Caroline County, Maryland Genealogy
Guide to Caroline County, Maryland ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Caroline County was named for Caroline Eden. The county is located in the east-central area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Caroline County Courthouse
P O Box 207
109 Market Street, Room 123
Denton, MD 21629
Phone: 410-479-1811
Caroline County Website
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, court and land records from 1774.
Register of Wills has death and probate records. [3]
Caroline County, Maryland Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1898 | 1774 | 1898 | 1774 | 1774 | 1774 | 1790 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Maryland county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Maryland County Boundary Maps" (1637-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Caroline County, Maryland Genealogy census records online, see: Maryland Census.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1790 | 9,506 | — |
| 1800 | 9,226 | −2.9% |
| 1810 | 9,453 | 2.5% |
| 1820 | 10,108 | 6.9% |
| 1830 | 9,070 | −10.3% |
| 1840 | 7,806 | −13.9% |
| 1850 | 9,692 | 24.2% |
| 1860 | 11,129 | 14.8% |
| 1870 | 12,101 | 8.7% |
| 1880 | 13,766 | 13.8% |
| 1890 | 13,903 | 1.0% |
| 1900 | 16,248 | 16.9% |
| 1910 | 19,216 | 18.3% |
| 1920 | 18,652 | −2.9% |
| 1930 | 17,387 | −6.8% |
| 1940 | 17,549 | 0.9% |
| 1950 | 18,234 | 3.9% |
| 1960 | 19,462 | 6.7% |
| 1970 | 19,781 | 1.6% |
| 1980 | 23,143 | 17.0% |
| 1990 | 27,035 | 16.8% |
| 2000 | 29,772 | 10.1% |
| 2010 | 33,066 | 11.1% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Federal Census reports available 1800-1930 including slave and veterans schedules.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1668-1995 Maryland, Church Records, 1668-1995 at FamilySearch — index- How to Use this Collection
- Guide to Maryland Religious Institutions is not intended to be a complete listing of all Religious institutions in Maryland. It was originally based upon the churches recorded by the Federal Works Progress Administration during a records survey conducted from 1935 to 1941. It has been expanded by later acquisitions from religious organizations to the Maryland State Archives.
Church of England
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
- 1897-1952 - Maryland, Baltimore Passenger Lists Index, 1897-1952 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
- Barnes, Robert W., F. Edward Wright, Vernon L. Skinner and Henry C. Peden. Colonial Families of the Eastern Shore of Maryland. 23 vols. Westminster, Md.: Family Line, 1996-2003; Lewes, Del.: Delmarva Roots and Colonial Roots, 2007. FHL US/CAN Book 975.21 D2b v. 1 ff. [Caroline County families appear in Vols. 7 and 11.]
- Genn - Hillman, Ralph E. "James Genn of Northumberland County, Virginia, and Some of His Descendants," The American Genealogist, Vol. 72, No. 1 (Jan. 1997):32-38; Vol. 72, No. 2 (Apr. 1997):101-108.
- Wright - Wright, Charles W. The Wright Ancestry of Caroline, Dorchester, Somerset and Wicomico Counties Maryland. Baltimore: Baltimore City Printing and Binding Co., 1907. Available at FHL
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Maryland State Archives has uploaded free images and indexes to the complete series of Caroline County Deed Books (1774-present). Visit their site to find the land records that interest you: A Digital Image Retrieval System for Land Records in Maryland. (Free registration is required.)
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- History of Caroline County, Maryland from its Beginning. 1920. Federalsburg, Maryland : J.W. Stowell Printing Co. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat).
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
for more resources
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
Caroline County men served in the 5th Maryland Regiment.[7]
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Digital version at Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Maryland, Caroline County on page 127.
War of 1812[edit | edit source]
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, Maryland, Caroline County, pp. 139-140. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.
- Wright, F. Edward Caroline County (Maryland) militia in the War of 1812, (1977) pages 65.
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - Maryland, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 - Maryland, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index- How to Use this Collection
Regiments. Service men in Caroline served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Caroline:
- - 1st Regiment, Maryland Eastern Shore Infantry, Company D, E, F, and G:
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 - Maryland, World War II Draft Registration Cards, 1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- Caroline County newspapers are identified in "Guide to Maryland Newspapers," available online, courtesy: Special Collections, Maryland State Archives.
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- Maryland, Wills and Probate Records at findmypast - index
- 1634-1777 Maryland, Index To Colonial Probate Records, 1634-1777 at findmypast - index
- 1634-1777 Probate Records, Colonial Index, 1634-1777 online at Maryland State Archives website - free
- 1635–1743 Maryland Calendar of Wills 1635-1743 at Ancestry — index and images $
- 1635–1777 Maryland Wills and Probate Records 1635-1777 at Ancestry — index and images $
- 1796–1940 Maryland Probate Estate and Guardianship Files , 1796-1940 at FamilySearch images - How to Use this Collection
- Caroline County, Index to Will and Probate Records at Maryland Genealogical Society, index
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
- 1783 Caroline County Tax List of 1783: This is an alphabetical index to names to all property owners assessed. The index cards at the Maryland State Archives include county, hundred, names of tracts of land and whether individuals were paupers or single males as provided in the law.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1658-1940 Maryland County Marriages, 1658-1940 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1666-1970 Maryland Marriages, 1666-1970 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1774-1815 Marriage Licenses of Caroline County, Maryland, 1774-1815 at Ancestry ($). Also in The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, 1774-1778: Vol. 28 (1904):209-215; 1779-1799: Vol. 28 (1904):320-345; 1800-1815: Vol. 28 (1904):428-455. For free online access, see WeRelate.
- Marriage Records - Maryland State Archives
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1898-1944 Maryland Death Index 1898-1944
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Caroline County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Maryland Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Dover Delaware Family History Center
- Winterthur Library - an affiliate library.
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Caroline County. For state-wide library facilities, see Maryland Archives and Libraries.
Caroline County Public Library
100 Market Street
Denton, MD 21629
Phone: 410-479-1343
Website
Multiple locations
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Caroline County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Maryland Societies.
Caroline Historical Society
The Museum of Rural Life
Ridgely Historical Society
16 N. Second St.
Denton, MD 21629
Phone: 410-479-2730
Email: info@carolinehistory.org
Website
Greensboro Historical Society
111 South Main Street
Greensboro, MD 21639
Phone: 410-482-2100
Email: gpnash1@gmail.com
Website
Facebook
Preston Historical Society
P.O. Box 661
167 Main Street
Preston, MD 21655
Phone: 410-200-6547
Email: prestonhistorical@gmail.com
Website
Facebook
Upper Shore Genealogical Society of Maryland
P.O. Box 275
Easton, MD 21601
Email: USGSMD@yahoo.com
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- The Caroline County MDGenWeb Project, a member of The MDGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project
- "Caroline Co.," in Genealogical Sources in Periodicals at The Maryland State Archives.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project, Caroline County
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Caroline," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caroline_County,_Maryland."
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Caroline County, Maryland. Page 317-318 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 308-309.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Caroline County, Maryland," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caroline_County,_Maryland, accessed 7 August 2018.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "5th Maryland Regiment," http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/5th_Maryland_Regiment, accessed 31 May 2012.
