Records at Maryland Genealogical Society, index
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
- 1793 "1793 Tax, Taylorsville Area," Western Maryland Genealogy, Vol. 5, No. 4 (Oct. 1989):172-174.
- 1798 Horvath, George J. The Particular Assessment Lists for Baltimore and Carroll Counties - 1798. Westminster, Md.: Family Line Publications, 1991.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1658-1940 Maryland County Marriages, 1658-1940 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1666-1970 Maryland Marriages, 1666-1970 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1898-1944 Maryland Death Index 1898-1944
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Carroll County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Maryland Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Baltimore Maryland Inner Harbor Family History Center
- Columbia Maryland Family History Center
- Hampstead Maryland Family History Center
- Harford County Public Library - an affiliate library.
- Kuethe Library Historical & Genealogical Research Center - an affiliate library.
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Carroll County. For state-wide library facilities, see Maryland Archives and Libraries.
Carroll County Public Library
Website
Multiple locations
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Carroll County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Maryland Societies.
Carroll County Genealogical Society
CCGS P.O. Box 1752
Westminster, MD 21158
Email: info@ccgsmd.org
Website
Historical Society of Carroll County
210 East Main Street
Westminster, MD 21157
Phone: 410-848-6494
Email: Info@HSCCmd.org
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- The Carroll County MDGenWeb Project, a member of The MDGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project
- "Carroll Co.," in Genealogical Sources in Periodicals at The Maryland State Archives.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Carroll County
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
- Carroll County Genealogical Society. A Guide to Genealogical Research in Carroll County. Westminster, Md.: Carroll County Genealogical Society, 1991.
- Souza, Eileen A. “Research in Carroll County.” Maryland Genealogical Society Journal 53, no. 2 (2012): 307-324.
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Carroll," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carroll_County,_Maryland."
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Carroll, Maryland page 317, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Carroll County, Maryland. Page 317-318 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 308-309.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Carroll County, Maryland," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carroll_County,_Maryland, accessed 7 August 2018.
